DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 13-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riggenberg et al. (2015/0168098; “Riggenberg”).
In reference to claim 1, Riggenberg discloses a stock for a pistol (figures 37-44, stock 700) comprising:
a mounting facility (712+713) configured to connect to the pistol;
an elongated flexible spring element (701+702) having a first forward end connected (via element 711) to the mounting facility and an opposed rear end (figures 37 and 38);
the spring element being configurable between an extended condition in which the rear end extends rearward of the pistol and the spring element is in a straight elongated condition (figures 38 and 41A; the spring element is pivotable about element 711), and a stowed condition in which the spring element is flexed and the rear end is adjacent the pistol (figure 41D shows the stowed condition; figures 41A-41D illustrate the process of going from the extended condition to the stowed condition); and
wherein the spring element is bistable (paragraph 92).
In reference to claim 2, Riggenberg discloses the claimed invention (elongated spring 701; paragraph 92).
In reference to claim 8, Riggenberg discloses the claimed invention (paragraph 92; a bistable spring steel member having an arcuate cross-section, as shown in figure 40, inherently assumes a flat cross-section in any portions that are articulated, i.e., flexed or bent; figure 41D shows that the spring element has articulated portions in the flexed condition).
In reference to claim 10, Riggenberg discloses the claimed invention (sleeve 702).
In reference to claim 13, Riggenberg discloses the claimed invention (figure 38; paragraph 95).
In reference to claim 14, Riggenberg discloses the claimed invention (figure 41D).
In reference to claim 15, Riggenberg discloses the claimed invention (figure 41D).
In reference to claim 18, Riggenberg discloses the claimed invention (figure 41D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renfors & Lindgren (899617; “Lindgren”) in view of Renfors (914675), further in view of Ventenat et al. (WO 2025/078445 A1; “Ventenat”).
In reference to claim 1, Lindgren discloses a stock for a pistol (figure 15) comprising:
a mounting facility (a+b+c) configured to connect to the pistol;
an elongated element having a first forward end connected to the mounting facility and an opposed rear end (figure 15, walking stick held by element b; spec, lines 98-102 and claims 2-5).
Thus, Lindgren discloses the claimed invention, except for:
an elongated flexible spring element having a first forward end connected to the mounting facility and an opposed rear end;
the spring element being configurable between an extended condition in which the rear end extends rearward of the pistol and the spring element is in a straight elongated condition, and a stowed condition in which the spring element is flexed and the rear end is adjacent the pistol; and
wherein the spring element is bistable.
Renfors teaches it is known to form an elongated element of a pistol stock as an extensible element that can assume an extended position, with the rear end extending rearward of the pistol for firearm support, and a stowed position, with the rear end adjacent the pistol for compactness when desired, e.g., during transport or holstering (elongated element a).
Ventenat teaches it is known to form an elongated element (e.g., a walking stick) as comprising an elongated flexible spring element having opposed forward and rear ends defining the length said elongated element; the spring element being configurable between an extended condition in which the rear end extends farthest from the forward end and the spring element is in a straight elongated condition, and a stowed condition in which the spring element is flexed and the rear end is positioned adjacent he forward end; and wherein the spring element is bistable, in order to allow the elongated element to assume an extended position and a stowed, coiled position without the need for many moving parts (see translation, paragraph 68; also see figures 2-4B and paragraphs 30, 33, 34, 42, and 43).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the elongated element (walking stick) of Lindgren as comprising an elongated flexible spring element having a first forward end connected to the mounting facility and an opposed rear end; the spring element being configurable between an extended condition in which the rear end extends rearward of the pistol and the spring element is in a straight elongated condition, and a stowed condition in which the spring element is flexed and the rear end is adjacent the pistol; and wherein the spring element is bistable, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to in order to allow the elongated element to assume an extended position and a stowed, coiled position when desired (e.g., during transport or holstering), without the need for many moving parts.
In reference to claim 2, Lindgren in view of Renfors and further in view of Ventanat (the modified Lindgren) makes obvious the claimed invention (Ventanat: figures 2, 3A, 3B, and 4A all show that the extended position of the bistable spring element has a straight shape and arcuate cross-section).
In reference to claim 3, the modified Lindgren makes obvious the claimed invention (Ventanat, figure 11 and paragraph 68).
In reference to claim 8, the modified Lindgren makes obvious the claimed invention (Ventanat, figure 4B).
In reference to claims 11 and 12, the modified Lindgren makes obvious the claimed invention (figure 11 and paragraph 68).
In reference to claim 13, the modified Lindgren makes obvious the claimed invention (Lindgren, drawings).
In reference to claim 14, the modified Lindgren makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1 (also, see figure 15 of Lindgren, which shows the forward end of the elongated element adjacent to the pistol, and, thus, the modified Lindgren would clearly place the rear end of the elongated element adjacent to the pistol in the stowed, coiled position, e.g., see figure 4B of Ventanat).
In reference to claim 15, the modified Lindgren makes obvious the claimed invention (Ventanat, figure 2 or 4B).
In reference to claim 18, the modified Lindgren makes obvious the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached Notice of References Cited.
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641