DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous Office Note
The prior Non-Final Rejection (dated 04/13/2026) is vacated in view of the arguments and remark filled(07/13/2026) and discussed during tele interview (07/17/2026). Accordingly, a new Non-Final Office Action is provided herewith along with a new statutory period for response (2 Months) (see MPEP 710.06). Applicant's request for reconsideration of the non-finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US 20170203839 A1 to Giannini et al. (herein after “Giannini”) in view of US 20180155011 A1 to Greiner et al. (herein after “Greiner”).
Regarding claim 1, Giannini teaches A computer implemented method for controlling an aircraft (See Giannini claim 4 wherein each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans and said second plurality of integrated ducted fans comprises an adjustable thrust nozzle that is independently controllable.) , the
determining, for a first plurality of ducted fans a first local force and first local moment allocation for providing a first contribution to the net force and the net moment (See Giannini para[0008] the primary wing set comprising a first plurality of integrated ducted fans, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans being operatively coupled with at least one of said plurality of generators);
determining, for a second plurality of ducted fans, (see Giannini para[0018] In certain aspects, the one or more generators includes a first generator operably coupled with: (1) two of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans, each being positioned on opposite sides of the fuselage; and (2) two of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans, each being positioned on opposite sides of the fuselage).
a second local force and second local moment allocation for providing a second contribution to the net force and the net moment (See Giannini para [0097] The trailing edge control surfaces 406 may be actuated to adjust the thrust nozzle at each ducted fan, thereby controlling the roll, yaw, and pitch of the hybrid propulsion aircraft 100 through differential and/or vectored thrust) and controlling the first plurality of ducted fans according to the first local force and first local moment allocation and controlling the second plurality of ducted fans according to the second local force and second local moment allocation (See Giannini claim 4 wherein each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans and said second plurality of integrated ducted fans comprises an adjustable thrust nozzle that is independently controllable.).
However, Giannini does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach method comprising: determining a net force and net moment to act on the aircraft. Nevertheless, Greiner teaches method comprising: determining a net force and net moment to act on the aircraft; (See Greiner para[0018] This makes for a system which can only be controlled in roll, pitch, yaw, and net thrust. Such a multi-rotor vehicle can move in space by holding a particular roll or pitch angle and varying the net thrust, para[0020] Free-body analysis yields the forces and moments acting on the body from each thruster. The forces and moments are summed together to produce a unique mapping from motor thrust to net body forces and moments. A desired input including roll, pitch, and yaw moments and forward, lateral, and vertical thrusts can be received and used to calculate the necessary change in motor thrusts, and thus by extension motor speeds, to achieve the desired input).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Giannini’s control method for hybrid propulsion aircraft with Greiner’s adjusting trust for rotors (ducted fan) in order to advances in technology and an increased prevalence of UAVs (see Greiner para[0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Giannini and Greiner are remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein determining the first local force and first local moment allocation comprises using a plurality of weighting factors (See Giannini para[0072] Likewise, each of the two canard wings 106 is preferably the same length. The primary and canard wing sets may be arranged at an anhedral angle, thereby compensating for, or mitigating, any change in center of gravity and controlling the center of thrust, para [0081]The components of the hybrid propulsion aircraft 100 are preferably positioned such that the hybrid propulsion aircraft's 100 center of gravity remains substantially constant, whether the wings are level (horizontal flight position) or up (vertical flight position), and whether the payload bay 124 and/or fuel tanks 120 are empty or full).
Regarding claim 3, Giannini and Greiner are remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein each of the weighting factors is associated with a distance to a centre of gravity of the aircraft. (See Giannini para[0072] The primary and canard wing sets may be arranged at an anhedral angle, thereby compensating for, or mitigating, any change in center of gravity and controlling the center of thrust, when the primary and/or canard wing sets are in a vertical wing configuration (e.g., vertical flight mode) or an intermediate tilted wing configuration).
Regarding claim 4, Giannini and Greiner are remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein determining, for the second plurality of ducted fans, a second local force and first local moment allocation comprises compensating, at least in part, for the first local force and first local moment allocation. (See Giannini claim 1 a canard wing set having a second plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a second aggregate thrust, each of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators, para[0009] a primary wing set having a first plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a first aggregate thrust, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor).
Regarding claim 5, Giannini and Greiner are remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein controlling the first plurality of ducted fans according to the first local force and first local moment allocation comprises adjusting a thrust output of the first plurality of ducted fans (See Giannini para[0009] an engine operatively coupled with one or more generators to generate electric power, the engine and the one or more generators being positioned within the fuselage; a primary wing set having a first plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a first aggregate thrust, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators) , and wherein controlling the second plurality of ducted fans according to the second local force and second local moment allocation comprises adjusting a thrust output of the second plurality of ducted fans (See Giannini para[0009] a canard wing set having a second plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a second aggregate thrust, each of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators,).
Regarding claim 6, Wu remains applied as claim 1. Giannini teach wherein the first plurality of ducted fans are on a first side of a fuselage of the aircraft, and the second plurality of ducted fans are on a second, opposing, side of the fuselage of the aircraft (See Giannini para[0008] an engine, such as a turbo shaft engine, operatively coupled with a plurality of generators, the engine and the plurality of generators being positioned within the fuselage; a primary wing set, the primary wing set comprising a first plurality of integrated ducted fans, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans being operatively coupled with at least one of said plurality of generators; and a canard wing set, the canard wing set comprising a second plurality of integrated ducted fans, each of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans being operatively coupled with at least one of said plurality of generators, wherein the primary wing set or the canard wing set is pivotally attached to the fuselage.).
Regarding claim 7, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein: the first plurality of ducted fans are mounted on a first wing or canard; and the second plurality of ducted fans are mounted on a second wing or canard (See Giannini para[0008] an engine, such as a turbo shaft engine, operatively coupled with a plurality of generators, the engine and the plurality of generators being positioned within the fuselage; a primary wing set, the primary wing set comprising a first plurality of integrated ducted fans, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans being operatively coupled with at least one of said plurality of generators; and a canard wing set, the canard wing set comprising a second plurality of integrated ducted fans, each of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans being operatively coupled with at least one of said plurality of generators, wherein the primary wing set or the canard wing set is pivotally attached to the fuselage.).
Regarding claim 8, Giannini and Greiner are remain applied as claim 1. However, Greiner does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the net force to act on the aircraft comprises a net thrust, and wherein the net moment to act on the aircraft comprise one or more of a yaw moment, a pitch moment, and a roll moment. Nevertheless, Greiner same field of endeavor teaches wherein the net force to act on the aircraft comprises a net thrust, and wherein the net moment to act on the aircraft comprise one or more of a yaw moment, a pitch moment, and a roll moment. (See Greiner para[0020] Free-body analysis yields the forces and moments acting on the body from each thruster. The forces and moments are summed together to produce a unique mapping from motor thrust to net body forces and moments. A desired input including roll, pitch, and yaw moments and forward, lateral, and vertical thrusts can be received and used to calculate the necessary change in motor thrusts, and thus by extension motor speeds, to achieve the desired input.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Giannini’s control method for hybrid propulsion aircraft with Greiner’s adjusting trust for rotors (ducted fan) in order to advances in technology and an increased prevalence of UAVs (see Greiner para[0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Giannini and Greiner are remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein controlling the first plurality of ducted fans according to the first local force and first local moment allocation comprises commanding at least two ducted fans of the first plurality of ducted fans to differ in at least one of a flap angle state or a rotor speed state (See Giannini para[0101] For example, the primary wings 104 and/or the two canard wings 106 may be fabricated with a fixed wing portion (e.g., a fixed leading edge portion) and a hinged wing portion (e.g., a pivoting trailing edge portion where the hinge runs lengthwise like a flap) having positioned thereon the plurality of ducted fans 108, 110 to generate an aggregate thrust, para[0004] the necessity to reduce or eliminate exposure of ground personnel to exposed high-speed rotors have hindered attempts to develop efficient VTOL UAVs., para[0092] The translating pitch cone may be laterally driven by a pitch control motor through, for example, a ball screw driven, spline-guided pitch actuation rod, which does not rotate, but imparts a lateral force (in direction A) onto the rotating rotor pitch mast.).
Regarding claim 10, Giannini teaches An aircraft comprising (See Giannini claim 4 wherein each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans and said second plurality of integrated ducted fans comprises an adjustable thrust nozzle that is independently controllable.):
a processor; and memory storing computer code which, when executed on the processor (See Giannini para[0056]As utilized herein the terms “circuits” and “circuitry” refer to physical electronic components (i.e. hardware) and any software and/or firmware (“code”) which may configure the hardware, be executed by the hardware, and or otherwise be associated with the hardware. As used herein, for example, a particular processor and memory may comprise a first “circuit” when executing a first set of one or more lines of code and may comprise a second “circuit” when executing a second set of one or more lines of code).
a first plurality of ducted fans ; a second plurality of ducted fans(See Giannini para[0008] the primary wing set comprising a first plurality of integrated ducted fans, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans being operatively coupled with at least one of said plurality of generators);
determining, for the first plurality of ducted fans, a first local force and first local moment allocation for providing a first contribution to the net force and the net moment; (See Giannini claim 1 a primary wing set having a first plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a first aggregate thrust, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators;)
determining, for the second plurality of ducted fans, a second local force and second local moment allocation for providing a second contribution to the net force and the net moment (see Giannini para[0018] In certain aspects, the one or more generators includes a first generator operably coupled with: (1) two of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans, each being positioned on opposite sides of the fuselage; and (2) two of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans, each being positioned on opposite sides of the fuselage); and
controlling the first plurality of ducted fans according to the first local force and first local moment allocation (See Giannini claim 1 a primary wing set having a first plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a first aggregate thrust, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators;); and
controlling the second plurality of ducted fans according to the second local force and second local moment allocation (See Giannini [0022]In certain aspects, each of said first and second plurality of integrated ducted fans comprises a duct chamber having a thrust assembly positioned therein, the duct chamber having an upper leading edge with one or more airflow slots to guide airflow through the upper leading edge and into the duct chamber).
However, Giannini does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach method comprising: determining a net force and net moment to act on the aircraft. Nevertheless, Greiner teaches method comprising: determining a net force and net moment to act on the aircraft; (See Greiner para[0018] This makes for a system which can only be controlled in roll, pitch, yaw, and net thrust. Such a multi-rotor vehicle can move in space by holding a particular roll or pitch angle and varying the net thrust, para[0020] Free-body analysis yields the forces and moments acting on the body from each thruster. The forces and moments are summed together to produce a unique mapping from motor thrust to net body forces and moments. A desired input including roll, pitch, and yaw moments and forward, lateral, and vertical thrusts can be received and used to calculate the necessary change in motor thrusts, and thus by extension motor speeds, to achieve the desired input).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Giannini’s control method for hybrid propulsion aircraft with Greiner’s adjusting trust for rotors (ducted fan) in order to advances in technology and an increased prevalence of UAVs (see Greiner para[0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 10. Wu teaches wherein determining the first local force and first local moment allocation comprises using a plurality of weighting factors. (See Wu para[0016] scale factors consideration determining local force and moment).
Regarding claim 12, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 10. Giannini teaches wherein each of the weighting factors is associated with a distance to a centre of gravity of the aircraft. (See Giannini para[0072] Likewise, each of the two canard wings 106 is preferably the same length. The primary and canard wing sets may be arranged at an anhedral angle, thereby compensating for, or mitigating, any change in center of gravity and controlling the center of thrust, para [0081]The components of the hybrid propulsion aircraft 100 are preferably positioned such that the hybrid propulsion aircraft's 100 center of gravity remains substantially constant, whether the wings are level (horizontal flight position) or up (vertical flight position), and whether the payload bay 124 and/or fuel tanks 120 are empty or full).
Regarding claim 13, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 10. Giannini teaches wherein determining, for the second plurality of ducted fans, a second local force (See Giannini claim 1 a canard wing set having a second plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a second aggregate thrust, each of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators,) and first local moment allocation comprises compensating, at least in part, for the first local force and first local moment allocation. (See Giannini claim 1 a primary wing set having a first plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a first aggregate thrust, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators).
Regarding claim 14, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 10. Giannini teach wherein controlling the first plurality of ducted fans according to the first local force and first local moment allocation comprises adjusting a thrust output of the first plurality of ducted fans, and wherein controlling the second plurality of ducted fans according to the second local force and second local moment allocation comprises adjusting a thrust of output of the second plurality of ducted fans (See Giannini claim 1 and 4 wherein each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans and said second plurality of integrated ducted fans comprises an adjustable thrust nozzle that is independently controllable., para[0013] In certain aspects, one or more of said first or second plurality of integrated ducted fans comprises an adjustable thrust nozzle, which may be independently controllable.).
Regarding claim 15, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 10. Giannini teaches wherein the aircraft comprises a fuselage, and the first plurality of ducted fans are on a first side of the fuselage, and the second plurality of ducted fans are on a second, opposing, side of the fuselage (See Giannini para[0009] a hybrid propulsion vertical take-off and landing (VTOL) aerial vehicle comprises: a fuselage; an engine operatively coupled with one or more generators to generate electric power, the engine and the one or more generators being positioned within the fuselage; a primary wing set having a first plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a first aggregate thrust, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators; and a canard wing set having a second plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a second aggregate thrust, each of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators).
Regarding claim 16, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 10. Giannini teaches wherein the first plurality of ducted fans are mounted on a first wing or canard, and the second plurality of ducted fans are mounted on a second wing or canard(See Giannini para[0009] a hybrid propulsion vertical take-off and landing (VTOL) aerial vehicle comprises: a fuselage; an engine operatively coupled with one or more generators to generate electric power, the engine and the one or more generators being positioned within the fuselage; a primary wing set having a first plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a first aggregate thrust, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators; and a canard wing set having a second plurality of integrated ducted fans to collectively generate a second aggregate thrust, each of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans driven by an electric fan motor operatively coupled with at least one of said one or more generators).
Regarding claim 17, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 10. However, Giannini does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the net force to act on the aircraft comprises a net thrust, and wherein the net moment to act on the aircraft comprise one or more of a yaw moment, a pitch moment, and a roll moment. Nevertheless, Greiner same field of endeavor teaches wherein the net force to act on the aircraft comprises a net thrust, and wherein the net moment to act on the aircraft comprise one or more of a yaw moment, a pitch moment, and a roll moment (See Greiner para[0020] Free-body analysis yields the forces and moments acting on the body from each thruster. The forces and moments are summed together to produce a unique mapping from motor thrust to net body forces and moments. A desired input including roll, pitch, and yaw moments and forward, lateral, and vertical thrusts can be received and used to calculate the necessary change in motor thrusts, and thus by extension motor speeds, to achieve the desired input.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Giannini’s control method for hybrid propulsion aircraft with Greiner’s adjusting trust for rotors (ducted fan) in order to advances in technology and an increased prevalence of UAVs (see Greiner para[0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 10. Giannini teach wherein controlling the first plurality of ducted fans according to the first local force and first local moment allocation comprises commanding at least two ducted fans of the first plurality of ducted fans to differ in at least one of a flap angle state or a rotor speed state (See Giannini ,para[0067] In certain aspects, the wings, or portions thereof, may be modular where additional ducted fan modules may be quickly added, removed, and/or substituted (e.g., with a differently rated ducted fan).
Regarding claim 19, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 10. Giannini teaches wherein the aircraft is a vertical take-off and landing (VTOL) aircraft. (See Giannini A hybrid propulsion vertical take-off and landing (VTOL) aerial vehicle).
Regarding claim 20, Giannini teaches when executed on the processor, (See Giannini para[0056]As utilized herein the terms “circuits” and “circuitry” refer to physical electronic components (i.e. hardware) and any software and/or firmware (“code”) which may configure the hardware, be executed by the hardware, and or otherwise be associated with the hardware. As used herein, for example, a particular processor and memory may comprise a first “circuit” when executing a first set of one or more lines of code and may comprise a second “circuit” when executing a second set of one or more lines of code).
performs a method, comprising: determining a net force and net moment to act on an aircraft (See Giannini claim 4 wherein each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans and said second plurality of integrated ducted fans comprises an adjustable thrust nozzle that is independently controllable.)
determining, for a first plurality of ducted fans, a first local force and first local moment allocation for providing a first contribution to the net force and the net moment (See Giannini para[0008] the primary wing set comprising a first plurality of integrated ducted fans, each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans being operatively coupled with at least one of said plurality of generators);
determining, for a second plurality of ducted fans (see Giannini para[0018] In certain aspects, the one or more generators includes a first generator operably coupled with: (1) two of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans, each being positioned on opposite sides of the fuselage; and (2) two of said second plurality of integrated ducted fans, each being positioned on opposite sides of the fuselage).
a second local force and second local moment allocation for providing a second contribution to the net force and net moment(See Giannini para [0097] The trailing edge control surfaces 406 may be actuated to adjust the thrust nozzle at each ducted fan, thereby controlling the roll, yaw, and pitch of the hybrid propulsion aircraft 100 through differential and/or vectored thrust) and
controlling the first plurality of ducted fans according to the first local force and first local moment allocation; and controlling the second plurality of ducted fans according to the second local force and second local moment allocation See Giannini claim 4 wherein each of said first plurality of integrated ducted fans and said second plurality of integrated ducted fans comprises an adjustable thrust nozzle that is independently controllable.).
However, Giannini does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach method comprising: determining a net force and net moment to act on the aircraft. Nevertheless, Greiner teaches method comprising: determining a net force and net moment to act on the aircraft; (See Greiner para[0018] This makes for a system which can only be controlled in roll, pitch, yaw, and net thrust. Such a multi-rotor vehicle can move in space by holding a particular roll or pitch angle and varying the net thrust, para[0020] Free-body analysis yields the forces and moments acting on the body from each thruster. The forces and moments are summed together to produce a unique mapping from motor thrust to net body forces and moments. A desired input including roll, pitch, and yaw moments and forward, lateral, and vertical thrusts can be received and used to calculate the necessary change in motor thrusts, and thus by extension motor speeds, to achieve the desired input).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Giannini’s control method for hybrid propulsion aircraft with Greiner’s adjusting trust for rotors (ducted fan) in order to advances in technology and an increased prevalence of UAVs (see Greiner para[0005]).
Regarding claim 21, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein controlling the first plurality of fans according to the first local force and first local moment allocation comprises commanding at least two ducted fans of the first plurality of fans to differ in rotor speed. (See Giannini para[0075] While the primary generators 116 and fan motors 506 may run at different speeds, depending on the number of poles in the primary generators 116 and fan motor 506 (a constant electrical “gear ratio”)).
Regarding claim 22, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein determining the first local force and first local moment allocation comprises using a weighting factor reflecting a longitudinal positioning of the first plurality of ducted fans. (See Giannini first plurality and second plurality of ducted fans are located longitudinal position when the force and moment are considered)
Regarding claim 23, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein the weighting factor reflects whether the first plurality of ducted fans is located on a main wing or a canard wing. (See Giannini para[0076] The hybrid propulsion aircraft 100 may employ a hydraulic system to control, for example, the wing-tilt actuators/motors, the main landing gear actuator(s), nose landing gear actuator(s), the main landing gear brakes, etc.).
Regarding claim 24, Giannini and Greiner remain applied as claim 1. Giannini teaches wherein determining the first local force and first local moment allocation comprises using an additional weighting factor associated with a distance to a center of gravity of the aircraft. (See Giannini para[0072] Likewise, each of the two canard wings 106 is preferably the same length. The primary and canard wing sets may be arranged at an anhedral angle, thereby compensating for, or mitigating, any change in center of gravity and controlling the center of thrust, para [0081]The components of the hybrid propulsion aircraft 100 are preferably positioned such that the hybrid propulsion aircraft's 100 center of gravity remains substantially constant, whether the wings are level (horizontal flight position) or up (vertical flight position), and whether the payload bay 124 and/or fuel tanks 120 are empty or full).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666