Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,7-8,11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gaylard US 2024/0344290.
Regarding claim 1, Gaylard discloses a ram system comprising: a ram kit having a frame and a ram (par 0200; slide assembly 520 including a hydraulic ram); the frame having a first side channel and a second side channel that extend from a top bracket to a bottom bracket (par 0192; drive mount 134 includes one or more brackets for holding drive 140 relative to sliding plate and assembly 522,520); and the ram having a housing that houses a drive head (140); and the housing (130) of the ram connected to the top bracket at one end such that the housing extends downwardly from the one end towards the bottom bracket (figs 6-7; par 0190-0193).
Regarding claim 2, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 1 further comprising the top bracket having an opening that slidably receives the ram within the top bracket (drive mount 134 includes one or more brackets; par 0192).
Regarding claim 3, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 2 further comprising the opening in the top bracket having a T-shape, wherein a horizontal portion of the opening receives a mount slide plate connected to the housing of the ram and a vertical portion of the opening receives the housing of the ram (slide assembly 520 includes a platform 522 and opposing slide channels 138; fig.6 par 0189-0200) .
Regarding claim 4, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 3 further comprising a front wall of the top bracket having the opening (opening of clamping assembly of front wall of the top bracket; fig.6; par 0024).
Regarding claim 5, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 4 further comprising at least one support extending from the opening between the front wall to a rear wall of the top bracket (opposing slide channels 138; fig.6 par 0189-0200).
Regarding claim 7, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 1 wherein the drive head (130) extends telescopically from the housing (telescopic arm 610; par 0202).
Regarding claim 8, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 1 further comprising the ram having a control assembly mounted to the housing and configured to control an actuator connected to the ram by an actuation connector (par 0122-0124; onboard controller for operation control).
Regarding claim 11, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 1 wherein the ram is retained within the top bracket without being fixedly connected to the top bracket (par 0192; 0200; slide assembly 520 including a hydraulic ram).
Regarding claim 12, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 1 further comprising the bottom bracket having a slot formed by an intermedial wall and a wall selected from a group consisting of a bottom wall and a top wall of the bottom bracket, wherein the slot extends between a first side wall and a second side wall (opposing slide channels 138; fig.6) of the bottom bracket and is configured to receive a lifting bracket (par 0189-0200; slide assembly 520 including a hydraulic ram).
Regarding claim 13, Gaylard discloses a method of using a ram system comprising the steps of: providing an actuator, a frame, and a ram (par 0200; slide assembly 520 including a hydraulic ram); installing the frame on a lifting bracket (drive mount 134 includes one or more brackets; par 0192); operatively connecting the actuator to the ram (par 0200); and slidably inserting the ram within an opening in a top bracket of the frame, wherein the ram is positioned entirely within the frame (par 0192; 0200; slide assembly 520 including a hydraulic ram).
Regarding claim 14, Gaylard discloses a method of claim 13 wherein the frame has a first side channel and a second side channel (opposing slide channels 138; fig.6) that connect to the top bracket at a top end and connect to a bottom bracket at a bottom end (par 0189-0200; slide assembly 520 including a hydraulic ram).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaylard US 2024/0344290 in view of Hubener US 2017/0204633.
Regarding claim 6, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 2 but fails to teach further comprising the top bracket having a handle extending upwardly and away from a top wall of the top bracket.
However, Hubener teaches a pile driving apparatus with a ram system 45 and a handle 30; par 0038.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the ram system as taught by Gaylard with the handle 30 as taught by Hubener in order to allow for greater and simple operator control.
Regarding claim 9, Gaylard discloses the ram system of claim 8 but fails to explicitly teach wherein the control assembly has a shut off valve configured to shut off actuation of the ram upon release of a controller of the control assembly.
However, Hubener teaches a pile driving apparatus with a ram system 45 and a valve control 33; par 0039;0062.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the ram system as taught by Gaylard with the valve control as taught by Hubener in order to allow for greater and simple operator control.
Regarding claim 10, Gaylard, as modified by Hubener substantially teaches the ram system of claim 8 wherein Gaylard further teaches that no part of the ram is positioned above the top bracket (fig.6-7; par 0192).
Conclusion
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731