DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses pending claims 1 and 3-10. Claim 10 was previously withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-8 were amended, and claim 2 was cancelled in the response filed 9/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 111816933, see machine translation) in view of Li (US 2016/0254574, herein referred to has Li ‘574), Song et al. (CN 216624417, see machine translation), and Kim et al. (US 2010/0159289)
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses rechargeable battery 100x and battery controller (title, abstract).The battery 100a includes a battery cell 200a [lithium battery cell] and a controller 400a [first negative electrode metal casing] ([0174], Figs 1-2).
The controller 400a includes a circuit board 300a [circuit board], a positive electrode cap 320a [low-voltage positive electrode cap] ([0178], Figs 3-4A).
The circuit board 300a is provided with an inner electrode 330a [high-voltage positive electrode connector] which connects the circuit board 300a and the positive electrode 230a of the battery cell ([0214], [0222], Fig 3).
The controller 400a further includes a controller housing 410a having a limiting baffle 412a [first flange, inwardly provided] ([0197], Fig 6).
The upper surface of the circuit board 300a includes pad partitions 311a [positive electrode ring] arranged in a ring shape (and is therefore considered to read on the positive electrode ring) ([0180], Figs 4-4A), and outer casing/housing pads 313a [negative electrode ring] which is arranged in a ring shape ([0197], Figs 4-4A).
The circuit board 300a [circuit board] is welded to an inner surface of the limiting baffle 412a [welded to inner side of first flange] ([0197]). Further, the circuit board 300a is provided with a rechargeable circuit ([0043]) without a charging port (see Fig 3 and lack of a charging port).
The positive electrode cap 320 [low-voltage positive electrode cap] is welded/soldered/connected with the electrode cap pads 310a [positive electrode ring] ([0180], Fig 3).
The controller 400a [first negative electrode metal casing] is welded to the negative electrode 200a of the battery cell 200a [second negative electrode metal casing] ([0177]). The battery cell further includes a positive electrode 230a [high-voltage positive electrode cap assembly] ([0174], Figs 1-2).
With regards to the specific type of welding (i.e., spot or circumferential), it is noted the claim is drawn to a product claim, and therefore, only the structure implied by the process steps are considered for assessing the patentability (see MPEP 2113). The structure implied by the spot or circumferential welding is, the locations of the welds. That is, either a portion of the surfaces are welded [separate, discrete spots] or the entirety of the surfaces are welded [circumferential around a [cylindrical] battery]. Because Li teaches that the controller 400a [first negative electrode metal casing] is welded to the negative electrode 200a of the battery cell 200a [second negative electrode metal casing] ([0177]), and because there are only two types of welds [discrete spots, or the entire circumferential surface], Li implicitly has a spot or circumferential weld joining the components. Therefore, Li meets the claim limitations.
An electrode cap insulating sheet 450a [low-voltage positive/negative electrode insulating spacer] is arranged above the limiting baffle 412a [first flange of the first negative electrode metal casing] ([0236]-[0237], Fig 12).
While the battery cell 200a has current cut-off protection structure ([0175]), Li does not explicitly disclose that the circuit board is a voltage regulation circuit board.
Li ‘574 discloses a rechargeable battery including an outer packaging 502, a charging/discharging control circuit, a positive electrode, a lithium-ion battery, and a negative electrode end cap (abstract). The lithium battery charging/discharging control circuit includes: a lithium-ion battery charging control circuit, a lithium-ion battery detection circuit, and a DC-DC step-down regulator discharging circuit [voltage regulation circuit board] (abstract). The lithium-ion battery has a relative high output voltage, and the output voltage varies according to different positive electrode systems ([0002]), and therefore the output of the battery is stepped-down and regulated to a specific voltage ([0014]). That is, the lithium-ion battery has a higher voltage compared to the rechargeable battery, and therefore there are high- and low-voltage components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DC-DC step-down regulator discharging circuit of Li‘574 with the circuit board of Li for the purpose of regulating the battery to a specific output voltage.
Therefore, Li discloses the controller 400a includes the circuit board 300a ([0178], Figs 3-4A), and Li ‘574 teaches a circuit board having a DC-DC step down regulator discharging circuit (abstract, [0014]).
As Li teaches that the upper surface of the circuit board 300a includes outer casing/housing pads 313a [negative electrode ring] which is arranged in a ring shape ([0197], Figs 4-4A), and the circuit board 300a [circuit board] is welded to an inner surface of the limiting baffle 412a [welded to inner side of first flange] ([0197]); the circuit board [having the voltage regulation circuit taught by Li ‘574] is electrically connected to a negative electrode of the lithium battery cell 200a sequentially through the first negative electrode metal casing [controller 400a/controller housing 410a] and the second negative electrode metal casing [outer casing of battery 200a].
Li does not explicitly disclose that the negative electrode ring and positive electrode ring are copper.
Li‘574 teaches the charging/discharging control circuit 550 (750,850,950) has copper coated portions at the V- and V+ terminals for connection to the lithium-ion battery charging/discharge control circuit ([0091]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the copper material connection of the control circuit as taught by Li ‘574 with the positive and negative rings of the circuit board of Li for the purpose of having a connection with high conductivity from the copper material.
While Li discloses an inner electrode 330a [high-voltage positive electrode connector], Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the high-voltage electrode connector is in elastic contact with the high-voltage positive electrode cap assembly.
Song discloses a lithium battery comprising a battery cell 1, a step-down circuit board 2, bracket 3, and protective cap 4 ([0049], Fig 1). The step-down circuit board 2 is provided with pins 22 at the positive and negative terminals to connect with the positive and negative terminals of the battery cell ([0048], Fig 1). The pins 22 have a certain degree of elasticity, which can undergo a certain deformation and plays a leveling role ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the pins of the circuit board as taught by Song with the inner electrode [high-voltage positive electrode connector] that connects the circuit board to the positive electrode of the battery of Li for the purpose of having a connection with a certain degree of elasticity, and can undergo a certain deformation and plays a leveling role.
However, Li is silent to the details of the battery cell, and does not explicitly disclose: wherein the lithium battery cell further comprises a wound cell assembly; the wound cell assembly comprises a wound cell, a battery positive tab and a battery negative tab; the wound cell is welded to the high-voltage positive electrode cap assembly through the battery positive tab; the battery negative tab is wound from a side surface of the wound cell to a bottom surface and is connected to the wound cell; the rechargeable circuit without a charging port is provided with a step-down charging management module and a battery protection module; the step-down charging management module is connected to the battery protection module; a battery voltage input terminal of the step-down charging management module is connected to the wound cell; an output power terminal of the step-down charging management module is connected to the battery positive tab; a power terminal of the battery protection module is connected to the battery positive tab and the battery negative tab; and a battery voltage input terminal of the battery protection module is connected to the wound cell.
Kim discloses a secondary battery 100 including a cylindrical bare cell 110 including a cylindrical can configured as a first electrode and an electrode cap configured as a second electrode (abstract). The electrode cap is coupled with a protection circuit module (PCM) 120 including a circuit board (abstract). The bare cell 110 includes an electrode assembly including a positive electrode plate 111a, a negative electrode plate 111b, and a separator 111c which are wound together, with electrode tabs 111d,111e [battery positive tab and battery negative tab] attached to the electrode plates 111a,111b respectively ([0037], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the bare cell made of a wound electrode plates with electrode tabs as taught by Kim with the battery cells of Li for the purpose of having a known battery cell configuration.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the protection circuit module (PCM) of Kim with the circuit board and rechargeable battery of Li for the purpose of protecting the charging and discharging of the cell (Kim at [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Li is silent to the details of the battery cell, and does not explicitly disclose wherein an upper portion of the second negative electrode metal casing is defined with an annular rolled groove, and a top of the second negative electrode metal casing is provided with a second flange; the wound cell assembly is arranged in the second negative electrode metal casing and a position of the wound cell assembly is constrained by the annular rolled groove; the second negative electrode metal casing is divided by the annular rolled groove into a lower body portion and an upper contraction portion; an outer diameter of the first negative electrode metal casing is the same as that of the lower body portion of the second negative electrode metal casing; an inner diameter of the first negative electrode metal casing is the same as an outer diameter of the upper contraction portion of the second negative electrode metal casing; the upper contraction portion of the second negative electrode metal casing is embedded into the first negative electrode metal casing; and an outer surface of the first negative electrode metal casing is flush with an outer surface of the second negative electrode metal casing.
Song discloses a lithium battery comprising a battery cell 1, a step-down circuit board 2, bracket 3, and protective cap 4 ([0049], Fig 1). The battery cell 1 includes a groove 7 [annular rolled groove] which is close to the positive terminal of the battery cell 1, and provides a second flange at the top ([0039], [0052], see Fig 1). The protective cap 4 will cover the groove 7 [and therefore the outer diameter of the first negative electrode metal casing is the same as that of the lower body portion of the second negative electrode metal casing, and inner diameter of the first negative electrode metal casing is the same as an outer diameter of the upper contraction portion of the second negative electrode metal casing, upper contraction portion of the second negative electrode metal casing is embedded into the first negative electrode metal casing, and an outer surface of the first negative electrode metal casing is flush with an outer surface of the second negative electrode metal casing] ([0053]). The groove 7 divides the cell 1 into a primary constriction 71 [upper contraction portion] and a secondary constriction 72 [lower contraction portion] ([0052], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the groove [annular rolled groove] and diameters of the protective cap and first and second constriction portions of Song with the battery cell and controller of modified Li for the purpose of dividing the cell into portions and having diameters which allow the controller/protective cap to fit over the battery cell.
Further, while Song does not explicitly disclose that the wound cell assembly is in a position of the wound cell assembly constrained by the annular groove, Kim teaches that the electrode assembly 110 [wound portion] is constrained by an annular groove/beading 112c ([0038], Fig 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to constrain the wound cell assembly by the annular groove/beading as taught by Kim in the battery of modified Li for the purpose preventing the electrode assembly from moving (Kim at [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Song teaches pins 22 as the electrode connectors ([0048]), which reads on a pogo pin.
Regarding claim 9, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Li does not explicitly disclose further comprising an insulating housing, wherein the insulating housing encapsulates the first negative electrode metal casing, the second negative electrode metal casing and the low-voltage positive/negative electrode insulating spacer.
Li ‘574 further teaches the outer packaging 502 has an insulation coating or finish ([0096]), and covers the battery unit 510 and the controller 550 (see Figs 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the outer packaging having an insulation coating of Li ‘574 with the rechargeable battery of Li for the purpose of insulating and protecting the battery.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 111816933, see machine translation) in view of Li (US 2016/0254574, herein referred to as Li ‘574), Song et al. (CN 216624417, see machine translation), and Kim et al. (US 2010/0159289), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EEWORLD. (Published on 10-30-2024). Ingenic IP5167 Lithium battery to dry cell dedicated low power chip 1.0A charging. https://en.eeworld.com.cn/bbs/thread-1297739-1-1.html
Regarding claims 3-4, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Li ‘574 discloses a DC-DC step-down regulator discharging circuit, modified Li does not explicitly disclose (claim 3) wherein the step-down charging management module comprises a step-down charging management chip and a filter circuit unit, wherein a battery voltage input pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected to a positive electrode of the wound cell; the filter circuit unit comprises a first filter capacitor, a second filter capacitor and a first inductor; the battery voltage input pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected in series with the first filter capacitor and then grounded; a switch node (SW) pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected in series with the first inductor and the second filter capacitor in sequence and then grounded; and a voltage output (VOUT) pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected to the SW pin through the first inductor, or (claim 4) wherein a model of the step-down charging management chip is IP5167.
EEWORLD discloses an IP5167 chip used in lithium batteries to convert voltage (page 1). As seen in Figure 2 (reproduced below), the chip has a step-down charging management module comprising a step-down charging management chip and a filter circuit unit, wherein a battery voltage input pin [VBAT] of the step-down charging management chip is connected to a positive electrode of the wound cell; the filter circuit unit comprises a first filter capacitor [see label 4.7 uF], a second filter capacitor [see label 22 uF] and a first inductor [see label 1 uH]; the battery voltage input pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected in series with the first filter capacitor and then grounded; a switch node (SW) pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected in series with the first inductor and the second filter capacitor in sequence and then grounded; and a voltage output (VOUT) pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected to the SW pin through the first inductor. EEWORLD teaches the IP5167 has excellent load transient response performance, high discharge efficiency, and meets various application scenarios (page 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the IP5167 having the features and connections listed above as taught by EEWORLD with the converter of modified Li for the purpose of having a converter having excellent load transient response performance, high discharge efficiency, and meets various application scenarios.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 111816933, see machine translation) in view of Li (US 2016/0254574, herein referred to as Li ‘574), Song et al. (CN 216624417, see machine translation), and Kim et al. (US 2010/0159289), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lu (CN 101604764, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 5-6, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Kim discloses a protection circuit module, modified Li does not explicitly disclose: (claim 5) wherein the battery protection module comprises a battery protection chip and a protective filter capacitor; a battery voltage input pin of the battery protection chip is connected to the wound cell and the step-down charging management module; a voltage drain drain (VDD) pin of the battery protection chip is connected to the battery positive tab; and a voltage collector collector (VCC) pin of the battery protection chip is connected in series with the protective filter capacitor and is connected to the battery negative tab, or (claim 6) wherein a model of the battery protection chip is BP6452LC.
Lu discloses a lithium ion battery with a protection circuit (abstract, [0001]). The protection circuit has the positive terminal B+ of the battery connected with the voltage drain drain VDD [and therefore connected to the positive electrode tab inside the cell], and the voltage collector collector VCC is connected in series with a capacitor C1 and is connected with the tab inside the cell ([0037, Fig 2 [reproduced below]). The protection circuit board has greatly reduced size of the protection IC ([0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the protection circuit with the listed connections as taught by Lu with the protection circuit of modified Li for the purpose of having a protection circuit which has a greatly reduced size.
With regards to claim 6, and the model of BP6452LC, while Lu does not explicitly disclose the exact model, Lu however discloses the claimed connections, and therefore any differences would be minor or an obvious variant because the connections are made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose the amended claim limitations (“fixedly connected to each other by spot welding or circumferential welding” and “wherein the voltage regulation circuit board is electrically connected to a negative electrode of the lithium battery cell sequentially through the first negative electrode metal casing and the second negative electrode metal casing”).
This is not considered persuasive. As set forth above, with regards to the specific type of welding (i.e., spot or circumferential), it is noted the claim is drawn to a product claim, and therefore, only the structure implied by the process steps are considered for assessing the patentability (see MPEP 2113). The structure implied by the spot or circumferential welding is, the locations of the welds. That is, either a portion of the surfaces are welded [separate, discrete spots] or the entirety of the surfaces are welded [circumferential around a [cylindrical] battery]. Because Li teaches that the controller 400a [first negative electrode metal casing] is welded to the negative electrode 200a of the battery cell 200a [second negative electrode metal casing] ([0177]), and because there are only two types of welds [discrete spots, or the entire circumferential surface], Li implicitly has a spot or circumferential weld joining the components. Therefore, Li meets the claim limitations.
In addition, with regards to the electrical connection sequencing, as set forth above, Li teaches that the upper surface of the circuit board 300a includes outer casing/housing pads 313a [negative electrode ring] which is arranged in a ring shape ([0197], Figs 4-4A), and the circuit board 300a [circuit board] is welded to an inner surface of the limiting baffle 412a [welded to inner side of first flange] ([0197]); the circuit board [having the voltage regulation circuit taught by Li ‘574] is electrically connected to a negative electrode of the lithium battery cell 200a sequentially through the first negative electrode metal casing [controller 400a/controller housing 410a] and the second negative electrode metal casing [outer casing of battery 200a].
Applicant argues that the Office has not identified any disclosure in Li establishing that the controller housing 410a is a metal casing at all, still less a metal casing that is at the negative potential of the cell and that constitutes part of the negative current path.
This is not considered persuasive. The controller housing 410a is made of metal, and the outer casing pad 313a establishes an electrical connection between the controller housing 410a and the circuit board 300a ([0196]-[0197]). In addition, because Li teaches that the controller 400a is welded to the negative electrode 200a of the battery cell 200a [second negative electrode metal casing] ([0177]), Li would meets the recited properties.
Applicant argues that, with Li ‘574, at most, the proposed combination of Li ‘574 with Li would yield copper-containing pads on Li’s board, and not the claimed negative electrode ring that serves as the mechanical weld interface with the first flange and the negative electrode terminal of the voltage regulation circuit board. Further arguing that the rings in Li ‘574 are not annular copper rings.
This is not considered persuasive. Li teaches the upper surface of the circuit board 300a includes pad partitions 311a [positive electrode ring] arranged in a ring shape (and is therefore considered to read on the positive electrode ring) ([0180], Figs 4-4A), and outer casing/housing pads 313a [negative electrode ring] which is arranged in a ring shape ([0197], Figs 4-4A).
While Applicant argues that the rings of the prior art are not annular copper rings, the claim merely requires “copper rings”. Therefore, Applicant is arguing limitations which are not being claimed. In addition, Li illustrates the outer casing/housing pads 313a [negative electrode ring] as an annular ring (see Figs 4-4A).
Further, the outer casing pad 313a not only serves to fix the controller housing 410a, but also establishes an electrical connection between the controller housing 410a and the circuit board 300a ([0197]).
Li ‘574 teaches the charging/discharging control circuit 550 (750,850,950) has copper coated portions at the V- and V+ terminals for connection to the lithium-ion battery charging/discharge control circuit ([0091]-[0092]). Therefore, the combination teaches the negative electrode copper ring that serves as a mechanical weld interface with the first flange and the negative electrode terminal of the voltage regulation circuit board.
Applicant argues that modifying Li in view of Song, as proposed by the Office, would retain the elastic-pin negative connection and the supporting bracket, and would not lead a person of ordinary skill to an arrangement in which the negative connection of the circuit board is made by welding a negative electrode copper ring on the upper surface of the board to the inner surface of the first flange of a first negative electrode metal casing.
This is not considered persuasive. Song is not relied upon for the negative electrode copper ring, which is already taught by the other references. Instead, Song is relied upon for the positive pin with elasticity to connect the circuit board to the inner electrode.
Applicant argues, with regards to claim 1, that none of the teachings of Kim amounts to the recited combination of a step-down charging management module and a battery protection module that are connected to each other and interconnected with the wound cell and the battery tabs in the specific manner recited in claim 1.
This is not considered persuasive. The rejection is based on a combination of references.
Li further teaches that the battery is a lithium-ion battery ([0005]), that is provides a nominal voltage of 1.5V ([0163]), and further teaches that the battery has charge and discharge control technology that integrates the control circuit, DC-DC converter circuit, and lithium-ion battery into a single unit ([0005], [0007]). Because the battery has a DC-DC converter circuit, that changes the voltage to 1.5V, the battery has step-down charging based in the controller, and therefore a step-down charging management module. Further, the inner electrode pad 312a of the circuit board 300a is connected to an inner electrode 330a, which is connected to the positive electrode of the battery cell ([0218]); therefore the step-down charging management module is connected to the wound cell and the battery positive tab.
In addition, Li ‘574 discloses a lithium battery charging/discharging control circuit includes: a lithium-ion battery charging control circuit, a lithium-ion battery detection circuit, and a DC-DC step-down regulator discharging circuit [voltage regulation circuit board] (abstract).
Further, Song teaches a step-down circuit board that indicates the charging status of the battery ([0025]), and the charging interface is fixed to the step-down circuit board ([0058]). Therefore, charging occurs through the step-down circuit.
Kim teaches that the PCM 120 is coupled with the bare cell 110 to control the operation of the secondary battery 100 including charge/discharge of the bare cell 110 ([0042]).
Therefore, the combination of references provides the step-down charging management module and battery protection module on the circuit board connected to the wound cell and battery positive tab.
Even further, while not relied upon in the rejection of claim 1, EEWORLD discloses an IP5167 chip used in lithium batteries to convert voltage (page 1), with a buck converter [step down converter] (page 1), where the chip is used for charging as well (page 2). As seen in Figure 2 of EEWORLD, the chip has a step-down charging management module comprising a step-down charging management chip and a filter circuit unit, wherein a battery voltage input pin [VBAT] of the step-down charging management chip is connected to a positive electrode of the wound cell. Therefore, EEWORLD similarly teaches a step-down charging management module because the chip with a buck/stepdown converter performs charging.
In response to applicant's argument that copper ring on the upper surface leads to the effects of: electrical connection, no gap between casing and board, voltage regulation circuit fixed, the height is greatly compressed (see arguments pages 11-12), the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725