DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 7/2/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of all claims is sufficiently related that a search would encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining claims and species, further arguing that a search can be made without serious burden.
This is not found persuasive because, as set forth in MPEP 808.02, the Examiner establishes that there would be a serious burden if restriction is not required by explanation one of the following: a) separate classification thereof, b) a separate status in the art when they are classifiably together, or c) a different field of search. The Examiner has identified the groups with separate classifications (see previous office action where Group I is classified in H01M 10/0525 and group II is identified in H01M 10/058). In addition, the groups would require a different field of search. For example, a search for battery having the first negative electrode metal casing, a voltage regulation circuit board, low-voltage positive electrode cap, a high-voltage positive electrode connector, and a lithium battery cell, may not uncover an exterior insulating housing nor the application method of the insulating housing of the battery, and therefore different search queries would have to be used. Therefore, the Examiner has demonstrated serious burden in compliance with MPEP 808.02 and MPEP 803 because there is at least a separate classification thereof, and a different field of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 111816933, see machine translation) in view of Li (US 2016/0254574, herein referred to has Li ‘574), and Song et al. (CN 216624417, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses rechargeable battery 100x and battery controller (title, abstract).The battery 100a includes a battery cell 200a [lithium battery cell] and a controller 400a [first negative electrode metal casing] ([0174], Figs 1-2).
The controller 400a includes a circuit board 300a [circuit board], a positive electrode cap 320a [low-voltage positive electrode cap] ([0178], Figs 3-4A).
The circuit board 300a is provided with an inner electrode 330a [high-voltage positive electrode connector] which connects the circuit board 300a and the positive electrode 230a of the battery cell ([0214], [0222], Fig 3).
The controller 400a further includes a controller housing 410a having a limiting baffle 412a [first flange, inwardly provided] ([0197], Fig 6).
The upper surface of the circuit board 300a includes pad partitions 311a [positive electrode ring] arranged in a ring shape (and is therefore considered to read on the positive electrode ring) ([0180], Figs 4-4A), and outer casing/housing pads 313a [negative electrode ring] which is arranged in a ring shape ([0197], Figs 4-4A).
The circuit board 300a [circuit board] is welded to an inner surface of the limiting baffle 412a [welded to inner side of first flange] ([0197]). Further, the circuit board 300a is provided with a rechargeable circuit ([0043]) without a charging port (see Fig 3 and lack of a charging port).
The positive electrode cap 320 [low-voltage positive electrode cap] is welded/soldered/connected with the electrode cap pads 310a [positive electrode ring] ([0180], Fig 3).
The controller 400a [first negative electrode metal casing] is welded to the negative electrode 200a of the battery cell 200a [second negative electrode metal casing] ([0177]). The battery cell further includes a positive electrode 230a [high-voltage positive electrode cap assembly] ([0174], Figs 1-2).
An electrode cap insulating sheet 450a [low-voltage positive/negative electrode insulating spacer] is arranged above the limiting baffle 412a [first flange of the first negative electrode metal casing] ([0236]-[0237], Fig 12).
While the battery cell 200a has current cut-off protection structure ([0175]), Li does not explicitly disclose that the circuit board is a voltage regulation circuit board.
Li ‘574 discloses a rechargeable battery including an outer packaging 502, a charging/discharging control circuit, a positive electrode, a lithium-ion battery, and a negative electrode end cap (abstract). The lithium battery charging/discharging control circuit includes: a lithium-ion battery charging control circuit, a lithium-ion battery detection circuit, and a DC-DC step-down regulator discharging circuit [voltage regulation circuit board] (abstract). The lithium-ion battery has a relative high output voltage, and the output voltage varies according to different positive electrode systems ([0002]), and therefore the output of the battery is stepped-down and regulated to a specific voltage ([0014]). That is, the lithium-ion battery has a higher voltage compared to the rechargeable battery, and therefore there are high- and low-voltage components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DC-DC step-down regulator discharging circuit of Li‘574 with the circuit board of Li for the purpose of regulating the battery to a specific output voltage.
Li does not explicitly disclose that the negative electrode ring and positive electrode ring are copper.
Li‘574 teaches the charging/discharging control circuit 550 (750,850,950) has copper coated portions at the V- and V+ terminals for connection to the lithium-ion battery charging/discharge control circuit ([0091]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the copper material connection of the control circuit as taught by Li ‘574 with the positive and negative rings of the circuit board of Li for the purpose of having a connection with high conductivity from the copper material.
While Li discloses an inner electrode 330a [high-voltage positive electrode connector], Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the high-voltage electrode connector is in elastic contact with the high-voltage positive electrode cap assembly.
Song discloses a lithium battery comprising a battery cell 1, a step-down circuit board 2, bracket 3, and protective cap 4 ([0049], Fig 1). The step-down circuit board 2 is provided with pins 22 at the positive and negative terminals to connect with the positive and negative terminals of the battery cell ([0048], Fig 1). The pins 22 have a certain degree of elasticity, which can undergo a certain deformation and plays a leveling role ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the pins of the circuit board as taught by Song with the inner electrode [high-voltage positive electrode connector] that connects the circuit board to the positive electrode of the battery of Li for the purpose of having a connection with a certain degree of elasticity, and can undergo a certain deformation and plays a leveling role.
Regarding claim 9, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Li does not explicitly disclose further comprising an insulating housing, wherein the insulating housing encapsulates the first negative electrode metal casing, the second negative electrode metal casing and the low-voltage positive/negative electrode insulating spacer.
Li ‘574 further teaches the outer packaging 502 has an insulation coating or finish ([0096]), and covers the battery unit 510 and the controller 550 (see Figs 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the outer packaging having an insulation coating of Li ‘574 with the rechargeable battery of Li for the purpose of insulating and protecting the battery.
Claim(s) 2 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 111816933, see machine translation) in view of Li (US 2016/0254574, herein referred to as Li ‘574), and Song et al. (CN 216624417, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2010/0159289).
Regarding claim 2, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Li is silent to the details of the battery cell, and does not explicitly disclose: wherein the lithium battery cell further comprises a wound cell assembly; the wound cell assembly comprises a wound cell, a battery positive tab and a battery negative tab; the wound cell is welded to the high-voltage positive electrode cap assembly through the battery positive tab; the battery negative tab is wound from a side surface of the wound cell to a bottom surface and is connected to the wound cell; the rechargeable circuit without a charging port is provided with a step-down charging management module and a battery protection module; the step-down charging management module is connected to the battery protection module; a battery voltage input terminal of the step-down charging management module is connected to the wound cell; an output power terminal of the step-down charging management module is connected to the battery positive tab; a power terminal of the battery protection module is connected to the battery positive tab and the battery negative tab; and a battery voltage input terminal of the battery protection module is connected to the wound cell.
Kim discloses a secondary battery 100 including a cylindrical bare cell 110 including a cylindrical can configured as a first electrode and an electrode cap configured as a second electrode (abstract). The electrode cap is coupled with a protection circuit module (PCM) 120 including a circuit board (abstract). The bare cell 110 includes an electrode assembly including a positive electrode plate 111a, a negative electrode plate 111b, and a separator 111c which are wound together, with electrode tabs 111d,111e [battery positive tab and battery negative tab] attached to the electrode plates 111a,111b respectively ([0037], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the bare cell made of a wound electrode plates with electrode tabs as taught by Kim with the battery cells of Li for the purpose of having a known battery cell configuration.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the protection circuit module (PCM) of Kim with the circuit board and rechargeable battery of Li for the purpose of protecting the charging and discharging of the cell (Kim at [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Li is silent to the details of the battery cell, and does not explicitly disclose wherein an upper portion of the second negative electrode metal casing is defined with an annular rolled groove, and a top of the second negative electrode metal casing is provided with a second flange; the wound cell assembly is arranged in the second negative electrode metal casing and a position of the wound cell assembly is constrained by the annular rolled groove; the second negative electrode metal casing is divided by the annular rolled groove into a lower body portion and an upper contraction portion; an outer diameter of the first negative electrode metal casing is the same as that of the lower body portion of the second negative electrode metal casing; an inner diameter of the first negative electrode metal casing is the same as an outer diameter of the upper contraction portion of the second negative electrode metal casing; the upper contraction portion of the second negative electrode metal casing is embedded into the first negative electrode metal casing; and an outer surface of the first negative electrode metal casing is flush with an outer surface of the second negative electrode metal casing.
Song discloses a lithium battery comprising a battery cell 1, a step-down circuit board 2, bracket 3, and protective cap 4 ([0049], Fig 1). The battery cell 1 includes a groove 7 [annular rolled groove] which is close to the positive terminal of the battery cell 1, and provides a second flange at the top ([0039], [0052], see Fig 1). The protective cap 4 will cover the groove 7 [and therefore the outer diameter of the first negative electrode metal casing is the same as that of the lower body portion of the second negative electrode metal casing, and inner diameter of the first negative electrode metal casing is the same as an outer diameter of the upper contraction portion of the second negative electrode metal casing, upper contraction portion of the second negative electrode metal casing is embedded into the first negative electrode metal casing, and an outer surface of the first negative electrode metal casing is flush with an outer surface of the second negative electrode metal casing] ([0053]). The groove 7 divides the cell 1 into a primary constriction 71 [upper contraction portion] and a secondary constriction 72 [lower contraction portion] ([0052], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the groove [annular rolled groove] and diameters of the protective cap and first and second constriction portions of Song with the battery cell and controller of modified Li for the purpose of dividing the cell into portions and having diameters which allow the controller/protective cap to fit over the battery cell.
Further, while Song does not explicitly disclose that the wound cell assembly is in a position of the wound cell assembly constrained by the annular groove, Kim teaches that the electrode assembly 110 [wound portion] is constrained by an annular groove/beading 112c ([0038], Fig 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to constrain the wound cell assembly by the annular groove/beading as taught by Kim in the battery of modified Li for the purpose preventing the electrode assembly from moving (Kim at [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Song teaches pins 22 as the electrode connectors ([0048]), which reads on a pogo pin.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 111816933, see machine translation) in view of Li (US 2016/0254574, herein referred to as Li ‘574), Song et al. (CN 216624417, see machine translation), and Kim et al. (US 2010/0159289), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of EEWORLD. (Published on 10-30-2024). Ingenic IP5167 Lithium battery to dry cell dedicated low power chip 1.0A charging. https://en.eeworld.com.cn/bbs/thread-1297739-1-1.html
Regarding claims 3-4, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Li ‘574 discloses a DC-DC step-down regulator discharging circuit, modified Li does not explicitly disclose (claim 3) wherein the step-down charging management module comprises a step-down charging management chip and a filter circuit unit, wherein a battery voltage input pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected to a positive electrode of the wound cell; the filter circuit unit comprises a first filter capacitor, a second filter capacitor and a first inductor; the battery voltage input pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected in series with the first filter capacitor and then grounded; a switch node (SW) pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected in series with the first inductor and the second filter capacitor in sequence and then grounded; and a voltage output (VOUT) pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected to the SW pin through the first inductor, or (claim 4) wherein a model of the step-down charging management chip is IP5167.
EEWORLD discloses an IP5167 chip used in lithium batteries to convert voltage (page 1). As seen in Figure 2 (reproduced below), the chip has a step-down charging management module comprising a step-down charging management chip and a filter circuit unit, wherein a battery voltage input pin [VBAT] of the step-down charging management chip is connected to a positive electrode of the wound cell; the filter circuit unit comprises a first filter capacitor [see label 4.7 uF], a second filter capacitor [see label 22 uF] and a first inductor [see label 1 uH]; the battery voltage input pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected in series with the first filter capacitor and then grounded; a switch node (SW) pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected in series with the first inductor and the second filter capacitor in sequence and then grounded; and a voltage output (VOUT) pin of the step-down charging management chip is connected to the SW pin through the first inductor. EEWORLD teaches the IP5167 has excellent load transient response performance, high discharge efficiency, and meets various application scenarios (page 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the IP5167 having the features and connections listed above as taught by EEWORLD with the converter of modified Li for the purpose of having a converter having excellent load transient response performance, high discharge efficiency, and meets various application scenarios.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 111816933, see machine translation) in view of Li (US 2016/0254574, herein referred to as Li ‘574), Song et al. (CN 216624417, see machine translation), and Kim et al. (US 2010/0159289), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lu (CN 101604764, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 5-6, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Kim discloses a protection circuit module, modified Li does not explicitly disclose: (claim 5) wherein the battery protection module comprises a battery protection chip and a protective filter capacitor; a battery voltage input pin of the battery protection chip is connected to the wound cell and the step-down charging management module; a voltage drain drain (VDD) pin of the battery protection chip is connected to the battery positive tab; and a voltage collector collector (VCC) pin of the battery protection chip is connected in series with the protective filter capacitor and is connected to the battery negative tab, or (claim 6) wherein a model of the battery protection chip is BP6452LC.
Lu discloses a lithium ion battery with a protection circuit (abstract, [0001]). The protection circuit has the positive terminal B+ of the battery connected with the voltage drain drain VDD [and therefore connected to the positive electrode tab inside the cell], and the voltage collector collector VCC is connected in series with a capacitor C1 and is connected with the tab inside the cell ([0037, Fig 2 [reproduced below]). The protection circuit board has greatly reduced size of the protection IC ([0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the protection circuit with the listed connections as taught by Lu with the protection circuit of modified Li for the purpose of having a protection circuit which has a greatly reduced size.
With regards to claim 6, and the model of BP6452LC, while Lu does not explicitly disclose the exact model, Lu however discloses the claimed connections, and therefore any differences would be minor or an obvious variant because the connections are made.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725