DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed 02/23/2026.
Claims 1 and 5-7 are amended.
Claims 2, and 8-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are pending.
Claims 1 and 3-7 have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12586062 (“Patent Document”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 1 of the Patent Document recites all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application; however, claim 1 of the Patent Document differs since it further recites additional claim limitations.
Instant Application
Patent Document
A method comprising:
determining a target ratio defining a first quantitative relationship between proportion of an amount of a token present on allowed to be maintained on each blockchain of a plurality of blockchains on which the token is minted relative to a total extant amount of the token across the plurality of blockchains. wherein the target ratio is determined based at least in part on one or more of (1) transaction volumes associated with the token on each blockchain of the plurality of blockchains or (2) an aggregate amount of tokens involved in transactions performed on each blockchain of the plurality of blockchains;
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instruction that, when executed by a processor of a processing system, cause the processing system to perform a method,
the method comprising:
determining a target ratio defining a proportion of an amount of a token allowed to be maintained on each blockchain of a plurality of blockchains on which the token is minted relative to a total extant amount of the token across the plurality of blockchains, wherein the target ratio is determined based at least in part on one or more of (1) transaction volumes associated with the token on each blockchain of the plurality of blockchains or (2) an aggregate amount of tokens involved in transactions performed on each blockchain of the plurality of blockchains;
receiving a current amount of the token on signal at a check interval to check a token balance for a first blockchain of the plurality of blockchains;
generating a periodic query for a current amount of the token on the first blockchain:
receiving a signal at a periodic check interval to check a token balance for a first blockchain of the plurality of blockchains;
generating a periodic query for a current amount of the token on the first blockchain;
based on the receiving the signal, receiving the current amount of the token on the first blockchain. wherein the current amount of the token includes tokens pending token minting transactions on the first blockchain and excludes tokens pending token burning transactions on the first blockchain:
based on the receiving the signal, receiving the current amount of the token on the first blockchain, wherein the current amount of the token includes tokens pending token minting transactions on the first blockchain and excludes tokens pending token burning transactions on the first blockchain;
comparing the current amount to the target ratio and generating a ratio difference; and
executing a periodic rebalancing transaction on the first blockchain, based on the ratio difference exceeding a threshold ratio difference, the executing comprising:
comparing the current amount to the target ratio and generating a ratio difference; and
executing a periodic rebalancing transaction on the first blockchain, based on the ratio difference exceeding a threshold ratio difference, the executing comprising:
adjusting, via one or more token minting or token burning transactions, the amount of the token present on the first blockchain such that a ratio of the adjusted amount of the token present on the first blockchain to the total extant amount of the token complies with the target ratio, and
adjusting, via one or more token minting or token burning transactions, the amount of the token present on the first blockchain such that a ratio of the adjusted amount of the token present on the first blockchain to the total extant amount of the token complies with the target ratio, and
based on the adjusting the amount of the token present on the first blockchain, executing one or more corresponding token burning or token minting transactions on one or more other blockchains of the plurality of blockchains such that a total amount of the token present across the plurality of blockchains after executing the periodic rebalancing transaction equals the total extant amount of the token.
based on the adjusting the amount of the token present on the first blockchain, executing one or more corresponding token burning or token minting transactions on one or more other blockchains of the plurality of blockchains such that a total amount of the token present across the plurality of blockchains after executing the periodic rebalancing transaction equals the total extant amount of the token.
Claim 1 of the instant application contains the additional phrase “determining a target ratio defining a first quantitative relationship between proportion of an amount of a token present on allowed”, while the Patent Document contains the phrase “determining a target ratio defining a proportion of an amount of a token allowed”.
The claims in the instant application are anticipated by the Patent Document. The claims are directed to the same subject matter, perform the same method steps and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be free to practice one of the claimed inventions without infringing upon the other inventions. The instant application claims are generic to the limitations in the Patent Document. Each limitation in the instant application is fully encompassed in the Patent Document claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snow et al. (US 20200042995) (“Snow”), and further in view of Kaplan et al. (US 20230018175) (“Kaplan”).
Regarding claim 1, Snow discloses determining a target ratio defining a first quantitative relationship between proportion of an amount of a token present on allowed to be maintained on each blockchain of a plurality of blockchains on which the token is minted relative to a total extant amount of the token across the plurality of blockchains. wherein the target ratio is determined based at least in part on one or more of (1) transaction volumes associated with the token on each blockchain of the plurality of blockchains or (2) an aggregate amount of tokens involved in transactions performed on each blockchain of the plurality of blockchains (¶ 22-24, 30-44, 52, 65-84, 110);
generating a periodic query for a current amount of the token on the first blockchain (¶ 51, 65, 76-78, 80-84, 94-96):
based on the receiving the signal, receiving the current amount of the token on the first blockchain. wherein the current amount of the token includes tokens pending token minting transactions on the first blockchain and excludes tokens pending token burning transactions on the first blockchain(¶ 33-40, 55, 83):
comparing the current amount to the target ratio and generating a ratio difference (¶ 51, 80-84, 94, 124-126); and
executing a periodic rebalancing transaction on the first blockchain, based on the ratio difference exceeding a threshold ratio difference, the executing comprising: adjusting, via one or more token minting or token burning transactions, the amount of the token present on the first blockchain such that a ratio of the adjusted amount of the token present on the first blockchain to the total extant amount of the token complies with the target ratio, and (¶ 33-40, 55, 62, 76, 80-84, 124-126)
based on the adjusting the amount of the token present on the first blockchain, executing one or more corresponding token burning or token minting transactions on one or more other blockchains of the plurality of blockchains such that a total amount of the token present across the plurality of blockchains after executing the periodic rebalancing transaction equals the total extant amount of the token (¶ 22-24, 30-44, 52, 65-84, 110, 124, 125).
Snow does not disclose receiving a current amount of the token on signal at a check interval to check a token balance for a first blockchain of the plurality of blockchains.
Kaplan teaches receiving a current amount of the token on signal at a check interval to check a token balance for a first blockchain of the plurality of blockchains( Abstract; ¶ 40, 44-51, 65-68, 77-78, 82, 100, 111, 126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Snow and Kaplan in order to provide a secure way to transfer assets (Kaplan; ¶ 2-4).
Regarding claim 3, Snow discloses wherein the executing of the rebalancing transaction is based on to the ratio difference exceeding a float variable (¶ 84, 110).
Regarding claim 4, Snow discloses wherein the float variable is based on a transaction volume of the first blockchain, of transactions involving the token (¶ 49, 84, 57-63, 110).
Regarding claim 5, Kaplan teaches receiving the first amount of the token at wherein the check interval is based on a time interval ( Abstract; ¶ 40, 44-51, 65-68, 77-78, 82, 100, 111, 126).
Regarding claim 6, Kaplan teaches receiving the first amount of the token upon wherein the check interval is triggered based upon initiating a transaction involving the token on the first blockchain ( Abstract; ¶ 40, 44-51, 65-68, 77-78, 82, 100, 111, 126).
Regarding claim 7, Snow discloses wherein the rebalancing transaction is one of comprises a mint transaction on the first blockchain and one or more or a burn transactions on the one or more other blockchains when the ratio difference indicates that a token deficit relative to the target ratio exists on the first blockchain (¶ 22-24, 30-44, 52, 65-84, 110, 124, 125).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wiklof et al., (US 2021/0241243) teaches comparing token amounts.
Veale (US 20190306235) teaches balancing rations of assets, minting and burning
/ILSE I IMMANUEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699