DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cicci et al. (US20210156240) [Cicci].
Claim 1 Cicci discloses a system 300 for transferring fluid [Figs. 3-5], the system comprising:
a manifold 304 having a fluid inlet [Figs. 3,4; para. 0024,0031];
a pump truck [Fig. 3] having a first pump 306 disposed thereon, wherein the [para. 0024,0025];
a flexible pipe 310A configured to couple the [Figs. 3-5],
wherein the flexible pipe has a first connection point at a first end, the first connection point configured to couple 504 to the fluid outlet [Fig. 5; para. 0037],
wherein the flexible pipe has a second connection point at a second end, the second connection point configured to couple 506 to the fluid inlet [Fig. 5; para. 0036], and
wherein the fluid inlet and fluid outlet are separated by a first linear distance [Fig. 3] in a range bounded by a first distance determined, at least in part, by a length of the flexible pipe [the separation inherently has maximum linear distance determined by the length of the pipe] and a second distance determined, at least in part, by a pipe variable of the flexible pipe [the separation inherently has a minimum linear distance dictated by either the resistance to compression of the pipe (when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), such resistance being a characteristic of the material’s flexibility, i.e. at least one pipe variable, or a crimping of the pipe (again when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), such crimping being a performance characteristic based on, e.g., the material and the inside and outside diameters, i.e. at least one pipe variable].
Claim 8 Cicci, as discussed with respect to claim 1, discloses that a position of the fluid outlet is within a range of locations based on the first linear distance [as shown on Fig. 3, if the first linear distance, i.e., the space between the pump and the manifold changes, e.g., by moving the pump, the pump fluid outlet will be moved with the pump to the new location to accommodate the change].
Claim 9 Cicci, as discussed with respect to claim 1, discloses that the range forms an inner radius and an outer radius, inclusive, that the fluid outlet resides in relative to the fluid inlet [in that, the pump fluid outlet will inherently be at a maximum linear distance determined by the length of the pipe, i.e., an outer radius, and will inherently be at a minimum linear distance dictated by either the resistance to compression of the pipe (when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), or a crimping of the pipe (again when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), i.e., an inner radius)].
Claim 10 Cicci, as discussed with respect to claim 1, discloses that the pipe variable comprises a pipe flexibility [as discussed re Cicci at claim 1 herein with regard to the resistance to compression].
Claim 11 Cicci, as discussed with respect to claim 1, discloses that the pipe variable comprises a pipe diameter[as discussed re Cicci at claim 1 herein with regard to the crimping] .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cicci, in view of Brunella (US6331020).
Claim 2 Cicci, as discussed with respect to claim 1, discloses that the environment of use often includes obstacles and/or elevation differences that must be traversed by the flexible pipe, and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose that the first connection point comprises an angled connection or a non-straight connection.
Brunella discloses angled connections [Figs. 1-4, 12-15] between flexible pipe 10 and any pump [for attachment to pump outlet flange 22; Figs. 1-4; abstract; col. 1, lines 34,35, col. 3, lines 28-60].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Cicci to include an angled connection for the first connection point, as disclosed by Brunella. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this inclusion would have been within the skill of the art and would yield and achieve the predictable result that a path variation would be provided in an environment of use which called for a path alteration in light of an anticipated obstacle or change in elevation.
Claim 3 Cicci, as discussed with respect to claim 1, discloses that the environment of use often includes obstacles and/or elevation differences that must be traversed by the flexible pipe, and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose that the second connection point comprises an angled connection or a non-straight connection.
Brunella discloses angled connections [Figs. 1-4, 12-15] between flexible pipe 10 and any pump [for attachment to pump outlet flange 22; Figs. 1-4; abstract; col. 1, lines 34,35, col. 3, lines 28-60].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Cicci to include an angled connection for the second connection point, as disclosed by Brunella. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this inclusion would have been within the skill of the art and would yield and achieve the predictable result that a path variation would be provided in an environment of use which called for a path alteration in light of an anticipated obstacle or change in elevation.
Claim 4 Cicci, as discussed with respect to claim 1, otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose that the flexible pipe extends at an angle relative to the manifold [the view in Figs. 3,4 not providing such information].
Brunella discloses angled connections [Figs. 1-4, 12-15] between flexible pipe 10 and any pump [for attachment to pump outlet flange 22; Figs. 1-4; abstract; col. 1, lines 34,35, col. 3, lines 28-60], such angles including 45 degrees and 90 degrees [Figs. 12-15].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Cicci to include an angled connection of either 45 degrees or 90 degrees for the second connection point, as disclosed by Brunella, such that the pipe extends at an angle relative to the mandrel, e.g., an angle with respect to the horizontal. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this inclusion would have been within the skill of the art and would yield and achieve the predictable result that a path variation would be provided in an environment of use which called for a path alteration in light of an anticipated obstacle or change in elevation.
Claim 5 Cicci, as modified, with respect to claim 4, discloses that the angle is within an angle range that is restricted by a location of the manifold [as shown in Fig. 3, if the manifold is closer to the pump the angle of the flexible hose 310A at the manifold will be larger with respect to the horizontal].
Claim 6 Cicci, as modified, with respect to claim 5, discloses that the angle range is 0 to 180 degrees, inclusive [e.g., 45 degrees and 90 degrees, as discussed at claim 4 above].
Claim 7 Cicci, as modified, with respect to claim 5, discloses that a position of the fluid outlet is within a range of locations based on the angle range [as shown on Fig. 3, if the angle at the pump fluid outlet changes the pump must be moved to a location to accommodate the change, such as closer to the manifold, if such angle increases].
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Post et al. (US20210404579) [Post], in view of Johnson (US20200386359).
Claim 1 Post discloses a system 100 for transferring fluid [Fig. 1; abstract; para. 0026,0027,0032-0036], the system comprising:
a manifold 201,204 having a fluid inlet [e.g., proximate the point of entry of fluid from hose 203,206; para. 0028,0030,0031];
a pump 202,205 [para. 0028,0030],
wherein the pump has a fluid outlet [e.g., proximate the point of exit of fluid from the pump]; and
a flexible pipe 203,206 configured to couple the fluid outlet to the fluid inlet [Fig. 1; para. 0028,0029],
wherein the flexible pipe has a first connection point at a first end, the first connection point configured to couple to the fluid outlet [as shown on Fig. 1; para. 0028-0024; and as specifically detailed on any of Figs. 2-9; para. 0037-0047,0050,0062,0064,0067,0074,0078],
wherein the flexible pipe has a second connection point at a second end, the second connection point configured to couple to the fluid inlet[as shown on Fig. 1; para. 0028-0024; and as specifically detailed on any of Figs. 2-9; para. 0037-0047,0050,0062,0064,0067, 0074,0078], and
wherein the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet are separated by a first linear distance [Fig. 1] in a range bounded by a first distance determined, at least in part, by a length of the flexible pipe 203,206 [the separation inherently has maximum linear distance determined by the length of the pipe] and a second distance determined, at least in part, by a pipe variable of the flexible pipe [the separation inherently has a minimum linear distance dictated by either the resistance to compression of the pipe (when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), such resistance being a characteristic of the material’s flexibility, i.e. at least one pipe variable, or a crimping of the pipe (again when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), such crimping being a performance characteristic based on, e.g., the material and the inside and outside diameters, i.e. at least one pipe variable].
Post otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim but does not explicitly disclose that the pump is part of a pump truck.
Johnson discloses that a frac pump 5 is present on truck 8 thus providing a “pump truck” [Fig. 2; para. 0018].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Post to position the pumps 202,205 on pump trucks, as disclosed by Johnson. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that the well-known pump truck configuration would provide the pumped fluid.
Claim 2 Post, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses that the first connection point comprises an angled connection or a non-straight connection [as shown in Fig. 1].
Claim 3 Post, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses that the second connection point comprises an angled connection or a non-straight connection [as shown in Fig. 1].
Claim 4 Post, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses that the flexible pipe extends at an angle relative to the manifold [as shown in Fig. 1].
Claim 5 Post, as modified with respect to claim 4, discloses that the angle is within an angle range that is restricted by a location of the manifold [as shown in Fig. 1, if the manifold is closer to the pump the angle of the flexible hose 203,206 at the manifold will be larger with respect to the horizon].
Claim 6 Post, as modified with respect to claim 5, discloses that the angle range is 0 to 180 degrees, inclusive [as shown in Fig. 1].
Claim 7 Post, as modified with respect to claim 5, discloses that a position of the fluid outlet is within a range of locations based on the angle range [as shown on Fig. 1, if the angle at the pump fluid outlet changes the pump must be moved to a location to accommodate the change, such as closer to the manifold, if such angle increases].
Claim 8 Post, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses that a position of the fluid outlet is within a range of locations based on the first linear distance [as shown on Fig. 1, if the first linear distance, i.e., the space between the pump and the manifold changes, e.g., by moving the pump, the pump fluid outlet will be moved with the pump to the new location to accommodate the change].
Claim 9 Post, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses that the range forms an inner radius and an outer radius, inclusive, that the fluid outlet resides in relative to the fluid inlet [in that, the pump fluid outlet will inherently be at a maximum linear distance determined by the length of the pipe, i.e., an outer radius, and will inherently be at a minimum linear distance dictated by either the resistance to compression of the pipe (when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), or a crimping of the pipe (again when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), i.e., an inner radius)].
Claim 10 Post, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses that the pipe variable comprises a pipe flexibility [as discussed re Post at claim 1 herein with regard to the resistance to compression].
Claim 11 Post, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses that the pipe variable comprises a pipe diameter[as discussed re Post at claim 1 herein with regard to the crimping] .
Claim 12 Post discloses a 100 for transferring fluid [Fig. 1; abstract; para. 0026,0027,0032-0036], the system comprising:
a manifold 201,204 having a fluid inlet [e.g., proximate the point of entry of fluid from hose 203,206; para. 0028,0030,0031];
a pump 202,205 [para. 0028],
wherein the pump has a fluid outlet [e.g., proximate the point of exit of fluid from the pump]; and
a flexible pipe 203,206 configured to couple the fluid outlet to the fluid inlet [Fig. 1; para. 0028,0029],
wherein the flexible pipe forms a downward concave arch extending over a space between the pump 202,205 truck and the manifold 201,204 [as shown in Fig. 1 each of the flexible hoses form such an arch],
wherein the flexible pipe extends from the fluid outlet in a first direction [e.g., outwardly and upwardly] and from the fluid inlet in a second direction [e.g., outwardly and upwardly], and
wherein the flexible pipe extends at an angle [e.g., upwardly] relative to the manifold [Fig. 1].
Post otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim but does not explicitly disclose that the pump is part of a pump truck.
Johnson discloses that a frac pump 5 is present on truck 8 thus providing a “pump truck” [Fig. 2; para. 0018].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Post to position the pumps 202,205 on pump trucks, as disclosed by Johnson. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that the well-known pump truck configuration would provide the pumped fluid.
Claim 13 Post, as modified with respect to claim 12, discloses that the angle is within an angle range that is restricted by a location of the manifold [as shown in Fig. 1, if the manifold is closer to the pump the angle of the flexible hose 203,206 at the manifold will be larger with respect to the horizon].
Claim 14 Post, as modified with respect to claim 13, discloses that the angle range is 0 to 180 degrees, inclusive [as shown in Fig. 1].
Claim 15 Post, as modified with respect to claim 13, discloses that a position of the fluid outlet is within a range of locations based on the angle range [as shown on Fig. 1, if the angle at the pump fluid outlet changes the pump must be moved to a location to accommodate the change, such as closer to the manifold if such angle increases].
Claim 16 Post, as modified with respect to claim 15, discloses that the range of locations is further based on a first linear distance that separates the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet [as shown on Fig. 1, if the first linear distance, i.e., the space between the pump and the manifold changes, e.g., by moving the pump, the pump fluid outlet will be moved with the pump to the new location to accommodate the change].
Claim 17 Post, as modified with respect to claim 16, discloses that the first linear distance is in a range bounded by a first distance determined, at least in part, by a length of the flexible pipe 203,206 [the separation inherently has maximum linear distance determined by the length of the pipe] and a second distance determined, at least in part, by a pipe variable of the flexible pipe [the separation inherently has a minimum linear distance dictated by either the resistance to compression of the pipe (when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), such resistance being a characteristic of the material’s flexibility, i.e. at least one pipe variable, or a crimping of the pipe (again when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), such crimping being a performance characteristic based on, e.g., the material and the inside and outside diameters, i.e. at least one pipe variable].
Claim 18 Post, as modified with respect to claim 17, discloses that the pipe variable comprises a pipe flexibility [as discussed at claim 17 herein].
Claim 19 Post, as modified with respect to claim 17, discloses that the range forms an inner radius and an outer radius, inclusive, that the fluid outlet resides in relative to the fluid inlet [in that, the pump fluid outlet will inherently be at a maximum linear distance determined by the length of the pipe, i.e., an outer radius, and will inherently be at a minimum linear distance dictated by either the resistance to compression of the pipe (when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), or a crimping of the pipe (again when pressed between the pump and the manifold as the distance between such equipment decreases), i.e., an inner radius)].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Post, in view of Johnson, and further in view of Brunella (US6331020).
Claim 20 Post, as modified with respect to claim 12, otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose that at least one of the first direction or the second direction comprises an angle greater than 30 degrees from horizontal.
Brunella discloses angled connections [Figs. 1-4,12-15] between flexible pipe 10 and any pump [for attachment to pump outlet flange 22; Figs. 1-4; abstract; col. 1, lines 34,35, col. 3, lines 28-60], the angle being selectable in ranges including above 30 degrees, e.g., 45 degrees and 90 degrees [Figs. 12-15].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Post, as modified, to include a 45 degree angled hose connection for the first connection point and the second connection point, such that the first and second directions are 45 degrees from horizontal, i.e., greater than 30 degrees from horizontal such an angled hose connection being disclosed by Brunella. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this inclusion would have been within the skill of the art and would yield and achieve the predictable result that a path variation would be provided in an environment of use which called for a path alteration in light of an anticipated obstacle or change in elevation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are all rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. No. 11,624,267. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of claims 1, 3, 8, and 11 of the referenced patent recites all the elements of claim 1 of the present application.
Claims 12-20 are all rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. No. 11,624,267. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of claims 1, 3, 8, and 11 of the referenced patent recites all the elements of claim 12 of the present application.
Claims 1-11 are all rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. No. 12,221,866. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of claims 1, 3, 8, and 11 of the referenced patent recites all the elements of claim 1 of the present application.
Claims 12-20 are all rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. No. 12,221,866. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of claims 1, 3, 8, and 11 of the referenced patent recites all the elements of claim 12 of the present application.
Claims 1-11 are all rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. No. 12,571,288. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of claims 1, 3, 8, and 11 of the referenced patent recites all the elements of claim 1 of the present application.
Claims 12-20 are all rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. No. 12,572,288. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of claims 1, 3, 8, and 11 of the referenced patent recites all the elements of claim 12 of the present application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Randle et al. (US20140290768) discloses an arch (Fig. 1A leaving pump 102) not spanning the entire distance between the arched pipe’s first and second ends and not flexible. Ayers et al. (US20160308570) discloses an arch (Fig. 1 leaving a tree 23) not spanning the entire distance between the arched pipe’s first and second ends and not flexible. Pelletier et al. (US20120145247) discloses non-straight flexible pipe connectors [Figs. 14,15]. Kleinert (US6109306) discloses that flexible pipes kink beyond a minimum bend radius and that steps are needed to resist kinking [Figs. 4,5; abstract; col. 2, line 41 – col. 3, line 10, col. 7, line 51 – col. 8, line 23].
/GEORGE S GRAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676