DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to an amendment filed on 7/24/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 3-5 were canceled, claims 1, 7-8, 10-11 and 14 were amended, and no new claims were added. Thus, claims 1-2 and 6-15 are pending for this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitcher (US 2014/0345609) in view of Ooi (US 2023/0270967) and Hu (US 20230414895).
Regarding claim 1, Whitcher discloses (Fig. 1-16) a handheld (due to having a carrying handle 73, paragraph [0034]) portable oxygen concentrator (Abstract), comprising:
a body (housing 59) of a size suitable for single-handed holding and use (via handle 73, paragraph [0034]), wherein the body comprises a top face (top wall 71), a bottom face (bottom wall 69), and a side face (side wall 63), the top face and the bottom face are arranged opposite each other in a height direction of the body (see Fig. 1), and the side face connects the top face and the bottom face (see Fig. 1);
an oxygen generation and storage assembly, arranged in the body and comprising
an air compression assembly (air compressor 14),
at least one molecular sieve tank (sieve beds 12),
an intake assembly (air passages 64 and 66),
an oxygen storage assembly (oxygen reservoir 18),
an outlet assembly (oxygen delivery manifold 102), and
a control board (electrical circuit board 22, paragraph [0097]);
wherein the at least one molecular sieve tank is vertically arranged above the air compression assembly (sieve tank 36 vertically arranged due to longitudinal axis extending in direction of top wall 71 to bottom wall 69, see Figs. 13-14, and vertically arranged above compression assembly 14 due to sound shield 177, see Fig. 13) ,
the at least one molecular sieve tank is configured to produce oxygen-enriched gas and deliver the oxygen-enriched gas to the oxygen storage assembly (paragraph [0032]), and the oxygen storage assembly is configured to deliver the oxygen-enriched gas outward via the outlet assembly (paragraph [0032])
a power supply assembly (batteries 361A), arranged on the bottom face of the body (positioned on bottom face 69 as shown in Fig. 1), and configured to supply power to the handheld portable oxygen concentrator and serve as a base for the handheld portable oxygen concentrator (paragraph [0099]-[0100]).
Whitcher discloses oxygen suction nozzle (nasal cannula connected to respiratory circuit 111) communicated with the outlet assembly (via respiratory circuit 111, paragraph [0042]), and configured to directly contact a nose or mouth to guide oxygen (as shown in Fig. 2 and described in paragraph [0042]), but does not appear to disclose the position of the suction nozzle with respect to the body, and thus does not disclose the oxygen suction nozzle is arranged on the top face of the body.
However, Ooi teaches (Fig. 1a-1c) a portable oxygen concentrator comprising an oxygen suction nozzle (outlet port 174 that connects to conduit to provide air to user, paragraph [0041]), arranged on the top face of the body (arranged on top face as shown in Fig. 1a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oxygen suction nozzle of Whitcher to be positioned on top face of the body, as taught by Ooi, for the purpose of providing improved portability (i.e. because handle and nozzle are located on top surface, user can safely use device without fear of tubing getting caught or tangled which would otherwise occur if on another surface of device).
Modified Whitcher discloses a power supply assembly and air compression assembly, but does not disclose wherein the air compression assembly is vertically arranged above the power supply assembly.
However, Hu teaches (Figs. 1-4) a portable oxygen concentrator including an air compression assembly (compressor 4) that is vertically arranged above the power supply assembly (battery 1, see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oxygen concentrator of modified Whitcher such that the air compression assembly is vertically arranged above the power supply assembly, as taught by Hu, as it has been held, outside evidence of criticality, that rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice and thus obvious to one of ordinary skill. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 2, modified Whitcher discloses wherein each of the top face and the bottom face has a maximum width in a direction perpendicular to the height direction of the body (see widths of top and bottom surfaces 71,69 that extend horizontally in Fig. 1 Whitcher), and a distance between the top face and the bottom face is greater than the maximum width (distance between top and bottom faces 71,69 greater than width of each, see Fig. 1 Whitcher).
Regarding claim 15, modified Whitcher discloses wherein the oxygen suction nozzle is a nasal cannula (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0042] Whitcher).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitcher (US 2014/0345609) in view of Ooi (Us 2023/0270967), and further in view of Choi (US 2018/0015310).
Regarding claim 6, modified Whitcher discloses a control board, but does not disclose the control board is configured to control an opening/closing of the outlet assembly; the control board is integrated with a button, at least a portion of the button is exposed on the side face of the body; when the button is triggered, the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly flows to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly.
However, Ooi further teaches (Figs. 1A-1B and 10) a control board (control board 600) that is configured to control an opening/closing of the outlet assembly (pressing power button 610 initiates shutdown sequence that closes outlet valves 132,134 of outlet assembly, paragraph [0062]); the control board is integrated with a button (button 610), and when the button is triggered, the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly flows to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly (paragraph [0062]).
Ooi does not disclose at least a portion of the button is exposed on the side face of the body (button of Ooi is situated at top), however Choi teaches (Fig. 1) a portable air purifier with a power button (power button 30) positioned on side face of body (positioned on side face of body 10, see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Whitcher such that the control board is configured to control an opening/closing of the outlet assembly; the control board is integrated with a button, when the button is triggered, the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly flows to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly, as taught by Ooi, for the purpose of allowing user to turn off device when not in use so that battery power can be conserved, and to further modify the device of modified Whitcher such that the button is positioned on side surface of body, as taught by Choi, for the purpose of placing the button at a distinct location so that it is easily visible and pressable by user in case of emergency.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitcher (US 2014/0345609) in view of Ooi (Us 2023/0270967), and further in view of Morrison (US 2016/0325057).
Regarding claim 7, modified Whitcher discloses a top face of the body, but does not disclose an upper cover connected to the top face of the body, wherein the oxygen suction nozzle is arranged in a cavity cooperatively formed by the upper cover and the top face; when the upper cover is opened, the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly is capable of flowing to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly.
However, Morrison teaches (Fig. 7A-7B) an inhaling device including an upper cover (cover 780) connected to the top face of the body (top face of inhaler housing when mouthpiece 770 oriented upwardly), wherein the nozzle (nozzle 770) is arranged in a cavity cooperatively formed by the upper cover and the top face (see Figs. 7a-7b); when the upper cover is opened, the gas is capable of flowing to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly (opening cover actuates device so that gas is primed and capable of flowing through nozzle to user, paragraphs [0103] and [0106]). While Morrison does not disclose the nozzle is an “oxygen suction nozzle” and that the gas is “oxygen enriched gas” from an “oxygen storage assembly”, these features are already taught by the combined Whitcher reference and one of ordinary skill would recognize that bringing the controller teachings of Morrison would provide for the claimed function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Whitcher to include an upper cover connected to the top face of the body, wherein the oxygen suction nozzle is arranged in a cavity cooperatively formed by the upper cover and the top face; when the upper cover is opened, the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly is capable of flowing to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly, as taught by Morrison, for the purpose of conserving power when not in use as well as to prevent inadvertent operation (paragraphs [0103] and [0106] Morrison).
Regarding claim 8, modified Whitcher discloses the handheld portable oxygen concentrator further comprises a sensing unit (MEMs pressure sensor that is connected to cover 780 Morrison) electrically connected to the control board (paragraph [0103] Morrison), the sensing unit is configured to detect and acquire a signal indicating the upper cover being opened from the body or a signal indicating the upper cover being closed on the body (paragraph [0103] Morrison); when the sensing unit detects the signal indicating the upper cover being opened from the body, device is turned on and actuation can occur (paragraph [0103]), and when the sensing unit detects the upper cover being closed, the device is turned off and gas prevented from exited device (paragraph [0103] Morrison).
Modified Whitcher does not disclose the control board is configured to control an opening/closing of the outlet assembly and that opening the cap causes the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly to flows to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly and when the sensing unit detects the signal indicating the upper cover being closed on the body, the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly is prevented from flowing to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly.
However, Ooi further teaches (Figs. 1A-1B and 10) a control board, the control board (control board 600) that is configured to control an opening/closing of the outlet assembly (pressing power button 610 initiates shutdown sequence that closes outlet valves 132,134 of outlet assembly, paragraph [0062]); the control board is integrated with a button (button 610), and when the button is triggered, the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly flows to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly (paragraph [0062]). Thus, the combined teachings of these references would arrive at the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control board of modified Whitcher such that the control board is configured to control an opening/closing of the outlet assembly and that opening the cap causes the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly to flows to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly and when the sensing unit detects the signal indicating the upper cover being closed on the body, the oxygen-enriched gas in the oxygen storage assembly is prevented from flowing to the oxygen suction nozzle through the outlet assembly, as taught by Ooi, for the purpose of preventing inadvertent use of the device and to ensure the pressure within the device is maintained when not in use.
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitcher (US 2014/0345609) in view of Ooi (US 2023/0270967) and Hu (US 20230414895), and further in view of Galbraith (US 2013/0216627).
Regarding claim 9, modified Whitcher discloses at least one molecular sieve tank and a oxygen storage assembly, but does not disclose the concentrator further comprising a pre-conditioning tank, wherein the pre-conditioning tank communicates the at least one molecular sieve tank and the oxygen storage assembly and is configure to deliver the oxygen-enriched gas produced by the at least one molecular sieve tank to the oxygen storage assembly.
However, Galbraith teaches (Fig. 1-2) an oxygen concentrator comprising a pre-conditioning tank (purge tank 117), wherein the pre-conditioning tank communicates the at least one molecular sieve tank and the oxygen storage assembly (paragraphs [0253]-[0254]) and is configure to deliver the oxygen-enriched gas produced by the at least one molecular sieve tank to the oxygen storage assembly (paragraphs [0253]-[0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oxygen concentrator of modified Whitcher to further include a pre-conditioning tank, wherein the pre-conditioning tank communicates the at least one molecular sieve tank and the oxygen storage assembly and is configure to deliver the oxygen-enriched gas produced by the at least one molecular sieve tank to the oxygen storage assembly, as taught by Galbraith, for the purpose of providing an intermediary tank so that gas can be purged during a desorb period so that air can be conserved and therapy optimized (paragraph [0264] Galbraith).
Regarding claim 10, modified Whitcher discloses wherein the oxygen storage assembly comprises an oxygen storage tank (oxygen storage tank 18 of Whitcher, analogous to tank 119 of Galbraith) for storing the oxygen-enriched gas (paragraph [0050] Whitcher).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitcher (US 2014/0345609) in view of Ooi (US 2023/0270967) and Hu (US 20230414895)., and further in view of Guo (CN 118526925).
Regarding claim 11, modified Whitcher discloses an outlet assembly, but does not disclose the outlet assembly comprises an upper passage plate, a pulse electromagnetic valve, an oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve, and an equalizing electromagnetic valve, and each of the pulse electromagnetic valve, oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve, and equalizing electromagnetic valve is arranged on the upper passage plate; the upper passage plate defines a delivery passage and an oxygen outlet passage, the delivery passage communicates the at least one molecular sieve tank and the oxygen storage assembly, and the oxygen outlet passage communicates the oxygen storage assembly and the oxygen suction nozzle; the pulse electromagnetic valve is communicated with the delivery passage, and is configured to deliver the oxygen-enriched gas produced by the at least one molecular sieve tank to the oxygen storage assembly; the oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve is communicated with the oxygen outlet passage, and is configured to export the oxygen-enriched gas stored in the oxygen storage assembly to the oxygen suction nozzle; the number of the at least one molecular sieve tank is more than one, and the equalizing electromagnetic valve communicates the more than one molecular sieve tank.
However, Guo teaches (Fig. 4-11) an outlet assembly that comprises an upper passage plate (plate 2), a pulse electromagnetic valve (pulse valve 5. Pulse valves are a type of solenoid valve which is electromagnetic), an oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve (bullet valve 7. Bullet valves are a type of solenoid valve, which is an electromagnetic valve), and each of the pulse electromagnetic valve, oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve is arranged on the upper passage plate (see Fig. 3 and 6); the upper passage plate defines a delivery passage (inner cavity 2-1) and an oxygen outlet passage (oxygen discharging port 2-4), the delivery passage communicates the at least one molecular sieve tank (page 7 paragraph 1), and the oxygen storage assembly (page 7 paragraph 1), and the oxygen outlet passage communicates the oxygen storage assembly and the oxygen suction nozzle (fluid communication between components and thus this limitation is comprehended by combined invention); the pulse electromagnetic valve is communicated with the delivery passage (fluid communication between components and thus this limitation is comprehended by combined invention) and is configured to deliver the oxygen-enriched gas produced by the at least one molecular sieve tank to the oxygen storage assembly (page 8 paragraph 4); the oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve is communicated with the oxygen outlet passage , and is configured to export the oxygen-enriched gas stored in the oxygen storage assembly to the oxygen suction nozzle (page 8 paragraph 4); the number of the at least one molecular sieve tank is more than one (two tanks, page 1 paragraph 5).
Guo does not disclose an electromagnetic equalizing valve positioned on the plate. However, Ooi further teaches (Fig. 1i-1k) a gas concentrator that utilizes a equalizing valve (pressure equalizing valve 154) that is electromagnetic (paragraph [0109]), and the equalizing electromagnetic valve is positioned on the plate (plate 510) and communicates the more than one molecular sieve tank (tanks 302 and 304).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outlet assembly of modified Whitcher to include an upper passage plate, a pulse electromagnetic valve, an oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve, and each of the pulse electromagnetic valve, oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve, is arranged on the upper passage plate; the upper passage plate defines a delivery passage and an oxygen outlet passage, the delivery passage communicates the at least one molecular sieve tank and the oxygen storage assembly, and the oxygen outlet passage communicates the oxygen storage assembly and the oxygen suction nozzle; the pulse electromagnetic valve is communicated with the delivery passage, and is configured to deliver the oxygen-enriched gas produced by the at least one molecular sieve tank to the oxygen storage assembly; the oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve is communicated with the oxygen outlet passage, and is configured to export the oxygen-enriched gas stored in the oxygen storage assembly to the oxygen suction nozzle; the number of the at least one molecular sieve tank is more than one, as taught by Guo, for the purpose of providing for improved flow regulation of the sieve tanks so that filtration can be optimized; and to further modify the invention of modified Whitcher to include an electromagnetic equalizing valve positioned on the plate, as taught by Ooi, for the purpose of equalizing the flow which may allow for a steady amount of oxygen enriched air to be available to the user over multiple cycles (paragraph [0059] Ooi).
Regarding claim 12, modified Whitcher discloses wherein the upper passage plate has a longitudinal axis extending along a thickness direction of the upper passage plate and passing through a center of the upper passage plate (vertical axis passing through plate in Fig. 5 and Fig. 6 Guo), and the pulse electromagnetic valve, the oxygen outlet electromagnetic valve, and the equalizing electromagnetic valve are arranged about the longitudinal axis and are spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 7 Guo and Fig. 1k Ooi).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitcher (US 2014/0345609) in view of Ooi (US 2023/0270967) and Hu (US 20230414895)., and further in view of Enomoto (US 2013/0299005).
Regarding claim 13, modified Whitcher discloses the intake assembly is arranged below the molecular sieve tank (intake assembly 64,66 of Whitcher below sieve tank 12 as shown in Figs. 4b and 13), but does not disclose wherein in the height direction of the body, the outlet assembly is arranged above each of the molecular sieve tank and the oxygen storage assembly.
However, Enomoto teaches (Fig. 3-5) a body (body 11) having a height direction (longitudinal direction of body 11 shown in Fig. 1), wherein in the height direction the outlet assembly (outlet 15, which connects to suction nozzle 23) is arranged above each of the molecular sieve tank and the oxygen storage assembly (see Figs. 1 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position of the outlet assembly of modified Whitcher to be positioned above each of the sieve tank and oxygen storage assembly, as taught by Enomoto, for the purpose reducing complexity of the flowpath. Furthermore, it has been held that rearrangement of parts is a matter of design choice that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill. See in re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 14, modified Whitcher discloses an oxygen suction portion (nasal cannula of Whitcher, see Fig. 2) is configured to contact the nose or mouth to guide oxygen, and an oxygen supply tube (tubing of nasal cannula of Whitcher), but does not disclose the oxygen suction nozzle comprises a cover body, an oxygen suction portion arranged on the cover body, and an oxygen supply tube arranged on the cover body; the cover body is arranged on the top face of the body; the oxygen supply tube is arranged in the cover body and communicates the oxygen suction portion and the outlet assembly; the oxygen suction portion is configured to contact the nose or mouth to guide oxygen.
However, Enamoto teaches (Fig. 1) an oxygen concentrator comprising a cover body (overheating detection unit 300), an oxygen suction portion (nasal cannula 22) arranged on the cover body (see Fig. 1), and an oxygen supply tube (oxygen supply tube 23) arranged on the cover body (see Fig. 1); the cover body is arranged on the top face of the body (see Fig. 1); the oxygen supply tube is arranged in the cover body and communicates the oxygen suction portion and the outlet assembly (paragraph [0049]); the oxygen suction portion is configured to contact the nose or mouth to guide oxygen (paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Whitcher to include a cover body, an oxygen suction portion arranged on the cover body, and an oxygen supply tube arranged on the cover body; the cover body is arranged on the top face of the body; the oxygen supply tube is arranged in the cover body and communicates the oxygen suction portion and the outlet assembly; the oxygen suction portion is configured to contact the nose or mouth to guide oxygen, as taught by Enamoto, for the purpose of preventing potential user injury by having a means to cut off oxygen supply if high temperatures, indicative of a fire, are detected (Abstract Enamoto).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments to the drawings and claims to overcome drawings objections have been considered and deemed sufficient to overcome. The drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to overcome rejection under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and deemed sufficient to overcome. The rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn accordingly.
Regarding rejection of claim 1, applicant argued (page 8 paragraphs 7-8 Remarks) that the handle of Whitcher is fundamentally different from the claimed device because its overall dimensions (11.29 x 10.74 x 6.74 in3) and weight (9-12 lbs) make the device far too large and heavy to be held and operated by one hand during oxygen inhalation. It’s dimensions also result in a horizontal projection substantially greater than the 270 mm recited in claim 3.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner contends that the size of Whitcher highlighted by applicant actually shows that the device is easily operatable by hand. The weight of 9-12 lbs is very low and easily carryable by a human, and the dimensions are smaller than a briefcase and thus not very bulky. Furthermore, the claim recites the body “is of a size suitable for single handed holding and use”, therefore as long as the device is capable of being used for this function, the limitation is comprehended.
Regarding the dimensions being substantially greater than what is recited in claim 3, it appears applicant canceled claim 3, therefore arguments regarding subject matter of this claim are moot due to the claim no longer being pending.
Applicant further argued (page 9 paragraph 1-4 Remarks) that the references do not disclose an oxygen suction nozzle configured for direct contact with the users nose or mouth, as Whitcher discloses a nozzle in the form of a respiratory circuit that comprises a nasal cannula, and thus does not directly contact a user.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant recites in claim 15 that the nozzle may comprise a nasal cannula. Thus, the Whitcher reference teaches this limitation when the “nozzle” is interpreted to comprise the nasal cannula as applicant suggests is permissible (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding applicant’s argument that the references do not disclose the air compression assembly is vertically arranged above the power supply assembly (page 10 paragraphs 1-4 Remarks), applicant’s arguments are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments regarding allowability of the dependent claims have been considered but are moot due to rejection of all independent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785