Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo (US App. 20180284944) in view of Vinayak et al. (US Pat. 9383895 hereinafter referred to as “Vina”).
In regard to claim 1, Otsubo teaches a computer-implemented method for displaying aerial images by an aerial image display device (see at least Abstract and Figs. 2-3, real image R1 formed in air) which comprises: a visual system to project images into the air as the aerial images (see Para. 33, 38-41 contactless detection of position on reproduced image); and a motion sensor that detects coordinates of a user's hand near the projected aerial image (see Para. 38 coordinates for tracking).
Otsubo is not relied upon to teach a computer; and transmits the detection results to the computer; controlled by this computer; the method comprising: a step of controlling the visual system to project a three-dimensional object with a convex portion as an aerial image; a step of defining a three-dimensional touching region that is larger than the three-dimensional object and completely encompasses the entirety of the three-dimensional object; a step of determining whether or not a user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region with reference to the coordinates of the user's hand detected by the motion sensor; a step of projecting, as an aerial image, the movement of the three-dimensional object in correspondence with the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region; a step of projecting, as an aerial image, the three-dimensional object whose motion is not influenced by the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves outside the three-dimensional touching region.
Otsubo as discussed above teaches the concept of an image is an aerial image (see Fig. 3 and Para. 16).
However, Vina teaches a computer (see Figs. 1-3); and transmits the detection results to the computer; controlled by this computer (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, Ln 55-67); the method comprising: a step of controlling the visual system to project a three-dimensional object with a convex portion as an image (see Figs. 5-7 and 38); a step of defining a three-dimensional touching region that is larger than the three-dimensional object and completely encompasses the entirety of the three-dimensional object (see Figs. 5-7 and Col. 30 Ln 1-35); a step of determining whether or not a user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region with reference to the coordinates of the user's hand detected by the motion sensor (see Figs. 29 and 30 hand is near object determined and determined if in the slab and Col. 25 Ln 60-Col. 26 Ln 5); a step of projecting, as an image, the movement of the three-dimensional object in correspondence with the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region (see Figs. 29-31 moving/reshaping object with hands); a step of projecting, as an image, the three-dimensional object whose motion is not influenced by the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves outside the three-dimensional touching region (see Figs. 32 and 33 no hands detected near means ending manipulation or modification of the object).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Otsubo with the 3D object manipulation of Vina for allowing natural hand and body movements to edit 3D objects (See Col. 2, Ln 59-67). Examiner also notes Otsubo discloses the base product/process of aerial image displays while Vina teaches the known technique of 3D image editing so as to yield predictable results of editing 3D images in the air in the device of Otsubo.
In regard to claim 5, Otsubo teaches an aerial image display device comprising a visual system to project images into the air as aerial images (see at least Abstract and Figs. 2-3, real image R1 formed in air); and a motion sensor that detects the coordinates of a user's hand performed near the projected aerial image (see Para. 38 coordinates for tracking).
Otsubo is not relied upon to teach a computer; controlled by this computer; and transmits the detection results to the computer, the computer configured to perform: a step of controlling the visual system to project a three-dimensional object with a convex portion as an aerial image; a step of defining a three-dimensional touching region that is larger than the three-dimensional object and completely encompasses the entirety of the three-dimensional object; a step of determining whether or not a user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region with reference to the coordinates of the user's hand detected by the motion sensor; a step of projecting, as an aerial image, the movement of the three-dimensional object in correspondence with the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region; a step of projecting, as an aerial image, the three-dimensional object whose motion is not influenced by the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves outside the three-dimensional touching region.
Otsubo as discussed above teaches the concept of an image is an aerial image (see Fig. 3 and Para. 16).
However, Vina teaches a computer (see Figs. 1-3); controlled by this computer (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, Ln 55-67); and transmits the detection results to the computer (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, Ln 55-67), the computer configured to perform: a step of controlling the visual system to project a three-dimensional object with a convex portion as an image (see Figs. 5-7 and 38); a step of defining a three-dimensional touching region that is larger than the three-dimensional object and completely encompasses the entirety of the three-dimensional object (see Figs. 29 and 30 hand is near object determined and determined if in the slab and Col. 25 Ln 60-Col. 26 Ln 5); a step of determining whether or not a user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region with reference to the coordinates of the user's hand detected by the motion sensor (see Figs. 29-31 moving/reshaping object with hands using coordinates see Col. 25, Ln 60-Col 26 Ln 10); a step of projecting, as an image, the movement of the three-dimensional object in correspondence with the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region (see Figs. 29-31 moving/reshaping object with hands); a step of projecting, as an image, the three-dimensional object whose motion is not influenced by the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves outside the three-dimensional touching region (see Figs. 32 and 33 no hands detected near means ending manipulation or modification of the object).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Otsubo with the 3D object manipulation of Vina for allowing natural hand and body movements to edit 3D objects (See Col. 2, Ln 59-67). Examiner also notes Otsubo discloses the base product/process of aerial image displays while Vina teaches the known technique of 3D image editing so as to yield predictable results of editing 3D images in the air in the device of Otsubo.
In regard to claim 6, Otsubo teaches aerial image display device to display an aerial image according to a display process, the aerial image display device including a visual system for projecting an image into the air as the aerial image (see at least Abstract and Figs. 2-3, real image R1 formed in air); and a motion sensor that detects the coordinates of a user's hand performed near the projected aerial image (see Para. 38 coordinates for tracking).
Otsubo is not relied upon to teach a computer-readable storage device configured with data and instructions which upon execution by a computer cause an; and transmits the detection results to the computer, the display process comprising: a step of controlling the visual system to project a three-dimensional object with a convex portion as an aerial image; a step of defining a three-dimensional touching region that is larger than the three-dimensional object and completely encompasses the entirety of the three-dimensional object; a step of determining whether or not a user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region with reference to the coordinates of the user's hand detected by the motion sensor; a step of projecting, as an aerial image, the movement of the three-dimensional object in correspondence with the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region; a step of projecting, as an aerial image, the three-dimensional object whose motion is not influenced by the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves outside the three-dimensional touching region.
Otsubo as discussed above teaches the concept of an image is an aerial image (see Fig. 3 and Para. 16).
However, Vina teaches a computer-readable storage device (see Figs. 1-3) configured with data and instructions which upon execution by a computer cause an (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 32, Ln 55-66); and transmits the detection results to the computer (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, Ln 55-67),, the display process comprising: a step of controlling the visual system to project a three-dimensional object with a convex portion as an image (see Figs. 5-7 and 38); a step of defining a three-dimensional touching region that is larger than the three-dimensional object and completely encompasses the entirety of the three-dimensional object (see Figs. 29 and 30 hand is near object determined and determined if in the slab and Col. 25 Ln 60-Col. 26 Ln 5); a step of determining whether or not a user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region with reference to the coordinates of the user's hand detected by the motion sensor (see Figs. 29-31 moving/reshaping object with hands using coordinates see Col. 25, Ln 60-Col 26 Ln 10); a step of projecting, as an aerial image, the movement of the three-dimensional object in correspondence with the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves within the three-dimensional touching region (see Figs. 29-31 moving/reshaping object with hands); a step of projecting, as an image, the three-dimensional object whose motion is not influenced by the movement of the user's hand when, in the determining step, it is determined that the user's hand moves outside the three-dimensional touching region (see Figs. 32 and 33 no hands detected near means ending manipulation or modification of the object).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Otsubo with the 3D object manipulation of Vina for allowing natural hand and body movements to edit 3D objects (See Col. 2, Ln 59-67). Examiner also notes Otsubo discloses the base product/process of aerial image displays while Vina teaches the known technique of 3D image editing so as to yield predictable results of editing 3D images in the air in the device of Otsubo.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo (US App. 20180284944) in view of Vinayak et al. (US Pat. 9383895 hereinafter referred to as “Vina”) in view of Kinstner et al. (US Pat. 9928661 hereinfater referred to as “Kin”).
Regarding claim 2, Otsubo in view of Vina teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Otsubo and Vina are not relied upon to teach wherein the three-dimensional touching region is a spherical region or an approximately elliptical region containing the three-dimensional object.
However, Kin teaches wherein the three-dimensional touching region is a spherical region or an approximately elliptical region containing the three-dimensional object (see Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Otsubo and 3D editing volume of Vina with the interactive sphere volume of Kin to reduce computational burden (See Col. 14, Ln 45-55).
Regarding claim 3, Otsubo in view of Vina teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Vina further teaches in the step of projecting the movement of the three-dimensional object, the three-dimensional object is rotated in response to the user's hand movement (see Col. 17, Ln 35-45).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Otsubo with the 3D object manipulation of Vina for allowing natural hand and body movements to edit 3D objects (See Col. 2, Ln 59-67). Examiner also notes Otsubo discloses the base product/process of aerial image displays while Vina teaches the known technique of 3D image editing so as to yield predictable results of editing 3D images in the air in the device of Otsubo.
Otsubo and Vina are not relied upon to teach around its center point
However, Kin teaches around its center point (see Col. 15, Ln 35-55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Otsubo and 3D editing volume of Vina with the interactive rotation of Kin to provide real-time relation for the user (See Col. 1, Ln 65-67).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo (US App. 20180284944) in view of Vinayak et al. (US Pat. 9383895 hereinafter referred to as “Vina”) in view of Ramani et al. (US App. 20240118786 hereinafter referred to as “Ram”).
Regarding claim 4, Otsubo in view of Vina teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Vina further teaches wherein the user's hand movement is detected with reference to the movements of multiple fingertips (see Col. 19, Ln 30-45 and Fig. 35).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Otsubo with the 3D object manipulation of Vina for allowing natural hand and body movements to edit 3D objects (See Col. 2, Ln 59-67). Examiner also notes Otsubo discloses the base product/process of aerial image displays while Vina teaches the known technique of 3D image editing so as to yield predictable results of editing 3D images in the air in the device of Otsubo.
Otsubo and Vina are not relied upon to teach and the average rotation corresponding to these fingertip movements is reflected in the rotation of the three-dimensional object.
However, Ram teaches and the average rotation corresponding to these fingertip movements is reflected in the rotation of the three-dimensional object (see Para. 72 and Figs. 2, 8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Otsubo and 3D editing volume of Vina with the average fingertip rotation of Ram to solve hand-object occlusion problems (See Para. 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes: Takenaka et al. (“Interactive Holographic Display for Real-Time Drawing and Erasing of 3D Point-Cloud Images With a Fingertip”; IEEE Access; March 2021) disclosing drawing in mid-air with a finger; and
ASKA3D (“空中ディスプレイ ASKA3D - Holographic display”; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cak9JWP_qNc; Nov. 2022) disclosing floating aerial images from a LCD.
/MATTHEW YEUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625