DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02-12-2026 and 06-15-2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected because it recites limitation “the first pre-twist angle and the second pre-twist angle” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gross (2021/0186151).
Regarding claim 1, Gross discloses a sole structure (figs 1-16) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
a first support structure disposed in a first region of the sole structure (fig 3, the toe area) and including a plurality of first struts (i.e. legs, member 30 on the top right) extending between a first base (member 28) and a first platform (member 26), the first struts being oriented at a first strut angle relative to a plane defined by the first base (figs 3-11); and
a second support structure disposed in a second region (fig 3, the heel area) of the sole structure and including a plurality of second struts (i.e. legs, member 30 on the bottom left) extending between a second base (member 28) and a second platform (member 26), the second struts oriented at a second strut angle relative to a plane defined by the second base (figs 3-11), and the first strut angle being different from the second strut angle to provide a different load-to-displacement ratio in the first region than in the second region (fig 9, para 0061 and 0064).
Regarding claim 2, Gross discloses the first struts have a first strut thickness and the second struts have a second strut thickness that is different from the first strut thickness (para 0064).
Regarding claim 3, Gross discloses the first platform is rotated relative to the first base about a first vertical axis to define a first pre-twist angle and the second platform is rotated relative to the second base about a second vertical axis to define a second pre-twist angle that is different from the first pre-twist angle (para 0063).
Regarding claim 4, Gross discloses the first pre-twist angle and the second pre-twist angle are between 0 degrees and 95 degrees (para 0063).
Regarding claim 6, Gross discloses the first support structure is formed of a first material and the second support structure is formed of a second material different from the first material (para 0069).
Regarding claim 8, Gross discloses a sole structure (figs 1-16) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
a first support structure disposed in a first region of the sole structure (fig, the toe area) and including a plurality of first struts (i.e. legs, member 30 on the top right) connecting a first base (member 28) and a first platform (member 26), the first platform being rotated relative to the first base about a first vertical axis to define a first pre-twist angle such that the first struts have a first twisted orientation (fig 9); and
a second support structure disposed in a second region (fig 3, the heel area) of the sole structure and including a plurality of second struts (i.e. legs, member 30 on the bottom left) extending between a second base (member 28) and a second platform (member 26), the second struts oriented at a second strut angle relative to a plane defined by the second base (figs 3-11), and the first strut angle being different from the second strut angle to provide a different load-to-displacement ratio in the first region than in the second region (fig 9, para 0061 and 0064).
Regarding claim 9, Gross discloses the first pre-twist angle and the second pre-twist angle are between 0 degrees and 95 degrees (para 0063).
Regarding claim 10, Gross discloses the first struts have a first strut thickness and the second struts have a second strut thickness that is different from the first strut thickness (para 0063).
Regarding claim 11, Gross discloses the plurality of first struts are oriented at a first strut angle relative to the first base, and wherein the plurality of second struts are oriented at a second strut angle relative to the second base, the first strut angle being different from the second strut angle (figs 3-9).
Regarding claim 12, Gross discloses the first support structure is formed of a first material and the second support structure is formed of a second material different from the first material (para 0069).
Regarding claim 14, Gross discloses a sole structure (figs 1-16) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
a first support structure disposed in a first region of the sole structure (fig 3, the toe area) and including a plurality of first struts (i.e. legs, member 30 on the top right) extending between a first base (member 28) and a first platform (member 26), the first struts each defining a first strut thickness (para 0063); and
a second support structure disposed in a second region (fig 3, the heel area) of the sole structure and including a plurality of second struts (i.e. legs, member 30 on the bottom left) extending between a second base (member 28) and a second platform (member 26), the second struts each defining a second strut thickness that is different from the first strut thickness (para 0063).
Regarding claim 15, Gross discloses the first support structure has a different load-to-displacement ratio than the second support structure (fig 9, para 0061 and 0064).
Regarding claim 16, Gross discloses the first plurality of struts are oriented at a first strut angle relative to the first base, and wherein the second plurality of struts are oriented at a second strut angle relative to the second base, the first strut angle being different from the second strut angle (para 0061 and 0064).
Regarding claim 17, Gross discloses the first plurality of struts have a substantially cylindrical shape and the first strut thickness corresponds to a diameter of the first plurality of struts (fig 5).
Regarding claim 18, Gross discloses the first support structure is formed of a first material and the second support structure is formed of a second material different from the first material (para 0069).
Regarding claim 19, Gross discloses the first support structure is formed of a first material and the second support structure is formed of a second material different from the first material (para 0069).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (2021/0186151) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Derderian et al. (4,535,553).
Regarding claim 5, Gross teaches all limitations except the first struts and the second struts have non-cylindrical cross-sectional profiles.
Derderian teaches a sole structure having the first struts and the second struts have non-cylindrical cross-sectional profiles (fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the structure of Gross by using the struts profiles of Derderian in order to enhance lateral stability at a sacrifice to cushioning.
Claim(s) 7, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (2021/0186151)
Regarding claims 7, 13, and 20, Gross teaches all limitations except the first support structure and the second support structure are configured to deflect under a vertical compressive load such that a reaction force of the first support structure remains between 60 Newtons and 80 Newtons across a displacement range of 4 mm to 10 mm.
However, Gross’s sole having the same structure (as claim 1) and same material (thermoplastic polyurethane or TPEs); therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to understand that the support structures must have the same compressive load, reaction force, and displacement range.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 19/538,454. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as support structures with struts wherein the struts are different.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 19/538,406. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as support structures with struts wherein the struts are different.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732