DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02-12-2026 and 06-15-2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Derderian et al. (4,535,553).
Regarding claim 1, Derderian discloses a sole structure (figs 1-6) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
one or more support structures (fig 4, member 22) each including a base (member 26), a platform (member 42) spaced vertically apart from the base, and a plurality of struts (member 32 and 36) extending between the base and the platform; and
one or more cushioning elements (member 224) each formed of a foam material and disposed on the platform of one of the one or more support structures (fig 1).
Regarding claim 2, Derderian discloses the one or more support structures includes a first support structure and a second support structure, and the one or more cushioning elements includes a first cushioning element disposed on the platform of the first support structure and a second cushioning element formed separately from the first cushioning element and disposed on the platform of the second support structure (fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Derderian discloses the first cushioning element defines a first thickness and the second cushioning element defines a second thickness different from the first thickness (fig 2, member 22a is thinner toward the toe area).
Regarding claim 4, Derderian discloses the first cushioning element includes a first foam material having a first density and the second cushioning element includes a second foam material having a second density different from the first density (col 7, lines 2-12).
Regarding claim 5, Derderian discloses each of the one or more support structures defines an interior void between the plurality of struts, and at least one of the one or more support structures includes an internal foam component (fig 1, member 24) disposed within the interior void and integrally formed with the one or more cushioning elements.
Regarding claim 6, Derderian discloses an external foam component disposed adjacent to an exterior perimeter of the plurality of struts of at least one of the one or more support structures and integrally formed with one of the one or more cushioning elements (figs 1, member 24, col 6, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 8, Derderian discloses a sole structure for an article of footwear, the sole structure (figs 1-6) comprising:
a first support structure including a first base, a first platform spaced vertically apart from the first base, and a plurality of first struts extending between the first base and the first platform; a second support structure including a second base, a second platform spaced vertically apart from the second base, and a plurality of second struts extending between the second base and the second platform (figs 1 and 4, members 22);
a first cushioning element disposed adjacent to the first platform; and a second cushioning element formed separately from the first cushioning element and disposed adjacent to the second platform (fig 1, member 22a).
Regarding claim 9, Derderian discloses the first platform is disposed between the first cushioning element and the first struts, and the second platform is disposed between the second cushioning element and the second struts (fig 1).
Regarding claim 10, Derderian discloses the first cushioning element defines a first thickness and the second cushioning element defines a second thickness different from the first thickness (fig 2, member 22a is thinner toward the toe area).
Regarding claim 11, Derderian discloses the first cushioning element includes a first foam material having a first density, and the second cushioning element includes a second foam material having a second density different from the first density (col 7, lines 2-12).
Regarding claim 12, Derderian discloses the first support structure defines an interior void between the plurality of first struts and includes an internal foam component disposed within the interior void and integrally formed with the first cushioning element (figs 1, member 24, col 6, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 13, Derderian discloses an external foam component disposed adjacent to an exterior perimeter of the plurality of first struts of the first support structure and integrally formed with the first cushioning element (figs 1, member 24, col 6, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 15, Derderian discloses a sole structure for an article of footwear, the sole structure (figs 1-6) comprising:
a first support structure including a first base, a first platform spaced vertically apart from the first base, and a plurality of first struts extending between the first base and the first platform; a second support structure including a second base, a second platform spaced vertically apart from the second base, and a plurality of second struts extending between the second base and the second platform (figs 1 and 4, members 22);
a first cushioning element having a first cushioning property disposed adjacent to the first platform; and a second cushioning element formed separately from the first cushioning element (fig 1, member 22a) and having a second cushioning property different than the first cushioning property disposed adjacent to the second platform (col 7, lines 2-12).
Regarding claim 16, Derderian discloses the first platform is disposed between the first cushioning element and the first struts, and the second platform is disposed between the second cushioning element and the second struts (figs 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 17, Derderian discloses the first cushioning property is a first thickness and the second cushioning property is a second thickness different from the first thickness (fig 2, member 22a is thinner toward the toe area).
Regarding claim 18, Derderian discloses the first cushioning property is a first density and the second cushioning property is a second density different from the first density (col 7, lines 2-12).
Regarding claim 19, Derderian discloses the first support structure defines an interior void between the plurality of first struts and includes an internal foam component disposed within the interior void and integrally formed with the first cushioning element (fig 1, member 24, col 6, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 20, Derderian discloses an external foam component disposed adjacent to an exterior perimeter of the plurality of first struts of the first support structure and integrally formed with the first cushioning element (fig 1, member 24, col 6, lines 5-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derderian et al. (4,535,553) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Gheorghian et al. (2017/0231322).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Derderian teaches all limitations and Gheorghian teaches a sole structure comprising a fluid-filled bladder disposed adjacent to at least one of the base or the platform of the one or more support structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Derderian by using the fluid-filled bladder of Gheorghian in order to provide better impact-attenuation support.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Applicant No. 18/407,966. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as support structure with base, platform, and struts and cushioning element.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Applicant No. 19/538,070. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as support structure with base, platform, and struts and cushioning element.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Applicant No. 19/538,454. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as support structure with base, platform, and struts and cushioning element.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Applicant No. 19/538,406. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as support structure with base, platform, and struts and cushioning element.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732