DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02-12-2026 and 06-16-2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “the peripheral wall is spaced apart from the plurality of struts to define a gap between an inner surface of the peripheral wall and an outermost perimeter of the plurality of struts”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gap” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected because of the limitations “the peripheral wall is spaced apart from the plurality of struts to define a gap between an inner surface of the peripheral wall and an outermost perimeter of the plurality of struts” lacks support in the original specification which filed 02-12-2026; therefore such lack of detailed support in the original disclosure constitutes new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allen, Jr (4,774,774).
Regarding claim 1, Allen discloses a sole structure (fig 1) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
an outsole (member 2) defining a ground-engaging surface of the sole structure;
a peripheral wall integrally formed with the outsole and defining an interior void; and at least one support structure disposed within the interior void and each including a base, a platform spaced vertically apart from the base, and a plurality of struts extending between the base and the platform (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 2, Allen discloses the peripheral wall extends from the outsole to a height of the platform to enclose the at least one support structure within the interior void (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 3, Allen discloses a cushioning element (member 3) disposed adjacent to the platform of the at least one support structure and enclosing the interior void.
Regarding claim 4, Allen discloses the platform of the at least one support structure is attached to the cushioning element (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 5, Allen discloses the sole structure further includes a foam cushioning component (col 2, lines 64-68 and col 3, lines 1-2) disposed within the interior void adjacent to the plurality of struts.
Regarding claim 6, Allen discloses a cover element (member 3) attached to the peripheral wall and enclosing the interior void.
Regarding claim 7, Allen discloses the peripheral wall is spaced apart from the plurality of struts to define a gap between an inner surface of the peripheral wall and an outermost perimeter of the plurality of struts (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 8, Allen discloses a sole structure (fig 1) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
an outsole (member 2) defining a ground-engaging surface and including a peripheral wall extending upwardly from the ground-engaging surface to define an interior void (fig 1 annotated above); and
a plurality of support structures disposed within the interior void and each including a base attached to the outsole, a platform spaced vertically apart from the base, and a plurality of struts extending between the base and the platform (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 9, Allen discloses the peripheral wall extends from the outsole to a height of the platform to enclose the plurality of support structures within the interior void (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 10, Allen discloses a cushioning element (membe4 3) disposed adjacent to the platform of at least one of the plurality of support structures.
Regarding claim 11, Allen discloses the peripheral wall is integrally formed with the outsole (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 12, Allen discloses the sole structure further includes a foam cushioning component (col 2, lines 64-68 and col 3, lines 1-2) disposed within the interior void.
Regarding claim 13, Allen discloses a cover element (member 3) attached to the peripheral wall and enclosing the interior void.
Regarding claim 14, Allen discloses the peripheral wall is spaced apart from the plurality of struts to define a gap between an inner surface of the peripheral wall and an outermost perimeter of the plurality of struts (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 15, Allen discloses a sole structure (fig 1) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising: an outsole (member 2);
a peripheral wall integrally formed with the outsole and extending upwardly from the outsole to define an interior void (fig 1 annotated above); and a plurality of support structures disposed within the interior void and each including a base attached to the outsole, a platform spaced vertically apart from the base, and a plurality of struts extending between the base and the platform (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 16, Allen discloses the peripheral wall extends from the outsole to a height of the platform to enclose the plurality of support structures within the interior void (fig 1 annotated above).
Regarding claim 17, Allen discloses a cushioning element (member 3) disposed adjacent to the platform of at least one of the plurality of support structures.
Regarding claim 18, Allen discloses the sole structure further includes a foam cushioning component (col 2, lines 64-68 and col 3, lines 1-2) disposed within the interior void.
Regarding claim 19, Allen discloses a cover element (member 3) attached to the peripheral wall and enclosing the interior void.
Regarding claim 20, Allen discloses the peripheral wall is spaced apart from the plurality of struts to define a gap between an inner surface of the peripheral wall and an outermost perimeter of the plurality of struts (fig 1 annotated above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732