DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02-12-2026 and 04-04-2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gheorghian et al. (2017/0231322).
Regarding claim 1, Gheorghian discloses a sole structure (figs 1-5) for an article of footwear, the sole structure (para 0047) comprising:
a first support structure including a first base, a first platform spaced apart from the first base and having a first configuration, and a first plurality of struts extending between the first base and the first platform (fig 4A); and
a second support structure including a second base, a second platform spaced apart from the second base and having a second configuration different from the first configuration (figs 4A and 4C), and a second plurality of struts extending between the second base and the second platform (fig 4C).
Regarding claim 2, Gheorghian discloses the first configuration includes the first platform defining a first planar surface having a first surface area and the second configuration includes the second platform defining a second planar surface having a second surface area that is different from the first surface area (figs 4A and 4C).
Regarding claim 3, Gheorghian discloses the first configuration includes a first outer perimeter defining a first shape and the second configuration includes a second outer perimeter defining a second shape different from the first shape (figs 4A and 4C).
Regarding claim 4, Gheorghian discloses the first shape is a first polygon having a first number of sides and the second shape is a second polygon having a second number of sides different from the first number of sides (figs 4A and 4C).
Regarding claim 5, Gheorghian discloses the first plurality of struts includes a first quantity of struts and the second plurality of struts includes a second quantity of struts that is different from the first quantity of struts (figs 4A and 4C).
Regarding claim 8, Gheorghian discloses a sole structure (figs 1-5) for an article of footwear, the sole structure (para 0047) comprising:
a first support structure including a first base, a first platform spaced apart from the first base and defining a first planar surface having a first surface area, and a first plurality of struts extending between the first base and the first platform (fig 4A); and
a second support structure including a second base, a second platform spaced apart from the second base and defining a second planar surface having a second surface area that is different from the first surface area (figs 4A and 4C), and a second plurality of struts extending between the second base and the second platform (fig 4C).
Regarding claim 9, Gheorghian discloses the first platform includes a first outer perimeter defining a first shape and the second platform includes a second outer perimeter defining a second shape different from the first shape (figs 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 10, Gheorghian discloses the first shape is a first polygon having a first number of sides and the second shape is a second polygon having a second number of sides different from the first number of sides (figs 4A and 4C).
Regarding claim 11, Gheorghian discloses the first plurality of struts includes a first quantity of struts and the second plurality of struts includes a second quantity of struts that is different from the first quantity of struts (figs 4A and 4C).
Regarding claim 14, Gheorghian discloses a sole structure (figs 1-5) for an article of footwear, the sole structure (para 0047) comprising:
a first support structure including a first base, a first platform spaced apart from the first base and defining a first outer perimeter having a first shape, and a first plurality of struts extending between the first base and the first platform (fig 4A); and
a second support structure including a second base, a second platform spaced apart from the second base and defining a second outer perimeter having a second shape that is different from the first shape (figs 4A and 4C), and a second plurality of struts extending between the second base and the second platform (4C).
Regarding claim 15, Gheorghian discloses the first shape is a first polygon having a first number of sides and the second shape is a second polygon having a second number of sides different from the first number of sides (figs 4A and 4C).
Regarding claim 16, Gheorghian discloses the first plurality of struts includes a first quantity of struts and the second plurality of struts includes a second quantity of struts that is different from the first quantity of struts (figs 4A and 4C).
Regarding claim 17, Gheorghian discloses the first platform defines a first planar surface having a first surface area and the second platform defines a second planar surface having a second surface area that is different from the first surface area (figs 4A and 4C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gheorghian et al. (2017/0231322) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 14 above, and further in view of Iwasa et al. (2022/0408880).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 19, Gheorghian teaches all limitations except the first configuration includes a first central aperture having a first width extending through the first platform and the second configuration includes a second aperture having a second width different from the first width extending through the second platform.
Iwasa teaches a sole structure having the first platform includes a first central aperture having a first width extending through the first platform and the second platform includes a second aperture having a second width different from the first width extending through the second platform (figs 3A to 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Gheorghian by adding different apertures for different platform, as taught by Iwasa, in order to have significantly excellent wearing comfortableness.
Claim(s) 7, 13, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gheorghian et al. (2017/0231322).
Regarding claims 7, 13, and 20, Gheorghian teaches all limitations except the first support structure is disposed on a medial side of the sole structure and the second support structure is disposed on a lateral side of the sole structure.
However, Gheorghian teaches the support structures can be placed from lateral to medial side (para 0039, 0048, and 0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to understand that the first structure can be at medial side and second structure can be at lateral side in order to provide even greater stability as needed.
Regarding claims 18, Gheorghian teaches all limitations except the first platform includes a central aperture and the second platform is a continuous solid surface.
However, Gheorghian teaches the support structures can have a central aperture (figs 3A to 3B) and no aperture (figs 4A to 4C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to understand that the aperture can be used in different platforms as needed in order to provide stability.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 19/538,454. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as support structures with struts wherein the struts are different.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 19/538,070. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as support structures with struts wherein the struts are different.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732