7. Claims 2-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yellen et al. (WO 2019/079399).
Regarding independent claims 2 and 19, Yellen discloses a method comprising: introducing a plurality of live cells into a fluidic device such that a first cell is located in a first discrete area and a second cell is located in a second different discrete area; measuring interactions between different types of cells; and in the first discrete area releasing nucleic acids from the first cell and sequencing the nucleic acids. See paragraphs 4, 10, 43-50, 58-60, 78, 104, 109-111, 114-132, and 168-169.
Yellen does not explicitly or literally disclose step (b) of ‘measuring an interaction between the first individual live cell and the second individual live cell’.
However, in paragraph 50 of Yellen, near the middle of page 10, it is recited: ‘The disclosed methods, devices, and systems can also be used to study the interactions between different types of cells…’ (emphasis added).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Yellen by measuring an interaction between first and second cells in different first and second discrete areas of the fluidic device because this was directly suggested by Yellen in the teaching that, ‘the disclosed methods, devices, and systems can also be used to study the interactions between different types of cells’. This follows by straightforward, logical scientific reasoning in that the discrete areas or cell-trapping features of Yellen are in fluidic communication by interconnecting fluid channels, thus facilitating the measurement of ‘interactions between different types of cells’ in different discrete areas or features. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to carry out the claimed methods.
Regarding claims 3-4, Yellen discloses using a capture oligonucleotide comprising a barcode in the first discrete area.
Regarding claim 5, use of capture oligonucleotides comprising a sequencing primer was conventional in the prior art to facilitate sequencing of captured target nucleic acids.
Regarding claims 6-8, Yellen discloses sequencing nucleic acids released from the first cell in the first discrete area.
Regarding claim 9, Yellen discloses detecting mRNA released from cells via production of cDNA.
Regarding claim 10, Yellen discloses lysing cells to release nucleic acids.
Regarding claim 11, Yellen discloses capturing nucleic acids within a discrete area.
Regarding claims 12-14 and 21-23, Yellen discloses detecting a cell-cell interaction involving a produced molecule, including a cytokine.
Regarding claims 15 and 24, Yellen discloses detecting interaction between different cell types.
Regarding claims 16 and 25, Yellen discloses that the first and second cell are in biological communication.
Regarding claims 17 and 26, Yellen discloses measuring a cell response to a drug.
Regarding claims 18 and 27, Yellen discloses using human cells and assessing a health status.
Regarding claim 20, sequencing by in-situ hybridization was conventional in the prior art, and thus would have been suggested merely by straightforward, logical scientific reasoning.
CONCLUSION
8. No claims are free of the prior art.
09/16/26
/KENNETH R HORLICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681