Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 7, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 6 and 7 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that the claims are allowable because Gao fails to teach the limitation “when the SSB is an on-demand SSB, the first bit field in the SSB indicates that the SSB is a non-cell-defined synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (NCD SSB)” of claim 1. However, Gao was not cited to teach the SSB being an on-demand SSB. Office Action (dtd. April 7, 2026), p. 14. The amended limitation of “when the SSB is an on-demand SSB” was previously described in originally filed (now canceled) claim 12, and Zhou was cited for this limitation. Office Action (dtd. April 7, 2026), p. 15.
Paragraph [0091] of Zhou clearly teaches that the NCD SSB is an on-demand SSB and paragraph [0180] of Gao teaches setting the value of kSSB field (i.e., first bit field) to a value between 12-15 to indicate NCD SSB. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have modified the invention of Gao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou to have a bit field indicate the SSB as NCD SSB, when the SSB is an on-demand SSB. Accordingly, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches all of the limitations of amended claims 1 and 7, and their respective dependent claims, and the combination of Gao, Zhou, and Qualcomm teaches all of the limitations of claims 15 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Gao et al. (WO2021233206A1) in view of Zhou et al. (WO2024032796A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches “[a] communication method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) from a network device, wherein the SSB comprises a first bit field, and . . . the first bit field indicates that the SSB is a non-cell-defined synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (NCD SSB)” (see ¶¶ [0169] and [0180]; the terminal device receives SSB from the network device; the value of the kSSB field (i.e., first bit field) in the MIB (i.e., part of the SSB) can be used to distinguish between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB; for example, when the value of kSSB is 0-11, it is used to indicate CD-SSB, and when the value of kSSB (the first bit field) is 12-15, it is used to indicate NCD-SSB; thus, terminal device receives a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) from a network device, wherein the SSB comprises a first bit field, and the first bit field indicates that the SSB is a non-cell-defined synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (NCD SSB)); and
Gao further teaches “determining, by the terminal device, whether to obtain system information of the network device based on the SSB” (see ¶¶ [0180]-[0183], and table 3; MIB includes PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (i.e., based on the SSB), which can be used to indicate the frequency domain positions of multiple CD-SSBs; since a CD-SSB includes SIB (system information of the network) and the terminal device is determining a position of CD-SSB based on the value of PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (based on the SSB); if the value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field is undefined, then a position of CD-SSB is not defined; thus, the terminal device is determining whether to obtain system information of the network device based on the SSB).
Gao does not explicitly disclose “when the SSB is an on-demand SSB” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Zhou teaches “when the SSB is an on-demand SSB” (see ¶ [0091]; generally, NCD-SSB may be called on-demand SSB; NCD-SSB is generally configured by network equipment to connected terminal equipment; thus, the SSB is an on-demand SSB). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Gao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou to have a bit field indicate the SSB as NCD SSB, when the SSB is an on-demand SSB. The suggestion to do so would have been to reduce the transmission overhead of NCD-SSB (see ¶ [0124] of Zhou).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the SSB further comprises a second bit field, and the second bit field indicates whether the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB” (see ¶¶ [0180]-[0183], and table 3 of Gao; MIB (part of the SSB) includes (comprises) PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (i.e., second bit field) which can be used to indicate the frequency domain positions of multiple CD-SSBs; since a CD-SSB includes SIB (system information of the network) and the terminal device is determining a position of CD-SSB based on the value of PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field; if the value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (the second bit field) is defined (e.g., 0-255), then a position of CD-SSB is defined, and the terminal device determines to obtain the system information; if the value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (the second bit field) is undefined, then a position of CD-SSB is not defined, and the terminal device cannot obtain the system information; thus, the SSB further comprises a second bit field, and the second bit field indicates whether the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein the second bit field carries first information, and the first information is associated with a quantity of SSBs” (see ¶ [0180] of Gao; [NOTE: in ¶ [0080] of the present application, it is described “Patterns of the SSB burst set may be different with different frequency ranges and configuration. For example, with the different frequency ranges, a maximum quantity of SSBs that may be included in the SSB burst set may be 4, 8, and 64.” Therefore, it appears that a quantity of SSBs is associated with the frequency ranges]. Gao teaches the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (the second bit field) value (first information) indicates multiple frequency domain positions (i.e., frequency ranges) of CD-SSBs; therefore, the frequency domain positions (i.e., the first information indicating frequency ranges) is associated with a quantity of SSBs; thus, the second bit field carries first information, and the first information is associated with a quantity of SSBs).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein the second bit field carries first information, and the first information comprises pattern information of an SSB burst set” (see ¶ [0180] of Gao; [NOTE: in ¶ [0080] of the present application, it is described “Patterns of the SSB burst set may be different with different frequency ranges and configuration”; also see the 112(b) rejection for interpretation of the first information] Gao teaches the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (second bit field) value (first information) indicates multiple frequency domain positions (i.e., pattern information) of CD-SSBs (an SSB burst set; thus, the second bit field carries first information, and the first information comprises pattern information of an SSB burst set).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein the second bit field comprises one or more first bits, a value of the one or more first bits is a first value, and a quantity of first bits indicates whether the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB” (see ¶¶ [0180]-[0183] and [0189], and table 3 of Gao; MIB (part of the SSB) includes (comprises) PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (i.e., second bit field) which can be used to indicate the frequency domain positions of multiple CD-SSBs; the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field can be up to 8 bits (i.e., one or more first bits) and the bits indicate a value (i.e., a value of the one or more first bits is a first value); and since value indicated by the bits corresponds to a quantity of bits used, under BRI, a value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 can correspond to a quantity of first bits; therefore, a value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 to indicate whether a position of a CD-SSB is defined or not (and thus, whether the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB, as explained above in other rejections) can correspond to a quantity of first bits that indicates whether the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB; thus, the SSB further comprises a second bit field, and the second bit field indicates whether the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 5, and further teaches “wherein in a case in which the quantity of first bits is less than a second value, the second bit field indicates that the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB; or in a case in which the quantity of first bits is greater than or equal to the second value, the second bit field indicates that the terminal device does not obtain the system information by using the SSB” (see ¶¶ [0180]-[0183] and [0189] of Gao; since a value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 can correspond to a quantity of first bits, a value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 less than 256 (i.e., less than a second value), then it can indicate the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB; therefore, it teaches, at least, the quantity of first bits is less than a second value, the second bit field indicates that the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 6, and further teaches “wherein the second value is preset, or the second value is transmitted through higher layer signaling” (see ¶ [0180] of Gao; the number of frequency domain positions (the second value) of CD-SSB indicated by the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 is configured by a network node; thus, the second value is preset).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 6, and further teaches “wherein the second value is determined based on second information, and the second information is associated with a frequency range” (see ¶¶ [0180] of Gao; number of frequency domain positions to indicate is based on the frequency domain grid (second information), which is associated with a frequency range 24.25GHz to 100GHz).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 8, and further teaches “wherein the second information comprises one or more of the following information: a frequency range of a cell; a subcarrier spacing; or a maximum quantity of SSBs in an SSB burst set” (see ¶ [0180]; number of frequency domain positions to indicate is based on the frequency domain grid (second information), which is associated with a frequency range 24.25GHz to 100GHz; thus, the second information comprises a frequency range is frequency range of a cell).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein second information of a cell in which the terminal device is located meets a predetermined condition, and the second information is associated with a frequency range” (see ¶¶ [0180] and [0185]; number of frequency domain positions to indicate is based on the frequency domain grid (second information of a cell in which the terminal device is located), where the frequency domain positions is based on the frequency ranges, where the frequency range can be 24.25GHz to 100GHz or greater than which is associated with a frequency range 24.25GHz to 100GHz or 52.6GHz (a predetermined condition); thus, the second information of a cell in which the terminal device is located meets a predetermined condition, and the second information is associated with a frequency range).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the SSB further comprises a third bit field, and the third bit field indicates whether to support setting the first bit field in the SSB to indicate the NCD SSB” (see ¶¶ [0178]-[0180] of Gao, and ¶¶ [0127] and [0128] of Zhou; Gao teaches the MIB (the SSB) includes multiple bit fields as disclosed; thus, the SSB further comprises a third bit field; Zhou teaches network device may send the first indication information [i.e., a value that indicates] to the terminal device; the first indication information [value that indicates] is used to indicate whether NCD-SSB is valid (i.e., support the NCD SSB)); when the indication is valid, the network device will send NCD-SSB; transmission of NCD-SSB inherently indicates having a bit field (e.g., bit field of MIB in the SSB ) set that indicates the NCD-SSB; validity of NCD-SSB can be indicated dynamically; thus, the SSB further comprises a third bit field, and the third bit field indicates whether to support setting the first bit field in the SSB to indicate the NCD SSB). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Gao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou to have the SSB comprise a bit field that indicates whether to support setting another bit field in the SSB to indicate the NCD SSB. The suggestion to do so would have been to reduce the transmission overhead of NCD-SSB (see ¶ [0124] of Zhou).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein a candidate value of a control resource set (CORESET) position corresponding to search space of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the system information is a preset value” (see ¶ [0180] of Gao; controlResourceSetZero (i.e., a candidate value of a control resource set (CORESET) position) indicates and searchSpaceZero (i.e., corresponds to search space) fields (i.e., physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)) indicates the frequency domain position of the CD-SSB (carrying the system information); controlResourceSetZero value is set by network, therefore, is a preset value; thus, candidate value of a control resource set (CORESET) position corresponding to search space of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the system information is a preset value).
Regarding claim 17, Gao teaches “[a] communication method, comprising: transmitting, by a network device, a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) to a terminal device, the SSB comprises a first bit field, and . . . the first bit field indicates that the SSB is a non-cell-defined synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (NCD SSB)” (see ¶¶ [0169] and [0180]; the network device transmits SSB; the value of the kSSB field (i.e., first bit field) in the MIB (i.e., part of the SSB) can be used to distinguish between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB; for example, when the value of kSSB is 0-11, it is used to indicate CD-SSB, and when the value of kSSB (the first bit field) is 12-15, it is used to indicate NCD-SSB; thus, network device transmits a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) from a network device, wherein the SSB comprises a first bit field, and the first bit field indicates that the SSB is a non-cell-defined synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (NCD SSB)); and
Gao further teaches “the SSB indicates whether to obtain system information of the network device” (see ¶¶ [0180]-[0183], and table 3; MIB includes PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (i.e., based on the SSB), which can be used to indicate the frequency domain positions of multiple CD-SSBs; since a CD-SSB includes SIB (system information of the network) and the terminal device is determining a position of CD-SSB based on the value of PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (based on the SSB); if the value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field is undefined, then a position of CD-SSB is not defined; thus, the SSB indicates whether to obtain system information).
Gao does not explicitly disclose “when the SSB is an on-demand SSB” of claim 17. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Zhou teaches “when the SSB is an on-demand SSB” (see ¶ [0091]; generally, NCD-SSB may be called on-demand SSB; NCD-SSB is generally configured by network equipment to connected terminal equipment; thus, the SSB is an on-demand SSB). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Gao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou to have a bit field indicate the SSB as NCD SSB, when the SSB is an on-demand SSB. The suggestion to do so would have been to reduce the transmission overhead of NCD-SSB (see ¶ [0124] of Zhou).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 17, and further teaches “wherein the SSB further comprises a second bit field, and the second bit field indicates whether the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB” (see ¶¶ [0180]-[0183], and table 3 of Gao; MIB (part of the SSB) includes (comprises) PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (i.e., second bit field) which can be used to indicate the frequency domain positions of multiple CD-SSBs; since a CD-SSB includes SIB (system information of the network) and the terminal device is determining a position of CD-SSB based on the value of PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field; if the value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (the second bit field) is defined (e.g., 0-255), then a position of CD-SSB is defined, and the terminal device determines to obtain the system information; if the value of the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (the second bit field) is undefined, then a position of CD-SSB is not defined, and the terminal device cannot obtain the system information; thus, the SSB further comprises a second bit field, and the second bit field indicates whether the terminal device obtains the system information by using the SSB).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 18, and further teaches “wherein the second bit field carries first information, and the first information is associated with a quantity of SSBs” (see ¶ [0180] of Gao; [NOTE: in ¶ [0080] of the present application, it is described “Patterns of the SSB burst set may be different with different frequency ranges and configuration. For example, with the different frequency ranges, a maximum quantity of SSBs that may be included in the SSB burst set may be 4, 8, and 64.” Therefore, it appears that a quantity of SSBs is associated with the frequency ranges]. Gao teaches the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field (the second bit field) value (first information) indicates multiple frequency domain positions (i.e., frequency ranges) of CD-SSBs; therefore, the frequency domain positions (i.e., the first information indicating frequency ranges) is associated with a quantity of SSBs; thus, the second bit field carries first information, and the first information is associated with a quantity of SSBs).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 18, and further teaches “wherein the first information comprises pattern information of an SSB burst set” (see ¶ [0180] of Gao; [NOTE: in ¶ [0080] of the present application, it is described “Patterns of the SSB burst set may be different with different frequency ranges and configuration”; also see the 112(b) rejection for interpretation of the first information] Gao teaches the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field value (first information) indicates multiple frequency domain positions (i.e., pattern information) of CD-SSBs (an SSB burst set; thus, first information comprises pattern information of an SSB burst set).
Claims 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Zhou and further in view of Qualcomm (R2-2109451; "NCD-SSB and RedCap-specific BWPs"; publication date: 10/22/21).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Gao and Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the SSB is received on a synchronization raster” of claim 13. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Qualcomm teaches “wherein the SSB is received on a synchronization raster” (see p. 2, lines 9 and 10; NCD-SSBs can be transmitted on or off the sync raster of a serving cell). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Gao in view of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Qualcomm to have the SSB received on a synchronization raster. The suggestion to do so would have been to configure use certain BWPs (p. 2, line 4).
Regarding claim 15, Gao teaches “[a] communication method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) from a network device, wherein the SSB comprises a first bit field, and . . . the first bit filed indicates that the SSB is a non-cell-defined synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (NCD SSB)” (see ¶¶ [0169] and [0180]; the terminal device receives SSB from the network device; the value of the kSSB field (i.e., first bit field) in the MIB (i.e., part of the SSB) can be used to distinguish between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB; for example, when the value of kSSB is 0-11, it is used to indicate CD-SSB, and when the value of kSSB (the first bit field) is 12-15, it is used to indicate NCD-SSB; thus, terminal device receives a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) from a network device, wherein the SSB comprises a first bit field, and the first bit field indicates that the SSB is a non-cell-defined synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (NCD SSB));
Gao also teaches “wherein the SSB the SSB is a first SSB . . . and a format of the first SSB is different from a format of the second SSB” (see ¶¶ [0169] and [0180]; the terminal device receives SSB from the network device; the value of the kSSB field (i.e., first bit field) in the MIB (i.e., part of the SSB) can be used to distinguish between CD-SSB (second SSB) and NCD-SSB (first SSB); for example, when the value of kSSB is 0-11, it is used to indicate CD-SSB, and when the value of kSSB (the first bit field) is 12-15, it is used to indicate NCD-SSB; for CD-SSB (second SSB), the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field can be less than 8 bits and for NCD-SSB (first SSB), the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field can be 8 bits (i.e., format of the first SSB is different from a format of the second SSB); thus, terminal device receives a synchronization signal block/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) from a network device, wherein the SSB the SSB is a first SSB . . . and a format of the first SSB is different from a format of the second SSB); and
Gao further teaches “decoding, by the terminal device, the SSB” (see ¶ [0180]; terminal device determines the value of the kSSB field; thus, decoding the SSB).
Gao does not explicitly disclose “when the SSB is an on-demand SSB,” and “wherein the first SSB is received on a synchronization raster; or the SSB is a second SSB, wherein, the second SSB is received on a non-synchronization raster” of claim 15. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Zhou teaches “when the SSB is an on-demand SSB” (see ¶ [0091]; generally, NCD-SSB may be called on-demand SSB; NCD-SSB is generally configured by network equipment to connected terminal equipment; thus, the SSB is an on-demand SSB). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Gao to incorporate the teachings of Zhou to have a bit field indicate the SSB as NCD SSB, when the SSB is an on-demand SSB. The suggestion to do so would have been to reduce the transmission overhead of NCD-SSB (see ¶ [0124] of Zhou).
The combination of Gao and Zhou does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first SSB is received on a synchronization raster; or the SSB is a second SSB, wherein, the second SSB is received on a non-synchronization raster” of claim 15. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Qualcomm teaches “wherein the first SSB is received on a synchronization raster; or the SSB is a second SSB, wherein, the second SSB is received on a non-synchronization raster” (see p. 2, lines 9 and 10; NCD-SSBs can be transmitted on or off the sync raster of a serving cell). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Gao in view of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Qualcomm to have the SSB received on a synchronization raster. The suggestion to do so would have been to configure use certain BWPs (p. 2, line 4).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Gao, Zhou, and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 15, and further teaches “wherein the format of the first SSB being different from the format of the second SSB comprises at least one of: a specific bit field in the first SSB being different from a specific bit field in the second SSB; or system information corresponding to the first SSB being different from system information corresponding to the second SSB” (see ¶ [0180] of Gao; for CD-SSB (second SSB), the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field can be less than 8 bits (i.e., a specific bit field in the second SSB) and for NCD-SSB (first SSB), the PDCCH-ConfigSIB1 field can be 8 bits (i.e., a specific bit field in the first SSB); thus, a specific bit field in the first SSB being different from a specific bit field in the second SSB).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475