DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 13 February 2026 and is the continuation-in-part of several applications with the earliest filing date of 13 March 2020. The Applicant claims priority to provisional applications 62/561,129 and 63,759,775. Provisional application 62/561,129 does not appear to disclose the subject matter pertaining to the instant application. Therefore, the effective filing date of the instant application is 13 March 2020.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of microcrystalline cellulose, lactose monohydrate, croscarmellose sodium, and stearic acid in the reply filed on 08 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse, even though the Applicant elected “with traverse” (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the lactose" in line 1 of claim 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arad et al. (WO 2009137827 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Arad teaches tablet (para. 67) compositions comprising NAC that may comprise amide (para. 26), which is interpreted as NACA. The composition may comprise excipients (para. 61) and binders (para. 81), which is interpreted as addressing an acceptable excipient.
Regarding claim 2, the composition may comprise microcrystalline (para. 82), lactose monohydrate (para. 82), croscarmellose sodium (para. 84), lactose (para. 82), and stearic acid (para. 85).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the composition may comprise 10-90% of the active agent (para. 87), which is interpreted as including NACA.
Regarding claim 5, in one example, the composition comprises 600 mg of the active ingredient (para. 120).
Regarding claims 6-9, since the amount of active agent may be “about” 10-90% (para. 87), it is interpreted that the remaining amount (“about” 10-90%) may be excipients, fillers, additives, etc., such as microcrystalline cellulose, croscarmellose sodium, and stearic acid.
Arad does not teach an exact combination of microcrystalline cellulose, lactose monohydrate, croscarmellose sodium, and stearic acid recited in claim 2.
In regards to selecting the combination of microcrystalline cellulose, lactose monohydrate, croscarmellose sodium, and stearic acid in claim 2, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Arad teaches compositions comprising microcrystalline (para. 82), lactose monohydrate (para. 82), croscarmellose sodium (para. 84), lactose (para. 82), and stearic acid (para. 85), whereas the claimed invention is directed towards a tablet comprising NACA and a biocompatible excipient. Since Arad teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 10-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arad et al. (WO 2009137827 A2), as applied to claim(s) 1-9 above, in view of chemm.hhs.gov.
In regards to claim(s) 1-9, Arad, as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of compositions comprising microcrystalline (para. 82), lactose monohydrate (para. 82), croscarmellose sodium (para. 84), lactose (para. 82), and stearic acid (para. 85).
Regarding claim 15, Arad teaches tablet (para. 67) compositions comprising NAC that may comprise amide (para. 26), which is interpreted as NACA. The composition may comprise excipients (para. 61) and binders (para. 81), which is interpreted as addressing an acceptable excipient.
Regarding claim 16, the composition may comprise microcrystalline (para. 82), lactose monohydrate (para. 82), croscarmellose sodium (para. 84), lactose (para. 82), and stearic acid (para. 85).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the composition may comprise 10-90% of the active agent (para. 87), which is interpreted as including NACA.
Regarding claim 19, in one example, the composition comprises 600 mg of the active ingredient (para. 120).
Regarding claims 20-24, since the amount of active agent may be “about” 10-90% (para. 87), it is interpreted that the remaining amount (“about” 10-90%) may be excipients, fillers, additives, etc., such as microcrystalline cellulose, croscarmellose sodium, and stearic acid.
Regarding claim 25, Arad teaches tablet (para. 67) compositions comprising NAC that may comprise amide (para. 26), which is interpreted as NACA. The composition may comprise excipients (para. 61) and binders (para. 81), which is interpreted as addressing an acceptable excipient.
Arad does not specifically teach the plasma concentrations of NACA and NAC in claims 10-14.
Regarding claims 10-14 and 25, chemm.hhs.gov teaches that after an oral dose of 200-400 mg of NAC, a peak plasma concentration of 0.35-4 mg/L (350-400 ng/mL) is achieved within 1-2 hours (pg. 11).
Since Arad teaches that their composition reaches a therapeutically effective plasma concentration over time (para. 2) for NAC and presumably NACA depending on the active agent of choice, but does not specify the plasma concentration in claims 10-14 and 25, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use chemm.hhs.gov’s teaching of a general plasma concentration range for a NAC concentration range. Since Arad teaches, for example, 600 mg, the plasma concentration may be expected to be higher than the concentration range given for 200-400 mg of NAC. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Furthermore, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2112.01 (II)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 15-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 19/465,413 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are nearly identical in components and range of amounts and concentrations to the instant claims.
Claims 1-11 of the reference application correspond to instant claims 1-10 in terms of the components and amounts/concentrations of components.
Claim 12 recites NACA and additives, binders, or fillers, corresponding to instant claim 15.
Claim 13 recites specific additives, such as microcrystalline cellulose, etc., which corresponds to instant claim 16.
Claims 14-20 recite ranges for the amounts of components, corresponding to instant claims 17-24.
Claim 21 recites pharmacokinetic properties of the composition, which correspond to instant claim 25.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9, 15, 16, and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, 33-37 of copending Application No. 19/173,475 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are nearly identical in components and range of amounts and concentrations to the instant claims.
Claim 1 recites NACA and additives, binders, etc., such as microcrystalline cellulose, etc., corresponding to instant claims 1 and 2.
Claims 3-9 recite amounts for the specific components, corresponding to instant claims 3-9.
Claim 33 recites a tablet comprising NACA, binders, additives, etc., and stearic acid, which corresponds to claims 1, 2, 15, and 16.
Claim 34 recites lactose in a specific amount, corresponding to instant claims 6 and 24.
Claims 35-37 recite amounts for the different components, corresponding to instant claim 24.
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613