DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 08/07/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1–18 and 20 are objected to for lack of consistent terminology. While the independent claims initially recite "a first elongated baffle member” and “a second elongated baffle member" subsequent recitations omit the term "elongated." For clarity and consistency, the Examiner requests that the word "elongated" be included in all subsequent references to these members.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamish (GB 2604211 A).
In regards to Claim 1, Hamish teaches: A casing (100 - Fig. 1) for receiving a loose insulating material (8 - Fig. 3, noting 'The fibrous fill insulation material may comprise any suitable material such as down feather, feather, wadding containing down feathers, synthetic wadding insulation, loose fill synthetic insulation, or a blend or combination of any of the aforementioned.'), the casing comprising: an inner shell of flexible sheet material (3 - Fig. 3, noting 'The third material is a nonwoven scrim with an aluminium component, as a non-limiting example the nonwoven scrim can be made from the XReflex scrim product from He i().® In this example the first, second and third layers of material are co-extensive.'); an outer shell of flexible sheet material ([1, 2] - Fig. 3, 'The first material comprises a densely woven nylon fabric with polyurethane coating, more specifically a 20 denier nylon fabric with polyurethane coating that affords a hydrostatic head in excess of 1500mm and weighs 36g in-2 The second material comprises a densely woven recycled nylon fabric, more specifically a 20 denier recycled nylon fabric that is both downproof and fibre proof by means of its high weave density.'); and a baffle arrangement located between and connecting the inner and outer shells (4 - Fig. 3) and comprising a first elongate baffle member (see annotated Fig. 2.1 from Hamish) and a second elongate baffle member (see annotated Fig. 2.1 from Hamish), the first and second baffle members disposed adjacent to one another and formed of flexible sheet material laterally spaced along the inner and outer shells (see annotated Fig. 2.1 from Hamish), the first and second baffle members, the inner shell and the outer shell defining one or more chambers (6 - Fig. 3) for receiving the insulating material (Fig. 3 showing insulating material '8' within chamber '6'), wherein the first baffle member and the second baffle member are connected to the outer shell along a respective baffle outer edge (see annotated Fig. 2.1 from Hamish) at an outer connection region (see annotated Fig. 2.1 and 2.2 from Hamish) and to the inner shell along a respective baffle inner edge (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish) at an opposing inner connection region (see annotated Fig. 2.1 and 2.2 from Hamish), the opposing inner and outer connection regions of the first baffle member being non-linear and following an inverse path from one another in plan view ('Ideally the first and second joints may be elongate. Ideally the first and second joints may extend along all or part, preferably all, of the length or width of the first, second and third layers of material The first and/or second joints may run in straight lines, in zig-zags, in curves, or in any other regular or irregular shape. The joints may run parallel to each other.').
Annotated Fig. 2.1 from Hamish
Annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish
In regards to Claim 2, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein the opposing inner and outer connection regions of the second baffle member are non-linear and follow an inverse path from one another (see annotated Fig. 2.1 from Hamish showing non-linear inverse paths, 'Ideally the first and second joints may be elongate. Ideally the first and second joints may extend along all or part, preferably all, of the length or width of the first, second and third layers of material The first and/or second joints may run in straight lines, in zig-zags, in curves, or in any other regular or irregular shape. The joints may run parallel to each other.').
In regards to Claim 3, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 2, wherein the second baffle member further follows an inverse path to the corresponding inner and outer connection regions of the first baffle member (see annotated Fig. 2.3 from Hamish).
Annotated Fig. 2.3 from Hamish
In regards to Claim 4, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein at least one of the non-linear inner connection region of the first baffle member and the outer connection region of the first baffle member comprises a deviation in profile in plan view (see annotated Fig. 2.3 from Hamish, 'Ideally the first and second joints may be elongate. Ideally the first and second joints may extend along all or part, preferably all, of the length or width of the first, second and third layers of material The first and/or second joints may run in straight lines, in zig-zags, in curves, or in any other regular or irregular shape. The joints may run parallel to each other.').
In regards to Claim 5, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 4, wherein the deviation in profile of the first baffle member is a substantially zig-zagged deviation in profile in plan view (see annotated Fig. 2.3 from Hamish, 'Ideally the first and second joints may be elongate. Ideally the first and second joints may extend along all or part, preferably all, of the length or width of the first, second and third layers of material The first and/or second joints may run in straight lines, in zig-zags, in curves, or in any other regular or irregular shape. The joints may run parallel to each other.').
In regards to Claim 6, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 4, wherein the deviation in profile of the first baffle member is a substantially curved, oscillating or sinusoidal deviation in profile in plan view (see annotated Fig. 2.3 from Hamish, 'Ideally the first and second joints may be elongate. Ideally the first and second joints may extend along all or part, preferably all, of the length or width of the first, second and third layers of material The first and/or second joints may run in straight lines, in zig-zags, in curves, or in any other regular or irregular shape. The joints may run parallel to each other.').
In regards to Claim 7, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein the non-linear inner and outer connection regions of the first baffle member intersect at least once in plan view (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish).
In regards to Claim 8, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein the first baffle member extends along a longitudinal axis thereof, and wherein the first baffle member twists about said longitudinal axis to define the inverse path of the inner and outer connection regions (see annotated Fig. 2.1 from Hamish).
In regards to Claim 9, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 8, wherein the first baffle member twists about the longitudinal axis in a first rotational direction (see exploded view of Fig. 2) from a first end of the first baffle member (see exploded view of Fig. 2) towards a location intermediate to the first end and an opposing second end of the first baffle member (see exploded view of Fig. 2), wherein in an opposing second rotational direction from the location intermediate the first and second ends of the first baffle member (see exploded view of Fig. 2) towards the second end of the first baffle member to define the non-linear inner and outer connection regions (see exploded view of Fig. 2) wherein the location intermediate to the first end and the second end of the first baffle member is located equidistant to the first and second ends of the first baffle member (see exploded view of Fig. 2).
Exploded View of Fig. 2
In regards to Claim 10, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein the first baffle member defines a width extending laterally between the inner and outer connection regions, and wherein the width of the first baffle member along a longitudinal axis thereof decreases from a first end of the first baffle member in a direction towards an opposing second end of the first baffle member (see exploded view of Fig. 1) to define a first minimum width at a location between the first end and the second end (see exploded view of Fig. 1, noting that the minimum width, is not directly between the first end and second end, but between the two).
Exploded View of Fig. 1
In regards to Claim 11, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein the inner and outer connection regions of the first baffle member are substantially symmetrical about a longitudinal axis of the first baffle member in plan view (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish).
In regards to Claim 12, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein the first baffle member defines a lateral axis (W - Fig. 2) extending perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the first baffle member (L - Fig. 2) between the inner and outer connection regions (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish), and wherein the inner and outer connection regions are each substantially symmetrical about said lateral axis in plan view (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish).
In regards to Claim 13, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein a maximum width of the first baffle member along a lateral axis of the first baffle member extending between the inner and outer connection regions ranged between 30mm and 140mm ('The distance between the first joints may be any suitable distance. The distance between the second joints may be any suitable distance. The distance may be from 1 cm to 100 cm, more preferably from 2 to 50 cm, more preferably still from 3 cm to 20 cm, and more preferably still from 4 cm to 10 cm, for example 5 to 8cm.').
In regards to Claim 14, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein a height of the first baffle member along a transverse axis of the first baffle member is in the range 1cm to 10cm ('The distance between the first joints may be any suitable distance. The distance between the second joints may be any suitable distance. The distance may be from 1 cm to 100 cm, more preferably from 2 to 50 cm, more preferably still from 3 cm to 20 cm, and more preferably still from 4 cm to 10 cm, for example 5 to 8cm.').
In regards to Claim 15, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein the baffle arrangement comprises a plurality of first and second baffle members arranged in pairs of first and second baffle members (annotated Fig. 3.1 from Hamish), and wherein the first and second baffle members in each pair are substantially symmetrical about a plane of symmetry extending parallel to a longitudinal axis of each baffle member (annotated Fig. 3.1 from Hamish).
Annotated Fig. 3.1 from Hamish
In regards to Claim 16, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein the baffle arrangement comprises a baffle end wall closing at least one side of the casing ('One or both open ends of the chambers may be closed.'), and wherein each of the first and second baffle members is connected to the baffle end wall at a first and/or second end thereof ('Open ends of the chambers may be dosed in any manner familiar to one skilled in the art.').
In regards to Claim 17, Hamish teaches: The casing of claim 1, wherein the inner connection region and the outer connection region are inner and outer seams connecting the inner and outer shells to the baffle inner and outer edges of first and/or second baffle member ('The first, second and third layers of material are co-extensive In the casing 100 the first layer of material 1 is joined to the third layer of material 3 by a sewing, giving rise to plurality of elongate first stitch lines 4. The second layer of material 2 is joined to the third layer of material 3 by sewing, giving risc to a plurality of elongate second stitch lines 5.').
In regards to Claim 18, Hamish teaches: An insulated garment or sleeping article ('The casing filled with insulation material according to the invention can be used in the manufacture of any type of insulated garment such as coats (including for example parkas), jackets, trousers, shorts, skirts, jumpers, hats, gloves (including mittens), scarves; and also outdoor equipment such as sleeping bags and sleeping mats/mattresses.') formed from the casing of claim 1, comprising: an insulating material located between the inner and outer shells ('Fibrous fill insulation materials such as down, down and feather mixes, synthetic insulation materials and blends of the aforementioned offer improvements over other insulating materials. '), wherein the insulating material is received in one or more chambers defined by the first and second baffle members (8 - Fig. 3, 'The chambers 6, 7 are all filled with insulation material 8, for example, fibrous fill insulation material as shown in figure 3. The chambers arc closed in any suitable manner known in the art, for example by sewing.' and 'In this example the chambers are filled with, as a non-limiting example, 800 fill power goose down, though alternative grades of duck down or goose down could be used, or the fill could be synthetically derived.').
In regards to Claim 19, Hamish teaches: The insulated garment or sleeping article of claim 18, wherein the insulating material comprises down and/or a synthetic fiber ('The chambers 6, 7 are all filled with insulation material 8, for example, fibrous fill insulation material as shown in figure 3. The chambers arc closed in any suitable manner known in the art, for example by sewing.' and 'In this example the chambers are filled with, as a non-limiting example, 800 fill power goose down, though alternative grades of duck down or goose down could be used, or the fill could be synthetically derived.').
In regards to Claim 20, Hamish teaches: A method of forming a casing (100 - Fig. 1) for receiving a loose insulating material (8 - Fig. 3, noting 'The fibrous fill insulation material may comprise any suitable material such as down feather, feather, wadding containing down feathers, synthetic wadding insulation, loose fill synthetic insulation, or a blend or combination of any of the aforementioned.'), the method comprising: providing an inner shell (3 - Fig. 3, noting 'The third material is a nonwoven scrim with an aluminium component, as a non-limiting example the nonwoven scrim can be made from the XReflex scrim product from He i().® In this example the first, second and third layers of material are co-extensive.') and an outer shell of flexible sheet material (4 - Fig. 3); providing a baffle arrangement comprising first and second baffle members of flexible sheet material (see annotated Fig. 2.1 from Hamish); connecting an outer baffle edge of the first baffle member (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish) to the outer shell at an outer connection region (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish), said outer connection region being non-linear ('Ideally the first and second joints may be elongate. Ideally the first and second joints may extend along all or part, preferably all, of the length or width of the first, second and third layers of material The first and/or second joints may run in straight lines, in zig-zags, in curves, or in any other regular or irregular shape. The joints may run parallel to each other.'); connecting an inner baffle edge of (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish) the first baffle member to the inner shell at an inner connection region, said inner connection region being non-linear (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish) and following an inverse path from the outer connection region ('Ideally the first and second joints may be elongate. Ideally the first and second joints may extend along all or part, preferably all, of the length or width of the first, second and third layers of material The first and/or second joints may run in straight lines, in zig-zags, in curves, or in any other regular or irregular shape. The joints may run parallel to each other.'); and connecting an outer baffle edge of the second baffle member to the outer shell at an outer connection region(see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish) and connecting an inner baffle edge of the second baffle member to the inner shell at an inner connection region (see annotated Fig. 2.2 from Hamish) such that a chamber is defined between the first and second baffle members (6 - Fig. 3), inner shell and outer shell for receiving the loose insulating material ('The fibrous fill insulation material may comprise any suitable material such as down feather, feather, wadding containing down feathers, synthetic wadding insulation, loose fill synthetic insulation, or a blend or combination of any of the aforementioned.').
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US-20100024125-A1) teaches: An insulating product and method for its creation involving inner valves designed to impede the flow of insulating materials between compartments formed by the inner valves. This allows for creating vertical baffles in addition to the typical horizontal baffles.
Ly (US-20130309929-A1) teaches: A multilayer fabric structure having an insulating interlayer of non-woven fabric that is constructed in such a manner to enhance the insulating capabilities. In one embodiment, the insulating interlayer is constructed in a looped configuration to improve the insulation capabilities. In another embodiment, the insulating interlayer is constructed in a baffle configuration to improve the insulation capabilities. Methods of making a multilayer fabric structure are also described.
Lo US-20100086730-A1) teaches: A waterproof, insulated multi-layer fabric structure is described, including a first and second layer to bound an interior volume. A baffle layer is located in the bounded volume and undulates between the first layer and second layer. The baffle layer is directly attached to the first layer. Adhesive tape portions are attached to the second layer to eliminate the need of stitching through the second layer, improving the structure's waterproof qualities. The baffle layer is attached to the adhesive tape portions which extend from the second layer. A method for manufacturing the multi-layer structure is also described.
MADISON MATTHEWS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/MADISON MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
09/02/2026