DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claim recites a diagnostic spectroscopic system, thus is an apparatus.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes - The claim 21 recites the limitations:
selecting a brain region for analysis, wherein the brain region is identified relative to imaging data;
filtering the brain region spectroscopy data based on one or more data-quality metrics,
wherein brain region spectroscopy data failing at least one data-quality metric threshold is excluded from classification; and
generating one or more metabolite specific thresholds using a set of ranges of two or more parameters selected from the group consisting of (i) a metabolite profile, (ii) a patient age, (iii) an echo time, and (iv) a field strength of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI);
classifying the filtered brain region spectroscopy data according to the one or more metabolite specific thresholds into high, low, or within a normal range; and
displaying brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data.
These limitations, as drafted, are a process step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind as it recites steps of mathematical manipulations and concepts performed in the human mind with a physical aid as well as certain methods of organizing human activities (such as following rules/instructions).
These actions fall under the Mental Processes, Mathematical Concepts, and Certain Methods of organizing human activities categories defined in MPEP 2106.04(A)(2) as “concept performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion)” and “mathematical calculations,” and “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.” A human, such as surgeon and/or physician, could mentally perform tasks of making a selection of a brain region (by opinion), filtering the data based on the quality metrics (using mathematical manipulation of data using filter matrix), resulting in exclusion of data failing to meet the thresholds (selecting data that meets the quality metric, by opinion), generating thresholds for analysis by evaluating a metabolite profile, a patient age, an echo time and field strength of MRI, to conclude which threshold would be appropriate and classifying data into high, low and normal range by comparing the values/ data with thresholds (evaluation, opinion and judgment).
A surgeon can proceed to display the data by presenting a paper with an outcome to others or presenting the outcome in a presentation, which can be considered as “following rules of instructions” or teaching belonging to managing personal behavior or relationship or interactions between people under “Certain methods of organizing human activity.”
These steps can all be performed in the mind with aid of a pen and paper with applying mathematical calculations and known formulas and following steps of calculations to arrive at the conclusion and presenting the conclusion to others.
That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or being performed with the aid of a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites a combination of mental process-type, mathematical concepts and certain methods of organizing human activity type abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No - The claim recites the following additional elements:
A diagnostic spectroscopic system, comprising:
an analysis system in communication with one or more sources of brain region spectroscopy data; and
computer-executable logic, encoded in a memory device of the analysis system, for interpreting brain region spectroscopy data, wherein the computer-executable logic is configured for execution of:
This claim elements of an analysis system in communication with sources of brain region spectroscopy data is mere data collection step which amounts to a pre-solution insignificant. The claim of communication with sources of data is simply gathering image data which are necessary precursors for all uses of the recited abstract idea since no analysis of spectroscopic data can be performed without brain region spectroscopy data.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and mathematical calculations) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., processing using computer [0074]).
In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer according to MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims according to MPEP 2106.05(a). That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent claim 1 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Thus, this claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No – The claim recites additional claim elements recite the following additional elements:
an analysis system in communication with one or more sources of brain region spectroscopy data; and
computer-executable logic, encoded in a memory device of the analysis system, for interpreting brain region spectroscopy data, wherein the computer-executable logic is configured for execution of:
The above-identified additional elements of analysis system and computer-executable logic” is performed using all generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) along with Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Per applicant’s specification, applicant describes a computer system, computer soft-ware with memory, such as optical disk, ROM, RAM ([0076]), and a computer-executable logic as languages, C++, Java ([0079]), which are all commercially available products, which elements are disclosed with high generality leading to a conclusion that these elements are well-known in the field.
Accordingly, in light of applicant’s specification, the claimed term computer/processor are reasonably construed as a generic computing device (“Standard desktop computer”). Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available technology, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the computing device. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)(2) and 2106.07(a)(III)). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications along with MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)).
Therefore, the examiner concludes that receiving data by computer/processor are common use in diagnostic imaging system, and thus, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception is not significantly more when recited with a claim with a judicial exception, fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception individually and in combination.
In light of the above, claim 21 is ineligible.
Claims 23-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claim recites a diagnostic spectroscopic system, thus is an apparatus.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes - The claims 23-27 and 29 recites the limitations:
Of claim 23, further comprising classifying the metabolite data using the one or more metabolite specific thresholds.
Of claim 24, wherein the metabolite data is generated in response to one or more drugs.
Of claim 25, wherein the metabolite data is evaluated over a course of treatment to analyze responsiveness of a disease or pathology in response to a treatment comprising the one or more drugs.
Of claim 26, wherein the computer-executable logic is further configured for execution of: selecting one or more voxels in the brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to determine specific metabolite concentrations.
Of claim 27, wherein the computer-executable logic is configured for execution of classifying the brain region spectroscopy data using trained data set of normal and diseased spectra for brain metabolites.
Of claim 29, wherein the computer-executable logic is further configured for execution of generating a disease-specific metabolic profile based on the classified brain region spectroscopy data, wherein the disease-specific metabolic profile corresponds to one or more of brain tumors, stroke, seizure disorders, Alzheimer's disease, depression, or multiple sclerosis.
These limitations, as drafted, are a process step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind as it recites steps of concepts performed in the human mind with a physical aid as well as certain methods of organizing human activities (such as following rules/instructions).
These actions fall under the Mental Processes categories defined in MPEP 2106.04(A)(2) as “concept performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion).” A human, such as surgeon and/or physician, could mentally perform tasks of evaluating data over a course of treatment, by monitoring response to a drug to its disease (observation, evaluation and judgement), and selecting voxels in the data by observing the image data to determine concentrations (observation and evaluating the voxels for determining concentration), classifying data (by comparing to threshold and classifying into categories), and generate a disease-specific metabolite profile and comparing to known profile of brain tumors, seizure disorders, Alzheimer’s disease, depression or multiple sclerosis, to conclude and generate diagnosis. Metabolite data generated using collecting data in response to drugs can be performed by observing data response to drugs and writing down the data.
These steps can all be performed in the mind with aid of a pen and paper with evaluating data, by selecting regions in the data, evaluating for metabolite concentrations, and comparing the metabolite to a reference metabolite profile to diagnose which disease a patient has.
That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or being performed with the aid of a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites a combination of mental process-type, mathematical concepts and certain methods of organizing human activity type abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No – The claim recites the following additional elements:
wherein the brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data comprises metabolite data
wherein the computer-executable logic is configured for execution of [classifying the brain region spectroscopy data] using a machine learning system
This claim elements of the brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data comprising metabolite data is mere data collection step which amounts to a pre-solution insignificant. The claim of metabolite data is simply gathering image data comprising metabolite data which are necessary precursors for all uses of the recited abstract idea since no analysis of spectroscopic data can be performed without brain region spectroscopy data.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and mathematical calculations) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., processing using computer [0074]) and machine learning system.
In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer according to MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims according to MPEP 2106.05(a). That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent claim 23 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Thus, this claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No – The claim recites additional claim elements recite the following additional elements:
wherein the brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data comprises metabolite data
wherein the computer-executable logic is configured for execution of [classifying the brain region spectroscopy data] using a machine learning system
The above-identified additional elements of metabolite data is well-understood and conventional in the field of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, since Wang (US 2017/0319098) teaches that “conventional MRS” offers metabolite profile characterization ([0004]).
Moreover, using machine learning system for classifying MR data is conventional application ([0017] and [0045]), as disclosed by Zaiss (US 2020/0072931).
Therefore, the examiner concludes that metabolite data are common use in diagnostic imaging system of MRS and machine learning system to classify data is conventional and thus, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception is not significantly more when recited with a claim with a judicial exception, fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception individually and in combination.
In light of the above, claims 23-27 and 29 are ineligible.
Claims 22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claim recites a diagnostic spectroscopic system, thus is an apparatus.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes – set forth in claim 21 above.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No - The claim recites the following additional elements:
Of claim 22, wherein the brain region spectroscopy data is magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) data.
Of claim 28, wherein the brain region spectroscopy data is acquired using chemical shift imaging (CSI) comprising phase-encoding to spatially encode a volume divided into a plurality of voxels.
This claim elements of spectroscopy data is MRS and CSI are mere data collection step which amounts to a pre-solution insignificant activity. The claims do not specify any configuration or improvement in the MRS and CSI itself, just simply gathering data which are necessary precursors for all uses of the recited abstract idea since no analysis can be performed without first gathering necessary data.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and mathematical calculations) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., processor as disclosed in specification).
Thus, this claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No – The claim recites additional claim elements recite the following additional elements:
Of claim 22, wherein the brain region spectroscopy data is magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) data.
Of claim 28, wherein the brain region spectroscopy data is acquired using chemical shift imaging (CSI) comprising phase-encoding to spatially encode a volume divided into a plurality of voxels.
The above-identified additional elements of MRS and CSI are conventional and well-understood in the field of magnetic resonance spectroscopy for brain.
With respect to MRS and CSI, the examiner finds “Lotz” (US 2019/0307393) that teaches “commercially available” from GE, sequence called “PROBE” is a CSI sequence used for brain spectroscopy ([0147]).
Therefore, the examiner concludes that MRS and CSI are common use in brain spectroscopy, and thus, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception is not significantly more when recited with a claim with a judicial exception, fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception individually and in combination.
In light of the above, claims 22 and 28 are ineligible.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claim recites a diagnostic spectroscopic system, thus is an apparatus.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes - The claim 30 recites the limitations:
decoding magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) vendor-specific proprietary spectroscopy data formats for multiple MRI devices into a common format such that data from different MRI devices may be used by the analysis system;
processing the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to obtain one or more spectroscopic graphical representations of the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data from multiple MRI device vendors;
classifying the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data into a classification of increased, decreased, or within a selected range by generating a metabolite specific threshold based two or more parameters selected from the group consisting of metabolite profile, patient age, echo time, and field strength of MRI;
determining indicia corresponding to reference ranges for a metabolite, wherein one or more of the reference ranges are determined using one or more range parameters, wherein the reference ranges are generated using statistical analysis of healthy control data to create bounds for upper, lower, and normative ranges for a selected metabolite ratio; and
displaying brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data.
These limitations, as drafted, are a process step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind as it recites steps of mathematical manipulations and concepts performed in the human mind with a physical aid as well as certain methods of organizing human activities (such as following rules/instructions).
These actions fall under the Mental Processes, Mathematical Concepts, and Certain Methods of organizing human activities categories defined in MPEP 2106.04(A)(2) as “concept performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion)” and “mathematical calculations,” and “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.” A human, such as surgeon and/or physician, could mentally perform tasks of interpreting data, decoding data formats for multiple MRI devices into a common format that data from different MRI devices (such as analyzing and interpreting data that can be used for common form), processing brain data to represent graphical figure of brain region via mathematical manipulation and conversion of data, classifying data into increased, decreased or within a range by comparing to thresholds (values and range of values) of evaluated various parameters using mathematical calculation using statistical analysis of healthy control data, which can all be performed by menta framework, using mathematical calculation/formula, to covert data for interpretation and analysis, to draw a conclusion whether the data is normal or abnormal in diagnosis.
A surgeon can proceed to display the data by presenting a paper with an outcome to others or presenting the outcome in a presentation, which can be considered as “following rules of instructions” or teaching belonging to managing personal behavior or relationship or interactions between people under “Certain methods of organizing human activity.”
These steps can all be performed in the mind with aid of a pen and paper with applying mathematical calculations and known formulas and following steps of calculations to arrive at the conclusion and presenting the conclusion to others.
That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or being performed with the aid of a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites a combination of mental process-type, mathematical concepts and certain methods of organizing human activity type abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No - The claim recites the following additional elements:
an analysis module, a data storage, and one or more hardware resources, in communication with one or more sources of brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data; and
computer-executable logic, encoded in a memory device of the analysis system, for interpreting brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, wherein the computer- executable logic is configured for execution of:
This claim elements of an analysis system, a data storage, and hardware in communication with sources of brain region spectroscopy data is mere data collection step which amounts to a pre-solution insignificant. The claim of communication with sources of data is simply gathering image data which are necessary precursors for all uses of the recited abstract idea since no analysis of spectroscopic data can be performed without brain region spectroscopy data.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and mathematical calculations) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., processing using computer [0074]).
In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer according to MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims according to MPEP 2106.05(a). That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent claim 1 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Thus, this claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No – The claim recites additional claim elements recite the following additional elements:
an analysis module, a data storage, and one or more hardware resources, in communication with one or more sources of brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data; and
computer-executable logic, encoded in a memory device of the analysis system, for interpreting brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, wherein the computer- executable logic is configured for execution of:
The above-identified additional elements of analysis system and computer-executable logic” is performed using all generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) along with Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Per applicant’s specification, applicant describes a computer system, computer soft-ware with memory, such as optical disk, ROM, RAM ([0076]), and a computer-executable logic as languages, C++, Java ([0079]), which are all commercially available products, which elements are disclosed with high generality leading to a conclusion that these elements are well-known in the field.
Accordingly, in light of applicant’s specification, the claimed term computer/processor are reasonably construed as a generic computing device (“RAM” and “computer”). Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available technology, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the computing device. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)(2) and 2106.07(a)(III)). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications along with MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)).
Therefore, the examiner concludes that receiving data by computer/processor are common use in diagnostic imaging system, and thus, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception is not significantly more when recited with a claim with a judicial exception, fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception individually and in combination.
In light of the above, claim 30 is ineligible.
Claims 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claim recites a diagnostic spectroscopic system, thus is an apparatus.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes - The claims 31-36 recites the limitations:
Of claim 31, [wherein the computer-executable logic is further configured for execution of ] monitoring changes in brain biochemistry through a course of treatment using the brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, and correlating the monitored changes with treatment outcomes.
Of claim 32, wherein the analysis system is in communication with [cloud resources] comprising one or more libraries of MR spectra used to classify the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data.
Of claim 33, wherein decoding the MRI vendor-specific proprietary spectroscopy data formats comprises parsing and decoding unique file formats from each of a plurality of MRI vendors to enable analysis of spectroscopy data irrespective of the MRI device used for data acquisition.
Of claim 34, wherein classifying the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data comprises determining whether a metabolite concentration is (A) below a given threshold indicating abnormality, (B) above or below a given threshold indicating abnormality, or (C) above a given threshold indicating abnormality.
Of claim 35, [wherein the computer-executable logic is further configured for execution of] co-registering the one or more spectroscopic graphical representations with regions of interest in imaging data obtained relative to brain tissue,
Of claim 36, [wherein the computer-executable logic is further configured for execution of]: selecting one or more voxels in the brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to determine specific metabolite concentrations.
These limitations, as drafted, are a process step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind as it recites steps of concepts performed in the human mind with a physical aid as well as certain methods of organizing human activities (such as following rules/instructions).
These actions fall under the Mental Processes categories defined in MPEP 2106.04(A)(2) as “concept performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion).” A human, such as surgeon and/or physician, could mentally perform tasks of evaluating data over a course of treatment, by monitoring changes in brain biochemistry through a course of treatment using the data, analyzing data changes and comparing the data changes and values with treatment outcomes, such as when data reveals positive change, results in good treatment outcome (observation, evaluation and judgement), and classifying brain region data with library of MR spectra (comparing the data with resources for evaluation and classifying), comparing to a threshold to classify a metabolite concentration is below, above or below abnormality, and overlaying graphical representation with brain image data (overlapping printed graphical spectroscopy data with brain image data, and selecting voxels in the data by observing the image data to determine concentrations (observation and evaluating the voxels for determining concentration), to conclude and generate diagnostic results.
These steps can all be performed in the mind with aid of a pen and paper with evaluating data, by selecting regions in the data, evaluating for metabolite concentrations, and comparing the metabolite to a reference metabolite profile to diagnose which disease a patient has.
That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or being performed with the aid of a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites a combination of mental process-type, mathematical concepts and certain methods of organizing human activity type abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No – The claim recites the following additional elements:
Of claim 31 and 35-36, wherein the computer-executable logic is further configured for execution of
Of claim 32, cloud resources
Of claim 35, wherein the imaging data is obtained simultaneously with the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data.
This claim elements of the cloud resources of data and image data acquisition are mere data collection step which amounts to a pre-solution insignificant. The claim of cloud resources is simply gathering image data comprising metabolite data which are necessary precursors for all uses of the recited abstract idea since no analysis and comparison of spectroscopic data can be performed without reference data, such as cloud resources with libraires of MR data and image data of brain region.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and mathematical calculations) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., processing using computer [0074]) and machine learning system.
In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer according to MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims according to MPEP 2106.05(a). That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent claim 23 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Thus, this claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No – The claim recites additional claim elements recite the following additional elements:
Of claim 31 and 35-36, wherein the computer-executable logic is further configured for execution of
Of claim 32, cloud resources
Of claim 35, wherein the imaging data is obtained simultaneously with the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data.
The above-identified additional elements of cloud resource (database) is well-understood and conventional in the field of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, since Kaditz (US 2019/0104963) teaches that cloud computing and infrastructure product offering from Amazon and Cloudera is used in MR spectroscopy ([0004] and [0006]), which are commercially available products and Kaditz also teaches that for a few decades, MRI has been the imaging modality choice as field strength continue to rise, technical feasibility of MRS demonstrated to do both morphological and functional imaging in parallel ([0006]), thus shows that acquisition of image with MRS is routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry of MRI.
Therefore, the examiner concludes that cloud resources are commercially available products in MRS imaging system and computer-executable logic is conventional, image acquisition with MRS is routine, and thus, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception is not significantly more when recited with a claim with a judicial exception, fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception individually and in combination.
In light of the above, claims 31-36 are ineligible.
Claims 37-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claim recites a method for analyzing metabolite levels in brain tissue, thus is a method.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes – claims 37-41 recite following limitations:
Of claim 37, processing brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to obtain one or more spectroscopic graphical representations of the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data;
analyzing brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to identify metabolite data or data derived from metabolite data measured relative to brain tissue of a subject using magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS);
generating one or more metabolite specific thresholds using a set of ranges of two or more parameters selected from the group consisting of a metabolite profile, patient age, echo time, and field strength of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI); and
displaying a first visual representation of a brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, wherein the first visual representation comprises a set of indicia corresponding to a classification based on the one or more metabolite specific thresholds.
Of claim 38, further comprising: displaying a reference range relative to the first visual representation, wherein the reference range comprises a scaling of results on a zero to one-hundred percentile rating based on the two or more parameters selected.
Of claim 39, wherein the first visual representation includes indicia corresponding to upper, lower and reference ranges for a metabolite, wherein one or more of the ranges are determined using the set of ranges of a plurality of parameters, wherein the set of range parameters comprises profile, patient age, pulse sequence, echo time, and field strength of MRI.
Of claim 40, further comprising monitoring changes in brain biochemistry through a course of treatment, using the brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, the course of treatment comprising one or more drugs; and correlating the changes with treatment outcomes to determine responsiveness to the one or more drugs.
Of claim 41, further comprising generating a disease-specific metabolic profile based on the classification, wherein the disease-specific metabolic profile corresponds to one or more of: brain tumors, stroke, seizure disorders, Alzheimer's disease, depression, or multiple sclerosis.
These limitations, as drafted, are a process step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind as it recites steps of concepts performed in the human mind with a physical aid as well as certain methods of organizing human activities (such as following rules/instructions).
These actions fall under the Mental Processes and Certain Methods of organizing human activities categories defined in MPEP 2106.04(A)(2) as “concept performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion)” and “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.” A human, such as surgeon and/or physician, could mentally perform tasks of processing brain data to represent graphical figure of brain region via mathematical manipulation and conversion of data (simply placing values of data into corresponding position/pixel of the brain anatomy drawn in the paper or organizing data grouped/arranged in different parts of regions of the brain), analyzing the data to identify metabolite data by comparing to another data of MRS of a subject, generating threshold for analysis by evaluating ranges of parameters which can all be performed by mental framework, using evaluation, analysis, judgement and opinion to draw a conclusion whether the data is normal or abnormal in diagnosis. Further limitations of indicia for upper, lower, reference ranges of a metabolite can be determined by evaluating ranges of patient age, pulse sequence, and others, and making a decision to set indicia for ranges, surgeon can monitor changes through a course of treatment by collecting and monitoring data over time in response to drugs, and observing the changes, and can compare metabolite profile to known profiles of specific diseases to diagnose/classify whether the metabolite profile corresponds to any specific type of disease (by comparison and judgement).
A surgeon can proceed to display the data (classified data) and a reference range with a scale by presenting a paper with an outcome with indicia to others or presenting the outcome in a presentation, which can be considered as “following rules of instructions” or teaching belonging to managing personal behavior or relationship or interactions between people under “Certain methods of organizing human activity.”
These steps can all be performed in the mind with aid of a pen and paper with arriving at diagnostic outcome by evaluation, comparison of values, and interpreting the data, and following steps of calculations to arrive at the conclusion and presenting the conclusion to others.
That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or being performed with the aid of a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites a combination of mental process-type and certain methods of organizing human activity type abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No further limitations are recited.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No further limitations are recited.
In light of the above, claims 37-41 are ineligible.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-22, and 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,551,107.
Instant Application 19/539,840
Claims as of 05/26/2026
U.S. Patent No. 12,551,107
21. A diagnostic spectroscopic system, comprising:
an analysis system in communication with one or more sources of brain region spectroscopy data; and computer-executable logic, encoded in a memory device of the analysis system, for interpreting brain region spectroscopy data, wherein the computer-executable logic is configured for execution of: selecting a brain region for analysis, wherein the brain region is identified relative to imaging data; filtering the brain region spectroscopy data based on one or more data-quality metrics, wherein brain region spectroscopy data failing at least one data-quality metric threshold is excluded from classification; and generating one or more metabolite specific thresholds using a set of ranges of two or more parameters selected from the group consisting of (i) a metabolite profile, (ii) a patient age, (iii) an echo time, and (iv) a field strength of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI); classifying the filtered brain region spectroscopy data according to the one or more metabolite specific thresholds into high, low, or within a normal range; and displaying brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data.
22. The system of claim 21, wherein the brain region spectroscopy data is magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) data.
30. A diagnostic spectroscopic analysis system, comprising:
an analysis module, a data storage, and one or more hardware resources, in communication with one or more sources of brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data; and computer-executable logic, encoded in a memory device of the analysis system, for interpreting brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, wherein the computer-executable logic is configured for execution of:
decoding magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) vendor-specific proprietary spectroscopy data formats for multiple MRI devices into a common format such that data from different MRI devices may be used by the analysis system;
processing the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to obtain one or more spectroscopic graphical representations of the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data from multiple MRI device vendors;
classifying the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data into a classification of increased, decreased, or within a selected range by generating a metabolite specific threshold based two or more parameters selected from the group consisting of metabolite profile, patient age, echo time, and field strength of MRI;
determining indicia corresponding to reference ranges for a metabolite, wherein one or more of the reference ranges are determined using one or more range parameters, wherein the reference ranges are generated using statistical analysis of healthy control data to create bounds for upper, lower, and normative ranges for a selected metabolite ratio; and displaying brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data.
35. The system of claim 30, wherein the computer-executable logic is further configured for execution of co-registering the one or more spectroscopic graphical representations with regions of interest in imaging data obtained relative to brain tissue, wherein the imaging data is obtained simultaneously with the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data.
37. A method of analyzing metabolite levels in brain tissue comprising:
processing brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to obtain one or more spectroscopic graphical representations of the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data;
analyzing brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to identify metabolite data or data derived from metabolite data measured relative to brain tissue of a subject using magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS);
generating one or more metabolite specific thresholds using a set of ranges of two or more parameters selected from the group consisting of a metabolite profile, patient age, echo time, and field strength of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI); and
displaying a first visual representation of a brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, wherein the first visual representation comprises a set of indicia corresponding to a classification based on the one or more metabolite specific thresholds.
1.A diagnostic image and spectroscopic system, comprising:
an analysis system in communication with one or more sources of brain region spectroscopy data; and computer-executable logic, encoded in a memory device of the analysis system, for interpreting brain region spectroscopy data, wherein the computer-executable logic is configured for execution of: (a) selecting a brain region for analysis, wherein the brain region is identified relative to imaging data; (b) filtering the brain region spectroscopy data based on data-quality metrics selected from the group consisting of SNR, full width half max, Cramer-Rao lower bounds and phasing, wherein brain region spectroscopy data failing at least one data quality metric threshold is excluded from classification; (c) generating one or more metabolite specific thresholds using a set of ranges of a plurality of parameters, the plurality of parameters comprising a (i) metabolite profile, (ii) a patient age, (ii) an echo time, and (iv) a field strength of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), (d) classifying the filtered brain region spectroscopy data according to the one or more metabolite specific thresholds into high, low, or within a normal range; (e) processing the filtered brain region spectroscopy data to obtain one or more spectroscopic graphical representations of the brain region spectroscopy data; (f) co-registering the one or more spectroscopic graphical representations with regions of interest in imaging data obtained relative to brain tissue, wherein the imaging data is obtained simultaneously with the brain region spectroscopy data; and (g) displaying a first visual representation of the classified co-registered brain region spectroscopy data with imaging data, wherein the first visual representation comprises one or more sectional or three-dimensional views of brain tissue, a set of indicia corresponding to the one or more metabolite specific thresholds that indicate the classification, and a spatially correlated map of changes in brain region spectroscopy data.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the brain region spectroscopy data is magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) data.
3. A diagnostic image and spectroscopic system, comprising:
an analysis system comprising an analysis module, a data storage, and one or more hardware resources, in communication with one or more sources of brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data; and computer-executable logic, encoded in a memory device of the analysis system, for interpreting brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, wherein the computer-executable logic is configured for execution of:
decoding magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) vendor specific proprietary spectroscopy data format for multiple MRI devices using a unique file format such that the data from different MRI device may be used by the analysis system;
processing the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to obtain one or more spectroscopic graphical representations of the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data from multiple MRI device vendors;
classifying the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data into a classification of increased, decreased, or within a selected range by generating a metabolite specific threshold based on one or more ranges for each of a metabolite profile, patient age, echo time, and field strength of MRI;
determining indicia corresponding to reference ranges for a metabolite, wherein one or more of the ranges are determined using one or more range parameters;
co-registering the one or more spectroscopic graphical representations with regions of interest in imaging data obtained relative to brain tissue, wherein the imaging data is obtained simultaneously with the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data; and
displaying a first visual representation of co-registered brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data and imaging data, wherein the first visual representation comprises one or more sectional or three-dimensional views of brain tissue, the indicia corresponding to reference ranges for a metabolite, and a spatially correlated map of changes in brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, wherein the reference ranges are generated using statistical analysis of healthy control data to create bounds for upper, lower, and normative ranges for a selected metabolite ratio.
14. A method of analyzing and representing metabolite levels in brain tissue comprising:
processing brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to obtain one or more spectroscopic graphical representations of the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data;
analyzing brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to identify metabolite data or data derived from metabolite data measured relative to brain tissue of a subject using magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS);
generating one or more metabolite specific thresholds using a set of ranges of a plurality of parameters, the plurality of parameters comprising a metabolite profile, patient age, echo time, and field strength of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI); co-registering the one or more spectroscopic graphical representations with regions of interest in imaging data obtained relative to brain tissue, wherein the imaging data is obtained simultaneously with the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data; displaying a first visual representation of co-registered brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data and imaging data, wherein the first visual representation comprises one or more sectional or three-dimensional views of brain tissue, a spatially correlated map of brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data; and a set of indicia corresponding to a classification based on the one or more metabolite specific thresholds; and displaying a reference range relative to the first visual representation, wherein the reference range comprises a scaling of results on a zero to one-hundred percentile rating based on the plurality of parameters selected.
Regarding to claims 21-22, patented claims 1 and 6 sets forth all the underlined limitations.
Regarding to claim 37, patented claim 14 set forth all the underlined limitations.
Patented claims 1 and 14 recites “plurality of parameters” while claims 21 and 37 of instant application recites “two or more.” Thus, patented claim scope is narrower, and making a species to generic claims 1 and 14 (i.e., the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim). Thus, species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent or application anticipates the claimed genus in the application being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
Claims 30 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,551,107 in view of “Winjen et al.” Quantitative Short Echo Time 1H MRSI of the Peripheral Edematous region of human brain tumors in the Differentiation between Glioblastoma, Metastasis, and Meningioma,” JMRI pub 2012, Wiley Periodical Inc.
Regarding to claims 30 and 35, patented claim 3 set firth all the underlined limitations.
Claim 30 recites “two or more” while patented claim 3 recites “one or more.”
However, in the analogous field of generating metabolite profile, Winjen teaches generating metabolite specific thresholds using two or more parameters including patient ages and echo times and magnetic field strength (pages 1079, 1081, and 1076; MR spectra from patient ages ranging from 54, 58, 61, echo time ranges from 30 msec to 102 msec, a magnetic field strength 3T).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented system of claim 3 and to be as claimed in the instant application, since evaluating more than two parameters was well known in the art as made obvious by Winjen. One of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known method (e.g. considering one more parameters) with no change in their respective functions, and the combinations and/or modification would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have provide identification of tumor growth in brain regions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “LI et al.,” US 2016/0292860 (hereinafter LI) and “Winjen et al.,” ” Quantitative Short Echo Time 1H MRSI of the Peripheral Edematous region of human brain tumors in the Differentiation between Glioblastoma, Metastasis, and Meningioma,” JMRI pub 2012, Wiley Periodical Inc. (hereinafter Winjen).
Regarding to claim 37, Li teaches a method of analyzing metabolite levels in brain tissue (figure 11, [0050], [0069]) comprising:
processing brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to obtain one or more spectroscopic graphical representations of the brain region or brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data (MRS, MRI data, brain (Figure 11), [0029], [0054], [0069]);
analyzing brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data to identify metabolite data or data derived from metabolite data measured relative to brain tissue of a subject using magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) (metabolites [0053], [0051] and [0052]);
and
displaying a first visual representation of a brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, wherein the first visual representation comprises a set of indicia corresponding to a classification based on the one or more metabolite specific thresholds (Figure 11 ratio of metabolite to a plurality of metabolite with the normal range to determine value of metabolite is abnormal, abnormal metabolite is shown in a chart or color mapping [0053]).
LI discloses that when comparing the metabolite value, a scanning sequence, the race and age of the object and other factors are taken into consideration during determination ([0053]).
LI does not teach “generating one or more metabolite specific thresholds using a set of ranges of two or more parameters selected from the group consisting of a metabolite profile, patient age, echo time, and field strength of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).”
However, in the analogous field of endeavor in MRS, Winjen teaches generating one or more metabolite specific thresholds using a set of ranges of two or more parameters selected from the group consisting of a metabolite profile, patient age, echo time, and field strength of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) (metabolite profile Figure 3, page 1079, left col. 2nd paragraph, pg 1081 left col. 2nd-3rd paragraphs, section result, statistical testing between patients groups for mean metabolite ratios, specific metabolite ratios in PO and SAN regions can be used to discriminate glioblastoma from metastasis and meningioma. An analysis of these ratio averaged over entire ROIS and those with most abnormal values indicates that infiltrative tumor growth in glioblastoma is inhomogeneous and extends into the SAN region. Graph figure 3 shows metabolite profile, MR spectra from glioblastoma, metastasis and meningioma patients of ages ranges from 54+/-7, echo time ranges from 30 msec to 102 msec, a magnetic field strength 3T).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify consideration of parameters in classification of metabolites as taught by Li to incorporate teaching of Winjen, since metabolite thresholds generation using various parameters was well known in the art as taught by Winjen. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by LI with no change in their respective functions, as LI already considers parameters for evaluating metabolites, to generate specific metabolite thresholds with consideration of parameters such as imaging condition and patient data, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to provide classification of metabolite to differentiate glioblastoma and metastasis and meningioma (Conclusion) , and there was reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding to claims 38-39, LI and Winjen together teach all limitations of claim 37 as set forth above.
LI further teaches
Of claim 38, displaying a reference range relative to the first visual representation, wherein the reference range comprises a scaling of results on a zero to one-hundred percentile rating based on the two or more parameters selected (Figure 4, Mean and 95% confidence intervals of metabolite ratios of the entire ROI in three tumor type groups)
Of claim 39, wherein the first visual representation includes indicia corresponding to upper, lower and reference ranges for a metabolite, wherein one or more of the ranges are determined using the set of ranges of a plurality of parameters, wherein the set of range parameters comprises profile, patient age, pulse sequence, echo time, and field strength of MRI ( ratio of concentration of metabolite to average concentration with reference value determines upper, lower, and reference ranges, and represented as changes in shades of colors, [0070] and [0072] Figure 12).
Regarding to claim 41, LI and Winjen together teach all limitations of claim 37 as set forth above.
Winjen further teaches disease specific profile corresponds to a tumor (specific metabolite ratios in PO and SAN regions can be used to discriminate glioblastoma from metastasis and meningioma).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI and Winjen as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of “Bahado-Singh,” US 2016/0377639 (hereinafter Bahado-Singh).
Regarding to claim 40, LI and Winjen together teach all limitations of claim 37 as set forth above.
LI and Winjen do not further teach monitoring changes in brain biochemistry through a course of treatment, using the brain tissue-specific spectroscopy data, the course of treatment comprising one or more drugs; and correlating the changes with treatment outcomes to determine responsiveness to the one or more drugs.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor in MR spectroscopy, Bahado-Singh teaches brain specific metabolites, N-acetylasparatate, is evaluated using MRS ([0052]), in treating traumatic brain injury using drugs, thus, diagnosing subject with TBI when metabolites is at a different level than statistically validated threshold for one or more metabolites, and administering therapeutically effective amount of a treatment for TBI and level of metabolites can be evaluated ([0017] and [0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify metabolite analysis as taught by Li to incorporate teaching of Bahado-Singh, since metabolite monitoring for diagnosis and treatment was well known in the art as taught by Bahado-Singh. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by LI with no change in their respective functions, as LI can implement its MRS for metabolite determination to be used for diagnosis and during treatment, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to provide efficacy of treatment for brain injuries ([0106]), and there was reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA J PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798