DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,575,928. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claim is merely broader than the patent claim. Here, all of the elements of application claims 1-15 are found in patent claims 1-18. The difference between the claims is that the patent claim includes many more elements and thus is much more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1-18 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of application claims 1-15. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 1-15 are anticipated by patent claims 1-18, the claims are not patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christianson et al. (U.S. Pat. No.: 10,758,346)
Christianson et al. (hereinafter, Christianson) discloses an implantable heart-valve apparatus (abstract), comprising:
a tubular body 102 having an inflow end and an outflow end, wherein the tubular body comprises a braided frame (col. 13 lines 43-50);
an atrial sealing skirt 103 extending outwardly from the inflow end to form a flange, wherein the atrial sealing skirt comprises a fabric covering configured to seal against atrial tissue (fig. 1, col. 4 lines 11-20); and
a plurality of engagement attachments extending from the outflow end and comprising a leaflet anchor 111 and a U-shaped stabilization anchor 269, wherein the U-shaped stabilization anchor extends in a direction toward the inflow end and is configured to be positioned behind one or more native valve leaflets (fig. 1, 14a-c), and wherein at least one of the plurality of engagement attachments and the tubular body define a singular component (fig. 1).
For claim 2, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of engagement attachments 123 is grafted onto the braided frame (e.g., fig. 4-5).
For claim 4, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve apparatus of claim 1, wherein the braided frame comprises a first wire and at least one of the plurality of engagement attachments comprises a second wire attached to the first wire (e.g., fig. 4-5).
For claim 5, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve apparatus of claim 2, wherein the U- shaped stabilization anchor is a first U-shaped stabilization anchor 269, and wherein the implantable heart-valve apparatus comprises a second U-shaped stabilization anchor 270 position between 120 to 180 degrees apart from the first U-shaped stabilization anchor (e.g., fig. 16).
For claim 6, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve apparatus of claim 1, wherein the braided frame carries a replacement heart valve 258.
For claim 7, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve apparatus of claim 1, wherein the U-shaped stabilization anchor has a bend in a free end of the U-shaped stabilization member (e.g., fig. 1).
For claim 8, Christianson discloses an implantable heart valve device, comprising:
a braided (col. 13 lines 43-50) frame 102 having an inflow end and an outflow end;
a flange 103 extending radially outward from the inflow end and configured to form a seal against atrial tissue surrounding a native valve annulus (fig. 1); and
a plurality of engagement attachments extending outwardly from the outflow end of the braided frame, the engagement attachments comprising a leaflet clip 111 and a U-shaped stabilization anchor 269, wherein the U-shaped stabilization anchor extends in a direction toward the inflow end (e.g., fig. 1), and wherein at least one of the plurality of engagement attachments is integrally formed with the braided frame (e.g., fig. 1).
For claim 9, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve system of claim 8, wherein at least one of the plurality of engagement attachments is attached to the braided frame via welding or grafting (fig. 4-5).
For claim 10, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve system of claim 8, wherein the braided frame comprises a first wire and at least one of the plurality of engagement attachments comprises a second wire attached to the first wire (fig. 4-5).
For claim 11, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve system of claim 8, wherein the braided frame and the engagement attachments are integrally formed as a single component (fig. 1, 16).
For claim 12, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve system of claim 8, wherein the braided frame is configured to receive a replacement heart valve 258.
For claim 13, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve system of claim 8, further comprising a valve structure 231 varied by the braded frame (col. 19 lines 30-38).
For claim 14, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve system of claim 8, wherein the flange comprises a fabric covering configured to fill space around the native valve annulus (fig. 1).
For claim 15, Christianson discloses the implantable heart-valve system of claim 8, further comprising a delivery component having at least one suture line 311 connected to at least one of the plurality of engagement attachments (e.g., fig. 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christianson et al. (U.S. Pat. No.: 10,758,346)
Christianson does not specifically disclose at least one of the plurality of engagement attachments is welded onto the braided frame. Christianson does disclose engagement attachment 111 attached at attachment points 119 (e.g., fig. 4), however does not specify the form of this attachment. Welding is a well-known and obvious attachment for wire components; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided attachment point 119 as a weld as an obvious selection of a known attachment between wire components. This modification would have occurred using known methods and would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
/SUBA GANESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774