DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, it is unclear whether the layers are made from both polyethylene and EVA or cam be made from just one of them. The word “including” suggests a group from which at least is selected but the next part of the claim suggests that the polyethylene must be present.
Double Patenting
Claims 16 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,565,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it includes all the method steps of claim 16.
Regarding claim 24, see claim 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20, 22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin(TW M556168U).
Lin discloses a method of making a mat comprising making three foamed sheets and bonding them together as a stack using thermocompression bonding.(machine translation) Lin does not disclose cutting the sheets after joining to form the mat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to cut the sheets after joining to form the mat since this would allow forming multiple mats from the sheet and would allow trimming of excess material, both of which are extremely well-known and conventional in the manufacturing arts.
Regarding claims 17-20, the properties of the layers relative to one another are an obvious design choice within the abilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine, absent unexpected results particularly since there are only a limited number of choices for the relationship between the three layers of porosity, thickness, and hardness.
Regarding claim 22, for thermocompression bonding, one of the two layers must melt. There are only two choices and thus the middle or exterior or exterior layers having the lower melting point are obvious alternatives in the art.
Regarding claim 24, while Lin is silent as to whether the layers are all joined at the same time or sequentially, these are the only two choices and thus are obvious alternatives in the art.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hing(US Publication 2007/0020449).
Lin does not disclose whether the foam is open or closed cell. Hing discloses that foam layers used in yoga mats are typically closed cell foam.[0004] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to make all the foam layers of Lin from closed cell foam since Hing discloses that yoga mats lie that of Lin are typically made of closed cell foam.[0004]
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Mechling et al.(US Publication 2013/0017372).
Lin does not disclose the yoga mat having interlocking teeth along the edge so it can be joined to a plurality of other mats. Mechling discloses it is known to make foam mats with teeth along the edges so they can interlock with other foam mats for exercise mats.([0003], Figure 5) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to include teeth on the edges of the mats of Lin so they can interlock with others to cover a larger surface than a single yoga mat.
Claim(s) 16, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerman(US Patent 3,616,029).
Lerman discloses a method of making a mat comprising making three foamed sheets and bonding them together as a stack using thermocompression bonding.(Col. 1, ll. 66- Col. 2, ll. 38) Lerman does not disclose cutting the sheets after joining to form the mat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to cut the sheets after joining to form the mat since this would allow forming multiple mats from the sheet and would allow trimming of excess material, both of which are extremely well-known and conventional in the manufacturing arts.
Regarding claim 25, while Lerman uses heated rollers to heat the foam layers, the use of a heat gun to apply heat to melt material is well-known and conventional in general in the manufacturing arts and would have bene obvious for this reason and since it is a known technique for applying heat.
Regarding claim 26, Lerman shows the foam layers are joined together by rollers.(Figure 2) One in the art would appreciate that a resilient pad(abstract) would be capable of being rolled up.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerman as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kao(US Publication 2018/0222147).
Lerman does not disclose the specifics of the foam layer compositions. Kao discloses a three layer foam pad wherein one exterior layer has cured polyethylene particles mixed with EVA foam and the other exterior layer has a mix of PE and EVA foam.[0016] The two layer have different properties so one in the art would expect they have different ratios of the polymers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the foam compositions of the two exterior layers in Kao made of PE and EVA as the two exterior foam layers in Lerman with them having different amount of PE since these compositions would provide the laminate with anti-skid wear-resistant effects as taught by Kao[0001] and since the different amounts of PE and EVA is suggested by the different properties of the layer and the PE being particles versus part of the foam.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746