DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 07/30/2026, claim 1 has been amended, and new claim 15 is added. Claims 1-15 are pending and under examination.
Drawings
In response to the drawing objection made in the previous non-final office action dated on 05/07/2026, Applicant has submitted replacement drawings. Therefore, the previous drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 221609642U, hereinafter Yu), in view of van der Meijden et al. (US 2024/0254796, hereinafter Meijden).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a pool cleaning robot (fig. 1, swimming pool cleaning robot), comprising:
a main body having a receiving cavity, a water inlet, and a water outlet, the water inlet and the water outlet communicating with the receiving cavity, the receiving cavity defining a main flow section and a bypass flow section (annotated Yu fig. 1 below and Yu English translation, p. 4:21-29, an interior cavity of a main body of the robot is designated as the recited receiving cavity. A collection tank 3 forms the recited bypass flow section, and the remaining area of the receiving cavity including a main collecting box 2 is designated as the recited main flow section);
a water pump provided in the receiving cavity of the main body and arranged to pump water from the water inlet to the water outlet through the receiving cavity (annotated Yu fig. 1 below and ¶ 0045, a first drainage pump 4 [corresponds to the recited water pump] pumps water from the water inlet 11 to a first water outlet 12 [corresponds to the recited water outlet] through the recited receiving cavity);
a main filter assembly provided in the main flow section of the receiving cavity (Yu English translation, p. 7:4-5, the main collecting box 2 is provided with a first filter screen [corresponds to the recited main filter assembly]); and
a bypass filtration flow system, which comprises:
a bypass filtering channel formed in the receiving cavity at a position out of the main flow section and retaining fluid communication with the main flow section (annotated Yu fig. 1 below and Yu English translation, p. 6:32-7:18, a secondary collecting tank 3 is provide with a second filter screen, thus the tank 3 is designated as the recited bypass filtering channel. The tank 3 is disposed next to the recited main flow section and in fluid communication with the recited main flow section);
a bypass filter assembly provided at the bypass filtering channel (Yu English translation, p. 7: 9-10, the secondary collecting tank 3 [corresponds to the recited bypass filtering channel] is provided with the second filter screen [corresponds to the recited bypass filter assembly]); and
a control valve provided in the receiving cavity to selectively operate between a first position and second position (annotated Yu fig. 1 below and Yu English translation, p. 7:19-39, a first valve 7 [corresponds to the recited control valve] opens and closes), wherein:
when the control valve is in the first position, the control valve blocks the bypass filtering channel so that water flowing into the receiving cavity is directed through the main flow section through the main filter assembly and exits the receiving cavity through the water outlet (annotated Yu fig. 1 below and Yu English translation, p. 7:19-25, when the first valve 7 [corresponds to the recited control valve] is closed [corresponds to the recited control valve in the first position], a second valve 8 is opened, and the first drain pump 4 [corresponds to the recited water pump] pumps water from the water inlet 11 to the first water outlet 12 [corresponds to the recited water outlet] through the main collecting box 2 which is provided with the first filter screen [corresponds to the recited main filter assembly]. A Water flow to the secondary collecting tank 3 is blocked);
when the control valve is in the second position, the control valve opens the bypass filtering channel so that at least portion of water flowing into the receiving cavity is directed through the bypass filtering channel through the bypass filter assembly, and exits the receiving cavity through an outlet (annotated Yu fig. 1 below and Yu English translation, p. 7:25-39, when the first valve 7 [corresponds to the recited control valve] opens [corresponds to the recited the control valve in the second position], the second valve 8 is closed. The water flows from the water inlet 11 to a second/bypass water outlet 13 through the secondary collecting box 3 which is provided with the second filter screen [corresponds to the recited bypass filter assembly]. Claim recites at least a portion of water is directed through the bypass filtering channel. Thus, all of the water can be directed through the bypass filtering channel as taught by Yu), but does not disclose the water exits out of the same water outlet when the control valve is in the second position. Yu does not disclose the single water outlet. Instead, Yu discloses two water outlets that are the first water outlet 12 [corresponds to the recited water outlet] and the second/bypass water outlet 13. When the water flows through the secondary collecting box 3 [corresponds to the recited bypass filtering channel], the water exits through the bypass water outlet by activating a secondary drain pump 5.
Meijden teaches, in an analogous pool cleaning robot field of endeavor, the water exits the same water outlet when the control valve is in the first position or the second position (¶ 0057, an automatic pool cleaner comprises a bypass valve assembly 1128; ¶ 0034, the automatic pool cleaner may include one or more inlets and one or more outlets 18, therefore, there can be one water inlet and one water outlet; ¶ 0062-63, when a bypass opening 1134 is closed [corresponds to the recited first position], water flows through an inlet, a filter, a pump, and then an outlet 18. When the bypass opening 1134 is open [corresponds to the recited second position], water flows through the inlet, the pump, and then the outlet. Therefore, the water exits out of the same water outlet 18 in both of the first and second positions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Yu to provide the single water outlet as taught by Meijden. It may help optimizing a space use within a body of the pool cleaning robot by providing a single water discharge path.
Annotated Yu Fig. 1
Regarding claim 2, Yu as modified by Meijden teaches the pool cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the main body further comprises at least one partitioning wall to separate the bypass filtering channel and the main flow section of the receiving cavity (see annotated Yu fig. 1 above for the partitioning wall that separates the recited bypass filtering channel and the recited main flow section in the receiving cavity).
Regarding claim 3, Yu as modified by Meijden teaches the pool cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the bypass filter assembly is positioned in the receiving cavity to separate the bypass filtering channel and the main flow section of the receiving cavity (see annotated Yu fig. 1 above, the tank 3 is provided with the recited bypass filter assembly and it is separated from the main flow section).
Regarding claim 4, Yu as modified by Meijden teaches the pool cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the bypass filter assembly comprises at least one bypass filter screen mounted in the receiving cavity of the main body and at the bypass filtering channel (annotated Yu fig. 1 above and Yu English translation, p. 7:9-10, the secondary collecting tank 3 is disposed in the recited receiving cavity and is provided with the second filter screen. The water flows through the tank 3 [corresponds to the recited bypass filtering channel]).
Regarding claim 5, Yu as modified by Meijden teaches the pool cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the bypass filter screen is positioned at an intersection between the main flow section and the bypass filtering channel (annotated Yu fig. 1 above and Yu English translation, p. 7:9-10, the secondary collecting tank 3 is provided with the second filter screen [corresponds to the recited bypass filter screen]. Therefore, at least a portion of the second filter screen would be positioned at an intersection between the recited main flow section and the recited bypass filtering channel).
Regarding claims 6-8, Yu as modified by Meijden teaches the pool cleaning robot as in the rejections of claims 1, 4, and 5 above respectively, further comprising a one-way valve mounted on the main body at a position proximate to the water inlet and configured to selectively prevent backflow of the water in the receiving cavity when the water pump is deactivated (annotated Yu fig. 1 above and Yu English translation, p. 9:6-14, a third valve 9 at the water inlet 11 is a one-way valve. When the first drain pump 4 [corresponds to the recited water pump] and the second drain pump 5 are not working, the third valve 9 will close the water inlet 11 so it prevents the garbage in the main collecting box 2 from accidently leaking out of the water inlet 11).
Regarding claims 9-11, Yu as modified by Meijden teaches the pool cleaning robot as in the rejections of claims 1, 5, and 8 above respectively, further comprising a central processing unit and at least one sensor mounted in the receiving cavity, wherein the control valve, the at least one sensor, and the water pump are electrically connected to the central processing unit so that when the sensor detects a predetermined physical condition, the central processing unit is configured to cause the control valve to switch between the first position and the second position (Yu English translation, p. 7: 25-31, a current detection module [corresponds to the recited sensor] of a main control panel 6 [corresponds to the recited central processing unit] detects current of the first drain pump 4, When the garbage in the main collecting box 2 is enough to block the mesh of the filter screen, the power of the first drain pump 4 increases, and the increase of current is detected. Then, the main control panel electrifies the second drain pump 5, and opens the first valve 7 [corresponds to the recited control valve]. Thus, the main control panel 6 is electrically connected with the current detection module, the pump, and the valve. The blocking of the filter screen can be the predetermined physical condition. Claims do not specify what the predetermined physical condition is, thus any condition that triggers switching of the control valve satisfies the claim limitations).
Regarding claim 15, Yu as modified by Meijden teaches the pool cleaning robot as in the rejections of claim 1, wherein the water pump is arranged to pump water through the water outlet when the control valve is in each of the first position and the second position (Meijden ¶ 0062-63, the automatic pool cleaner comprises a valve door 1136 [corresponds to the recited control valve] for opening and closing a bypass opening 1134. When the bypass opening 1134 is closed [corresponds to the recited first position], water flows through an inlet, a filter, a pump, and then an outlet 18. When the bypass opening 1134 is open [corresponds to the recited second position], water flows through the inlet, the pump, and then the outlet by bypassing the filter. Meijden does not distinguish different pump for flowing the water when the bypass opening 1134 is open or closed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pool cleaning robot of Yu as modified by Meijden to provide the water pump to pump the water in both the positions of the control valve as taught by Meijden so that it can optimize a space use within the pool cleaning robot by using the same pump for two different flows of the water.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Meijden, as applied to claims 1, 5, and 8 above respectively, in view of Lian et al. (US 2012/0318385, hereinafter Lian).
Regarding claims 12-14, Yu as modified by Meijden teaches the pool cleaning robot as in the rejections of claims 1, 5, and 8 above respectively, but does not disclose the control valve comprises a valve latch and a resilient element connected to the valve latch and configured to exert a biasing force against the valve latch.
Lian teaches, in an analogous valve device field of endeavor, the control valve comprises a valve latch and a resilient element connected to the valve latch and configured to exert a biasing force against the valve latch (fig. 10 and ¶ 0037, a water valve comprises a spring biasing member 50 for exerting a biasing force against latches 31 in opening or closing a valve piece 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control valve of Yu as modified by Meijden to provide the valve comprising the valve latch and the resilient element as taught by Lian in order to supply a stable flow of water responsive to different fluid pressures (Lian ¶ 0010).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Meijden.
Applicant argues the amended claim 1 requires the same recited water outlet to discharge water flow through the main flow section and the bypass filtering channel. Examiner acknowledges Yu discloses designated water outlets for two water flow channels.
Yu does disclose the pool cleaning robot comprises the water outlet, and the Yu’s arrangement allows the water discharges out of the robot if one flow designated as the main flow is blocked by garbage. The separate water flow system of Yu performs equally as the instant application, and ensures the robot effectively filters the water in the pool.
However, in order to teach the claim limitation clearly, Meijden is cited. Meijden teaches a pool cleaning robot includes a bypass assembly, and whether water flows through the bypass assembly or not, the water is discharged out of the robot through the one water outlet 18 (Meijden ¶ 0062-63).
Applicant also argues the office action does not provide an articulated reason for modifying Yu. However, it has been held that the motivation to combine may be found explicitly or implicitly (MPEP 2143.01). While Yu’s system enhances effectiveness of the pool water filtering, the reference does not have articulate explicitly the reason for having the separate water outlets.
Regarding the new claim limitations of claim 15 that the water pump pumps water through the water outlet in each of the first position and the second position. Examiner notes claim 1 simply recites a water pump is provided in the receiving cavity, but does not claim its function. Although Yu teaches utilizing two pumps for enhancing effective water flows, Meijden teaches the water is directed to the pump when the bypass opening is closed and open. Thus, Meijden teaches the water pump pumps water in both the first position and the second position of the control valve.
Regarding 112(b) rejections, Applicant’s explanations are persuasive that the bypass filter assembly is the intervening structure that separates the bypass filtering channel from the main flow section regarding claim 3, and the physical condition enabling switching of the control valve is not limited by specific examples regarding claim 9. Therefore, the previous 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ehrlich Analytik Entwicklung GmbH (DE 202006011545U1) discloses a swimming pool water filtering system comprising a main flow line and a bypass flow line.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723