DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/17/2026 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nattukallingal et al. (US 2022/0206306 hereinafter Nattukallingal) in view of Kahan et al. (US 2023/0237192 hereinafter Kahan).
Referring to claim 1, Nattukallingal discloses an electronic device ([0020]; FIG. 1 illustrates example environment 100 in which several aspects of the present disclosure can be implemented. Example environment 100 is shown containing smart eye-glasses 110 worn by a user, processing system 120 and virtual display interface (VDI) 150.) comprising:
at least one display (Fig. 1; 150);
memory storing instructions ([0091]; Digital processing system 1200 may contain one or more processors such as a central processing unit (CPU) 1210, random access memory (RAM) 1220, secondary memory 1230, graphics controller 1260, display unit 1270, network interface 1280, and input interface 1290. All the components except display unit 1270 may communicate with each other over communication path 1250, which may contain several buses as is well known in the relevant arts. The components of FIG. 12 are described below in further detail.); and
at least one processor including processing circuitry ([0091]; Digital processing system 1200 may contain one or more processors such as a central processing unit (CPU) 1210, random access memory (RAM) 1220, secondary memory 1230, graphics controller 1260, display unit 1270, network interface 1280, and input interface 1290. All the components except display unit 1270 may communicate with each other over communication path 1250, which may contain several buses as is well known in the relevant arts. The components of FIG. 12 are described below in further detail.),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively ([0030]; In step 230, processing system 120 receives signals indicating a digital workspace selected by a user, from the multiple digital workspaces displayed as part of VDI 150. The received signals may indicate any one of or any combination of eye gaze of the user, field of view of the user, gestures of the user, control signals received from an input device associated with the user. … and [0094]; Graphics controller 1260 generates display signals (e.g., in RGB format) to display unit 1270 based on data/instructions received from CPU 1210. Display unit 1270 contains a display screen to display the images defined by the display signals. Input interface 1290 may correspond to a keyboard and a pointing device (e.g., touch-pad, mouse) and may be used to provide inputs. Network interface 1280 provides connectivity to a network (e.g., using Internet Protocol), and may be used to communicate with smart eye-glasses 110 (of FIG. 1).), cause the electronic device to:
display, via the at least one display, a virtual screen in a virtual reality space ([0031]; In step 250, processing system 120 enables the user to interact with the selected digital workspace. In a common operation, one or more objects are displayed to the user in the selected digital workspace, and upon selection of an object a software program corresponding to the selected object is instantiated. In an embodiment, instantiating a software program includes creating a window corresponding to the software program in the selected digital workspace. The flowchart ends in step 299.);
display a first window among a plurality of execution windows of at least one application in a specified area on the virtual screen, based on user context information ([0063]; In another embodiment, toolbar 610 facilitates movement of window 640. Window 640 can be moved (within a digital workspace or between digital workspaces) by dragging toolbar 610. In an alternative embodiment, window 640 can be moved by clicking (for example, with mouse) anywhere on window 640 and dragging to desired destination. In an example embodiment, the user can right click anywhere on window 640 and drag window 640 to a required position within the same digital workspace or to another digital workspace.); and
display other windows among the plurality of execution windows in a remaining area of the virtual screen, based on a specified arrangement condition ([0040]; FIG. 3 depicts a user interface with multiple digital workspaces. Processing system 120 sends digital data representing multiple digital workspaces to smart eye-glasses 110 to cause display of the multiple digital workspaces in a same duration as a part of VDI 150, as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, VDI 150 is shown containing three digital workspaces 155, 160 and 165. Each of digital workspaces 155, 160 and 165 is capable of displaying windows and other objects, as may be readily observed from FIG. 3. Though FIG. 3 is shown depicting only three digital workspaces, it may be readily appreciated that any number (including two) of digital workspaces may be displayed, based on the RAM size of processing system 120. Also, each digital workspace can be of any size…. and [0063]; In another embodiment, toolbar 610 facilitates movement of window 640. Window 640 can be moved (within a digital workspace or between digital workspaces) by dragging toolbar 610. In an alternative embodiment, window 640 can be moved by clicking (for example, with mouse) anywhere on window 640 and dragging to desired destination. In an example embodiment, the user can right click anywhere on window 640 and drag window 640 to a required position within the same digital workspace or to another digital workspace.).
However, Nattukallingal does not specifically disclose display other windows among the plurality of execution windows without overlapping with the first window.
In an analogous art, Kahan discloses display other windows among the plurality of execution windows without overlapping with the first window (Kahan- [0162]; For instance, information may be displayed in a first display region and a UI may be displayed in a section of a second display region that does not overlap with the first display region such that the UI and the information are displayed in separate or distinct display regions. In some embodiments, the first mode and second mode are associated with differing display regions provided by the same display device. In some embodiments, the first and second mode are associated with differing display regions provided by differing display devices.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kahan to the system of Nattukallingal in order to provide a mobile environment that enables users to experience comfort of a stationary workspace wanted by providing virtual desktop-like screens.
Referring to claim 2, Nattukallingal discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
change at least one of a size of the virtual screen, a distance between a user and the virtual screen, or a type of the virtual screen ([0053]; Digital workspaces 410, 420, 430, 460, 470 and 480 are dynamic digital workspaces. In dynamic workspaces, sizes, layouts and positions of windows can be changed as per the user's requirement.);
wherein the specified arrangement condition is a condition for setting at least one of a size, an arrangement position, or an arrangement interval of the plurality of execution windows based on the user context information, or execution state information of the virtual screen stored in the memory ([0052]; FIG. 4 depicts a user interface with static and dynamic digital workspaces. In FIG. 4, VDI 150 is shown containing digital workspaces 410, 420, 430, 440, 450, 460, 470, 480 and 490, and windows 421, 441, 442, 451, 452, 453 and 461 corresponding to software applications instantiated. Digital workspaces 440, 450 and 460 in portion 405 of VDI 150 are static digital workspaces. In a static digital workspace, windows instantiated will have static sizes, layouts (for example, portrait or landscape) and positions (for example, centre, left, right, top, bottom of digital workspaces etc.), which may be configured using certain policies. Static digital workspaces allow users to offload the overhead of maintaining windows in proper position manually.), and
wherein the user context information comprises at least one of gaze information of the user, distance information of the user, motion information of the user, user input information, frequently used pattern information, or information of a connected external electronic device ([0046]; In yet another alternative embodiment, the received signals may contain any combination of eye gaze of the user, field of view of the user, gestures of the user, voice commands from the user, and control signals received from an input device associated with said user.).
Referring to claim 9, Nattukallingal as modified by Kahan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on displaying a plurality of virtual screens in the virtual reality space, display virtual screen objects representing the plurality of virtual screens in the virtual reality space (Kahan- [0069]; In one example, illustrated in FIG. 1, the virtual content may include a virtual environment that includes a virtual computer screen and a plurality of virtual objects. In some examples, a virtual display may be a virtual object mimicking and/or extending the functionality of a physical display screen. For example, the virtual display may be presented in an extended reality environment (such as a mixed reality environment, an augmented reality environment, a virtual reality environment, etc.), using an extended reality appliance. In one example, a virtual display may present content produced by a regular operating system that may be equally presented on a physical display screen.);
display a first virtual screen, among the plurality of virtual screens, displayed at a gaze position toward which the gaze of the user is directed, at a central position in the virtual reality space (Kahan- [0550]; In some examples, the designated area may be dynamic and may change over time based on the actions or interactions of the wearer of the wearable extended reality appliance or other agents within the extended environment. Some embodiments involve determining a region of focus of a wearer of the wearable extended reality appliance, and moving the particular visual representation to a new location in the region of focus. The term “region of focus” may refer to a specific area within the extended environment toward which the wearer’s gaze or attention is directed. For example, the wearer’s gaze or attention may be tracked through the wearable extended reality appliance that use sensors to detect the wearer’s head movements and gaze direction. This may allow the system to determine where the wearer is looking and adjust the region of focus accordingly. Upon identifying the speaking participant, the particular visual representation associated with the speaking participant may be moved to a new location in the region of focus. In cases where the speaking participant is already located in the region of focus, visual characteristics of the particular visual representation associated with the speaking participant may be changed to designate who is the speaking participant.); and
while displaying the first virtual screen at the central position, display the plurality of virtual screens without overlapping between the plurality of virtual screens by changing an arrangement of the plurality of virtual screens (Kahan- [0162]; For instance, information may be displayed in a first display region and a UI may be displayed in a section of a second display region that does not overlap with the first display region such that the UI and the information are displayed in separate or distinct display regions. In some embodiments, the first mode and second mode are associated with differing display regions provided by the same display device. In some embodiments, the first and second mode are associated with differing display regions provided by differing display devices.).
Referring to claim 10, Nattukallingal discloses an operation method performed by an electronic device ([0021]; Smart eye-glasses 110 operate to generate the user interfaces based on digital content and/or commands received from processing system 120. The user interfaces are provided as part of VDI 150. The user interfaces provided by smart eye-glasses 110 may change based on interactions of the user with the user interfaces. Smart eye-glasses 110 correspond to any one of several smart eye-glasses widely available in the market place, as will be apparent to a skilled practitioner.), the method comprising:
displaying, via at least one display of the electronic device, a virtual screen in a virtual reality space ([0031]; In step 250, processing system 120 enables the user to interact with the selected digital workspace. In a common operation, one or more objects are displayed to the user in the selected digital workspace, and upon selection of an object a software program corresponding to the selected object is instantiated. In an embodiment, instantiating a software program includes creating a window corresponding to the software program in the selected digital workspace. The flowchart ends in step 299.);
displaying a first window among a plurality of execution windows of at least one application in a specified area on the virtual screen ([0063]; In another embodiment, toolbar 610 facilitates movement of window 640. Window 640 can be moved (within a digital workspace or between digital workspaces) by dragging toolbar 610. In an alternative embodiment, window 640 can be moved by clicking (for example, with mouse) anywhere on window 640 and dragging to desired destination. In an example embodiment, the user can right click anywhere on window 640 and drag window 640 to a required position within the same digital workspace or to another digital workspace.); and
displaying other windows among the plurality of execution windows in a remaining area of the virtual screen, based on a specified arrangement condition ([0040]; FIG. 3 depicts a user interface with multiple digital workspaces. Processing system 120 sends digital data representing multiple digital workspaces to smart eye-glasses 110 to cause display of the multiple digital workspaces in a same duration as a part of VDI 150, as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, VDI 150 is shown containing three digital workspaces 155, 160 and 165. Each of digital workspaces 155, 160 and 165 is capable of displaying windows and other objects, as may be readily observed from FIG. 3. Though FIG. 3 is shown depicting only three digital workspaces, it may be readily appreciated that any number (including two) of digital workspaces may be displayed, based on the RAM size of processing system 120. Also, each digital workspace can be of any size…. and [0063]; In another embodiment, toolbar 610 facilitates movement of window 640. Window 640 can be moved (within a digital workspace or between digital workspaces) by dragging toolbar 610. In an alternative embodiment, window 640 can be moved by clicking (for example, with mouse) anywhere on window 640 and dragging to desired destination. In an example embodiment, the user can right click anywhere on window 640 and drag window 640 to a required position within the same digital workspace or to another digital workspace.).
However, Nattukallingal does not specifically disclose displaying other windows among the plurality of execution windows in a remaining area without overlapping with the first window.
In an analogous art, Kahan discloses displaying other windows among the plurality of execution windows in a remaining area without overlapping with the first window (Kahan- [0162]; For instance, information may be displayed in a first display region and a UI may be displayed in a section of a second display region that does not overlap with the first display region such that the UI and the information are displayed in separate or distinct display regions. In some embodiments, the first mode and second mode are associated with differing display regions provided by the same display device. In some embodiments, the first and second mode are associated with differing display regions provided by differing display devices.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kahan to the system of
Nattukallingal in order to provide a mobile environment that enables users to experience comfort
of a stationary workspace wanted by providing virtual desktop-like screens.
Referring to claim 11, Nattukallingal discloses further comprising changing at least one of a size of the virtual screen, a distance between a user and the virtual screen, or a type of the virtual screen ([0053]; Digital workspaces 410, 420, 430, 460, 470 and 480 are dynamic digital workspaces. In dynamic workspaces, sizes, layouts and positions of windows can be changed as per the user's requirement.),
wherein the specified arrangement condition is a condition for setting a size, an arrangement position, or an arrangement interval of the plurality of execution windows, based on the user context information or execution state information of the virtual screen stored in a memory ([0052]; FIG. 4 depicts a user interface with static and dynamic digital workspaces. In FIG. 4, VDI 150 is shown containing digital workspaces 410, 420, 430, 440,450, 460, 470, 480 and 490, and windows 421, 441, 442, 451, 452, 453 and 461 corresponding to software applications instantiated. Digital workspaces 440, 450 and 460 in portion 405 of VDI 150 are static digital workspaces. In a static digital workspace, windows instantiated will have static sizes, layouts (for example, portrait or landscape) and positions (for example, centre, left, right, top, bottom of digital workspaces etc.), which may be configured using certain policies. Static digital workspaces allow users to offload the overhead of maintaining windows in proper position manually.), and
wherein the user context information comprises at least one of gaze information, distance information, motion information, user input information, frequently used pattern information, or information on a connected external electronic device ([0046]; In yet another alternative embodiment, the received signals may contain any combination of eye gaze of the user, field of view of the user, gestures of the user, voice commands from the user, and control signals received from an input device associated with said user.).
Referring to claim 19, Nattukallingal as modified by Kahan discloses further comprising:
based on displaying a plurality of virtual screens in the virtual reality space, displaying virtual screen objects representing the plurality of virtual screens in the virtual reality space (Kahan- [0069]; In one example, illustrated in FIG. 1, the virtual content may include a virtual environment that includes a virtual computer screen and a plurality of virtual objects. In some examples, a virtual display may be a virtual object mimicking and/or extending the functionality of a physical display screen. For example, the virtual display may be presented in an extended reality environment (such as a mixed reality environment, an augmented reality environment, a virtual reality environment, etc.), using an extended reality appliance. In one example, a virtual display may present content produced by a regular operating system that may be equally presented on a physical display screen.);
displaying a first virtual screen, among the plurality of virtual screens, displayed at a gaze position toward which the gaze of the user is directed, at a central position in the virtual reality space (Kahan- [0550]; In some examples, the designated area may be dynamic and may change over time based on the actions or interactions of the wearer of the wearable extended reality appliance or other agents within the extended environment. Some embodiments involve determining a region of focus of a wearer of the wearable extended reality appliance, and moving the particular visual representation to a new location in the region of focus. The term “region of focus” may refer to a specific area within the extended environment toward which the wearer’s gaze or attention is directed. For example, the wearer’s gaze or attention may be tracked through the wearable extended reality appliance that use sensors to detect the wearer’s head movements and gaze direction. This may allow the system to determine where the wearer is looking and adjust the region of focus accordingly. Upon identifying the speaking participant, the particular visual representation associated with the speaking participant may be moved to a new location in the region of focus. In cases where the speaking participant is already located in the region of focus, visual characteristics of the particular visual representation associated with the speaking participant may be changed to designate who is the speaking participant.); and
while displaying the first virtual screen at the central position, displaying the plurality of virtual screens without overlapping between the plurality of screens between the plurality of virtual screens by changing an arrangement of the plurality of virtual screens (Kahan- [0162]; For instance, information may be displayed in a first display region and a UI may be displayed in a section of a second display region that does not overlap with the first display region such that the UI and the information are displayed in separate or distinct display regions. In some embodiments, the first mode and second mode are associated with differing display regions provided by the same display device. In some embodiments, the first and second mode are associated with differing display regions provided by differing display devices.).
Referring to claim 20, Nattukallingal discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing at least one program, wherein the at least one program comprises instructions that ([0091]; Digital processing system 1200 may contain one or more processors such as a central processing unit (CPU) 1210, random access memory (RAM) 1220, secondary memory 1230, graphics controller 1260, display unit 1270, network interface 1280, and input interface 1290. All the components except display unit 1270 may communicate with each other over communication path 1250, which may contain several buses as is well known in the relevant arts. The components of FIG. 12 are described below in further detail.), when executed by at least one processor of an electronic device ([0021]; Smart eye-glasses 110 operate to generate the user interfaces based on digital content and/or commands received from processing system 120. The user interfaces are provided as part of VDI 150. The user interfaces provided by smart eye-glasses 110 may change based on interactions of the user with the user interfaces. Smart eye-glasses 110 correspond to any one of several smart eye-glasses widely available in the market place, as will be apparent to a skilled practitioner.), cause the electronic device to:
display, via at least one display of the electronic device, a virtual screen in a virtual reality space ([0031]; In step 250, processing system 120 enables the user to interact with
the selected digital workspace. In a common operation, one or more objects are
displayed to the user in the selected digital workspace, and upon selection of an object a
software program corresponding to the selected object is instantiated. In an
embodiment, instantiating a software program includes creating a window
corresponding to the software program in the selected digital workspace. The flowchart
ends in step 299.);
display the selected first window in a specified area on the virtual screen among a plurality of execution windows of at least one application ([0063]; In another embodiment, toolbar 610 facilitates movement of window 640. Window 640 can be moved (within a digital workspace or between digital workspaces) by dragging toolbar 610. In an alternative embodiment, window 640 can be moved by clicking (for example, with mouse) anywhere on window 640 and dragging to desired destination. In an example embodiment, the user can right click anywhere on window 640 and drag window 640 to a required position within the same digital workspace or to another digital workspace.); and
display other windows among the plurality of execution windows in a remaining area of the virtual screen, based on a specified arrangement condition ([0040]; FIG. 3 depicts a user interface with multiple digital workspaces. Processing system 120 sends digital data representing multiple digital workspaces to smart eye-glasses 110 to cause display of the multiple digital workspaces in a same duration as a part of VDI 150, as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, VDI 150 is shown containing three digital workspaces 155, 160 and 165. Each of digital workspaces 155, 160 and 165 is capable of displaying windows and other objects, as may be readily observed from FIG. 3. Though FIG. 3 is shown depicting only three digital workspaces, it may be readily appreciated that any number (including two) of digital workspaces may be displayed, based on the RAM size of processing system 120. Also, each digital workspace can be of any size…. and [0063]; In another embodiment, toolbar 610 facilitates movement of window 640. Window 640 can be moved (within a digital workspace or between digital workspaces) by dragging toolbar 610. In an alternative embodiment, window 640 can be moved by clicking (for example, with mouse) anywhere on window 640 and dragging to desired destination. In an example embodiment, the user can right click anywhere on window 640 and drag window 640 to a required position within the same digital workspace or to another digital workspace.).
However, Nattukallingal does not specifically disclose display other windows among the
plurality of execution windows without overlapping with the first window.
In an analogous art, Kahan discloses display other windows among the plurality of
execution windows without overlapping with the first window (Kahan- [0162]; For instance,
information may be displayed in a first display region and a UI may be displayed in a
section of a second display region that does not overlap with the first display region
such that the UI and the information are displayed in separate or distinct display regions.
In some embodiments, the first mode and second mode are associated with differing
display regions provided by the same display device. In some embodiments, the first and
second mode are associated with differing display regions provided by differing display
devices.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kahan to the system of
Nattukallingal in order to provide a mobile environment that enables users to experience comfort
of a stationary workspace wanted by providing virtual desktop-like screens.
Claims 7-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nattukallingal et al. (US 2022/0206306 hereinafter Nattukallingal) in view of Kahan et al. (US 2023/0237192 hereinafter Kahan), and Ellingson John (KR 20190067803A hereinafter Ellingson).
Referring to claim 7, Nattukallingal discloses wherein the execution state information comprises at least one of a size, a distance or a type of the virtual screen and at least one of sizes, arrangement positions, arrangement intervals of the plurality of execution windows, or identification information of applications corresponding to the plurality of execution windows ([0053]; Digital workspaces 410, 420, 430, 460, 470 and 480 are dynamic digital workspaces. In dynamic workspaces, sizes, layouts and positions of windows can be changed as per the user's requirement.).
However, Nattukallingal in view of Kahan as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on receiving a request to terminate the virtual screen, store the execution state information of the virtual screen in the memory.
In an analogous art, Ellingson discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on receiving a request to terminate the virtual screen, store the execution state information of the virtual screen in the memory (Ellingson- highlighted section; The various embodiments may be implemented in any number of single or multi-processor systems. Generally, processes are run on the processor in short time slices so that multiple processes appear to be running concurrently on a single processor. When the process is removed from the processor at the end of the time slice, the information pertaining to the current operating state of the process is stored in memory, so that the process can seamlessly resume its operations when it returns to execution on the processor you may. This operation state data may include the address space of the process, the stack space, the virtual address space, the register set image (e.g., a program counter, a stack pointer, an instruction register, a program status word, Access restrictions, and status information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Ellingson to the system of Nattukallingal in view of Kahan in order to allow the process to seamlessly resume its operations when it returns to execution on the processor.
Referring to claim 8, Nattukallingal in view of Kahan as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on receiving a request to re-execute the virtual screen being received, obtain the execution state information from the memory; and display the plurality of execution windows by re-executing the virtual screen, based on the execution state information.
In an analogous art, Ellingson discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on receiving a request to re-execute the virtual screen being received, obtain the execution state information from the memory; and display the plurality of execution windows by re-executing the virtual screen, based on the execution state information (Ellingson- highlighted section; The various embodiments may be implemented in any number of single or multi-processor systems. Generally, processes are run on the processor in short time slices so that multiple processes appear to be running concurrently on a single processor. When the process is removed from the processor at the end of the time slice, the information pertaining to the current operating state of the process is stored in memory, so that the process can seamlessly resume its operations when it returns to execution on the processor you may. This operation state data may include the address space of the process, the stack space, the virtual address space, the register set image (e.g., a program counter, a stack pointer, an instruction register, a program status word, Access restrictions, and status information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Ellingson to the system of Nattukallingal in view of Kahan in order to allow the process to seamlessly resume its operations when it returns to execution on the processor.
Referring to claim 16, Nattukallingal in view of Kahan as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising: based on receiving a request to terminate the virtual screen, storing the execution state information of the virtual screen in the memory.
In an analogous art, Ellingson discloses further comprising: based on receiving a request to terminate the virtual screen, storing the execution state information of the virtual screen in the memory (Ellingson- highlighted section; The various embodiments may be implemented in any number of single or multi-processor systems. Generally, processes are run on the processor in short time slices so that multiple processes appear to be running concurrently on a single processor. When the process is removed from the processor at the end of the time slice, the information pertaining to the current operating state of the process is stored in memory, so that the process can seamlessly resume its operations when it returns to execution on the processor you may. This operation state data may include the address space of the process, the stack space, the virtual address space, the register set image (e.g., a program counter, a stack pointer, an instruction register, a program status word, Access restrictions, and status information.)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Ellingson to the system of Nattukallingal in view of Kahan in order to allow the process to seamlessly resume its operations when it returns to execution on the processor.
Referring to claim 17, Nattukallingal discloses wherein the execution state information comprises at least one of a size, a distance, or a type of the virtual screen and at least one of sizes, arrangement positions, arrangement intervals of the plurality of execution windows, or identification information of applications corresponding to the plurality of execution windows ([0053]; Digital workspaces 410, 420, 430, 460, 470 and 480 are dynamic digital workspaces. In dynamic workspaces, sizes, layouts and positions of windows can be changed as per the user's requirement.).
Referring to claim 18, Nattukallingal in view of Kahan as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising: based on receiving a request to re-execute the virtual screen, obtaining the execution state information from the memory; and displaying the plurality of execution windows by re-executing the virtual screen, based on the execution state information.
In an analogous art, Ellingson discloses further comprising: based on receiving a request to re-execute the virtual screen, obtaining the execution state information from the memory; and
displaying the plurality of execution windows by re-executing the virtual screen, based on the execution state information (Ellingson- highlighted section; The various embodiments may be implemented in any number of single or multi-processor systems. Generally, processes are run on the processor in short time slices so that multiple processes appear to be running concurrently on a single processor. When the process is removed from the processor at the end of the time slice, the information pertaining to the current operating state of the process is stored in memory, so that the process can seamlessly resume its operations when it returns to execution on the processor you may. This operation state data may include the address space of the process, the stack space, the virtual address space, the register set image (e.g., a program counter, a stack pointer, an instruction register, a program status word, Access restrictions, and status information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Ellingson to the system of Nattukallingal in view of Kahan in order to allow the process to seamlessly resume its operations when it returns to execution on the processor.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-6 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 3, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the specified area is a central area of the virtual screen that is specified based on a field of view of the user when the user wearing the electronic device gazes forward, and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on a new application being executed while displaying the plurality of execution windows on the virtual screen, arrange a new window of the new application in the central area of the virtual screen, and display the plurality of execution windows without interference with the new window by changing an arrangement of the plurality of execution windows”.
Referring to claims 4-6 are objected upon dependent on the claim 3.
Referring to claim 12, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the specified area is a central area of the virtual screen that is specified based on a field of view of the user when the user wearing the electronic device gazes forward, and wherein the method further comprises, based on a new application being executed while displaying the plurality of execution windows on the virtual screen, arranging a new window of the new application in the central area of the virtual screen, and displaying the plurality of execution windows without interference with the new window by changing an arrangement of the plurality of execution windows”.
Referring to claims 13-15 are objected upon dependent on the claim 12.
Conclusion
/SCOTT D AU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624