DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The status of the non-provisional parent application (whether patented or abandoned) needs to be included in the cross reference to related applications at the start of the specification. If a parent application has become a patent, the expression “now Patent No. _____” should follow the filing date of the parent application. If a parent application has become abandoned, the expression “now abandoned” should follow the filing date of the parent application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because line 10 recites “sliding member” when it should recite –sliding connector--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morrison et al. (WO 2011/009158 hereinafter “Morrison”).
In regards to claim 1, Morrison discloses a sliding connector pipe assembly, comprising:
a pipe (22) defining an axis and configured to direct fluid flow;
a sliding connector (32) slidably positioned around an end portion of the pipe, the sliding connector being selectively slidable between an extended displacement and a retracted displacement relative to the pipe (fig. 4 shows extended displacement, pipe 22 can be further inserted for retracted displacement); and
a locking mechanism (36) that selectively prevents axial movement of the sliding connector from the extended displacement to the retracted displacement (shown in fig. 4);
wherein the locking mechanism comprises a wicket slidable through corresponding through holes (40) of the sliding connector between a locked orientation and a released orientation;
wherein the locking mechanism prevents the sliding member from transitioning from the extended displacement to the retracted displacement regardless of the rotational orientation of the sliding connector relative to the pipe about the axis fig. 1 shows the rotational orientation does not matter).
In regards to claim 2, Morrison further discloses the locking mechanism is selectively releasable to allow the sliding connector to transition from the extended displacement to the retracted displacement (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 3, Morrison further discloses the locking mechanism is selectively releasable without the use of additional tools (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 4, Morrison further discloses the sliding connector has a coupling end (right end in fig. 1) sized to fit within a receiver to fluidly couple the pipe to the receiver when the sliding connector is in the extended displacement.
In regards to claim 5, Morrison further discloses the sliding connector has a sliding distance between the retracted displacement and the extended displacement (shown in fig. 2), wherein the sliding distance is sufficient to allow the coupling end to at least partially overlap the receiver when in the extended displacement and the locking mechanism selectively locks the sliding connector in the extended displacement partially overlapping the receiver (fig. 2 shows it is capable of use with such a receiver).
In regards to claim 6, Morrison further discloses in the locked orientation at least a portion of the wicket extends radially inward from an inner connector wall and is configured to prevent the pipe from sliding thereby (shown in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 7, Morrison further discloses in the released orientation (see fig. 1 with wicket removed) the wicket does not extend past the inner connector wall and the pipe can slide thereby.
In regards to claim 8, Morrison further discloses in the locked orientation the wicket extends radially inward from the inner connector wall at two separate locations (see two holes 34).
In regards to claim 9, Morrison further discloses in the released configuration (see configuration where wicket is barely inserted) the wicket is partially positioned within the through holes.
In regards to claim 10, Morrison further discloses in the release configuration the wicket is spaced from tangential pathways of the sliding connector such that the pipe can slide by the tangential pathways (34).
In regards to claim 11, Morrison further discloses in the locked orientation the wicket at least partially passes through tangential pathways (34) of the sliding connector along a radially inner portion of the sliding connector to prevent the sliding connector from transitioning to the released orientation (shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 12, Morrison discloses a sliding connector assembly, comprising:
a pipe receiving end (25) defined about an axis and configured to slidably receive a pipe therein;
a coupling end (right end in fig. 1) configured to selectively couple the coupling end to a receiver; and
a locking mechanism (36) comprising a wicket that selectively extends radially inward from an inner connector wall and is configured to selectively limit the axial movement of the pipe when positioned in the pipe receiving end (shown in fig. 2);
wherein the locking mechanism is configured to selectively lock the axial location of the pipe regardless of the rotation orientation of the pipe about the axis relative to the pipe receiving end (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 13, Morrison further discloses the wicket is slidable through corresponding through holes (40) of the sliding connector between a locked orientation (fig. 2) and a released orientation (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 14, Morrison further discloses in the locked orientation at least a portion of the wicket extends radially inward from the inner connector wall to prevent the pipe from sliding thereby (shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 15, Morrison further discloses in the released orientation the wicket does not extend past the inner connector wall and the pipe can slide thereby (see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 16, Morrison further discloses in the locked orientation the wicket extends radially inward from the inner connector wall at two separate locations (see holes 40).
In regards to claim 17, Morrison further discloses in the released configuration the wicket is partially positioned within the through holes (see position where wicket is barely inserted).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record does not show or suggest the method of claim 18. While Morrison discloses a sliding pipe connector comprising all structural limitations of the apparatus claims as shown above, they do not disclose the specific method steps recited in claim 18. Specifically, Morrison does not show or suggest at least axially moving the sliding connector along the pipe towards an extended displacement as the coupling end is coupled to the receiver.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar sliding connector.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
08/18/2026