The Application number 19/543,152 filed on 7/28/2026 has been considered. Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Szimmetat (US 2026/0017379).
Regarding claim 1, Szimmetat discloses a computer system configured to enhance cybersecurity of an information system, the computer system comprising:
a network interface (FIG. 1-3);
at least one processing device configured to (FIG. 1-3):
receive a first document comprising cybersecurity policies related to at least the information system (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0024]; i.e. retrieving/receiving documents encompassing policy manuals);
receive a second document comprising cybersecurity procedures related to at least the information system (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0024], [0032]; i.e. retrieving/receiving documents encompassing incident reports, compliance reports, previous Q & A responses to customers, design document, planning/engineering artifacts, etc.);
receive a third document comprising a cybersecurity standard comprising at least a first plurality of cybersecurity categories (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0024]; i.e. retrieving/receiving documents encompassing regulatory framework, compliance documentation, security advisories, etc.);
identify, for the first plurality of cybersecurity categories, gaps between: the cybersecurity policies and/or procedures and the cybersecurity standard (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0024], [0029]; i.e. performing automated gap analysis by comparing regulatory requirements with organization’s policies and security controls);
determine based at least on one of the identified gaps, if cybersecurity remediation techniques are to be recommended (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0029], [0051]; i.e. identifying discrepancies and suggesting improvements/remediations); and
at least partly in response to determining that cybersecurity remediation techniques are to be recommended, output cybersecurity remediation techniques and cause, at least in part, the cybersecurity remediation techniques to be implemented (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0029], [0051]; i.e. creating a ticket for the IT security team to apply the recommended patches or remediations).
Regarding claim 2, Szimmetat discloses the computer system as defined in Claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to utilize a generative model augmented with Retrieval-Augmented Generation to identify, for the first plurality of cybersecurity categories, gaps between: the cybersecurity policies and/or procedures, and the cybersecurity standard (¶ [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Szimmetat discloses the computer system as defined in Claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to utilize a generative model augmented with Retrieval-Augmented Generation to generate a set of cybersecurity remediation techniques to remediate identified gaps (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Szimmetat discloses the computer system as defined in Claim 1, wherein the cybersecurity remediation techniques comprise use of: complex passwords, multi-factor authentication, software updates, hardware updates, data backup, data encryption, a network firewall, a VPN, anti-virus and anti-malware software, endpoint protection, intrusion detection/prevention system, and/or a cyberattack recovery procedure (¶ [0034], [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Szimmetat discloses the computer system as defined in Claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: generate a cybersecurity assessment questionnaire; receive responses to the cybersecurity assessment questionnaire (¶ [0010]-[0015]); and use the responses to the cybersecurity assessment questionnaire to identify, for the first plurality of cybersecurity categories, gaps between: the cybersecurity policies and/or procedures, and the cybersecurity standard (¶ [0010]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 7, Szimmetat discloses the computer system as defined in Claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to automatically detect a change in the third document comprising a cybersecurity standard, and at least partly in response to detecting the change in the third document comprising the cybersecurity standard, identify, for the first plurality of cybersecurity categories, gaps between: the cybersecurity policies and/or procedures and the cybersecurity standard included in the changed third document (¶ [0010]-[0015], [0024], [0029]); determine, based at least on one of the identified gaps between the cybersecurity policies and/or procedures and the cybersecurity standard included in the changed third document, if updated cybersecurity remediation techniques are to be recommended (¶ [0010]-[0015], [0024], [0029]); and at least partly in response to determining that updated cybersecurity remediation techniques are to be recommended, output updated cybersecurity remediation techniques and cause, at least in part, the updated cybersecurity remediation techniques to be implemented (¶ [0010]-[0015], [0024], [0029]).
Regarding claim 8, Szimmetat discloses a computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
receiving over a network, at a computer system comprising a processing device comprising a plurality of cores within a first package, a first document comprising a first set of policies (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0024]; i.e. retrieving/receiving documents encompassing policy manuals);
receiving over the network, at the computer system, a second document comprising a first set of procedures (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0024], [0032]; i.e. retrieving/receiving documents encompassing incident reports, compliance reports, previous Q & A responses to customers, design document, planning/engineering artifacts, etc.);
receiving over the network, at the computer system, a third document comprising a standard comprising at least a first plurality of categories (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0024]; i.e. retrieving/receiving documents encompassing regulatory framework, compliance documentation, security advisories, etc.);
identifying using a generative model augmented with Retrieval-Augmented Generation executed using one or more processing devices, for the first plurality of categories, gaps between: the first set of policies and/or first set of procedures and the standard (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0024], [0029], [0046]-0047]; i.e. retrieving and augmenting the documents, and performing automated gap analysis by comparing regulatory requirements with organization’s policies and security controls);
determining based on at least one of the identified gaps, if remediation techniques are to be recommended (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0029], [0051]; i.e. identifying discrepancies and suggesting improvements/remediations); and
at least partly in response to determining remediation techniques are to be recommended, outputting remediation techniques and enabling the remediation techniques to be implemented (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0029], [0051]; i.e. creating a ticket for the IT security team to apply the recommended patches or remediations).
Regarding claim 9, Szimmetat discloses the computer-implemented method as defined in Claim 8, wherein the first set of policies comprises cybersecurity policies, and the first set of procedures comprises cybersecurity procedures and the remediation techniques comprise use of: complex passwords, multi-factor authentication, software updates, hardware updates, data backup, data encryption, a network firewall, a VPN, anti-virus and anti-malware software, endpoint protection, intrusion detection/prevention system, and/or a cyberattack recovery procedure (¶ [0034], [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Szimmetat discloses the computer-implemented method as defined in Claim 8, the method further comprising: generating an assessment questionnaire; receiving responses to the assessment questionnaire (¶ [0010]-[0015]); and using the responses to the assessment questionnaire to identify, for the first plurality of categories gaps between: the first set of policies and/or procedures, and the standard (¶ [0010]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 12, Szimmetat discloses the computer-implemented method as defined in Claim 8, the method further comprising: automatically detecting a change in the standard comprising at least the first plurality of categories, and at least partly in response to detecting the change in the standard, identify, for the first plurality of categories gaps between: the policies and/or procedures, and the changed standard (¶ [0010]-[0015], [0024], [0029]); determine, based at least on one of the identified gaps between the policies and/or procedures and the changed standard, if updated remediation techniques are to be recommended (¶ [0010]-[0015], [0024], [0029]); and at least partly in response to determining that updated remediation techniques are to be recommended, output updated remediation techniques and cause, at least in part, the updated remediation techniques to be implemented (¶ [0010]-[0015], [0024], [0029]).
Regarding claim 13, Szimmetat discloses the computer-implemented method as defined in Claim 8, the method further comprising automatically generating a plan of action comprising the remediation techniques, milestones and associated timing, and resources needed (¶ [0029]-[0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szimmetat (US 2026/0017379) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2026/0170239 hereinafter Gupta).
Regarding claim 5, Szimmetat discloses the computer system as defined in Claim 1, wherein identifying, for the first plurality of cybersecurity categories, gaps between: the cybersecurity policies and/or procedures, and the cybersecurity standard (¶ [0008]-[0015], [0024], [0029]).
Szimmetat does not explicitly disclose further comprises generating compliance scores for respective categories corresponding to the cybersecurity categories gaps and/or an overall weight-based average compliance score.
However, Gupta discloses generating compliance scores for respective categories corresponding to the cybersecurity categories gaps and/or an overall weight-based average compliance score (FIG. 3-8, ¶ [0037]-[0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Szimmetat and Gupta in order to ensure technical documents are in compliance with the guidelines and criteria (Gupta, ¶ [0001]-[0002], [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Conclusion
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435