DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2026, in which claims 1, 14, 22 have been amended, claims 2-3, 15-16 have been cancelled, and new claims 23-26 have been added, is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 4-14, 17-26 are pending in the application.
Claims 1, 4-14, 17-26 are being examined on their merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 August 2026 is acknowledged and considered.
Response to arguments of 12 August 2026
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2026, all the rejections to claims 2-3, 15-16 are herein withdrawn. Claims 2-3, 15-16 have been cancelled.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2026, the objection to claim 22 is herein withdrawn. Applicant has clarified the claim language.
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks of 12 August 2026, pages 6-11) against the rejection of claims 1-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Nicola, have been considered.
Applicant argues (page 7) that the instant Specification presents pipendoxifen’s anti-viral activity against hepatitis C virus, novovirus, Influenza A and B viruses, and coronaviruses 229E and OC43. The data is acknowledged.
Applicant submits a literature reference by Jeon and seems to compare the IC50 for bazedoxifene in Jeon with “Nicola’s criteria”. Applicant’s argument that Jeon’s data “does not satisfy Nicola’s candidate criteria” is confusing.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, reading Jeon, would notice that remdesivir, the FDA approved drug for treating SARS-CoV-2 infection, has a modest IC50 = 11.41 mM and a SI = 2.19 based on data in Fig. 1, Jeon page 3. That is why Applicant’s argument (page 8) that bazedoxifene, which has an IC50 = 3.44 mM and a SI = 4.35 in the very same assay as remdesivir (Jeon, page 6), falls below some criteria allegedly stated by Nicola, is not persuasive. Ultimately, remdesivir was used to treat human patients infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus, even though the in vitro antiviral data obtained by Jeon for remdesivir was less convincing than for other drugs tested. The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating an infection caused by an RNA virus; the antiviral activity is measured by IC50 (cytotoxicity is a different aspect). Both remdesivir and bazedoxifene are effective antivirals against SARS-CoV-2 infection, based on their IC50 as measured by Jeon.
Applicant argues (page 8) that pipendoxifene and bazedoxifene have “differing SARS-CoV-2 profiles” and there is no reasonable expectation of success in “extrapolating” pipendoxifene’s SARS-CoV-2 activity to the recited RNA viruses.
In response, this is not a case of “extrapolating”. The rejection has been re-written based on Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2025. The amendment of 12 August 2025 removed Ebola virus as one of the RNA viruses in the claims. The idea of the first non-final rejection (of 05/13/2026) had been that Bazedoxifene and pipendoxifene were direct structural homologs and had a common mechanism as SERMs, and bazedoxifene was known to be effective against Ebola; based on this fact, the examiner had advanced a prima facie case for pipendoxifene being effective against Ebola, as well.
A modified rejection is made below. The examiner maintains that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the testing of pipendoxifene against different RNA viruses, beyond SARS-CoV-2, because
1.Nicola teaches a method for treating an infection or a disease caused by a RNA virus, for example, a coronavirus, or is influenza, such as influenza A, or hepatitis C, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising a compound which is pipendoxifene.
2. Nicola teaches that Pipendoxifene binds to the viral protein RdRp which is vital to the viral replication process of all RNA viruses, and Nicola teaches that pipendoxifene is a RdRP inhibitor for preventing, delaying the onset of, or treating an infection or a disease caused by a RNA virus. Further, Nicola teaches that other inhibitors of RdRp are effective against RNA viruses such as hepatitis C virus, and coronaviruses. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have tested RdRP inhibitor pipendoxifene in a method of inhibiting viral activity of a RNA virus beyond SARS-CoV-2, such as hepatitis C virus, and coronaviruses, with the expectation of achieving therapeutic effect.
Applicant’s arguments (page 9, page 10, first paragraph) are not persuasive. As explained above, the comparison with bazedoxifene was removed from the rejection, in view of Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2026. Yet, on a note, a POSITA, looking at the arguments presented, would view the potencies IC50 1.24 versus 2.24 mM or 2.20 versus 3.83 mM as being similar, and certainly not “undermining any presumption that pipendoxifene would inherit bazedoxifene’s antiviral activity”. In medicinal chemistry, a compound cannot “inherit” another compound’s biological activity.
Applicant argues (pages 10-11) that Applicant’s identification of the Thumb-1 allosteric site of RdRp as the binding site for pipendoxifene, together with Applicant’s demonstration that pipendoxifene exhibits antiviral activity across the recited RNA viruses, represents an unexpected property not disclosed by Nicola.
In response, this argument is not persuasive. Nicola teaches [0533] that Pipendoxifene binds to the viral protein RdRp (EC50 = 8.42 mM). The mechanism of binding, allosteric at the Thumb-1 site, is inherent. Nicola teaches that RdRp is vital to the viral replication process of all RNA viruses. Nicola teaches [0501] RdRp is a core replication/transcriptional element of all RNA viruses. Thus, by teaching that pipendoxifene is an inhibitor of RdRP, Nicola implicitly teaches that pipendoxifene reduces or inhibits viral replication of the RNA virus, as in instant claims 12, 14, 20.
Nicola teaches that [0502] RdRp’s crucial role in the life cycle of RNA viruses has led to its targeted inhibition for a number of viral infections such as hepatitis C virus, and coronaviruses, which are RNA viruses other than SARS-CoV-2, as in the instant claims 1, 4-5, 14, 17-18.
For all these reasons, the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Nicola is maintained, and a modified rejection is made below.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2026, the rejection of claims 1-2, 5-15, 18-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Cooper and Nicola is herein withdrawn. Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 14 to recite that the RNA virus is selected from the group consisting of an influenza A virus, an influenza B virus, a hepatitis C virus, a norovirus, and a coronavirus other than SARS-CoV-2. Zaire ebolavirus (EBOV) and Marburg virus (MARV) (Cooper) are no longer encompassed by the claims.
A modified rejection to the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made over Hong and Nicola, based on Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2026.
Applicant argues (page 13) that Hong teaches raloxifene, which is structurally unrelated to the instant pipendoxifene, and Hong provides no rationale to select pipendoxifene from Nicola’s disclosure.
In response, the rejection is not based on similarity of structure, but rather on the common mechanism, as SERMs, of pipendoxifene and raloxifene, and the teaching that SERM raloxifene has antiviral activity against influenza A or hepatitis C virus.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to test pipendoxifene against influenza A or hepatitis C virus, because Hong and Nicola teach that pipendoxifene is a SERM modulator, and Hong teaches that SERM modulator raloxifene demonstrates efficacy in treating viral infections caused by influenza A and hepatitis C viruses. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have tested SERM modulator pipendoxifene against influenza A or hepatitis C virus, with the expectation that pipendoxifene has antiviral activity against these viruses.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2026, the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-16, 18-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Serafim and Nicola is herein withdrawn. Serafim teaches treating an infection caused by RNA virus yellow fever virus (YFV), which is no longer encompassed by the claims.
Applicant argues (page 15) against the rejection of the claims under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness type double patenting over claims of U.S. patent 12,551,475, in view of Nicola, based on arguments presented above, including arguments related to the Thumb-1 allosteric site of RdRp not being known in the prior art as a broad-spectrum antiviral target. These arguments have been addressed above. The rejection is herein maintained, and a modified rejection is made below, based on Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2026.
Applicant’s amendment of 12 August 2026 necessitated the following modified rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-14, 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicola et al. (WO 2021/247601, published 9 December 2021, cited in IDS).
Nicola teaches [0018] a method for preventing, delaying the onset of, or treating an infection or a disease caused by a RNA virus, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising a compound which is pipendoxifene (one of 9 compounds listed).
Nicola teaches [0012] that the RNA viral infection to be treated is, for example, a coronavirus, or is SARS COV-1, SARS COV-2, the common cold, influenza, SARS, hepatitis C, hepatitis E, West Nile fever, Ebola virus disease, rabies, polio and measles, or a combination thereof. [0013] Non-limiting examples of RNA viral infection include Paramyxoviruses, Hendra and Nipah viruses, Measles, Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus (SARS), COVID-19, Middle east respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS), Picornaviruses, Poliomyelitis (‘Polio’), Hepatitis A virus (HAV), Rotavirus, Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), Human T-cell lymphotropic virus (HTLV), Hepatitis C virus (HCV), Hepatitis E virus (HEV), Rabies, Ebola virus disease (EVD), Marburg virus, Lassa fever, Lymphocytic choriomeningitis virus (LCMV), Arboviruses (‘ARthropod-BOrne viruses’), Japanese encephalitis (JE), West Nile fever, Yellow fever, Dengue fever, Zika virus, Equine encephalitis viruses, Chikungunya, O’nyong-nyong, Bunyaviruses, Rift valley fever and Crimean-Congo haemorrhagic fever, Hantavirus, or a combination thereof.
Thus, Nicola teaches that the RNA virus is an influenza virus (influenza A in [0301]), a hepatitis C virus, as in instant claim 4, which are not coronaviruses, as in instant claim 5.
Nicola teaches [0023] that the subject in need is a subject that is suffering from the infection or the disease, or a subject that is at a risk for the infection or the disease, as in instant claim 7, or the subject has been exposed to the RNA virus, is suspected to have been exposed to the RNA virus, or is at a risk of being exposed to the RNA virus, as in instant claim 6.
Nicola teaches [0023] that the infection or the disease is in the respiratory tract of the subject, which includes the lung, as in instant claim 8.
Nicola teaches [0023] that the subject is a mammal, as in instant claim 9.
Nicola teaches [0026] that the composition is administered to the subject by intravenous administration, nasal administration, pulmonary administration, oral administration, parenteral administration, or nebulization, as in instant claim 11. The composition is in the form of powder, pill, tablet, microtablet, pellet, micropellet, capsule, capsule containing microtablets, liquid, aerosols, or nanoparticles, as in instant claim 10.
Nicola teaches [0028] that administrating the composition results in reduction of the viral titer of the RNA virus in the subject as compared to that in the subject before administration of the composition, as in instant claim 13.
Nicola teaches [0503], Table 6 that pipendoxifene is a RdRP inhibitor for preventing, delaying the onset of, or treating an infection or a disease caused by a RNA virus.
Nicola teaches [0533] that Pipendoxifene binds to the viral protein RdRp (EC50 = 8.42 mM). Nicola teaches that RdRp is vital to the viral replication process of all RNA viruses. Nicola teaches [0501] RdRp is a core replication/transcriptional element of all RNA viruses. Thus, by teaching that pipendoxifene is an inhibitor of RdRP, Nicola implicitly teaches that pipendoxifene reduces or inhibits viral replication of the RNA virus, as in instant claims 12, 14, 20.
Nicola teaches that [0502] RdRp’s crucial role in the life cycle of RNA viruses has led to its targeted inhibition for a number of viral infections such as hepatitis C virus, and coronaviruses, which are RNA viruses other than SARS-CoV-2, as in the instant claims 1, 4-5, 14, 17-18.
Nicola teaches [0538]-[0540] administering pipendoxifene to animals or humans, which is consistent with in vivo contacting of a cell or tissue with pipendoxifene, as in instant claim 21.
By teaching [0026] pulmonary administration of a composition of the invention, Nicola implicitly teaches contacting a lung cell or tissue with a composition comprising pipendoxifene, as in instant claim 22.
Nicola does not provide experimental data showing that pipendoxifene is effective to treat an infection caused by an RNA virus other than SARS-CoV-2, such as influenza A virus, or hepatitis C virus, as in the instant claims 1, 4-5, 14, 17-18, 26.
Nicola does not teach treating a coronavirus which is HCoV-229E, or HCoV-OC43 with pipendoxifen, as in instant claims 24, 25.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to test pipendoxifene disclosed by Nicola for inhibitory properties against RNA viruses other than SARS-CoV-2.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the testing of pipendoxifene against different RNA viruses, beyond SARS-CoV-2, because Nicola teaches a method for treating an infection or a disease caused by a RNA virus, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising a compound which is pipendoxifene, and
Nicola teaches that the RNA viral infection to be treated is, for example, a coronavirus, or is influenza, such as influenza A, or hepatitis C.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have tested pipendoxifene against different RNA viruses, beyond SARS-CoV-2, such as against an RNA virus which is an influenza virus such as influenza A, or hepatitis C virus, or a corona virus, with a reasonable expectation that pipendoxifene is an effective antiviral against said viruses.
Further, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to test pipendoxifene against different RNA viruses, beyond SARS-CoV-2, because
Nicola teaches that Pipendoxifene binds to the viral protein RdRp which is vital to the viral replication process of all RNA viruses, and Nicola teaches that
pipendoxifene is a RdRP inhibitor for preventing, delaying the onset of, or treating an infection or a disease caused by a RNA virus. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have tested RdRP inhibitor pipendoxifene in a method of inhibiting viral activity of a RNA virus beyond SARS-CoV-2, with the expectation that pipendoxifene reduces or inhibits viral replication of the RNA virus and treats the infection or disease caused by said RNA virus.
Furthermore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to test RdRP inhibitor pipendoxifene against different RNA viruses, beyond SARS-CoV-2, because
Nicola teaches that other inhibitors of RdRp are effective against RNA viruses such as hepatitis C virus, and coronaviruses. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have tested RdRP inhibitor pipendoxifene in a method of inhibiting viral activity of a RNA virus beyond SARS-CoV-2, such as hepatitis C virus, and coronaviruses, including viruses belonging to the corona virus family, as in instant claims 24, 25, with the expectation of achieving therapeutic effect.
As such, claims 1, 4-14, 17-26 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 1, 4-14, 17-22, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (J. Microbiology 2021, 59 (2), 124-131, cited in IDS), and Nicola et al. (WO 2021/247601, published 9 December 2021, cited in IDS).
Hong et al. (J. Microbiology 2021, 59 (2), 124-131) teach (Abstract) that SERM modulator raloxifene demonstrates efficacy in treating viral infections by influenza A and hepatitis C viruses, which are single stranded RNA viruses of instant claims 1, 4-5, 14, 17-18.
Hong teaches (Table 1) SERM modulators raloxifene, bazedoxifene, pipendoxifene.
Hong does not teach a method of treating an infection caused by influenza A or hepatitis C viruses, with pipendoxifene, as in the instant claims.
Nicola teaches [0536] that raloxifene, bazedoxifene and pipendoxifene are SERMs.
Nicola teaches [0533] that Pipendoxifene binds to the viral protein RdRp (EC50 = 8.42 mM). Nicola teaches that RdRp is vital to the viral replication process of all RNA viruses.
Nicola is as above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hong and Nicola and test pipendoxifene for inhibitory properties against RNA viruses influenza A and hepatitis C. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to test pipendoxifene against influenza A or hepatitis C virus, because Hong and Nicola teach that pipendoxifene is a SERM modulator, and Hong teaches that SERM modulator raloxifene demonstrates efficacy in treating viral infections caused by influenza A and hepatitis C viruses. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have tested SERM modulator pipendoxifene against influenza A or hepatitis C virus, with the expectation that pipendoxifene has antiviral activity against these viruses.
Further, the person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expected that pipendoxifene inhibits viral replication because Nicola teaches that pipendoxifene is an RdRp inhibitor and
RdRp has crucial role in viral replication and in the life cycle of RNA viruses.
As such, claims 1, 4-14, 17-22, 26 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-14, 17-26 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable at least over claims 1, 6, 30, 34, 35, 37, 53 of co-pending Application 18/712,214 (cited in PTO-892). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 6, 30, 34, 35, 37, 53 of co-pending Application 18/712,214 render obvious instant claims.
Claims 1, 6, 30, 34, 35, 37, 53 of co-pending Application 18/712,214 are drawn to a method of treating an infection caused by an RNA virus by administering a composition comprising a compound of formula I, II, or III; claim 6 recites pipendoxifene as the compound administered in the method; claim 34 recites that the RNA virus is a positive sense single stranded RNA virus; claim 35 recites a coronavirus; claim 37 recite that influenza, hepatitis C, coronaviruses, which are viruses in the instant claims; claim 53 recites that the composition results in reduction of viral titer of the RNA virus, as in instant claim 13.
As such, there is substantial overlap between the method of claims 1, 6, 30, 34, 35, 37, 53 of co-pending Application 18/712,214 and the instant method.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4-14, 17-26 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. patent 12,551,475, in view of Nicola et al. (WO 2021/247601, published 9 December 2021, cited in IDS).
Claims 1-11 of U.S. patent 12,551,475 are drawn to a method for treating an infection or a disease caused by a coronavirus which is SARS-CoV-2, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising pipendoxifene; claim 4 recites that the subject has been exposed to the coronavirus, as in instant claims 6, 19; claim 7 recites that the composition is administered to the subject by intravenous administration, nasal administration, pulmonary administration, oral administration, parenteral administration, or nebulization, as in instant claim 11; claim 8 recites that administrating the composition results in reduction of the viral titer of the virus in the subject, as in instant claim 13.
Claims 1-11 of U.S. patent 12,551,475 do not recite a method for treating an infection or a disease caused by a RNA virus which is not SARS-CoV-2, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising pipendoxifene, as in the instant claims.
Nicola teaches [0503], Table 6 that pipendoxifene is a RdRP inhibitor for preventing, delaying the onset of, or treating an infection or a disease caused by a RNA virus.
Nicola teaches [0533] that Pipendoxifene binds to the viral protein RdRp (EC50 = 8.42 mM). Nicola teaches that RdRp is vital to the viral replication process of all RNA viruses. Nicola teaches [0501] RdRp is a core replication/transcriptional element of all RNA viruses.
Nicola teaches that [0502] remdesivir is an antiviral inhibitor of RdRp that has shown to be effective against RNA viruses such as SARS-CoV-2, MERS-CoV and Ebola virus. Nicola teaches that [0502] RdRp’s crucial role in the life cycle of RNA viruses has led to its targeted inhibition for a number of viral infections such as hepatitis C virus, and coronaviruses, which are RNA viruses other than SARS-CoV-2, as in the instant claims 1, 4-5, 14, 17-18.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of claims 1-11 of U.S. patent 12,551,475 and Nicola, and test pipendoxifene for inhibitory properties against RNA viruses other than SARS-CoV-2.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the testing of pipendoxifene against different RNA viruses, beyond SARS-CoV-2, because Nicola teaches that Pipendoxifene binds to the viral protein RdRp which is vital to the viral replication process of all RNA viruses, and Nicola teaches that other inhibitors of RdRp are effective against RNA viruses such as hepatitis C virus, and coronaviruses. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have tested RdRP inhibitor pipendoxifene in a method of inhibiting viral activity of a RNA virus beyond SARS-CoV-2, such as hepatitis C virus, and coronaviruses, with the expectation of achieving therapeutic effect.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4-14, 17-26 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629