DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Izawa [US 2016/0273728].
As to claim 1, Izawa discloses a lighting device for a motor vehicle [1, figure 1], comprising: a first light-generating device [2 and 3], wherein the first light-generating device has at least one first light source [2], a planar light guide [3] with at least one entry surface [31] and at least one exit surface [34], and at least one optical component [5, figure 1]; a cover lens [4], wherein the lighting device is configured such that the light generated by the at least one first light source enters the light guide at least partially through the at least one entry surface, the light that has entered through the at least one entry surface exits at least partially from the at least one exit surface [see figures 1, 2], the light exiting from the at least one exit surface of the light guide passes at least partially through the at least one optical component [see arrows and 5, figure 1], is reflected by the at least one optical component, or both passes at least partially through the at least one optical component and is reflected by the at least one optical component, and the light exiting from the at least one exit surface of the light guide exits at least partially from the lighting device through the cover lens [see figure 1], wherein the lighting device comprises at least one second light-generating device [7a and 7b] having at least one second light source, wherein the lighting device is configured such that the light emitted by the at least one second light-generating device exits the lighting device through the cover lens [see figures 1, 2].
As to claim 2, Izawa discloses the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the lighting device is configured such that the first light-generating device generates at least one first signal function, and the second light-generating device generates at least one second signal function [see figure 1, note that each light generating device provides a different illumination pattern and characteristic, or ‘signal’].
As to claim 5, Izawa discloses the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the second light-generating device has at least one light guide [5, figure 1, note that light is guided by the lens sheet as desired and implemented], wherein the lighting device is configured such that the light generated by the at least one second light source passes through the at least one light guide before it exits the lighting device through the cover lens [see figure 1].
As to claim 6, Izawa discloses the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the cover lens has one or both of a micro-optics and a diffuser structure [5, figure 1, note that for a sheet to provide lenticular effects it must have some sort of micro optics on the surfaces thereof], wherein the lighting device is configured such that both the light emitted by the first light-generating device and the light emitted by the second light-generating device pass through one or both of the micro-optics and the diffuser structure [see 5, figure 1].
As to claim 7, Izawa discloses the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the light guide has curvatures in two different directions [on the left and right sides of 3 in figure 1].
As to claim 14, Izawa discloses the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one optical component is designed as one or more of a microstructured film [5, figure 1], wherein the at least one microstructured film or the at least one microstructured optical disc is arranged between the light guide and the cover lens [see 3, 5, and 4, figure 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa in view of Yamada [US 2004/0130904].
As to claim 3, Izawa fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second light-generating device has at least one lens, wherein the lighting device is configured such that the light generated by the at least one second light source passes through the at least one lens before exiting the lighting device through the cover lens.
Yamada teaches implementing a second light-generating device [38, figure 2] having at least one lens [44b, figure 2], wherein the lighting device is configured such that the light generated by the at least one second light source passes through the at least one lens before exiting the lighting device through the cover lens [24, see figure 2] was well known.
It would have been obvious to implement the light source and light directing mechanisms of Yamada with the lighting unit of Izawa, as the Yamada light source allows for efficient use of LED light sources, known for their many benefits such as reduced power draw, increased power efficiency, and tunable coloring [see Izawa, paragraph 47].
As to claim 4, Izawa fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second light-generating device has at least one reflector, wherein the lighting device is configured such that the light generated by the at least one second light source passes through the at least one reflector before it exits the lighting device through the cover lens.
Yamada teaches implementing a second light-generating device having at least one reflector [such as the interior of 22, figure 2], wherein the lighting device is configured such that the light generated by the at least one second light source passes through the at least one reflector before it exits the lighting device through the cover lens [see figure 2] was well known.
It would have been obvious to implement the light source and light directing mechanisms of Yamada with the lighting unit of Izawa, as the Yamada light source allows for efficient use of LED light sources, known for their many benefits such as reduced power draw, increased power efficiency, and tunable coloring [see Izawa, paragraph 47].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: these claims recite elements and limitations, which when taken in combination with other claim language is not taught or disclosed by the prior art of record. For example, for claim 8, the specifically claimed structuring on the light guide, for claim 9 and its dependent claims, the u shape light guide as claimed, and for claim 15, the multiple exit surfaces as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. alternative embodiments of light sources with multiple light generating devices similar to applicant’s claimed invention include Nagaike [see PTO-892], Kirchner, Nakada, Koizumi, Ichikawa, Koizumi, Hardy, and Natsume.
/BRYON T GYLLSTROM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875