DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Jennings (US 20100171058 A1), Hereinafter Jen.
With respect to claim 1, Jen discloses a method for overriding a gate valve, comprising: engaging an override module (64) with a module coupled to a valve member (pgphs. 22, 36), wherein the module includes a housing (72) and an actuator assembly (combination 84, 76, members of fig. 4) locked to the housing in a first axial position (position shown in fig. 6, pgph. 33) and connected to the valve member (85); unlocking the actuator assembly from the housing (pgph. 34); and actuating the override module to move the actuator assembly from the first axial position to a second axial position within the housing to move the valve member from a first position to a second position (pgph. 36).
With respect to claim 3, Jen discloses wherein unlocking the actuator assembly comprises moving a locking member (78) selectively coupling the actuator assembly to the housing from a radially extended position to a radially retracted position (pgphs. 23, 34).
With respect to claim 4, Jen discloses wherein moving the locking member from the radially extended position to the radially retracted position comprises moving a piston (80) from a first position to a second position, wherein in the first position, the piston retains the locking member in a recess (156) disposed in an inner surface of the housing (pgphs. 33, 34).
With respect to claim 5, Jen discloses wherein actuating the override module comprises converting rotational motion to translational motion (pgphs. 32-36).
With respect to claim 6, Jen discloses retaining the locking member in a groove disposed in an inner surface of the housing (pgphs. 33, 34).
With respect to claim 7, Jen discloses wherein the locking member is a snap ring (pgph. 23).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, Jen discloses engaging the locking member with the housing in the radially extended position and comprising disengaging the locking member with the housing in the radially retracted position (pgphs. 33, 34).
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Rokne (US 20240254858 A1), Hereinafter Rok.
With respect to claim 1, Rok discloses a method for overriding a gate valve, comprising: engaging an override module (200 or 300) with a module coupled to a valve member (101), wherein the module includes a housing (10) and an actuator assembly (33, 34) locked to the housing in a first axial position (position shown in fig. 1) and connected to the valve member; unlocking the actuator assembly from the housing (by breaking shaft at 35, sown in fig. 4, pgph. 77, 81-85); and actuating the override module to move the actuator assembly from the first axial position to a second axial position within the housing to move the valve member from a first position to a second position (pgphs. 81-85).
With respect to claim 2, Rok discloses wherein unlocking the actuator assembly from the housing comprises shearing one or more shearable members (at 35, pgphs. 77, 81-85) selectively coupling the actuator assembly to the housing (at 38, 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jen in light of Du (US 20180106127 A1).
With respect to claim 8, while Jen contemplates substituting the snap ring for segments (pgph. 23), which are likely dogs, he fails to explicitly disclose dogs.
Nevertheless, Du discloses that dogs are an obvious substitution for a snap ring for locking two movable components together (pgph. 16, Du).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have replaced the snap ring of Jen with dogs as taught by Du (pgph. 16) since this is the simple substitution of one prior art device for another with predictable results and a reasonable expectation for success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20200158251 A1 discloses locking closed in pgphs. 117-120. US 20180245711 A1 also discloses locking a stem to a housing.
/KIPP C WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 09/14/2026