DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Templeman (US-20190044117-A1) does not teach new independent claims 88, 117 and 156.
Applicant submits that the claims require the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier to be implemented as an integrated structural feature of the battery and to define a structural interface between a housing of the battery and an external support structure. However, Templeman discloses this limitation in figs. 3, 5-6, 9, [0007]-[0008], [0023], [0033], [0038], which show and describe the shock absorbers 20 implemented into the battery, which further corresponds to the shock absorbers 20 being an integrated structural feature of the battery, the shock absorbers 20 are positioned below the housing of the batteries as shown in the figures and on top of adaptor 12 corresponding to an external support structure, which therefore corresponds to defining a structural interface as claimed.
Applicant argues that that claim 117 further recites specific mechanical load-path architecture. Claim 117 specifically claims “a mechanical excitation attenuation barrier… being structurally interposed within at least one mechanical load path between the housing of the battery and the external support structure such that at least a portion of mechanical loads transmitted between the external support structure and the battery pass through the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier, and being configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery.” As shown in figs. 3, 5-6, Templeman shows that shock absorbers 20 are the only structure between the housing and the adaptor 12, which necessitates that the shock absorbers 20 meet the limitation of the claimed mechanical load path. Furthermore, [0007]-[0008], [0023], [0038], describe how the shock absorbers 20 bear the mechanical load as claimed.
Applicant argues that new claim 156 requires the barrier to comprise at least one mechanically compliant element and at least one isolator. The shock absorbers 20 of Templeman correspond to both the claimed mechanically compliant element and at least one isolator; Templeman discloses a plurality of shock absorbers 20 (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, [0033]). The claimed mechanically compliant element and at least one isolator are not structurally different from the shock absorbers 20 as disclosed by Templeman.
Applicant argues that assembling a completed battery with a separate battery-holder, tray, case, or support arrangement does not disclose the architecture required by the new claims, and specifically the barrier “implemented as an integrated structural feature of the battery”. However, the assembly process of the battery does not disallow the shock absorbers 20 from being integrated as a structural feature of the overall battery. When all the components are put together, including the housing, tray, shock absorbers 20, and adaptor 12, the shock absorbers 20 are considered as an integrated structural feature of the assembly because the shock absorbers are a part of the structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 88-174 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Templeman (US-20190044117-A1).
Regarding claim 88, Templeman discloses an integrated energy storage architecture comprising: a battery selected from the group consisting of a battery, a battery module, and a battery pack (see e.g., Templeman; [0007], regarding battery case containing battery or batteries); and
a mechanical excitation attenuation barrier being implemented as an integrated structural feature of the battery and defining a structural interface between a housing of the battery and an external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 5-6, 9, [0023], regarding shock absorbers 20 corresponding to a mechanical attenuation barrier, the shock absorbers 20 integrated in the battery and providing a structural interface between battery case as shown in the figures and adaptor 12 corresponding to an external support structure),
the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier being configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]-[0008], regarding shock absorbing function achieved with this structure having shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 89, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one passive mechanically compliant element configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]-[0008], regarding shock absorbers 20 mechanically isolating batteries from shocks and vibrations).
Regarding claim 90, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the battery and the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier together form a passive isolation system configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]-[0008], regarding shock absorbing function achieved with structure).
Regarding claim 91, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein: the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one passive mechanically compliant element configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery; the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is structurally interposed within at least one mechanical load path between the housing of the battery and the external support structure such that at least a portion of mechanical loads transmitted between the external support structure and the battery pass through the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier; and the battery and the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier together form a passive isolation system configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 5-6, 9, [0023], regarding shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 92, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one isolator (see e.g., Templeman; fig. 9, wherein the shock absorbers 20 correspond to at least one isolator).
Regarding claim 93, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 92, wherein the at least one isolator is structurally interposed within at least one mechanical load path between the housing of the battery and the external support structure such that at least a portion of mechanical loads transmitted between the external support structure and the battery pass through the at least one isolator (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 5-6, 9, [0007]-[0008], [0023], regarding shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 94, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation selected from shock, vibration, random vibration, impulse loading, impact loading, transient mechanical loading, sustained dynamic loading, oscillatory excitation, resonant excitation, harmonic excitation, broadband mechanical excitation, cyclic loading, transportation-induced excitation, handling-induced excitation, installation- induced excitation, or combinations thereof (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]-[0008], [0023]).
Regarding claim 95, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, thermoplastic polyurethane, or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., Templeman; [0033]),
which corresponds with the claimed at least one material selected from the group consisting of mechanically compliant material, polymeric material, elastomeric material, rubber, silicone-based material, polyurethane, thermoplastic polyurethane, composite material, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 96, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 92, wherein the at least one isolator comprises rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, thermoplastic polyurethane, or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., Templeman; [0033]),
which corresponds with the claimed at least one material selected from the group consisting of mechanically compliant material, polymeric material, elastomeric material, rubber, silicone-based material, polyurethane, thermoplastic polyurethane, composite material, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 97, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are disc shaped or any other suitable shape and may be rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., [0033], fig. 9),
which corresponds to the claimed mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one structure selected from the group consisting of a pad, support member, support structure, ring, web structure, lattice structure, cellular structure, hollow structure, partially hollow structure, solid structure, ribbed structure, contoured structure, tapered structure, faceted structure, cylindrical structure, conical structure, frustoconical structure, pyramidal frustum structure, spherical structure, hemispherical structure, planar structure, stepped structure, multi-lobed structure, asymmetric structure, symmetric structure, compound structure, monolithic structure, modular structure, multi-component structure, cavity, void, channel, engineered internal structure, graded structural region, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 98, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 89, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are disc shaped or any other suitable shape and may be rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., [0033], fig. 9),
which corresponds to wherein the passive mechanically compliant element comprises at least one structure selected from the group consisting of a pad, support member, support structure, ring, web structure, lattice structure, cellular structure, hollow structure, partially hollow structure, solid structure, ribbed structure, contoured structure, tapered structure, faceted structure, cylindrical structure, conical structure, frustoconical structure, pyramidal frustum structure, spherical structure, hemispherical structure, planar structure, stepped structure, multi-lobed structure, asymmetric structure, symmetric structure, compound structure, monolithic structure, modular structure, multi-component structure, cavity, void, channel, engineered internal structure, graded structural region, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 99, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 92, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are disc shaped or any other suitable shape and may be rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., [0033], fig. 9),
which corresponds to wherein the at least one isolator comprises at least one structure selected from the group consisting of a pad, support member, support structure, ring, web structure, lattice structure, cellular structure, hollow structure, partially hollow structure, solid structure, ribbed structure, contoured structure, tapered structure, faceted structure, cylindrical structure, conical structure, frustoconical structure, pyramidal frustum structure, spherical structure, hemispherical structure, planar structure, stepped structure, multi-lobed structure, asymmetric structure, symmetric structure, compound structure, monolithic structure, modular structure, multi-component structure, cavity, void, channel, engineered internal structure, graded structural region, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 100, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein at least a portion of the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is externally visible (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5-6, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are visible on the side).
Regarding claim 101, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein at least a portion of the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is concealed from external view (see e.g., Templeman; fig. 1, wherein at least the top and bottom of the shock absorbers 20 are concealed from external view).
Regarding claim 102, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is positioned external to the electrochemical energy storage components of the battery (see e.g., Templeman; fig. 1, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are outside of the battery enclosure and therefore external to the electrochemical components).
Regarding claim 103, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier occupies less than a majority of an internal volumetric capacity of the battery configured to house electrochemical energy storage components (see e.g., Templeman; fig. 1, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are all external to the battery case, which is less than a majority of an internal volumetric capacity of the battery because the shock absorbers 20 occupy 0% of the internal volumetric capacity).
Regarding claim 104, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 103, wherein the internal volumetric capacity is defined relative to a region of the battery configured to contain electrochemical energy storage components and excludes external housings, covers, mounting features, and non-electrochemical structural components (see above regarding claim 103).
Regarding claim 105, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier structurally supports the battery relative to the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5-6, [0023], wherein shock absorbers 20 structurally supports the battery enclosure relative to adaptor 12).
Regarding claim 106, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a plurality of mechanical excitation attenuation barriers (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5, [0023], wherein there are a plurality of shock absorbing elements 20).
Regarding claim 107, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 106, the integrated energy storage architecture of wherein the plurality of mechanical excitation attenuation barriers are distributed around at least a portion of the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5).
Regarding claim 108, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a monolithic structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5, [0023], wherein the shock absorbers 20 are a single unified units, which correspond to a monolithic structure).
Regarding claim 109, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a modular structure (see e.g., Templeman; [0034], regarding how the shock absorbing elements 20 may be prefixed, or wherein when the shock absorbing elements 20 are not already fixed to the adaptor 12, they may be fastened such that the assembly process with the shock absorbers 20 are flexible, figs. 1, 3, 5, [0023], wherein there are a plurality of shock absorbers 20; a flexible assembly process and the shock absorbers having a plurality of separate parts may correspond with the claimed modular structure).
Regarding claim 110, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 97, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a plurality of structural regions (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5, wherein the shock absorbers 20 comprise of a plurality and are distributed in different regions of the adaptor 12).
Regarding claim 111, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier extends around at least a portion of the perimeter of the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9).
Regarding claim 112, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 97. Templeman discloses when the shock absorbing elements 20 are subjected to a compressive force, they compress inwardly from the top to bottom and bulge outwardly along their radial sidewalls to absorb and dampen the force, and when the shock absorbing elements 20 are subjected to a tensional force, they stretch outwardly from top to bottom and compress inwardly along their radial sidewalls to absorb or dampen the force (see e.g., Templeman; [0038]), which corresponds with at least the claimed engineered internal structure,
and therefore corresponds to the claimed mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one cavity, void, hollow portion, channel, or engineered internal structure.
Regarding claim 113, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is disposed at a plurality of locations between the housing of the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6).
Regarding claim 114, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a continuous structural feature extending between a plurality of support locations defined between the housing of the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, wherein the shock absorbers 20 is a continuous structural feature which extends around the adaptor 12 at a plurality of support locations along the adaptor 12, the shock absorbers between the housing and adaptor 12 corresponding to the external support structure).
Regarding claim 115, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 88, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier defines a substantially continuous structural interface between the housing of the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, 9,).
Regarding claim 116, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 105, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier structurally supports the battery at a plurality of discrete support regions relative to the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, 9).
Regarding claim 117, Templeman discloses an integrated energy storage architecture comprising: a battery selected from the group consisting of a battery, a battery module, and a battery pack (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]); and
a mechanical excitation attenuation barrier implemented as an integrated structural feature of the battery, defining a structural interface between a housing of the battery and an external support structure, being structurally interposed within at least one mechanical load path between the housing of the battery and the external support structure such that at least a portion of mechanical loads transmitted between the external support structure and the battery pass through the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier, and being configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, 9, [0007]-[0008], [0023], regarding shock absorbers 20, which are positioned between the housing of the battery and adaptor 12 corresponding to an external support structure).
Regarding claim 118, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one passive mechanically compliant element configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, [0007]-[0008], [0023], regarding shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 119, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the battery and the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier together form a passive isolation system configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, [0007]-[0008], [0023]).
Regarding claim 120, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein: the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one passive mechanically compliant element configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery; and the battery and the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier together form a passive isolation system configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, 9, [0007]-[0008], [0023], regarding shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 121, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one isolator (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, [0023], regarding individual shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 122, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 121, wherein the at least one isolator is structurally interposed within at least one mechanical load path between the housing of the battery and the external support structure such that at least a portion of mechanical loads transmitted between the external support structure and the battery pass through the at least one isolator (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, 9, [0007]-[0008], [0023]).
Regarding claim 123, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation selected from shock, vibration, random vibration, impulse loading, impact loading, transient mechanical loading, sustained dynamic loading, oscillatory excitation, resonant excitation, harmonic excitation, broadband mechanical excitation, cyclic loading, transportation-induced excitation, handling-induced excitation, installation-induced excitation, or combinations thereof (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]-[0008], [0023]).
Regarding claim 124, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the shock absorbers comprises rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, thermoplastic polyurethane, or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., Templeman; [0033]),
which corresponds with the claimed mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of mechanically compliant material, polymeric material, elastomeric material, rubber, silicone-based material, polyurethane, thermoplastic polyurethane, composite material, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 125, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 121, wherein the shock absorbers comprises rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, thermoplastic polyurethane, or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., Templeman; [0033]),
which corresponds with the claimed isolator comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of mechanically compliant material, polymeric material, elastomeric material, rubber, silicone-based material, polyurethane, thermoplastic polyurethane, composite material, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 126, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are disc shaped or any other suitable shape and may be rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., [0033], fig. 9),
which corresponds to the claimed mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one structure selected from the group consisting of a pad, support member, support structure, ring, web structure, lattice structure, cellular structure, hollow structure, partially hollow structure, solid structure, ribbed structure, contoured structure, tapered structure, faceted structure, cylindrical structure, conical structure, frustoconical structure, pyramidal frustum structure, spherical structure, hemispherical structure, planar structure, stepped structure, multi-lobed structure, asymmetric structure, symmetric structure, compound structure, monolithic structure, modular structure, multi-component structure, cavity, void, channel, engineered internal structure, graded structural region, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 127, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 118, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are disc shaped or any other suitable shape and may be rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., [0033], fig. 9),
which corresponds with the claimed passive mechanically compliant element comprises at least one structure selected from the group consisting of a pad, support member, support structure, ring, web structure, lattice structure, cellular structure, hollow structure, partially hollow structure, solid structure, ribbed structure, contoured structure, tapered structure, faceted structure, cylindrical structure, conical structure, frustoconical structure, pyramidal frustum structure, spherical structure, hemispherical structure, planar structure, stepped structure, multi-lobed structure, asymmetric structure, symmetric structure, compound structure, monolithic structure, modular structure, multi-component structure, cavity, void, channel, engineered internal structure, graded structural region, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 128, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 121, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are disc shaped or any other suitable shape and may be rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., [0033], fig. 9),
which corresponds with the claimed at least one isolator comprises at least one structure selected from the group consisting of a pad, support member, support structure, ring, web structure, lattice structure, cellular structure, hollow structure, partially hollow structure, solid structure, ribbed structure, contoured structure, tapered structure, faceted structure, cylindrical structure, conical structure, frustoconical structure, pyramidal frustum structure, spherical structure, hemispherical structure, planar structure, stepped structure, multi-lobed structure, asymmetric structure, symmetric structure, compound structure, monolithic structure, modular structure, multi-component structure, cavity, void, channel, engineered internal structure, graded structural region, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 129, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein at least a portion of the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is externally visible (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, 9, wherein shock absorbers 20 are partially visible).
Regarding claim 130, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein at least a portion of the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is concealed from external view (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5-6, wherein shock absorbers 20 are partially concealed on the top and bottom from the housing and the adaptor 12).
Regarding claim 131, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is positioned external to the electrochemical energy storage components of the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 9, wherein the shock absorber 20 are external to the housing for the batteries).
Regarding claim 132, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier occupies less than a majority of an internal volumetric capacity of the battery configured to house electrochemical energy storage components (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, wherein the shock absorbers are external to the housing of the battery and therefore do not occupy an internal volumetric capacity).
Regarding claim 133, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 132, wherein the internal volumetric capacity is defined relative to a region of the battery configured to contain electrochemical energy storage components and excludes external housings, covers, mounting features, and non-electrochemical structural components (see above regarding claim 132).
Regarding claim 134, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier structurally supports the battery relative to the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, [0007]-[0008], [0023]).
Regarding claim 135, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a plurality of mechanical excitation attenuation barriers (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, 9, wherein there are a plurality of shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 136, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 135, wherein the plurality of mechanical excitation attenuation barriers are distributed around at least a portion of the battery (see e.g., Templeman; fig. 9).
Regarding claim 137, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a monolithic structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5, [0023], wherein the shock absorbers 20 are a single unified units, which correspond to a monolithic structure).
Regarding claim 138, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a modular structure (see e.g., Templeman; [0034], regarding how the shock absorbing elements 20 may be prefixed, or wherein when the shock absorbing elements 20 are not already fixed to the adaptor 12, they may be fastened such that the assembly process with the shock absorbers 20 are flexible, figs. 1, 3, 5, [0023], wherein there are a plurality of shock absorbers 20; a flexible assembly process and the shock absorbers having a plurality of separate parts may correspond with the claimed modular structure).
Regarding claim 139, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of 126, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a plurality of structural regions (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, wherein there are a plurality of shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 140, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier extends around at least a portion of the perimeter of the battery (see e.g., Templeman; fig. 9).
Regarding claim 141, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 126. Templeman discloses when the shock absorbing elements 20 are subjected to a compressive force, they compress inwardly from the top to bottom and bulge outwardly along their radial sidewalls to absorb and dampen the force, and when the shock absorbing elements 20 are subjected to a tensional force, they stretch outwardly from top to bottom and compress inwardly along their radial sidewalls to absorb or dampen the force (see e.g., Templeman; [0038]), which corresponds with at least the claimed engineered internal structure,
which therefore corresponds with the claimed mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises at least one cavity, void, hollow portion, channel, or engineered internal structure.
Regarding claim 142, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier is disposed at a plurality of locations between the housing of the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9).
Regarding claim 143, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a continuous structural feature extending between a plurality of support locations defined between the housing of the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, wherein the shock absorbers 20 extend continuously at the plurality of spots located between the housing and adaptor 12).
Regarding claim 144, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier defines a substantially continuous structural interface between the housing of the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, wherein the shock absorbers 20 extend continuously at the plurality of spots located between the housing and adaptor 12).
Regarding claim 145, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 134, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier structurally supports the battery at a plurality of discrete support regions relative to the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, 9).
Regarding claim 146, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein any additional physical connections between the battery and the external support structure do not define a load-bearing path that bypasses the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5-6, wherein there are no additional physical connections between the battery and the adaptor 12 other than shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 147, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein any mechanical bypass paths between the battery and the external support structure are eliminated or comprise mechanically compliant structures (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 1, 3, 5-6, wherein there are no mechanical bypass paths; they are eliminated).
Regarding claim 148, Templeman the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, the integrated energy storage architecture of wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier defines a primary mechanical load path between the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6).
Regarding claim 149, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier extends continuously between a plurality of support locations that collectively support the battery relative to the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, wherein the shock absorbers 20 extend continuously around the bottom area with adaptor 12).
Regarding claim 150, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 117, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier structurally supports the battery at a plurality of discrete support regions distributed around the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9).
Regarding claim 151, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 137, wherein the monolithic structure extends continuously between a plurality of support locations (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9).
Regarding claim 152, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 138, wherein the modular structure comprises a plurality of mechanical excitation attenuation barriers distributed around at least a portion of the battery (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9).
Regarding claim 153, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 137, wherein the monolithic structure defines a substantially continuous structural interface between the housing of the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, regarding shock absorbers 20 between the battery housing and adaptor 12).
Regarding claim 154, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 135, wherein the plurality of mechanical excitation attenuation barriers collectively define the structural interface between the housing of the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 155, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 139, wherein the plurality of structural regions collectively define at least one mechanical load path between the housing of the battery and the external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, [0007]-[0008], [0023]).
Regarding claim 156, Templeman discloses an integrated energy storage architecture comprising: a battery selected from the group consisting of a battery, a battery module, and a battery pack (see e.g., Templeman; [0007], regarding batteries in battery case); and a mechanical excitation attenuation barrier implemented as an integrated structural feature of the battery and defining a structural interface between a housing of the battery and an external support structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, 9, [0007]-[0008], [0023], regarding shock absorbers 20 between housing and adaptor 12), the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprising at least one mechanically compliant element and at least one isolator, the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier being configured to attenuate transmission of mechanical excitation to the battery (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]-[0008], [0023], figs. 5-6, wherein the group of shock absorbers 20 correspond to both the mechanically compliant element and at least one isolator, and which absorb shock and vibrations).
Regarding claim 157, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156, wherein the at least one isolator extends from the at least one mechanically compliant element (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 9, wherein the shock absorber 20 corresponding to the at least one mechanically compliant element may have layers, the layers extending circumferentially which may correspond to the at least one isolator).
Regarding claim 158, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156, wherein the at least one isolator is integrally formed with the at least one mechanically compliant element (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 9, wherein the shock absorber 20 corresponding to the at least one mechanically compliant element may have layers, the layers extending circumferentially which may correspond to the at least one isolator and therefore the components are integrally formed).
Regarding claim 159, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156, wherein the at least one mechanically compliant element and the at least one isolator together define a monolithic structure (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, wherein the shock absorbers 20 are a single unit).
Regarding claim 160, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156, wherein the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier comprises a modular structure including the at least one mechanically compliant element and the at least one isolator (see e.g., Templeman; [0034], regarding how the shock absorbing elements 20 may be prefixed, or wherein when the shock absorbing elements 20 are not already fixed to the adaptor 12, they may be fastened such that the assembly process with the shock absorbers 20 are flexible, figs. 1, 3, 5, [0023], wherein there are a plurality of shock absorbers 20; a flexible assembly process and the shock absorbers having a plurality of separate parts may correspond with the claimed modular structure).
Regarding claim 161, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156, wherein the at least one isolator comprises geometrical features configured to produce a nonlinear stiffness characteristic under loading (see e.g., Templeman; [0038], regarding when the shock absorbing elements 20 are subjected to a compressive force, they compress inwardly from the top to bottom and bulge outwardly along their radial sidewalls to absorb and dampen the force, and when the shock absorbing elements 20 are subjected to a tensional force, they stretch outwardly from top to bottom and compress inwardly along their radial sidewalls to absorb or dampen the force; the resulting shape of the compression and elongation thereby corresponding to a nonlinear stiffness characteristic under loading).
Regarding claim 162, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 161, wherein the nonlinear stiffness characteristic comprises a progressive stiffness response (see e.g., Templeman; [0033], wherein the material of the shock absorbers 20 are rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), all of which are materials that increase in stiffness when compressed).
Regarding claim 163, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 161.
Templeman discloses wherein the shock absorbers 20 comprises rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, thermoplastic polyurethane, or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., Templeman; [0033]), which corresponds with the instant specification of the material of the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier as described in the instant specifications, and as claimed in claims 95, 96, 124, 125.
Furthermore, Templeman discloses wherein the shape of the shock absorbers 20 may be disc-shaped or any other suitable shape (see e.g., Templeman; [0033], figs. 5-6), which corresponds with the instant specification description and drawings of the mechanical excitation attenuation barrier which are disc or ring shaped, and as claimed in claims 97, 98, 99, 126, 127, 128, and 165.
Therefore, because the material and shape of the shock absorbers 20 as provided by Templeman are the same as those claimed and provided in the instant specification, it is the examiner’s position that the properties resulting from such a structure would be inherent, including wherein the nonlinear stiffness characteristic comprises quasi-zero stiffness behavior.
MPEP 2112 I. states ‘“[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable.’
Regarding claim 164, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 161, wherein the nonlinear stiffness characteristic is produced by deformation of one or more geometrical features of the at least one isolator (see e.g., Templeman; [0038], regarding the deformation behavior of the shock absorbers 20).
Regarding claim 165, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 164. Templeman discloses wherein the shock absorbers may be disc-shaped or any other suitable shape (see e.g., Templeman; [0033]), which corresponds with a ring shape,
which therefore corresponds with wherein the one or more geometrical features comprise at least one ring, rib, web, cavity, void, hollow portion, channel, lattice structure, cellular structure, engineered internal structure, graded structural region, or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 166, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 165, wherein the one or more geometrical features cooperate to define the nonlinear stiffness characteristic (see e.g., Templeman; [0038], regarding when the shock absorbing elements 20 are subjected to a compressive force, they compress inwardly from the top to bottom and bulge outwardly along their radial sidewalls to absorb and dampen the force, and when the shock absorbing elements 20 are subjected to a tensional force, they stretch outwardly from top to bottom and compress inwardly along their radial sidewalls to absorb or dampen the force; the resulting shape of the compression and elongation thereby corresponding to a nonlinear stiffness characteristic under loading, [0033] regarding wherein the shock absorbers 20 may be disc-shaped or any other suitable shape).
Regarding claim 167, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 166, wherein the one or more geometrical features comprise at least one mechanically compliant web (see e.g., Templeman; fig. 9, wherein the figure shows shock absorbers 20 having layered ring structure, which may correspond to a web, [0038] regarding the deformation response of the shock absorbers which correspond to the mechanically compliant material behavior).
Regarding claim 168, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 167, wherein the at least one mechanically compliant web interconnects an outer ring portion and an inner ring portion of the at least one isolator (see e.g., Templeman; fig. 9, wherein a middle section of the shock absorbers which connects an inner and outer side of the shock absorber may be a mechanically compliant web that interconnects).
Regarding claim 169, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156, wherein the at least one isolator comprises one or more internal cavities, voids, hollow portions, channels, lattice structures, cellular structures, engineered internal structures, or combinations thereof configured to influence deformation behavior, stiffness characteristics, damping behavior, load distribution, or mechanical excitation attenuation (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]-[0008], [0023], [0038], regarding the specifically engineered deformation characteristics to reduce shock and vibration).
Regarding claim 170, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156. Templeman discloses wherein the material of the shock absorbing elements 20 may be thermoplastic rubber, which is a combination of plastic and rubber, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), which is a combination of hard plastic and a soft rubber, and thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), which is a polymer having alternating hard and soft segments due to long-chain polyols and diisocyanatos with chain extenders (see e.g., Templeman; [0033]),
which corresponds with the claimed at least one isolator comprises one or more graded structural regions, graded density regions, multi-material regions, or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 171, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156. Templeman discloses wherein the shock absorbers may be disc-shaped or any other suitable shape (see e.g., Templeman; [0033]), and wherein shock absorbers 20 comprises rubber, thermoplastic rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, thermoplastic polyurethane, or any other suitable material or component (see e.g., Templeman; [0033]), and the shock and vibration attenuation of the material (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]-[0008], [0023], [0038]), and the assembly formation of the shock absorbers 20 (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 3, 5-6, [0033])
which corresponds with at least the claimed selection of geometry, material composition, damping characteristic, and spatial arrangement of the claimed
one or more mechanical characteristics of the at least one isolator are selected by varying geometry, material composition, stiffness, damping characteristics, preload, spatial arrangement, or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 172, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 171, wherein the one or more mechanical characteristics comprise deformation behavior, stiffness characteristics, damping behavior, load distribution characteristics, or mechanical excitation attenuation characteristics (see e.g., Templeman; [0007]-[0008], [0023]).
Regarding claim 173, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156, wherein the at least one mechanically compliant element extends continuously between a plurality of isolators (see e.g., Templeman; figs. 5-6, 9, wherein there are multiple shock absorbers 20 which corresponds to the element extending continuously, figs. 5-6 show shock absorbers 20 in between other shock absorbers which corresponds to between a plurality of isolators).
Regarding claim 174, Templeman discloses the integrated energy storage architecture of claim 156, wherein the at least one isolator is configured to deform in response to mechanical excitation while remaining a load-bearing structural element (see e.g., Templeman; [0038]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728