DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11, 14-18, 21-25 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20120139236, Novitsky.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses in combination, a pipe element (10) and a coupling (52), said pipe element having a sidewall surrounding a longitudinal axis and defining a bore, said longitudinal axis being a central axis of said pipe element, said sidewall having an outer surface, said sidewall comprising: an endform (28); and a tubular portion (left of 38) connected to said endform, wherein said endform extends from an end of said pipe element to said tubular portion; wherein said endform comprises: a groove (24) defined by said outer surface, said groove extending circumferentially around said bore, said groove comprising: a first groove side surface (36), a second groove side surface (38) facing said first groove side surface and in spaced apart relation from said first groove side surface , wherein said first groove side surface is positioned between said end of said pipe element and said second groove side surface, and a floor surface (42) contiguous with said first groove side surface and said second groove side surface; said coupling comprising: a plurality of segments (54) attached to one another end to end surrounding a central space and said end of said pipe element; attachment members (56) positioned at each end of said segments for attaching said segments to one another; and an arcuate projection (64) positioned on a side of each of said segments, wherein said groove of said pipe element is configured to receive said arcuate projection, said arcuate projection comprising: a first mating surface (66) configured to engage said first groove side surface, a second mating surface (68) configured to engage said second groove side surface, and a third mating surface (72) contiguous with said first mating surface and said second mating surface and facing said central space, said third mating surface positioned between said first mating surface and said second mating surface, wherein when received by said groove, said arcuate projection is configured to wedge into said groove.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses said first groove side surface is oriented at a first groove side angle relative to said floor surface and said second groove side surface is oriented at a second groove side angle relative to said floor surface.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses said second groove side angle is greater than said first groove side angle.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses said plurality of segments are configured to be drawn towards one another from an initial condition to a tightened condition.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses in said initial condition, said third mating surface is spaced from said floor surface of said groove by a first distance, and in said tightened condition, said third mating surface engages said floor surface of said groove or said third mating surface is spaced from said floor surface of said groove by a second distance ([0060]), wherein said second distance is less than said first distance.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses said first mating surface and said second mating surface engage said first groove side surface and said second groove side surface, respectively, before said segments reach said tightened condition.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses as said segments are drawn towards each other to said tightened condition, said arcuate projection wedges into said groove.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses in an intermediate condition before said segments reach said tightened condition, said first mating surface and said second mating surface engage said first groove side surface and said second groove side surface, respectively, and said third mating surface is spaced from said floor surface of said groove by a third distance, wherein said second distance is less than said third distance.
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses said plurality of segments are attached to one another end to end in a preassembled state, wherein in said preassembled state, said plurality of segments are supported in spaced relation while attached to one another to allow insertion of said pipe element into said central space (see Fig.3).
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses said coupling comprises a ring seal (60) configured to support said plurality of segments in said preassembled state.
In regards to claim 16, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses said plurality of segments comprises a first segment (71) and a second segment (73), wherein said first segment and said second segment are attached to one another at one end by a hinge (75) and at an opposite end by an adjustable fastener.
In regards to claim 17, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses said plurality of segments comprises more than two segments attached to one another end to end to surround said central space.
In regards to claim 18, in Figures 4-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Novitsky discloses said plurality of segments comprises a first segment and a second segment, wherein said first segment and said second segment are attached to one another at both ends by adjustable fasteners.
In regards to claim 21, in Figures 4-6 and ([0058]-[0060]), Novitsky discloses a method of assembling a combination of a pipe element and a coupling, said pipe element having a sidewall surrounding a longitudinal axis and defining a bore, said longitudinal axis being a central axis of said pipe element, said sidewall having an outer surface comprising an endform, said endform comprising a groove defined by said outer surface, said groove extending circumferentially around said bore; said coupling comprising a plurality of segments attached to one another end to end to surround a central space, attachment members for attaching said segments to one another, and an arcuate projection positioned on a side of each of said segments; said method comprising: adjusting said attachment members to draw said plurality of segments from an initial condition to a tightened condition, wherein said arcuate projection wedges into said groove.
In regards to claim 22, in Figures 4-6, Novitsky discloses said groove comprises, in a cross-sectional plane including said longitudinal axis, a first groove side surface, a second groove side surface facing said first groove side surface and in spaced apart relation from said first groove side surface , and a floor surface contiguous with said first groove side surface and said second groove side surface.
In regards to claim 23, in Figures 4-6, Novitsky discloses said arcuate projection comprises a first mating surface, a second mating surface, and a third mating surface contiguous with said first mating surface and said second mating surface.
In regards to claim 24, in Figures 4-6 and ([0058]-[0060]), Novitsky discloses adjusting said attachment members causes said first mating surface to engage said first groove side surface and said second mating surface to engage said second groove side surface.
In regards to claim 25, in Figures 4-6, Novitsky discloses said first groove side surface is oriented at a first groove side angle relative to said floor surface and said second groove side surface is oriented at a second groove side angle relative to said floor surface.
In regards to claim 28, in Figures 4-6, Novitsky discloses said second groove side angle is greater than said first groove side angle.
In regards to claim 29, in Figures 4-6 and ([0058]-[0060]), Novitsky discloses in said initial condition, said third mating surface is spaced from said floor surface by a first distance, and in said tightened condition, said third mating surface is spaced from said floor surface by a second distance less than said first distance or said third mating surface engages said floor surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novitsky.
In regards to claim 20, Novitsky discloses the claimed invention except for the pipe element being a stainless steel pipe. Applicant has failed to provide criticality for the pipe being a stainless steel pipe, and the Novitsky invention is fully capable of being modified with a stainless steel pipe. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate the pipe as a stainless steel pipe, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 12-13, 17-19, 26-27 and 30-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it illustrates the claimed invention.
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679