DETAILED ACTION
The present application has been made of the record and currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 15, the limitation “sufficiently strong” renders the claim indefinite. The limitation “sufficiently strong” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim is not defined due to varying degree of resistance of the fastener sub-systems (ex. what is and is not considered “sufficiently strong”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Royston (U.S. Patent No. 4,606,565).
Claim 1, Royston discloses:
A pipe assembly (see figs. 1-3, where the combination of figs. 2-3 show an exploded view of the invention; see fig. 1 hereinafter unless otherwise noted) comprising
a first tubular pipe section (10, fig. 3),
a second tubular pipe section (11, fig. 2) and
a fastener system (18a-c in figs. 1-3) that fastens the first tubular pipe section to the second tubular pipe section to define a flow path through the first tubular pipe section and the second tubular pipe section (ex., see fig. 1),
wherein:
the first tubular pipe section extends along a common central axis (ex., see the pipe in fig. 3) and comprises a first engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1 below; ex., when the pipe is inserted, the engagement feature is on the pipe end);
the second tubular pipe section (ex., see 11 in fig. 2) extends along the common central axis and comprises a second engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1); and
the fastener system comprises:
a first fastener sub-system having a first component (see annotated fig. 1) on the first tubular pipe section and a first fastener arrangement (ex., 18a-c on the bottom) that fastens the first component to the second engagement feature (ex., see annotated fig. 1) so that the first engagement feature is located between the first component and the second engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1) to thereby restrict movement of the first tubular pipe section away from the second tubular pipe section in a direction of the common central axis (see annotated fig. 1); and
a second fastener sub-system having a second component (see annotated fig. 1) on the second tubular pipe section and a second fastener arrangement (see annotated fig. 1) that fastens the second component to the first engagement feature so that the second engagement feature is located between the second component and the first engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1) to thereby restrict movement of the first tubular pipe section away from the second tubular pipe section in the direction of the common central axis (see annotated fig. 1).
Claim 2, Royston discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the first tubular pipe section comprises a first tubular wall structure (ex., the pipe wall of the pipe shown in fig. 3) that extends along the common central axis, and
the first engagement feature is located at an exterior surface of the first tubular wall structure (it is inherent that when the pipe is engaged in fig. 1 that the first engagement feature is located at the exterior surface as the pipe is directly below); and
the second tubular pipe section comprises a second tubular wall structure (ex., pipe wall in fig. 2) that extends along the common central axis, and
the second engagement feature is located at an exterior surface of the second tubular wall structure (ex., see fig. 1 where the pipe would be directly below the second engagement feature).
Claim 9, Royston discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the first component is annular and encircles the common central axis (see fig. 3), and the second component is annular and encircles the common central axis (see fig. 2).
Claim 10, Royston discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the first component is discrete from first tubular pipe section (see fig. 3), and
the second component is discrete from second tubular pipe section (see fig. 2).
Claim 11, Royston discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 1, comprising a seal (see annotated fig. 1) between the first tubular pipe section and the second tubular pipe section (ex., the claim does not require directly in between the end faces of the pipes),
wherein the fastener system fastens the first tubular pipe section to the second tubular pipe section so that the seal is compressed by and between the first tubular pipe section and the second tubular pipe section (it is inherent that the seal would compress against both pipe sections and it is in between both pipe sections as shown in annotated fig. 1).
Claim 12, Royston discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the first fastener arrangement comprises first bolts (see annotated fig. 1); and
the second fastener arrangement comprises second bolts (see annotated fig. 1).
Claim 13, Royston discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 12, wherein:
the first bolts are circumferentially spaced apart about the common central axis (see annotated fig. 1); and
the second bolts are circumferentially spaced apart about the common central axis (see annotated fig. 1).
Claim 14, Royston discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 12, wherein the first bolts and the second bolts are relatively circumferentially arranged about the common central axis so that the first bolts alternate with the second bolts about the common central axis (see annotated fig. 1).
Claim 15, as best understood, Royston discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the first fastener sub-system and the second fastener sub-system is sufficiently strong to resist movement of the first tubular pipe section away from the second tubular pipe section in the direction of the common central axis during operational use of the pipe assembly (see fig. 1, where the bolt and flange arrangement would meet the functional limitation of the claim).
Claim 19, Royston discloses:
A kit of parts for a pipe assembly (see annotated fig. 1 above hereinafter unless otherwise noted), the kit of parts comprising:
a first tubular pipe section (10, fig. 3) extending along a first central axis and comprising a first engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1);
a second tubular pipe section (11, fig. 2) extending along a second central axis and comprising a second engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1); and
a fastener system (see annotated fig. 1, where there are fastener arrangements) configured to fasten the first tubular pipe section to the second tubular pipe section, with the first central axis and the second central axis arranged coaxially on a common central axis, to define a flow path through the first tubular pipe section and the second tubular pipe section;
wherein the fastener system comprises:
a first fastener sub-system (see annotated fig. 1) having a first component (see annotated fig. 1) on, or mountable on, the first tubular pipe section so that the first engagement feature is located between the first component and the second engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1); and
a second fastener sub-system (see annotated fig. 1) having a second component (see annotated fig. 1) on, or mountable on, the second tubular pipe section so that the second engagement feature is located between the second component and the first engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1).
Claim 20, Royston discloses:
The kit of parts of claim 19, wherein:
the first fastener sub-system has a first fastener arrangement (see annotated fig. 1) configured to fasten the first component to the second engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1) so that the first engagement feature is located between the first component and the second engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1) to thereby restrict movement of the first tubular pipe section away from the second tubular pipe section in a direction of the central axis (see annotated fig. 1); and
the second fastener sub-system has a second fastener arrangement (see annotated fig. 1) configured to fasten the second component to the first engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1) so that the second engagement feature is located between the second component and the first engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1) to thereby restrict movement of the first tubular pipe section away from the second tubular pipe section in the direction of the central axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Royston as applied to claim 2 above and in view of Lee (KR-20070093244).
In regards to claim 3, Royston discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 2, wherein:
the first engagement feature comprises a first projection (see annotated fig. 1 above hereinafter) extending from (ex., does not require “directly from”) the first tubular wall structure in a direction away from the common central axis, and
the second engagement feature comprises a second projection (see annotated fig. 1)
but does not disclose:
the first projection extending from the first tubular wall structure in a direction away from the common central axis, and
the second projection extending from the second tubular wall structure in a direction away from the common central axis.
In regards to the projections being formed on the pipe wall, Lee discloses a similar device (see fig. 3 hereinafter) where it is known to weld a flange (22) that pressed against a seal (12a) to pipe (20) to fix the flange to the pipe (see line 117 of the translated document provided herein; see fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the first and second projections of Royston such that the first projection is welded to the first tubular wall structure and the second projection is welded to the second tubular wall structure to fix the flanges to the pipes because Lee discloses a similar device where it is known to weld the flange to the pipe to fix the flange to the pipe (see line 117 and fig. 3) and it has been held that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice (see In reLarson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) in MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)).
In regards to claim 4, Royston further discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 3, wherein:
the first projection is annular and encircles the common central axis (see annotated fig. 1; see also fig. 3 near 17), and
the second projection is annular and encircles the common central axis (see annotated fig. 1; see also fig. 2).
In regards to claim 5, Royston further discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 3, configured so that:
the first fastener arrangement fastens the first component to the second projection so that the first projection is trapped between the first component and the second projection (see annotated fig. 1); and
the second fastener arrangement fastens the second component to the first projection so that the second projection is trapped between the second component and the first projection (see annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 6, Royston further discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 5, wherein:
the first engagement feature comprises a first shoulder (see annotated fig. 1) extending from the first tubular wall structure (it is inherent that the shoulder would extend from the wall structure as its used to clamp down on the outer surface of the pipe wall) in a direction away from the common central axis;
the second engagement feature comprises a second shoulder (see annotated fig. 1) extending from the second tubular wall structure in a direction away from the common central axis; and
the pipe assembly is configured so that:
the first fastener arrangement fastens the first component to the second projection so that the first component abuts the first shoulder (see annotated fig. 1) and the first projection abuts the second projection (ex., the claim does not require “directly abutting” compared to “abutting” which can be seen in annotated fig. 1 where both would press against each other); and
the second fastener arrangement fastens the second component to the first projection (see annotated fig. 1) so that the second component abuts the second shoulder and the second projection abuts the first projection.
In regards to claim 7, Royston further discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 6, configured so that:
the first shoulder prevents the first component from contacting the first projection (see annotated fig. 1); and
the second shoulder prevents the second component from contacting the second projection (see annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 8, Royston further discloses:
The pipe assembly of claim 3, configured so that:
the first fastener arrangement fastens the first component to the second engagement feature so that the first engagement feature is clamped by and between the first component and the second engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1); and
the second fastener arrangement fastens the second component to the first engagement feature so that the second engagement feature is clamped by and between the second component and the first engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1).
Claim(s) 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solomon et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2,985,466) in view of Royston.
In regards to claims 16-18, Solomon discloses:
An aircraft (1:37-39) comprising a fuel system (ex., title is “rigid fuel line coupling”) comprising a rigid fuel line coupling device (see fig. 2 hereinafter) comprising two fuel line pipe ends (10, 11) compressed by flanged members (12, 13) and bolts (see fig. 2),
but does not disclose:
the pipe assembly of claim 1.
In regards to the pipe assembly of claim 1, Royston discloses:
A pipe assembly (see figs. 1-3, where the combination of figs. 2-3 show an exploded view of the invention; see fig. 1 hereinafter unless otherwise noted) comprising
a first tubular pipe section (10, fig. 3),
a second tubular pipe section (11, fig. 2) and
a fastener system (18a-c in figs. 1-3) that fastens the first tubular pipe section to the second tubular pipe section to define a flow path through the first tubular pipe section and the second tubular pipe section (ex., see fig. 1),
wherein:
the first tubular pipe section extends along a common central axis (ex., see the pipe in fig. 3) and comprises a first engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1 below; ex., when the pipe is inserted, the engagement feature is on the pipe end);
the second tubular pipe section (ex., see 11 in fig. 2) extends along the common central axis and comprises a second engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1); and
the fastener system comprises:
a first fastener sub-system having a first component (see annotated fig. 1) on the first tubular pipe section and a first fastener arrangement (ex., 18a-c on the bottom) that fastens the first component to the second engagement feature (ex., see annotated fig. 1) so that the first engagement feature is located between the first component and the second engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1) to thereby restrict movement of the first tubular pipe section away from the second tubular pipe section in a direction of the common central axis (see annotated fig. 1); and
a second fastener sub-system having a second component (see annotated fig. 1) on the second tubular pipe section and a second fastener arrangement (see annotated fig. 1) that fastens the second component to the first engagement feature so that the second engagement feature is located between the second component and the first engagement feature (see annotated fig. 1) to thereby restrict movement of the first tubular pipe section away from the second tubular pipe section in the direction of the common central axis (see annotated fig. 1),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the fuel line coupling assembly of the aircraft of Solomon with the coupling assembly of Royston to provide both a seal and strong grip using grippers on each of the pipe ends discloses that it is known to use bolted flanged couplings on rigid fluid lines on aircrafts, Solonmon discloses a device which differs from the claimed device by a replacement of one flanged coupling with the known flanged coupling of Ryston, Ryston discloses a similar device to provide both a seal and strong grip (1:7-10) using grippers on each of the pipe ends such that the grippers are able to be tightened after the seal as has completed (1:31-41), and one of ordinary skill could have replacement the one known flanged device for the other because replacing one similar device for another similar device (ex., both comprise bolts that force flanges in the axial direction to provide a seal) would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ivancic et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,925,972) discloses a very similar device to the present invention comprising a staggered rod arrangement.
McNeary et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2,568,923) discloses a very similar device to the present invention comprising a staggered rod arrangement.
Ziu (U.S. Patent No. 5,141,256) discloses a similar device to the present invention comprising collars behind the flanges (fig. 1).
Stenflex (DE-29612588) discloses a similar device to the present invention comprising collars behind the flanges (fig. 1).
Thomine (U.S. Patent No. 580,607) discloses a similar device to the present invention.
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679