DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2026 and 07/13/2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III (figs. 9-10) in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a tensioning element” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “…a torsional rigidity against twisting about their longitudinal axis of more than 100kN/mm2”. It is unclear a unit for a torsional rigidity is “kN/mm2” or “kN*mm2”. For the purpose of applying art, a unit for a torsional rigidity is interpreted as “kN*mm2”.
Claim 17 recites “the planiform head contact element” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hall (US 2014/0109301).
Regarding claim 1, Hall teaches a helmet (fig. 2) comprising:
a helmet shell (fig. 2, shell 20); and
a strap system (fig. 2),
wherein the strap system comprises a chin strap with a chin rest element (annotated fig. 2 below),
a left end of the chin strap is connected to a front left tensioning strap and to a rear left tensioning strap and a right end of the chin strap is connected to a front right tensioning strap and to a rear right tensioning strap (annotated fig. 2 below),
the front left tensioning strap and the front right tensioning strap are in each case coupled to a front half of helmet shell (fig. 2, through fasteners 24),
the rear left tensioning strap and the rear right tensioning strap are in each case coupled to a rear head contact body (fig. 2, support portion 150), and
the rear head contact body is coupled to the helmet shell above the rear head contact body (fig. 2) on a left hand side of the helmet by a strip-shaped, stiffened left rear head brace (fig. 12, stabilizing member 170) and on a right-hand side of the helmet by a strip-shaped, stiffened right rear head brace (fig. 12, stabilizing member 170)(para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Hall teaches the rear head contact body is connected to a rear half of the helmet shell exclusively by the rear head braces (para. [0047], alternatively, in some embodiments, rather than a downward stabilizing member 180 being attached directly to the helmet, an upper end of an upward stabilizing member 170 may be attached directly to the helmet).
Regarding claim 4, Hall teaches the stiffened rear head braces each extend from the rear head contact body along an inside of the helmet upwards towards a center of the helmet shell (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 5, Hall teaches the left rear head brace is secured to the helmet shell exclusively at a rear left securing point and the right rear head brace is secured to the helmet shell exclusively at a rear right securing point, and the rear left securing point and the rear right securing point are in each case located on the inside of the helmet on the rear half of the helmet shell (fig. 2, para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 6, Hall teaches the left rear head brace and the right rear head brace are configured as suspensions for the rear head contact body (para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Hall teaches a length of the left rear head brace and right rear head brace is in each case greater than their width and their width is greater than their thickness (para. [0052]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Hall teaches the left rear head brace and the right rear head brace are at least five times more flexurally rigid against bending about their longitudinal axis than against bending about their transverse axis (the stabilizing members are of stiff material (para. [0076]), and resist various forces (e.g., tension, compression, torsion) (para. [0026]), while the stabilizing members have length /width ratio greater than 10 (para. [0052]-[0054]), therefore, the stabilizing members are at least five times more flexurally rigid against bending about their longitudinal axis than against bending about their transverse axis).
Regarding claim 9, Hall teaches the left rear head brace and the right rear head brace are at least ten times more flexurally rigid against bending about their longitudinal axis than against bending about their transverse axis (the stabilizing members are of stiff material (para. [0076]), and resist various forces (e.g., tension, compression, torsion) (para. [0026]), while the stabilizing members have length /width ratio greater than 10 (para. [0052]-[0054]), therefore, the stabilizing members are at least ten times more flexurally rigid against bending about their longitudinal axis than against bending about their transverse axis).
Regarding claim 10, Hall teaches one or more of the rear head contact body, the left rear head brace and the right rear head brace has a thickness of from 0.5 mm to 10 mm (para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 11, Hall teaches one or more of the rear head contact body, the left rear head brace and the right rear head brace has a thickness of from 1mm to 4mm (para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 12, Hall teaches the rear head contact body is coupled via a left holding strap (fig. 12, band 120) and a right holding strap (fig. 12, band 120) to the front half of the helmet shell (fig. 3, bands 120 is coupled to the helmet shell by fasteners 24), and a length of one or more of the left holding strap and right holding strap can be varied by a tensioning element (fig. 12, para. [0074], adjustment device 160).
Regarding claim 14, Hall teaches one or more of the front left tensioning strap, the front right tensioning strap, the rear left tensioning strap and the rear right tensioning strap has a free end configured as a pull strap (fig. 2, para. [0034], free ends of straps are attached to adjustment devices 34 for tightening, loosening and locking portions of the straps).
Regarding claim 15, Hall teaches the rear left tensioning strap and the rear right tensioning strap are guided in each case through deflection elements, and the deflection elements are secured to the rear head contact body by fastening straps (annotated fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 16, Hall teaches the rear head contact body stretches a planiform head contact element (fig. 2, para. [0037], lining 110), and the head contact element is secured, by a rear side to the rear head contact body (fig. 2) and by a front side to the front half of the helmet shell (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Hall teaches the planiform head contact element comprises one or more of an inner cloth or inner net (para. [0037], lining 110 is mesh).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 2014/0109301), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnston (US 2014/0090155).
Regarding claim 2, Hall does not teach the left rear head brace and the right rear head brace each have a torsional rigidity against twisting about their longitudinal axis of more than 100kN/mm2.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Johnston teaches a shear modulus of approximately 250 to 350 psi (or from 1722 N/mm2 to 2411 N/mm2) (para. [0060], the fabric 140 has a shear modulus of approximately 250 to 350 psi).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the left rear head brace and the right rear head brace with a shear modulus of 250 to 350 psi of the fabric of Johnston for the benefit of providing rigidity to the straps and absorbing both linear impact and shear forces (Johnston, para. [0060]).
As the thickness of the straps of Hall is much smaller compared to its width (Hall, para. [0052], [0053]) and the shear modulus of the straps is at least 2000N/mm2 (in combination with material of Johnston), the modified structure Hall-Johnston also teaches the straps each have a torsional rigidity against twisting about their longitudinal axis of more than 100kN/mm2 as of the invention (see specification of the invention, page 3, first para. and second para.).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 2014/0109301), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsu (US 2018/0095497).
Regarding claim 13, Hall does not clearly teach one or more of the rear head contact body, the left rear head brace and the right rear head brace comprise a fiber-reinforced plastic.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hsu teaches the first and second arms comprise a fiber-reinforced plastic (fig. 2A, para. [0023]; fig. 5A, para. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine one or more of the rear head contact body, the left rear head brace and the right rear head brace with a fiber-reinforced plastic as taught by Hsu so that the components does not appreciably stretch (yield) when exposed to forces that may be safely experienced while on the user’s head (Hsu, para. [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732