DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I and the species 61Cu in the reply filed on 6/23/26 is acknowledged.
The search was expanded to include 67Cu and therefore the claims 89-95 were examined.
Claims 101-104 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 75-95,98 and 99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Bernabeu et al. (Eur. J. Nucl. Med. Mol. Imaging Vol. 48, Suppl. 1, October 20-23, 2021).
Bernabeu et al. (Eur. J. Nucl. Med. Mol. Imaging Vol. 48, Suppl. 1, October 20-23, 2021) teaches of
that anticipates the
of the instant claims (p5-6).
The NODAGA moiety
anticipates the NODAGA moiety
of the instant claims.
The 61Cu anticipates the 61Cu of the instant claims.
The L moiety
anticipates the L moiety
of the instant claims.
The V moiety
anticipates the V moiety Lys-Urea-Glu
of the instant claims.
The
anticipates the compounds of the instant claims, has the same properties and is capable of the same functions, such as having a radiochemical purity of ≥95%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
Claim(s) 75-100 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20220006286A and translation) in view of Lee et al. (Cancer Biother. Radiopharm. Volume 37, Number 6, 2022, 417-423) and Lin et al. (US 2021/0338851A1).
Lim et al. (KR 20220006286A and translation) discloses the radiolabeled PSMA compound for the diagnosis and/or treatment of cancer ([0001]; [0061]; [0067])
( [0020-0021] and p4).
The radiolabeled PSMA compound comprises a composition including diluents or excipients ([0069]) that encompasses the pharmaceutically acceptable excipient of the instant claims.
The
moiety encompasses the
moiety of the instant clams wherein the L comprises
, and V is Lys-Urea-Glu
.
Lim et al. does not disclose the chelator NODAGA, or the radioisotopes 61Cu or 67Cu.
Lee et al. (Cancer Biother. Radiopharm. Volume 37, Number 6, 2022, 417-423) discloses the PSMA imaging and therapy agent 64Cu-PSMA I&T (abstract).
NOTA and NODAGA were envisioned as chelators for the 64Cu labeled PSMA agents (p418, left column, first full paragraph).
Lin et al. (US 2021/0338851A1) discloses radiolabeled PSMA imaging or therapeutic agents for PSMA-expressing diseases/conditions comprising the formula
(abstract; p1, [0007]) wherein R7 comprises and Rx chelator moiety (p2, [0020]; p3, [0024]).
The PSMA-targeting moiety comprises
wherein R0 is O; R1a, R1b and R1c are -CO2H and R3 is a linker (p6, [0060-0066]).
The Rx chelator moieties comprise DOTAGA, NODAGA, etc. (p33, [0282]).
The radioisotopes comprise 61Cu, 64Cu of PET or SPECT imaging of PSMA expressing tumors and 64Cu or 67Cu for therapy of PSMA expressing tumors (p51, [0300-0301).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the DOTAGA of Lim et al. for the NODAGA of Lin et al. with a reasonable expectation of success as Lee et al. envisioned the binding a NODAGA to a PSMA I&T moiety in order to chelate a copper radioisotope and Lin et al. teaches that DOTAGA and NODAGA chelators are used to chelate different copper radioisotopes to PSMA targeting agents depending on the desired methods of use, such as imaging and/or therapy.
The substitution of one known copper radioisotope chelator for another known copper radioisotope chelator predictable provides for the methods of imaging or therapy depending on the copper radioisotope and chelator combination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 64Cu of Lim et al. for the 61Cu or 67Cu of Lin et al. depending on the desired method of use, such as imaging and/or therapy as Lin et al. teaches that imaging and/or therapy use different radioisotopes and 64Cu is substituted for 61Cu for the method of imaging and 64Cu is substituted for 67Cu for the method of therapy.
Lim et al. does not disclose the radiochemical purity of ≥ 95%.
The compounds of the combined disclosures comprise a
moiety bound to NODAGA in order to chelate 61Cu or 67Cu and encompasses the compounds of the instant claims, have the same properties and are capable of the same properties, such as having a radiochemical purity of ≥95%.
Claim(s) 75-100 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernabeu et al. (Eur. J. Nucl. Med. Mol. Imaging Vol. 48, Suppl. 1, October 20-23, 2021) in view of Lim et al. (KR 20220006286A and translation).
Bernabeu et al. (Eur. J. Nucl. Med. Mol. Imaging Vol. 48, Suppl. 1, October 20-23, 2021) discloses
teaches of
as a 0.5 nm composition (p6) as well as that stated above.
Bernabeu et al. does not disclose the pharmaceutically acceptable excipient of the instant claims.
Lim et al. (KR 20220006286A and translation) discloses the radiolabeled PSMA compound for
the diagnosis and/or treatment of cancer as well as that stated above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the [61Cu]Cu-NODAGA-PSMA I&T with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as Bernabeu et al. teaches that the [61Cu]Cu-NODAGA-PSMA I&T is used as a 0.5 nm composition and Lim et al. teaches of combining radiolabeled PSMA compound with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient for preparing a formulation for administration to a subject (Lim et al. [0069].
Double Patenting
to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be
signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
Claims 75-100 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-69 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,885B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds
and
comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable
excipient of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,885B2 encompass the
and
comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient of the instant claims.
The compounds of Formula A of the instant claims encompasses the compounds of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,885B2, has the same properties and is capable of the same functions, such as 61Cu is obtained by deuteron irradiation of natNi or 60Ni on a niobium backing or by proton irradiation of 61Ni on a niobium backing.
The compounds of Formula A of the instant claims encompasses the compounds of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,885B2, has the same properties and is capable of the same functions, such as generating an imaging of a subject, detecting PSMS-receptor-expressing tumors, a theranostic method or a method of treating a cancer that expresses a PSMS receptor.
The compound of Formula A of the instant claims encompasses the compounds of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,885B2, has the same properties and is capable of the same functions, such as having radiochemical purity, end of synthesis by sum of radionuclide impurities, activity concentration, and radionuclide purity of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,885B2.
Claims 75-100 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,2,13,15,18-21,24,25,27,44,49,58,72 and 75-85 of copending Application No. 18/474,218 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the radiotracer comprising 61Cu or 67Cu chelated to a NODAGA that is bound to a PSMA targeting moiety via a linker of copending Application No. 18/474,218 encompasses the compound of Formula A comprising 61Cu or 67Cu chelated to a NODAGA that is bound to a PSMA targeting moiety via a linker of the instant claims.
The compound of Formula A of the instant claims encompasses the radiotracer of copending Application No. 18/474,218, has the same properties and is capable of the same functions, such as generating an imaging of a subject, detecting a disease and monitoring or determining the effect of cancer treatment.
The compound of Formula A of the instant claims encompasses the radiotracer of copending Application No. 18/474,218, has the same properties and is capable of the same functions, such as having a radiochemical purity, activity concentration, molar activity, and radionuclide purity of
copending Application No. 18/474,218.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 75-100 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 75-104 of copending Application No. 19/452,054 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of Formula A of copending Application No. 19/452,054 comprises
and
encompasses the
and
of the instant claims.
The compound of Formula A of the instant claims encompasses the compound of Formula A of
copending Application No. 19/452,054, has the same properties and is capable of the same functions, such as generating an imaging of a subject, detecting PSMS-receptor-expressing tumors, a theranostic method or a method of treating a cancer that expresses a PSMS receptor.
The compound of Formula A of the instant claims encompasses the compound of Formula A of copending Application No. 19/452,054, has the same properties and is capable of the same functions, such as having a radiochemical purity, end of synthesis by sum of radionuclide impurities, activity concentration, and radionuclide purity of copending Application No. 19/452,054.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1618