DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Application filed 02/25/2026.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sealing component and sealing bars must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/08/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 02/25/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Landolt et al. (US 20230219707; Landolt).
Regarding Claim 1 Landolt discloses a guide mount (6) comprising:
a first surface (annotated Fig. 1) extending along an opening (5a) of a sealing apparatus (1) when the guide mount (6) is affixed to the sealing apparatus (1);
a second surface (annotated Fig. 1) formed with the first surface (annotated Fig. 1) and extending away from the opening (5a) of the sealing apparatus (1); and
a third surface (annotated Fig. 1) formed with the second surface (annotated Fig. 1) and extending toward the opening of the sealing apparatus (1), the third surface (annotated Fig. 1) being configured to guide an opening of a pouch (P) to be sealed by the sealing apparatus (1) through the opening (5a) of the sealing apparatus (1),
wherein a distance between the third surface (annotated Fig. 1) and a flat surface (8) perpendicular to and outside of the sealing apparatus (1) is greater than a thickness of the opening of the pouch (P) to be sealed. (Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 2 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the distance between the third surface (annotated Fig. 1) and the flat surface (8) decreases as the third surface (annotated Fig. 1) approaches a sealing component (13) of the sealing apparatus (1) within the opening of the sealing apparatus (1).
Regarding Claim 3 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the sealing component comprises one or more sealing bars (34).
Regarding Claim 4 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the first surface (annotated Fig. 1) and the second surface (annotated Fig. 1) are approximately perpendicular. (Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 5 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses an interface between the second surface (annotated Fig. 1) and the third surface (annotated Fig. 1) is a U-shaped interface. (Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 9 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses at an interface between the second surface (annotated Fig. 1) and the third surface (annotated Fig. 1), the third surface has a first end, and wherein the third surface includes a second end shorter than the first end, the second end being within the opening of the opening of the sealing apparatus (1) when the guide mount (6) is affixed to the sealing apparatus. (Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 15 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the sealing apparatus comprises a heat sealing apparatus. (1)
Regarding Claim 16 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the heat sealing apparatus comprises a semi-automatic heat sealing apparatus. (par 284)
Regarding Claim 17 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the flat surface comprises a flat surface of a conveyor belt (8).
Regarding Claim 20 Landolt discloses a system comprising:
a sealing apparatus (1);
a flat surface (8) perpendicular to and outside of the sealing apparatus (1); and
a guide mount (6) comprising:
a first surface (annotated Fig. 1) extending along an opening (5a) of the sealing apparatus (1) when the guiding mount (6) is affixed to the sealing apparatus (1);
a second surface (annotated Fig. 1) formed with the first surface (annotated Fig. 1) and extending away from the opening of the sealing apparatus (1); and
a third surface (annotated Fig. 1) formed with the second surface (annotated Fig. 1) and extending toward the opening of the sealing apparatus (1), the third surface (annotated Fig. 1) being configured to guide an opening of a pouch (P) to be sealed by the sealing apparatus (1) through the opening of the sealing apparatus (1),
wherein a distance between the third surface (annotated Fig. 1) and the flat surface (8) is greater than a thickness of the opening of the pouch (P) to be sealed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 10-14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landolt (US 20230219707).
Regarding Claim 6 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the U-shaped interface
However, Landolt does not expressly disclose the U-shaped interface has a radius of 0.2 inches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form the U-shaped interface of Landolt with a radius of 0.2 inches since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)
Regarding Claim 7 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses an interface between the first surface and the second surface
However, Landolt does not expressly teach an interface between the first surface and the second surface is rounded.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form an interface between the first surface and second surface a rounded interface since it has been held that changes in shape was a matter of choice for a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the structures is significant. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
Regarding Claim 8 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the guide mount
However, Landolt does not expressly disclose the guide mount is clear.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form the guide mount as clear since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness. MPEP 2144.07
Regarding Claim 10 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses an interface of the second surface and the third surface and an end of the third surface closest to rollers of the sealing apparatus.
Landolt does not expressly disclose an interface of the second surface and the third surface and an end of the third surface closest to rollers of the sealing apparatus is 2 inches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form an interface of the second surface and the third surface and an end of the third surface closest to rollers of the sealing apparatus is 2 inches since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)
Regarding Claim 11 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses an interface of the second surface and the third surface and an end of the third surface closest to rollers of the sealing apparatus.
Landolt does not expressly disclose an interface of the second surface and the third surface and an end of the third surface closest to rollers of the sealing apparatus is 1 inch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form an interface of the second surface and the third surface and an end of the third surface closest to rollers of the sealing apparatus is 1 inch since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)
Regarding Claim 12 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses a thickness of each of the first surface, the second surface, and the third surface.
Landolt does not expressly disclose a thickness of each of the first surface, the second surface, and the third surface is 0.1 inches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form a thickness of each of the first surface, the second surface, and the third surface is 0.1 inches since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)
Regarding Claim 13 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses a distance between the third surface and the flat surface.
Landolt does not expressly disclose the distance between the third surface and the flat surface is less than 0.4 inches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form the distance between the third surface and the flat surface is less than 0.4 inches since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)
Regarding Claim 14 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses a distance between an edge of the first surface, when affixed to the sealing apparatus, and an interface of the second surface and the third surface.
Landolt does not expressly disclose a distance between an edge of the first surface, when affixed to the sealing apparatus, and an interface of the second surface and the third surface is 1 inch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form a distance between an edge of the first surface, when affixed to the sealing apparatus, and an interface of the second surface and the third surface is 1 inch since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)
Regarding Claim 18 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the pouch.
Landolt does not expressly disclose the pouch comprises a pouch configured to enclose a medical device for one or more of storage or shipment.
Landolt teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to enclose a medical device within the pouch for one or more of storage or shipment since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II)
Regarding Claim 19 Landolt discloses the invention as described above. Landolt further discloses the guide mount.
Landolt does not expressly disclose the guide mount comprises a polycarbonate guide mount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form the guide mount comprises a polycarbonate guide mount since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness. MPEP 2144.07
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Teteishi US 4860523; Figs. 3 & 9a
Norman US 4537585; Figs. 8-10
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731