DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed with the US on 02/25/2026 and having an Effective Filing Date of 08/25/2023 and the Response to Restriction/Election Requirement filed 07/29/2026, in which claims 1-30 are pending, claims 26-30 are withdrawn as directed to a non-elected invention and claims 1-25 are ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05 MARCH 2026, 13 AUGUST 2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has/have been considered. An initialed copy of Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-25 in the reply filed on 07/29/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 26-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18 and 19 recite the limitation “thioyl”. It is not clear what a thioyl group is and it is believed this is meant to be “thiol”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “a polymer with ionizable groups”. This conflicts with the same term in claim 1. Correction is required.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “a polymer with at least one basic group”. This conflicts with “the polymer” of claim 1. Correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
A “ligand” as used in the claims is interpreted to be a separate molecule from (i.e. not covalently bonded to) the “polymer comprising ionisable groups”, as described throughout the Instant Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/053326 A1 (hereinafter “Hankins”) in view of US 8,932,983 B1 (hereinafter “Harris”) and M. Chanda, K.F. O'Driscoll, G.L. Rempel, Sorption of precious metals by polybenzimidazole protonated with mercaptoacetic acid I. Copper, Silver and Gold, Reactive Polymers, Ion Exchangers, Sorbents, Volume 5, Issue 2, 1987, Pages 157-169, as provided with the IDS dated 08/13/2026 (hereinafter “Chanda”).
Regarding Claim 1 Hankins discloses a process for removing a metal species from a solution, wherein the solution comprises the metal species and a solvent, wherein the process comprises treating the solution with a functionalized polymer (i.e. a polymer which has metal binding groups covalently attached to it to increase metal binding) comprising ionisable groups to form a complex; and treating the solution with a precipitant (surfactant); wherein:
the ionisable groups of the polymer are basic (such as when it is PEI), or wherein the ionisable groups of the polymer are acidic (such as when it is PAA);
the polymer comprises at least one functional group that binds the metal species; and
the precipitant comprises at least one group that binds the metal species and/or the polymer, and at least one hydrophobic moiety. Harris P6/L10-P7/L32, P14/L20-P15/L31
Hankins does not disclose a ligand wherein when the ionisable groups of the polymer are basic the ligand comprises at least one acidic group, or wherein when the ionisable groups of the polymer are acidic the ligand comprises at least one basic group; or the ligand comprises at least one group that binds the metal species.
However, Chanda discloses a similar method of recovering metal ions from a solution using a polymer comprising ionizable groups, wherein the polymer is polybenzimidazole (PBI) which is protonated by a ligand mercaptoacetic acid (MAA, a.k.a. Thioglycolic acid) which increases binding of metals (i.e. the MAA electrostatically binds the PBI polymer), the PBI-MAA is used to absorb metal ions in solution such that the metal forms a complex with the polymer and ligand. Wherein it is disclosed that the MAA is attached to the PBI by an acid-base interaction (i.e. electrostatic bonding) instead of a covalent bond attachment because the relatively weaker acid-base interaction (electrostatic bonding) of the MAA to the PBI, as opposed to covalent bonding, allows the absorbed metal mercaptide to be easily removed from the polymer complex by treatment with alkali solution for recovery of the metal and recycling of the PBI polymer; wherein it is noted that the any weak-base resin can be used to bind the mercaptyl ligand (Abstract, Introduction, Conclusion).
Further Harris discloses a similar method of recovering metal ions from a solution using a polymer comprising ionizable groups and a ligand to enable selectivity of compounds removed, wherein the polymer may be chitosan and may include PEI, (C4/L3-C5/L22, C12/L26-C14/L35), wherein the ligand is “associated” with the chitosan, which may mean chemically bonded or merely that it is “attracted” to the chitosan; and wherein the ligand is chosen from “thioglycolic acid, terephthalic Acid, cysteine, cysteine hydrochloride, 3-mercaptopropionic acid, 4-mercaptobenzoic acid, mercaptoacetic acid, (3-mercaptopropyl)trimethoxysilane, (3-mercaptopropyl)triethoxysilane, Trichloro(3-chloropropyl)silane, 3,4-diamino benzoic acid, a 3,4-dihydroxybenzoic, 2-amino-5-hydroxybenzoic acid moiety, serine diacetic acid moiety, 3-nitro-4-amino benzoic acid moiety, threonine moiety, amino acids such as glycine, valine, leucine, serine moieties, phenylarsonic acid moiety, catechol and/or salicylic acid moiety” (C14/L50-61, C15/L15-18; Claim 6).
Thus both Chanda and Harris are seen to teach that attaching functional groups to an ionizable polymer via ligands for increased selective metal ion removal using electrostatic attraction is a known alternative to directly covalently bonding the functional groups to the polymer as done in Hankins, and further provides the additional benefit of allowing the absorbed metal to be easily removed from the polymer complex for recovery of the metal and recycling of the polymer.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Hankins by attaching the functional groups to the base ionizable polymer using electrostatically bonded ligands such as those disclosed by Chanda and Harris because attaching functional groups to an ionizable polymer via ligands for increased selective metal ion removal using electrostatic attraction is a known alternative to directly covalently bonding the functional groups to the polymer, and further provides the additional benefit of allowing the absorbed metal to be easily removed from the polymer complex for recovery of the metal and recycling of the polymer.
Thus in the combined method the solution would be treated with a polymer comprising ionizable groups as disclosed by Hankins, and an electrostatically attached ligand as disclosed by Chanda and Harris, and a surfactant/precipitant and disclosed by Hankins. Where in an embodiment where the polymer is positively charged it may PEI, which inherently has basic groups, and the ligand may be mercaptoacetic acid, cysteine or 3-mercaptopropionic acid, i.e. which inherently have carboxyl acidic groups, and inherently have at least one group that binds the metal species. See MPEP 2112 with regard to inherency.
Regarding Claim 2 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the ligand electrostatically binds the polymer; supra.
Regarding Claim 3 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the complex comprises: a positively charged species formed from the polymer (as inherent to PEI which may be the polymer with ionizable groups Hankins P14/L20-P15/L6) and a negatively charged species formed from the ligand (as inherent to cysteine, which may be the ligand and has carboxyl groups Harris C15/L15-18; Claim 6); and the metal species; i.e. because the ligand is attracted to both the polymer and the metal species and the surfactant is attracted to the polymer; supra.
Regarding Claims 4-5 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein the process comprises: mixing the polymer with the ligand in solution (supra) which will inherently form a salt in the liquid phase; wherein the salt comprises a positively charged species formed from the polymer and a negatively charged species formed from the ligand, (wherein the polymer with ionizable groups may be PEI, which inherently forms a positively charged species due to amine groups Hankins P14/L20-P15/L6) and the ligand may be cysteine which inherently forms a negatively charged species due to carboxyl groups Harris C15/L15-18; Claim 6);)
Regarding Claim 6 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein treating with the precipitant (surfactant) causes the complex to precipitate from the solution; Hankins P44/L4-21).
Regarding Claim 7 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein the metal species is selected from noble metal species, including platinum metal species, copper species, gold species, silver species, or a combination thereof; Hankins P26/L6-21.
Regarding Claim 8 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein the metal species is a metallic ion, optionally wherein the metal species is a metallic cation; Hankins P26/L6-21.
Regarding Claim 9 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein the polymer with ionizable groups may be PEI Hankins (P14/L20-P15/L6); (i.e. which inherently has ionisable group which are basic N-containing groups; and the ligand may be cysteine or 3-mercaptopropionic acid Harris (C15/L15-18; Claim 6), i.e. which inherently comprise at least one acidic group, carboxyl.
Regarding Claim 10 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 9, wherein the polymer with ionizable groups may be polyethyleneimine (PEI) or polyallylamine (PAA); Hankins (P14/L20-P15/L6).
Regarding Claim 11 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 9, wherein the ligand may be cysteine or 3-mercaptopropionic acid Harris (C15/L15-18; Claim 6), i.e. which inherently comprise at least one acidic group, carboxyl.
Regarding Claim 12 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein the ionisable groups of the polymer may be acidic Hankins P15/L7-31; and the ligand may be cysteine or 3-mercaptopropionic acid Harris (C15/L15-18; Claim 6), i.e. which inherently comprise at least one basic group, amine.
Regarding Claim 13 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 12, wherein the ionisable groups of the polymer may be carboxyl groups, Hankins P15/L7-31.
Regarding Claim 14 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 12, wherein the polymer may be poly(meth)acrylic acid, and thus inherently comprises monomeric units which are aliphatic hydrocarbons, and wherein the ionisable groups are carboxyl groups; Hankins P15/L7-31.
Regarding Claim 15 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 13, wherein the polymer may be poly(meth)acrylic acid, Hankins P15/L7-31; and wherein the ligand may be cysteine or 3-mercaptopropionic acid Harris (C15/L15-18; Claim 6), i.e. which inherently comprise at least one basic group, amine, which is an N-containing group.
Regarding Claim 16 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein the ligand may be cysteine or 3-mercaptopropionic acid Harris (C15/L15-18; Claim 6), which inherently comprise groups including sulfur and oxygen atoms, and cysteine additionally has a group with a nitrogen atom, any of which may be considered the at least one group that binds the metal species.
Regarding Claim 17 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 16, wherein the ligand may be cysteine or 3-mercaptopropionic acid Harris (C15/L15-18; Claim 6), which inherently comprise groups including thiol and carboxylic acid, and cysteine additionally has an amine/amide group, any of which may be considered the at least one group that binds the metal species.
Regarding Claim 18-19 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein the ligand may be cysteine Harris (C15/L15-18; Claim 6), i.e. which comprises (i.e. inherently)(i) a C3 hydrocarbyl, and (ii) an amine group, a thiol group and a carboxylic acid group (i.e. at least one amine group and at least one thioyl group; or at least one carboxylic acid and at least one amine or thiol as claimed.
Regarding Claim 20 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein the precipitant is a surfactant with ionisable groups (i.e. an anionic surfactant), the ionisable groups being of opposite charge to the complex-forming polymer; Hankins P15/L3-6.
Regarding Claim 21 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 20, wherein: (i) the ionisable groups of the polymer are basic, and the precipitant is an anionic surfactant, Hankins P15/L3-6; or (ii) the ionisable groups of the polymer are acidic, and the precipitant is a cationic surfactant; Hankins P15/L7-31.
Regarding Claim 22 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein:
the metal species is selected from platinum group, gold and silver metal species; Hankins P26/L6-21;
the ionisable groups of the polymer are basic N-containing groups (i.e. as are inherent to PEI); Hankins (P14/L20-P15/L6);
the ligand may be cysteine, i.e. which comprises (i.e. inherently) a C3 alkyl and: (i) at least one carboxyl group, and (ii) at least one thiol, Harris (C15/L15-18; Claim 6); and
the precipitant is an anionic surfactant; Hankins P15/L3-6.
While this specific paring of metal species, ionizable groups of the polymer, ligand, and precipitant are not all taught together, they are each taught as options in the process that may be used together, and would therefore have been obvious to use together in one embodiment.
Regarding Claim 23 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 22, wherein the ligand (cysteine) has the formula:
wherein n is 0; m is 1; L is a carboxyl group; A is thiol; X is C; and R is amine.
Regarding Claim 24 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 1, wherein:
the metal species is a copper species; Hankins P26/L6-21.
the ionisable groups of the polymer are basic N-containing groups (i.e. as are inherent to PEI); Hankins (P14/L20-P15/L6);
the ligand may be 3-Mercaptopropionic acid, i.e. which comprises (i.e. inherently) a C3 alkyl and: (i) at least one carboxyl group, and (ii) at least one thiol, Harris (C15/L15-18; Claim 6); and
the precipitant is an anionic surfactant; Hankins P15/L3-6.
While this specific paring of metal species, ionizable groups of the polymer, ligand, and precipitant are not all taught together, they are each taught as options in the process that may be used together, and would therefore have been obvious to use together in one embodiment.
Regarding Claim 25 Hankins in view of Chanda and Harris discloses the process according to claim 24, wherein the ligand 3-Mercaptopropionic acid (supra) has the formula:
wherein n is 0; m is 1; L is a carboxyl group; A is thiol; and R is hydrogen.
Conclusion
/ERIC J MCCULLOUGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773