DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Application 19/551,149 was filed on February 26, 2026, and is a Continuation of U.S. Application No. 17/685,111, filed March 2, 2022, which claims the benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/164,277, filed March 22, 2021
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 15, 2026 was filed before the mailing date of this non-final action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent Claims
MPEP 2106 Step 2A- Prong 1:
Independent claims 1, 9, and 17 recite, receive video data comprising scans of at least one room;
receive a data set of objects classified from the video data, the data set of objects comprising a classification for each object;
determine at least one object to remove from the data set of objects by comparing the data set of objects to at least one of an include data set of objects to include in an inventory list or an exclude data set of objects to exclude from the inventory list;
remove the at least one object from the data set of objects to form the inventory list of items for a move;
access a weight data set associating classifications of objects with weights;
associate a weight with each item of the inventory list by comparing the classification of the item to the weight data set;
calculate a total estimated weight of the inventory list as an accumulation of the weights associated with the items of the inventory list;
generate a survey comprising the inventory list and the total estimated weight; and
transmit the survey.
The limitations above are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation cover “certain methods of organizing human activity” (including sales activities or behaviors, or business relations). Specifically, generating a virtual survey for moving services is establishing business relationships and performing sales activities (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)).
Additionally, the limitations include mental processes (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion) because they can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper. Specifically, claims to classify objects from video data, create inventory lists by comparing objects, associating weight data and calculating a total estimated weight, and generating a survey with the inventory list and total weight, can all be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
MPEP 2106 Step 2A- Prong 2:
The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, 9, and 17 as a whole amount to: merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, or “apply it”.
Independent claims 1, 9, and 17 recite the following additional elements to perform the above recited steps: a memory (claims 1, 9, and 17), one or more hardware processors coupled to the memory (claims 1, 9, and 17), an application on a remote device (claims 1, 9, and 17), an Internet connection (claims 1, 9, and 17), an artificial intelligence engine (claims 1, 9, and 17), one or more machine learning models (claims 1, 9, and 17), a virtual survey (claims 1, 9, and 17), non-transitory processor-readable storage medium (claim 19). These additional elements are generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality, and are recited at a high level of generality. As such, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Individually and as a whole, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because the claims do not: improve the functioning of the computer itself or any other technology or technical field; apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; add meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment to transform the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter; amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer.
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
Independent claims 1, 9, and 17 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements are generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Alone or in combination, the additional elements do not contribute significantly more than the judicial exception and as a result, the claims are ineligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-5, 10-13, and 17-19, recite additional details that merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations without reciting any additional elements. They are therefore, ineligible for the reasons as discussed above with respect to independent claims 1, 9, and 17. The additional elements in claims 6-8, 14-16, and 20 are discussed below.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A- Prong 2:
Dependent claims 6-8, 14-16, and 20, recite additional details that merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea. Claims 6-8, 14-16, and 20 also recite the additional elements of a database (claims 6, 14, and 20), an email message (claims 7 and 15), a distributed ledger (claims 8 and 16), a smart contract on the distributed ledger (claims 8 and 16), and a payment processing system (claims 8 and 16). Each of these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality such that when viewed as a whole, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
With respect to claims 6-8, 14-16, and 20, as discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element amounts to no more than: a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., applying the exception using a generic computer component, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional elements of a database (claims 6, 14, and 20), an email message (claims 7 and 15), a distributed ledger (claims 8 and 16), a smart contract on the distributed ledger (claims 8 and 16), and a payment processing system (claims 8 and 16), do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claims 6-8, 14-16, and 20 are also ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, 12, and 17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0244267 to Rattner et al. (Rattner) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0122748 to Donald (Donald).
As to claim 1, Rattner teaches, a computing system, comprising: a memory; and one or more hardware processors coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to (“One aspect of the disclosure relates to a system configured for providing artificial intelligence-based cost estimates for services …” and “FIG. 1 illustrates a system configured for facilitating AI-based cost estimates for services, in accordance with one or more implementations. In some implementations, system 100 may include one or more server 102. The server(s) 102 may be configured to communicate with one or more user computing platforms 104 according to a client/server architecture …” [0004 and 0048-0050]):
receive, from an application on a remote device via an Internet connection, video data comprising scans of at least one room (“In some implementations, a workflow may include a user launching an app, via user device 804, or another messaging channel (SMS, MMS, Facebook Messenger, web browser, etc.), the app may reside on user device 804. User device 804 may include a smartphone, tablet, and/or other device configured for scanning their room(s) and/or other locations …” and “In some implementations, the description data comprises one or more media types, the media types comprising at least one or more of video data, image data, audio data, text data, user interface/display data, and/or sensor data …” [0100-0101 and 0104]);
provide the video data to an artificial intelligence engine as input to one or more machine learning models (“Analysis from AI may be used to predict the cost of a service (e.g., detecting number of items (e.g., objects), size and weight of items (objects), a location of items (objects), etc., and translating this into cost) …” and “FIG. 6B illustrates an exemplary implementation of artificial intelligence (AI) algorithms. The AI algorithms may include natural language processing algorithms, machine learning algorithms, neural networks, regression algorithms, and/or other artificial intelligence algorithms …” [0047 and 0080]);
receive, from the artificial intelligence engine, a data set of objects classified from the video data, the data set of objects comprising a classification for each object (“… However, at the block level the AI algorithm may use the outputs such as the confidence values for predictions and other meta-data to classify the object …” and “… For example, an object's type or category is first determined using artificial intelligence algorithms (such as determining an object to be a refrigerator), then the object may be classified to a size by choosing amongst a standard set of sizes, shapes, material, brand, among others …” [0088 and 0117]);
determine at least one object to remove from the data set of objects by comparing the data set of objects to at least one of an include data set of objects to include in an inventory list or an exclude data set of objects to exclude from the inventory list (“At an operation 601c-3 spurious identifications and detections [i.e., an exclude data set of objects to exclude from the inventory list] can be filtered out by using techniques such as non-max suppression (this example is not intended to be limiting) between objects from the same or different classes needed to generate an itemized statement …” and “… The attribute values can be used to provide feedback by augmenting the camera display with the UI elements such as a bounding box, or a button, or a color coded icon display scheme that provides the user information on the objects attribute values: for example, green boxes or buttons for objects that are classified to be part of the move [i.e., an include data set of objects to include in an inventory list] and red as those that are not part of the move [i.e., an exclude data set of objects to exclude from the inventory list] …” [0084-0090 and 0107]);
remove the at least one object from the data set of objects to form the inventory list of items for a move (“In some implementations, interactive quote generation module 808 may select a subset of objects for the service [i.e., the inventory list]. For example, if the destination does not have a patio, any patio furniture at the source establishment may be removed from the moving service quote …” and “… For example, if the destination does not have a patio or backyard, quote monitor module 812 they removed the mark patio items-related costs from the interactive quote and request a confirmation from the consumer” [0138 and 0165]);
access, from the memory, a weight data set associating classifications of objects with weights; associate a weight with each item of the inventory list by comparing the classification of the item to the weight data set (“Analysis from AI may be used to predict the cost of a service (e.g., detecting number of items (e.g., objects), size and weight of items (objects), a location of items (objects), etc., and translating this into cost) …” and “… As an example, the size of a bed may be detected as a king, queen, or indeterminate during detections on individual frames. However, at the block level the AI algorithm may use the outputs such as the confidence values for predictions and other meta-data to classify the object. Similarly, if an object is predicted to belong to two closely related classes that vary on sizes, such as a loveseat and a large sofa, the AI algorithm may use the confidence values of the predicted classes to adjust the volume and weight of the object” and “… For example, an object's type or category is first determined using artificial intelligence algorithms (such as determining an object to be a refrigerator), then the object may be classified to a size by choosing amongst a standard set of sizes, shapes, material, brand, among others. This enables the attributes such as the dimension, area, weight, value etc. to be estimated …” [0047 and 0088 and 0117]);
generate a virtual survey comprising the inventory list (“In some implementations, users may review itemized quotes and/or make changes if desired …” and “… FIG. 12 illustrates providing AI-based cost estimates for services, in accordance with one or more implementations” [0063 and 0172-0175] Examiner notes Fig. 12 showing an “inventory” list on a remote device).
Rattner does not teach, calculate a total estimated weight of the inventory list as an accumulation of the weights associated with the items of the inventory list; a virtual survey comprising the total estimated weight. However, Donald teaches, calculate a total estimated weight of the inventory list as an accumulation of the weights associated with the items of the inventory list (“… (e) updating the inventory file with each item chosen thereby creating a cumulative total weight of the items in the listing by reading data comprising specific items and their weights and/or creating a cumulative total volume of the items in the listing by reading data comprising specific items and their volumes and writing the listing, its associated weight and/or volume to the inventory dataset” and “… Once the weight and volume have been determined for each item these amounts may then be totaled for all items (109). The calculation may be done on an ongoing cumulative basis as each item is chosen or a final calculation done when the item choosing process has been completed …” [0024-0029 and 0066-0067]);
a virtual survey comprising the total estimated weight (“The present invention provides a method and system for creating an inventory of the contents of a household or a business for the purpose of moving those contents from one location to another and to permit the mover to allocate van space to accomplish the move. The inventory comprises a listing of a plurality of items, including an estimate of the total weight and/or volume for the total inventory” [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, calculate a total estimated weight of the inventory list as an accumulation of the weights associated with the items of the inventory list; a virtual survey comprising the total estimated weight, as taught by Donald with the AI-based relocation cost estimates of Rattner. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Donald that doing so would permit an audit process to verify the scaled weight against the estimated weight [0005].
Regarding claim 9, this claim is essentially coextensive with claim 1 other than it recites a method instead of a system. Because Rattner teaches a method as well as a system (see at least Rattner [0005]), claim 9 can be rejected with the same rationale as claim 1, relying on the same combination of Rattner and Donald to render the claim obvious. Similar dependent claims below will be treated together for the sake of brevity.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is essentially coextensive with claim 1 other than it recites a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium instead of a system. Because Rattner teaches a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium as well as a system (see at least Rattner [0177]), claim 17 can be rejected with the same rationale as claim 1, relying on the same combination of Rattner and Donald to render the claim obvious. Similar dependent claims below will be treated together for the sake of brevity.
As to claims 3 and 11, Rattner in view of Donald teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as discussed above. Rattner further teaches, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to: receive, from the application via the Internet connection, modified data of the virtual survey; update the virtual survey by replacing at least a portion of the virtual survey with the modified data of the virtual survey; recalculate at least one of the weights associated with the items of the inventory list or sizes associated with the items of the inventory list (“In some implementations, the ability for consumers to correct and/or update quotes may be provided …” and “In some implementations, users may review itemized quotes and/or make changes if desired (e.g., painting trim may be too expensive, so they may choose to remove that item; they may decide they are going to move particular items themselves, etc.). Quotes may update in real-time or near real-time …” and “… A training algorithm analyzes the training data and adjusts the behavior of the neural network by adjusting the parameters (e.g., weights of one or more layers) of the neural network based on the training data …” [0046 and 0063 and 0080-0091]);
transmit an updated virtual survey to the application on the remote device via the Internet connection; and receive, from the application via the Internet connection, acceptance data indicating acceptance of the updated virtual survey (“… Once a quote looks acceptable, user may book the painting and/or moving job (as just two examples) from the app …” and “FIG. 6A shows a system 600 and how the inventory may be optionally human verified, in accordance with one or more implementations …” and “… Once the quote looks good, the user may book the moving job from the app …” [0063 and 0079 and 0167]).
As to claims 4 and 12, Rattner in view of Donald teaches all of the limitations of claims 3 and 11 as discussed above. Rattner further teaches, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to: collect training data from the modified data of the virtual survey; provide the training data to the artificial intelligence engine; train, using the artificial intelligence engine, weights of the one or more machine learning models using the training data to update classifications of objects (“The AI improvement engine 306 may combine the original analysis output from the AI with any changes made by a consumer, service provider, or dedicated human reviewer and provide feedback to the AI framework to improve the trained model …” and “… A training algorithm analyzes the training data and adjusts the behavior of the neural network by adjusting the parameters (e.g., weights of one or more layers) of the neural network based on the training data …” [0076 and 0080-0091]);
generate, using the artificial intelligence engine, feature data for the one or more machine learning models from training using the training data; and store the feature data in the memory (“… The training data may include a set of training samples. Each sample may be a pair comprising an input object (typically a vector, which may be called a feature vector) and a desired output value (also called the supervisory signal) …” [0083]).
Claims 2, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0244267 to Rattner et al. (Rattner) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0122748 to Donald (Donald), as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0344097 to Horowitz et al. (Horowitz).
As to claims 2, 10, and 18, Rattner in view of Donald teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17 as discussed above. Rattner further teaches, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to: receive, from the application, pickup address data and dropoff address data (“… For example, service data module 810 may receive as input source and destination addresses, zip codes …” and “In some implementations, service data module 810 may be configured to receive service data directly through consumer interaction module 802. This includes, demographic information, source and destination addresses …” [0125 and 0128]);
access, from the memory, a size data set associating classifications of objects with sizes; associate a size with each item of the inventory list by comparing the classification of the item to the size data set (“… Similarly, if an object is predicted to belong to two closely related classes that vary on sizes, such as a loveseat and a large sofa, the AI algorithm may use the confidence values of the predicted classes to adjust the volume and weight of the object” and “… For example, an object's type or category is first determined using artificial intelligence algorithms (such as determining an object to be a refrigerator), then the object may be classified to a size by choosing amongst a standard set of sizes, shapes, material, brand, among others …” [0088 and -0116-0117]);
generate an updated virtual survey comprising the inventory list, (“… The output may be an updated inventory. The inventory may additionally contain size or weight information for the objects that are detected” and “… By way of non-limiting example, if the disassembly of a dining table adds too much cost, the user may remove that line item and the price may update in real-time …” [0079 and 0167]).
Rattner does not teach, calculate a total estimated size of the inventory list as an accumulation of the sizes associated with the items of the inventory list; a virtual survey comprising the total estimated weight, and the total estimated size. However, Donald teaches, calculate a total estimated size of the inventory list as an accumulation of the sizes associated with the items of the inventory list (“… (e) updating the inventory file with each item chosen thereby creating a cumulative total weight of the items in the listing by reading data comprising specific items and their weights and/or creating a cumulative total volume of the items in the listing by reading data comprising specific items and their volumes and writing the listing, its associated weight and/or volume to the inventory dataset” and “… Once the weight and volume have been determined for each item these amounts may then be totaled for all items (109). The calculation may be done on an ongoing cumulative basis as each item is chosen or a final calculation done when the item choosing process has been completed …” [0024-0029 and 0066-0067]);
a virtual survey comprising the total estimated weight, and the total estimated size (“The present invention provides a method and system for creating an inventory of the contents of a household or a business for the purpose of moving those contents from one location to another and to permit the mover to allocate van space to accomplish the move. The inventory comprises a listing of a plurality of items, including an estimate of the total weight and/or volume for the total inventory” [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, calculate a total estimated size of the inventory list as an accumulation of the sizes associated with the items of the inventory list; a virtual survey comprising the total estimated weight, and the total estimated size, as taught by Donald with the AI-based relocation cost estimates of Rattner. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Donald that doing so would permit an audit process to verify the scaled weight against the estimated weight [0005].
Rattner in view of Donald does not teach, determine an international move status by comparing the pickup address data to the dropoff address data. However, Horowitz teaches, determine an international move status by comparing the pickup address data to the dropoff address data (“… First page of website interface 41 includes pick-up information section 42 in which a user is prompted to enter information, i.e., user input data, associated with a pick-up location. For example, the pick-up information may include a pick-up location address and pick-up location characteristics, among other information related to the pick-up location … Delivery section 44 allows user to enter delivery information, i.e., user input data, associated with a delivery location where one or more of the items are to be relocated or dropped off. For example, the delivery location may be a final destination address where any remaining relocated items on a moving vehicle are to be dropped off …” and “… For example, user input data may indicate that the customer is moving from country to another country in which interface 41 or apparatus 14 will calculate, based at least in part on the user data, the shipping container cost, taxes, fees, etc. required to move the plurality of items” [0041-0042 and 0075]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, determine an international move status by comparing the pickup address data to the dropoff address data, as taught by Horowitz with the AI-based relocation cost estimates of Rattner in view of Donald. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Horowitz that doing so would optimize customer acquisition, resource utilization, and profits for a moving company [0007].
Claims 5, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0244267 to Rattner et al. (Rattner) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0122748 to Donald (Donald), as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0074744 to Ben-Harosh et al. (Ben-Harosh).
As to claims 5, 13, and 19, Rattner in view of Donald teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17 as discussed above. Rattner further teaches, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to: receive feedback data for a (“The AI improvement engine 306 may combine the original analysis output from the AI with any changes made by a consumer, service provider, or dedicated human reviewer and provide feedback to the AI framework to improve the trained model …” and “In some implementations, quote monitor block 812 may request user feedback for inventory attributes with undetermined object type value, or where the confidence on the object type is low …” and “… The user may review the itemized quote and make necessary changes as desired …” [0075-0076 and 0156 and 0167]);
receive performance data for the (“… the system may give an estimated move time and/or move difficulty (e.g., for a moving related example), and or other information …” and “In some implementations, inventory generation module 806 may estimate the time and labor requirements for objects that will require disassembly and assembly and increase the labor requirements attribute of the objects …” [0060 and 0119-0121]);
provide the feedback data and the performance data to the artificial intelligence engine; train, using the artificial intelligence engine, weights of the one or more machine learning models using the feedback data and the performance data to update service suggestion data for at least one object classification; and store updated service suggestion data in the memory (“The AI improvement engine 306 may combine the original analysis output from the AI with any changes made by a consumer, service provider, or dedicated human reviewer and provide feedback to the AI framework to improve the trained model …” and “… A training algorithm analyzes the training data and adjusts the behavior of the neural network by adjusting the parameters (e.g., weights of one or more layers) of the neural network based on the training data …” [0076 and 0080-0091]).
Rattner in view of Donald does not teach, receive feedback data for a rendered moving service; receive performance data for the rendered moving service. However, Ben-Harosh teaches, receive feedback data for a rendered moving service (“Some embodiments of the invention may support consumer reviews of movers. For example, some embodiments may enable a consumer to rate a mover after a move has been completed …” [0064-0066]);
receive performance data for the rendered moving service (“In another example alternative use, embodiments of the invention may gather and/or aggregate data over time which is of interest to various parties …” [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, receive feedback data for a rendered moving service; receive performance data for the rendered moving service, as taught by Ben-Harosh with the AI-based relocation cost estimates of Rattner in view of Donald. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Ben-Harosh that doing so would significantly reduce the amount of time a consumer, business or other entity spends coordinating a move [0005].
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0244267 to Rattner et al. (Rattner) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0122748 to Donald (Donald), as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 8,073,723 to Bilibin et al. (Bilibin).
As to claims 6, 14, and 20, Rattner in view of Donald teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17 as discussed above. Rattner further teaches, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to: receive, from the application, move parameter data comprising pickup location data, delivery location data, (“… For example, service data module 810 may receive as input source and destination addresses …” and “In some implementations, service data module 810 may be configured to receive service data directly through consumer interaction module 802. This includes, demographic information, source and destination addresses …” [0125 and 0128]);
identify at least one service provider of the plurality of service providers using the virtual survey and the move parameter data (“… If available, other relevant service companies able to perform the task may be recommended (e.g., the ad network approach as described above may be used to suggest a service provider)” [0069]);
generate cost estimate data and time estimate data for each service provider of the plurality of service providers by applying a pricing algorithm to the virtual survey, the move parameter data, the service provider rate data, and the service provider scheduling data (“Analysis from AI may be used to predict the cost of a service (e.g., detecting number of items (e.g., objects), size and weight of items (objects), a location of items (objects), etc., and translating this into cost) …” and “… he system may give an estimated move time and/or move difficulty (e.g., for a moving related example), and or other information” and “… In some implementations, interactive quote generation module 808, may estimate the relocation labor costs by using the attributes of the inventory and service data provided by the inventory generation module 806 and interactive quote generation module 808, respectively …” [0047 and 0060 and 0136-0137]);
transmit the cost estimate data and the time estimate data for the plurality of service providers to the application on the remote device via the Internet connection (“In some implementations, users may review itemized quotes and/or make changes if desired …” and “… FIG. 12 illustrates providing AI-based cost estimates for services, in accordance with one or more implementations” [0063 and 0172-0175]);
and generate the cost estimate data and the time estimate data without direct interaction or communication between the one or more hardware processors and any service provider device (“… The process to generate the itemized statement can be initiated by the consumer at their convenience in an asynchronous manner without the need to book appointments and/or wait for a service provider” [0004]).
Rattner in view of Donald does not teach, receive, from the application, move parameter data comprising shipment date data; access, from a database, service provider rate data and service provider scheduling data for a plurality of service providers. However, Bilibin teaches, receive, from the application, move parameter data comprising shipment date data (“As depicted in FIG. 36a, the Shipper is asked to input the Expected Ship Date 1060 …” [col. 31, line 64 - col. 32, line 26]);
access, from a database, service provider rate data and service provider scheduling data for a plurality of service providers (“… Each supported Carrier has a unique rating schedule, delivery and pickup rules and schedules, and certification requirements (the "Carrier Rules")” and “Carrier Rules, Shipper account information and other content is stored by the Servers, e.g., 20a in databases e.g. 22 …” and “… The default for Loss Protection is "Basic Coverage" 1080 which provides automatic coverage for the first $100.00 of Declared Value If the Declared Value option 1081 is selected and a value 1082 entered, the System will update the Single Day Rate Graphic Array 1096 with changes for each individual Carrier's rates, e.g., 1097 …” [col. 8, lines 15-21 and col. 12, lines 30-36 and col. 22, lines 32-64]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, receive, from the application, move parameter data comprising shipment date data; access, from a database, service provider rate data and service provider scheduling data for a plurality of service providers, as taught by Bilibin with the AI-based relocation cost estimates of Rattner in view of Donald. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Bilibin that doing so would enable a Shipper to compare each Carrier's various possible delivery schedules and associated charges for shipping a particular parcel [col. 2, lines 1-13].
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0244267 to Rattner et al. (Rattner) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0122748 to Donald (Donald) in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,073,723 to Bilibin et al. (Bilibin), as applied to claims 6 and 14 above, in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0150797 to Coyle et al. (Coyle) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0074744 to Ben-Harosh et al. (Ben-Harosh).
As to claims 7 and 15, Rattner in view of Donald in view of Bilibin teaches all of the limitations of claims 6 and 14 as discussed above. Rattner further teaches, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to: receive, from the application, offer request data (“… The data may be generated responsive to a user request, and/or automatically by the system (e.g., without initiation by a user)” and “In some implementations, interactive quote generation module 808 may offer services that may be related to the primary service being requested …” [0050 and 0144]);
receive offer data from the at least one service provider, (“… Home service providers may further augment information sent by consumers to update a quote …” and “In some implementations, interactive quote generation module 808 may be configured to generate, utilizing the machine learning models (e.g., the AI described herein), one or more interactive quotes for relocation cost estimates comprising at least one or more offers for products and/or services based on the plurality of items in the inventory list and the inventory attributes …” and “… In some implementations, interactive quote generation module 808 may offer services that may be related to the primary service being requested …” [0047 and 0136 and 0142-0151]);
update the cost estimate data using the offer data; transmit updated cost estimate data to the application on the remote device via the Internet connection (“… In some implementations, for example, the interactive quotes comprise one or more of a relocation cost estimate, and add-on relocation services and/or products comprising at least one or more of packing/unpacking services, disassembling/reassembling, junk removal, donations, reseller marketplaces, packaging material, insurance/maintenance contracts on service, and/or other information” and “… Quote monitor block 812 also processes the services, products and offers generated by the interactive quote generation module 808 and presents to the user through the consumer interaction module 802 …” [0136 and 0142-0151]).
Rattner in view of Donald in view of Bilibin does not teach, offer request data requesting a discount or a best and final offer from at least one service provider of the plurality of service providers; transmit an email message to the at least one service provider, the email message comprising the offer request data and at least one of the video data, the inventory list, the total estimated weight, or the move parameter data; the offer data comprising the discount or the best and final offer. However, Coyle teaches, offer request data requesting a discount or a best and final offer from at least one service provider of the plurality of service providers (“… In one embodiment, the methods and systems disclosed herein prompt a user and/or client for input, e.g., soliciting information regarding the preference of transportation method, range of cost, preferred date of arrival, etc. …” and “… In one embodiment, collecting a freight service option comprises collecting all the information about each vendor, offer price, weight load limitations, method of transportation, fuelling costs, customs fees, availability of space, discounts, route permit, shipment fulfillment history, reviews, business history, etc. …” and “… Previously, a client would have to sort through each freight service option to identify the proper information, e.g., rate, offer price, load weight limitation, transportation method, fueling costs, customs fees, availability of space, discounts, route permit, shipment fulfillment history, reviews, business history, etc. …” [0018 and 0031 and 0054]);
transmit an email message to the at least one service provider, the email message comprising the offer request data and at least one of the video data, the inventory list, the total estimated weight, or the move parameter data (“… In one embodiment, the methods and systems disclosed herein solicit and receive standing offers from vendors, e.g., standing offers sent by email, mail, fax, phone call, etc. …” [0039-0043]);
the offer data comprising the discount or the best and final offer (“… In one embodiment, collecting a freight service option comprises collecting all the information about each vendor, offer price, weight load limitations, method of transportation, fuelling costs, customs fees, availability of space, discounts, route permit, shipment fulfillment history, reviews, business history, etc. …” and “… Previously, a client would have to sort through each freight service option to identify the proper information, e.g., rate, offer price, load weight limitation, transportation method, fueling costs, customs fees, availability of space, discounts, route permit, shipment fulfillment history, reviews, business history, etc. …” [0031 and 0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, offer request data requesting a discount or a best and final offer from at least one service provider of the plurality of service providers; transmit an email message to the at least one service provider, the email message comprising the offer request data and at least one of the video data, the inventory list, the total estimated weight, or the move parameter data; the offer data comprising the discount or the best and final offer, as taught by Coyle with the AI-based relocation cost estimates of Rattner in view of Donald in view of Bilibin. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Coyle that doing so would compare various services in a timely and efficient manner [0006].
Rattner in view of Donald in view of Bilibin in view of Coyle does not teach, and store bound-not-to-exceed quote data associated with the updated cost estimate data. However, Ben-Harosh teaches, and store bound-not-to-exceed quote data associated with the updated cost estimate data (“FIG. 14 depicts a representative screen interface enabling a consumer to secure a binding quote for a move, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention” and “FIG. 14 depicts representative screen interface 1400, which allows a consumer to book a selected mover, thereby securing the mover's binding quote for the move …” [0023 and 0057-0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, and store bound-not-to-exceed quote data associated with the updated cost estimate data, as taught by Ben-Harosh with the AI-based relocation cost estimates of Rattner in view of Donald in view of Bilibin in view of Coyle. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Ben-Harosh that doing so would significantly reduce the amount of time a consumer, business or other entity spends coordinating a move [0005].
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0244267 to Rattner et al. (Rattner) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0122748 to Donald (Donald) in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,073,723 to Bilibin et al. (Bilibin), as applied to claims 6 and 14 above, in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0341910 to Broveleit (Broveleit).
As to claims 8 and 16, Rattner in view of Donald in view of Bilibin teaches all of the limitations of claims 6 and 14 as discussed above. Rattner further teaches, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to: receive, from the application, selection data selecting a selected service provider from the plurality of service providers; receive, from the application, acceptance data indicating acceptance of at least one service of the selected service provider (“… Once a quote looks acceptable, user may book the painting and/or moving job (as just two examples) from the app …” and “… Once the quote looks good, the user may book the moving job from the app …” [0063 and 0167]).
Rattner in view of Donald in view of Bilibin does not teach, record service contract data on a distributed ledger, the service contract data comprising the virtual survey and at least one of service data, cost data, location data, date data, payment method data, term data, or milestone data; store a plurality of copies of the service contract data across a plurality of computing devices of the distributed ledger; store a change to the service contract data responsive to receiving approval by a majority of the plurality of computing devices; permit access to the service contract data for a party associated with the service contract data; implement a smart contract on the distributed ledger; receive milestone completion data indicating completion of a milestone identified in the milestone data; trigger execution of payment for the at least one service in response to receiving the milestone completion data; and transmit payment information from the distributed ledger to a payment processing system. However, Broveleit teaches, record service contract data on a distributed ledger, the service contract data comprising the virtual survey and at least one of service data, cost data, location data, date data, payment method data, term data, or milestone data; store a plurality of copies of the service contract data across a plurality of computing devices of the distributed ledger (“… For example, the parameters of the request 210 may include equipment parameters (e.g., parameters indicating a size of a container to be used for the routing, a number of pieces of the commodity to be transported, dimensions of the commodity and/or each piece of the commodity, a weight of the commodity and/or each piece of the commodity, and the like), information identifying the commodity (e.g., they type, quantity, value, or other features of the commodity, which may include items of different types, sizes, weights, dimensions, etc.) …” and “… Upon receiving the authorization message 302, the logistics platform 110 may implement blockchain technology to generate a plurality of smart contracts …” and “To facilitate consolidations, the logistics platform 110 may be configured to identify regular freight that is being moved in particular sizes and/or quantities based on inputs (e.g., requests) of various consumers in the marketplace …” [0036 and 0040-0043 and 0055-0056]);
store a change to the service contract data responsive to receiving approval by a majority of the plurality of computing devices (“… Upon completing the operations, the blockchain ledger may be updated to reflect that a particular milestone and its corresponding operations have been completed …” and “… Multisig transactions may be transactions that require multiple keys to approve the completion of the transaction. For example and as shown in FIG. 7, in aspects, the logistics platform 110 may generate three keys: one for the provider (e.g., the carrier), one for the consumer (e.g., the party requesting the move), and one for the logistics platform 110. If two of the three keys are applied to a smart contract (e.g., two of the three parties agree the move was completed per the contract), the operations of at least a portion of the smart contract would be executed, as described above …” [0043-0045 and 0063]);
permit access to the service contract data for a party associated with the service contract data (“… For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a smart contract 310 may be generated and communicated to the Nth carrier 140N, a smart contract 308 may be generated and communicated to the carrier 140B, a smart contract 306 may be generated and communicated to the carrier 140A, and a smart contract 304 may be generated and communicated to the consumer (e.g., importer system 120) …” and “… The consolidation may be moved under a housebill associated with the logistics platform 110 and smart contracts may be generated and communicated to the various parties involved in the consolidated move in the manner described above” and “” [0040 and 0056]);
implement a smart contract on the distributed ledger; receive milestone completion data indicating completion of a milestone identified in the milestone data (“… In aspects, milestones may be associated with multiple conditions that must be satisfied before the operations are performed. For example, the smart contract issued to the first carrier included a first milestone corresponding to pickup of the commodity from the shipper, and a second milestone associated with delivery of the commodity to a second carrier …” and “… and as each milestone associated with these smart contracts is completed, additional operations may be implemented or executed by the logistics platform 110 or directly through the code stored on the associated entries in the blockchain” [0040-0046 and 0052]);
trigger execution of payment for the at least one service in response to receiving the milestone completion data; and transmit payment information from the distributed ledger to a payment processing system (“… In aspects, operations that provide payment in response to completion of a milestone may be performed using a digital cryptocurrency, such as bitcoins, ether, and the like …” and “… Thus, upon updating the blockchain ledger to indicate that the second milestone was completed successfully, the code corresponding to operations associated with the second milestone of the smart contract may be executed to provide payment to the carrier for the first leg of the move …” [0042-0045 and 0047-0051]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, record service contract data on a distributed ledger, the service contract data comprising the virtual survey and at least one of service data, cost data, location data, date data, payment method data, term data, or milestone data; store a plurality of copies of the service contract data across a plurality of computing devices of the distributed ledger; store a change to the service contract data responsive to receiving approval by a majority of the plurality of computing devices; permit access to the service contract data for a party associated with the service contract data; implement a smart contract on the distributed ledger; receive milestone completion data indicating completion of a milestone identified in the milestone data; trigger execution of payment for the at least one service in response to receiving the milestone completion data; and transmit payment information from the distributed ledger to a payment processing system, as taught by Broveleit with the AI-based relocation cost estimates of Rattner in view of Donald in view of Bilibin. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Broveleit that doing so would provide more transparency with respect to costs of various logistics services and reduce the costs associated with various logistics services [0011].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, 12, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,602,645 ('645 Patent) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0244267 to Rattner et al. (Rattner) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0122748 to Donald (Donald).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 1 in the ‘645 Patent closely recites the subject matter of claims 1, 9, and 17 of the current application. The ‘645 Application does not recite the subject matter of, receive, from an application on a remote device via an Internet connection; receive, from the artificial intelligence engine, a data set of objects classified from the video data, the data set of objects comprising a classification for each object; a weight data set associating classifications of objects with weights; associate a weight with each item of the inventory list by comparing the classification of the item to the weight data set; and transmit the virtual survey to the application on the remote device via the Internet connection. However, Rattner teaches those limitations as described in the table below. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified claim 1 in the ‘645 Patent as listed. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Rattner that doing so would be more convenient to the consumer [0003-0004]. Furthermore, The ‘645 Application does not recite the subject matter of an accumulation of the weights associated with the items of the inventory list. However, Donald teaches those limitations as described in the table below. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified claim 1 in the ‘645 Patent as listed. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Donald that doing so would permit an audit process to verify the scaled weight against the estimated weight [0005].
Claim 17 in the ‘645 Patent closely recites the subject matter of claims 3 and 11 of the current application. The ‘645 Application does not recite the subject matter of, update the virtual survey by replacing at least a portion of the virtual survey with the modified data of the virtual survey; the weights associated with the items of the inventory list or sizes associated with the items of the inventory list; transmit an updated virtual survey to the application on the remote device via the Internet connection; and receive, from the application via the Internet connection, acceptance data indicating acceptance of the updated virtual survey. However, Rattner teaches those limitations as described in the table below. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified claim 17 in the ‘645 Patent as listed. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Rattner that doing so would be more convenient to the consumer [0003-0004].
Claim 17 in the ‘645 Patent closely recites the subject matter of claims 4 and 12 of the current application. The ‘645 Application does not recite the subject matter of, generate, using the artificial intelligence engine, feature data for the one or more machine learning models from training using the training data; and store the feature data in the memory. However, Rattner teaches those limitations as described in the table below. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified claim 17 in the ‘645 Patent as listed. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Rattner that doing so would be more convenient to the consumer [0003-0004].
The following table shows a comparison of the claims in the current application and the ‘645 Patent:
Current Application Claims 1, 9, and 17
U.S. Patent No. 12,602,645 claim 1
A computing system, comprising: (claim 1)
A computing system, comprising:
A computer-implemented method, performed by one or more hardware processors, for generating a virtual survey of items to be moved and calculating a total estimated weight of the items to be moved, the method comprising: (claim 9)
Rattner [0005]
A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions configured to cause one or more hardware processors in a computing device to perform operations for generating a virtual survey of items to be moved and calculating a total estimated weight of the items to be moved, the operations comprising: (claim 17)
Rattner [0177]
a memory; and one or more hardware processors coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to:
a memory storing a plurality of instructions and data; one or more hardware processors configured to access the memory, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to:
receive, from an application on a remote device via an Internet connection, video data comprising scans of at least one room;
receive an access request from a mobile user application of a mobile device; receive video data that includes scans of each room to be surveyed;
Rattner [0100-0101 and 0104]
provide the video data to an artificial intelligence engine as input to one or more machine learning models;
input the received video data into an artificial intelligence engine, wherein the artificial intelligence engine is trained using reinforcement-type machine learning based upon data comprising video and text that includes estimated room dimensions, wherein the artificial intelligence engine is trained to identify objects of the received video data by type and to estimate dimensions of the objects and rooms;
receive, from the artificial intelligence engine, a data set of objects classified from the video data, the data set of objects comprising a classification for each object;
Rattner [0088 and 0117]
determine at least one object to remove from the data set of objects by comparing the data set of objects to at least one of an include data set of objects to include in an inventory list or an exclude data set of objects to exclude from the inventory list;
compare identified objects of the received video data to an exclusionary data set, wherein the exclusionary data set comprises at least one of persons, permanent features of a space, vehicles, and objects outside of a space;
remove the at least one object from the data set of objects to form the inventory list of items for a move;
automatically omit any identified object of the received video data that corresponds to the exclusionary data set; compile an inventory via executing the artificial intelligence engine, wherein the inventory comprises a list of items to be moved, a type classification for each listed item, estimated dimensions of each listed item, and a specific room association for each listed item;
access, from the memory, a weight data set associating classifications of objects with weights;
obtain weight information on each listed item by accessing a database in the memory;
Rattner [0047 and 0088 and 0117]
associate a weight with each item of the inventory list by comparing the classification of the item to the weight data set;
Rattner [0047 and 0088 and 0117]
calculate a total estimated weight of the inventory list as an accumulation of the weights associated with the items of the inventory list;
compute a total moving weight based on the weight information on each listed item; determine, via executing the artificial intelligence engine, whether each listed item is of identified by type;
Donald [0024-0029 and 0066-0067]
generate a virtual survey comprising the inventory list and the total estimated weight; and
generate a virtual survey that includes the inventory, the total moving weight, and an interactive video including one or more markers indicating an object corresponding to an item listed in the inventory in response to determining that each listed item is identified by type; update the virtual survey in response to receiving user input modifying the one or more markers in the interactive video;
transmit the virtual survey to the application on the remote device via the Internet connection.
Rattner [0063 and 0172-0175]
Current Application Claims 3 and 11
U.S. Patent No. 12,602,645 claim 17
The computing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to: (claim 3)
The computing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to:
The computer-implemented method of claim 9, further comprising: (claim 11)
Rattner [0005]
receive, from the application via the Internet connection, modified data of the virtual survey;
receive modified data of the virtual survey from the mobile user application via an internet connection; and
update the virtual survey by replacing at least a portion of the virtual survey with the modified data of the virtual survey;
Rattner [0046 and 0063 and 0080-0091]
recalculate at least one of the weights associated with the items of the inventory list or sizes associated with the items of the inventory list;
train weights of one or more machine learning models of the artificial intelligence engine based on the modified data of the virtual survey to update classifications of objects.
Rattner [0046 and 0063 and 0080-0091]
transmit an updated virtual survey to the application on the remote device via the Internet connection; and
Rattner [0063 and 0079 and 0167]
receive, from the application via the Internet connection, acceptance data indicating acceptance of the updated virtual survey.
Rattner [0063 and 0079 and 0167]
Current Application Claims 4 and 12
U.S. Patent No. 12,602,645 claim 17
The computing system of claim 3, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to:
The computing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to:
The computer-implemented method of claim 11, further comprising:
Rattner [0005]
collect training data from the modified data of the virtual survey;
receive modified data of the virtual survey from the mobile user application via an internet connection; and
provide the training data to the artificial intelligence engine; train, using the artificial intelligence engine, weights of the one or more machine learning models using the training data to update classifications of objects;
train weights of one or more machine learning models of the artificial intelligence engine based on the modified data of the virtual survey to update classifications of objects.
generate, using the artificial intelligence engine, feature data for the one or more machine learning models from training using the training data; and
Rattner [0083]
store the feature data in the memory.
Rattner [0083]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0034865 to Marolli (Marolli)
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0323319 to Rattner et al. (Rattner)
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0055506 to Tama et al. (Tama)
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0149306 to Olsen (Olsen)
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0132295 to Horowitz et al. (Horowitz)
/S.S.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/RUPANGINI SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628