DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kim et al (US 2025/0040408) in view of Kang et a (US 2025/0372498).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
In regards to claim 1, Kim discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel (display device DD) including a display area (display area DA) and a non-display area (peripheral area NDA) including one or more pad areas (pad area PA) (Figs. 2-4 and paragraph 61);
an antireflection layer (polarization layer POL) disposed on the display panel (Fig. 4 and paragraph 92); and
a printed circuit board (circuit board PCB) electrically connected to the display panel (Figs. 2-4 and paragraphs 60, 72),
wherein the non-display area includes one or more protrusions each extending in a first direction from the display area toward the one or more pad areas (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 76-89).
Kim does not disclose wherein the printed circuit board includes one or more first parts each extending in a direction opposite to the first direction, and at least a portion of each of the first parts is disposed adjacent to the protrusions in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction in a plane of the display panel.
Kang discloses wherein the printed circuit board includes one or more first parts each extending in a direction opposite to the first direction, and at least a portion of each of the first parts is disposed adjacent to the protrusions in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction in a plane of the display panel (Figs. 15-16 and paragraphs 108-113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the printed circuit board of Kang in place of the printed circuit board of Kim, because they both provide an electrical connection from the display to an external source and the combination would yield a predictable result.
In regards to claim 2, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the first parts is configured to not overlap each of the protrusions in a thickness direction of the display panel (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 92-101).
In regards to claim 3, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the non-display area includes one or more curvature parts (convex portions 240) recessed in the direction opposite to the first direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 4, Kim discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the each of the curvature parts disposed adjacent to each of the first parts in the first direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 5, Kim discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the each of the curvature parts is configured to not overlap each of the first parts in the thickness direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 6, Kim discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the protrusions include a first protrusion and a second protrusion symmetrically disposed in the plane of the display panel with respect to an axis extending in the first direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 7, Kim discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the one or more curvature parts comprise:
first curvature parts disposed adjacent to each corner of the first direction side of the display panel (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83); and
a second curvature part disposed between the first protrusion and the second protrusion in the plane (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 8, Kim discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the first protrusion disposed adjacent to the second curvature part in a direction opposite to the second direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83), and
wherein the second protrusion disposed adjacent to the second curvature part in the second direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 9, Kim discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the first parts comprise:
first sub parts (flexible circuit film FPC by a first driving chip DDI) disposed adjacent to the first curvature parts in the direction opposite to the first direction (Figs. 2-3 and paragraph 60); and
a second sub part (flexible circuit film FPC by a second driving chip DDI) disposed adjacent to the second curvature part in the direction opposite to the first direction (Figs. 2-3 and paragraph 60).
In regards to claim 10, Kim does not disclose the display device of claim 1, further comprising one or more touch sensor pad areas disposed on the non-display area.
Kang discloses further comprising one or more touch sensor pad areas disposed on the non-display area (paragraph 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Kang, having a touch display, because it would allow a user to interact with the device via touch or tap gestures.
In regards to claim 11, Kim does not disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the display device further comprises a touch sensor disposed between the display panel and the antireflection layer.
Kang discloses wherein the display device further comprises a touch sensor disposed between the display panel and the antireflection layer (paragraph 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with the teachings of Kang, having a touch display, because it would allow a user to interact with the device via touch or tap gestures.
In regards to claim 12, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more pad areas comprises a first pad area on which a driving IC chip (plurality of driving chips DDI) is disposed (Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 91, 98, 101), and
wherein the first part is configured to not overlap the first pad area in the thickness direction (Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 91, 98, 101).
In regards to claim 13, Kim discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel (display device DD) including a display area (display area DA) and one or more pad areas (pad area PA) (Figs. 2-4 and paragraph 61)
an encapsulation layer disposed on the display panel and including one or more protrusions each extending in a first direction from the display area toward the one or more pad areas;
an antireflection layer (polarization layer POL) disposed on the encapsulation layer (Fig. 4 and paragraph 92); and
a printed circuit board (circuit board PCB) electrically connected to the display panel (Figs. 2-4 and paragraphs 60, 72).
Kim does not disclose wherein the printed circuit board includes one or more first parts each extending in a direction opposite to the first direction, and at least a portion of each of the first parts is disposed adjacent to the protrusions in a second direction perpendicular to each of the first direction and the thickness direction.
Kang discloses wherein the printed circuit board includes one or more first parts each extending in a direction opposite to the first direction, and at least a portion of each of the first parts is disposed adjacent to the protrusions in a second direction perpendicular to each of the first direction and the thickness direction (Figs. 15-16 and paragraphs 108-113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the printed circuit board of Kang in place of the printed circuit board of Kim, because they both provide an electrical connection from the display to an external source and the combination would yield a predictable result.
In regards to claim 14, Kim discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein the encapsulation layer includes one or more curvature parts recessed in the direction opposite to the first direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83), and
wherein the each of the curvature parts disposed adjacent to each of the first parts in the first direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 15, Kim discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the each of the curvature parts is configured to not overlap each of the first parts in the thickness direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 16, Kim discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the protrusions include a first protrusion and a second protrusion symmetrically disposed on the plane of the display panel with respect to an axis extending in the first direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 17, Kim discloses the display device of claim 16, wherein the one or more curvature parts comprise:
first curvature parts disposed adjacent to each corner of the first direction side of the display panel (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83); and
second curvature part disposed between the first protrusion and the second protrusion on the plane (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 18, Kim discloses the display device of claim 17, wherein the first protrusion disposed adjacent to the second curvature part in a direction opposite to the second direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83), and
wherein the second protrusion disposed adjacent to the second curvature part in the second direction (Figs. 2-3, 11, 12 and paragraphs 79-83).
In regards to claim 19, Kim discloses the display device of claim 16, wherein the first parts comprise:
first sub parts (flexible circuit film FPC by a first driving chip DDI) disposed adjacent to the first curvature parts in the direction opposite to the first direction (Figs. 2-3 and paragraph 60); and
a second sub part (flexible circuit film FPC by a second driving chip DDI) disposed adjacent to the second curvature part in the direction opposite to the first direction (Figs. 2-3 and paragraph 60).
In regards to claim 20, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising:
a processor configured to provide input video data to a display device (paragraphs 62, 65; it is inherent that there be a processor to provide video data so that the pixels can display an image), wherein
the display device is configured to display a video based on the input video data (paragraphs 62, 65), and
wherein the display device includes:
a display panel (display device DD) including a display area (display area DA) and a non-display area (peripheral area NDA) surrounding the display area, the non-display area including one or more pad areas (pad area PA) (Figs. 2-4 and paragraph 61); and
a printed circuit board (circuit board PCB) electrically connected to the display panel (Figs. 2-4 and paragraphs 60, 72),
wherein the non-display area includes one or more protrusions each extending in a first direction from the display area toward the one or more pad areas (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 76-89).
Kim does not disclose wherein the printed circuit board includes one or more first parts each extending in a direction opposite to the first direction, and at least a portion of each of the first parts is disposed adjacent to the protrusions in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Kang discloses wherein the printed circuit board includes one or more first parts each extending in a direction opposite to the first direction, and at least a portion of each of the first parts is disposed adjacent to the protrusions in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 15-16 and paragraphs 108-113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the printed circuit board of Kang in place of the printed circuit board of Kim, because they both provide an electrical connection from the display to an external source and the combination would yield a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al (US 2026/0068038) discloses a display device includes a display panel, which includes a plurality of panel pads arranged along a first direction, and a flexible printed circuit board. The flexible printed circuit board includes a base portion, a first protrusion protruding in a second direction intersecting a first direction from one side of the base portion extending in the first direction, a second protrusion protruding in the second direction from the one side of the base portion and spaced apart from the first protrusion in the first direction, first connection pads disposed on the first protrusion, and second connection pads disposed on the second protrusion. At least some of the first connection pads extend in a direction inclined with respect to the first direction and the second direction, and at least some of the second connection pads extend in a direction inclined with respect to the first direction and the second direction (abstract and Figs. 1, 6, 8-23).
/MICHAEL PERVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629 September 18, 2026