DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the applicant remarks that the prior art does not encompass:
The newly amended claims regarding battery placement
Bobuk, does not count as prior art.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with point 1, as the art of record Wang (US 20230185098) teaches battery placement on or rather within the temple, the applicant has reworded in many of the claims via amendment that the battery is on an inward surface of the temple, however has found that the word inward could refer to both a side of the temple contacting the head of the user or an inward surface of the temple itself with regards to all claims except that of 30 wherein the wording speaks to the battery extending above and below the temple, As such the claims have been rewritten to include the amended claims and to reflect the above reasoning.
The examiner respectfully agrees with point 2, and has withdrawn Bobuk (US20250164810) as prior art and replaced it with different art in the rejection below with regards to the injection molding limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-25, 27-29, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20230185098) herein after referred to as D1, and further in view of Yang (US 20230194891) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a pair of smart glasses, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3) comprising: an optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and a waveguide assembly ([0058]), the waveguide assembly ([0058]) configured to receive display light ([0058]: light output device) emitted by the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and form outgoing light ([0058]: light output device); a frame assembly (202) and two temple assemblies (203) connected to the frame assembly (202) and configured to be pivotally movable (229) relative to the frame assembly (202) to a worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A), the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and the waveguide assembly ([0058]) both mounted to the frame assembly (202), the temple assemblies (203) each including a temple body (203), a flexible printed circuit board (241), an earpiece (245); a battery (243) module mounted to each of the temple assemblies (203), the batter modules (243) being electrically connected ([0102]: the element may be coupled with the other element directly (e.g., wiredly)) with the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) by the flexible printed circuit boards (241); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) including inward sides that face toward each other when the temple assemblies (203) are in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A) and outward sides that face away from each other when the temple assemblies (203) are in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) each including a first portion (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) and a second portion (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) extending between the frame assembly (202) and the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) being angled relative to the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229), the battery modules (243) being mounted to at least the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) being flexible (Fig. 7B) to allow the temple bodies (203) to deform according to a size and shape ([0003]) of a head (H) of a wearer, and the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) each having a metal ([0068]: a material (e.g., a metal)) construction; and the flexible printed circuit boards (241) extending along the inward sides of the temple bodies (203).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose an injection molded material and the injection molded material being softer than the temple bodies; and being covered by the injection molded material.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Fig 1; and [0025]); comprising an injection molded material ([0025]; injection molding or compression molding) and the injection molded material ([0025]) being softer than the temple bodies ([0025]; plastic, composites or metals); and being covered by the injection molded material ([0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with an injection molded material and the injection molded material being softer than the temple bodies; and being covered by the injection molded material as taught by D2, for the purpose of providing better form and shock absorbency of the optical apparatus.
With regard to claim 2, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the flexible printed circuit boards (241) are positioned within grooves defined adjacent interfaces between the temple bodies (203).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose the injection molded material.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Fig 1; and [0025]); with an injection molded material ([0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the injection molded material as taught by D2, for the purpose of providing better form and shock absorbency of the optical apparatus.
With regard to claim 3, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the flexible printed circuit boards (241) closely fit with the grooves (241 fits in slot of temple).
With regard to claim 4, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein each of the flexible printed circuit boards (241) are bonded to each of the inward sides (Fig. 2, 241 is on inward side) of the temple bodies (203).
With regard to claim 5, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein each of the temple bodies (203) is laminated to each of the flexible printed circuit boards (241) to form the temple assemblies (203).
With regard to claim 6, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein at least portions of the outward sides (Fig. 3, outer side of 203 is visible) of the temple bodies (203) are visible.
With regard to claim 7, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein at least portions of the outward sides of the temple bodies (203) are not covered by the injection molded material (D1 does not teach injected materials as such it is not covered).
With regard to claim 8, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203) extend along at least a majority of a length of each of the battery modules (243), and wherein at least portions of the outward sides of the temple bodies (203) are visible along regions at which the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) extend along the battery modules (243).
With regard to claim 9, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the battery modules (243) are positioned to balance a center of gravity of the smart glasses in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A).
With regard to claim 10, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein a mounting position of each of the battery modules is configured to be adapted to a position of the wearer’s ear.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Fig 1; and [0025]); wherein a mounting position of each of the battery modules ([0048]) is configured to be adapted ([0019]) to a position of the wearer’s ear ([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 wherein a mounting position of each of the battery modules is configured to be adapted to a position of the wearer’s ear as taught by D2, for the purpose of providing better form and comfort of the earpiece.
With regard to claim 11, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203) are angled 150-180 degrees ([0013] and [0014]) relative to the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203).
With regard to claim 13, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein no electronic components other than the flexible printed circuit boards (241) are disposed along the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203).
With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); further comprising a main control module (120) electrically connected ([0102]: the element may be coupled with the other element directly (e.g., wiredly)) to at least one of the battery modules (243) and for controlling the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) to emit light ([0058]: light output device).
With regard to claim 15, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the at least one of the battery modules (243) and the main control module (120) are relatively fixedly provided or integrally provided ([0034], [0040] and [0061]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the main control module (120) is arranged at a rear end of at least one of the temple assemblies and is configured to be electrically connected ([0102]: the element may be coupled with the other element directly (e.g., wiredly)) to the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) through at least one of the flexible printed circuit boards (241).
With regard to claim 17, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 does not expressly teach an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the injection molded material includes a silicone or a rubber.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Fig 1; and [0025]); wherein the injection molded material ([0025]) includes a silicone ([0051]) or a rubber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein the injection molded material includes a silicone or a rubber as taught by D2, for the purpose of providing better form and shock absorbency of the optical apparatus.
With regard to claim 18, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein an entirety of the outward sides of the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203) are visible, wherein a material of the temple bodies (203) includes a copper-based memory alloy ([0059], [0068-0069] material with good thermal conductivity), a nickel-titanium alloy ([0059], [0068-0069] material with good thermal conductivity), an iron-based alloy ([0059], [0068-0069] material with good thermal conductivity), a cobalt-based alloy ([0059], [0068-0069] material with good thermal conductivity), a titanium-based alloy ([0059], [0068-0069] material with good thermal conductivity), or a combination thereof, and wherein the injection molded material ([0025]) includes soft skin-friendly material ([0069]: a portion of the connecting member 235 in contact with the user's body may be formed of a material having low thermal conductivity).
With regard to claim 19, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein a distance between the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and the head (H) of the wearer in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A) is greater than 20 mm ([0063]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the frame assembly (202) includes a first lens mounting portion ([0013]) and a second lens mounting portion ([0013]), wherein the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) includes a first optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) corresponding to the first lens mounting portion ([0013]) and a second optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) corresponding to the second lens mounting portion ([0013]).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the first and second optical engine assemblies each have a volume less than 0.3cm3.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Fig 1; and [0025]); wherein the first ([0020]; one or more) and second ([0020]; one or more) optical engine assemblies ([0020]; projectors) each have a volume less than 0.3cm3 ([0023]-[0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the wherein the first and second optical engine assemblies each have a volume less than 0.3cm3 as taught by D2, for the purpose of providing better form and shock absorbency of the optical apparatus to be worn by the user.
With regard to claim 21, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 20, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein images generated by the first and second optical engine assemblies (201 left and right) are synchronized through a wireless communication channel ([0033]), and wherein the first and second optical engine assemblies (201 left and right) are accommodated in receiving cavities defined by the frame assembly (202) at the first and second lens mounting portions ([0013]).
With regard to claim 22, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein a material of the temple bodies (203) includes a copper-based memory alloy, a nickel-titanium alloy, an iron-based alloy, a cobalt-based alloy, a titanium-based alloy, or a combination thereof, wherein the injection molded material ([0025]) includes soft skin-friendly material ([0069]: a portion of the connecting member 235 in contact with the user's body may be formed of a material having low thermal conductivity), and wherein no electronic components other than the flexible printed circuit boards (241) are disposed along the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203).
With regard to claim 23, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 22, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203) extend along at least a majority of a length of each of the battery modules (243), and wherein at least portions of the outward sides of the temple bodies (203) are visible along regions at which the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) extend along the battery modules (243).
With regard to claim 24, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 23, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein at least portions of the outward sides of the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203) are visible.
With regard to claim 25, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 22, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein at least portions of the outward sides of the first and second portions (245) of the temple bodies (203) are exposed.
With regard to claim 27, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 22, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203) are angled 150-180 degrees ([0013] and [0014]) relative to the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203).
With regard to claim 28, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 27, wherein D1 further teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the battery modules (243) each include a battery (243), and wherein the batteries are positioned at locations along the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203).
With regard to claim 29, D1 teaches a pair of smart glasses, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3) comprising: an optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and a waveguide assembly ([0058]), the waveguide assembly ([0058]) configured to receive display light ([0058]: light output device) emitted by the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and form outgoing light ([0058]: light output device); a frame assembly (202) and two temple assemblies (203) connected to the frame assembly (202) and configured to be pivotally movable (229) relative to the frame assembly (202) to a worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A), the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and the waveguide assembly ([0058]) both mounted to the frame assembly (202), the temple assemblies (203) each including a temple body (203), a flexible printed circuit board (241), an earpiece (245); a battery (243) module mounted to each of the temple assemblies (203), the batter modules (243) being electrically connected ([0102]: the element may be coupled with the other element directly (e.g., wiredly)) with the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) by the flexible printed circuit boards (241); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) including inward sides that face toward each other when the temple assemblies (203) are in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A) and outward sides that face away from each other when the temple assemblies (203) are in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) each including a first portion (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) and a second portion (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) extending between the frame assembly (202) and the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) being angled relative to the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229), such that top sides (246, top) of the temple bodies (203) at the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) form oblique angles with top sides of the temple bodies (203) at the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) as the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) extend from the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) toward distal ends of the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the battery modules (243) being mounted to at least majorities of the inward sides (246, portion of temple after hook, with battery on inward side (internal) of the temple) of the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) being flexible (Fig. 7B) to allow the temple bodies (203) to deform according to a size and shape ([0003]) of a head (H) of a wearer, and the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) each having a metal ([0068]: a material (e.g., a metal)) construction; and the flexible printed circuit boards (241) extending along the inward sides of the temple bodies (203); and wherein no electronic components other than the flexible printed circuit boards (241) are disposed along the first portions first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose an injection molded material and the injection molded material being softer than the temple bodies; and being covered by the injection molded material.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Fig 1; and [0025]); comprising an injection molded material ([0025]; injection molding or compression molding) and the injection molded material ([0025]) being softer than the temple bodies ([0025]; plastic, composites or metals); and being covered by the injection molded material ([0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with an injection molded material and the injection molded material being softer than the temple bodies; and being covered by the injection molded material as taught by D2, for the purpose of providing better form and shock absorbency of the optical apparatus.
With regard to claim 31, D1 teaches a pair of smart glasses, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3) comprising: an optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and a waveguide assembly ([0058]), the waveguide assembly ([0058]) configured to receive display light ([0058]: light output device) emitted by the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and form outgoing light ([0058]: light output device); a frame assembly (202) and two temple assemblies (203) connected to the frame assembly (202) and configured to be pivotally movable (229) relative to the frame assembly (202) to a worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A), the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and the waveguide assembly ([0058]) both mounted to the frame assembly (202), the temple assemblies (203) each including a temple body (203), a flexible printed circuit board (241), an earpiece (245); a battery (243) module mounted to each of the temple assemblies (203), the batter modules (243) being electrically connected ([0102]: the element may be coupled with the other element directly (e.g., wiredly)) with the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) by the flexible printed circuit boards (241); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) including inward sides that face toward each other when the temple assemblies (203) are in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A) and outward sides that face away from each other when the temple assemblies (203) are in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A), bottom sides (203, bottom) configured to rest on ears ([0066]) of a wearer when the temple assemblies (203) are in the worn position, and top sides (203, top) facing away from the bottom sides (203, bottom) and connecting the inward sides (203, inward) and the outward sides (203, outward), the inward sides (203, inward), outward sides (203, outward), top sides (203, top), and bottom sides (203, bottom) extending along elongate dimensions (203, lengthwise) thereof from the frame assembly (202) to distal ends of the temple bodies (203); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) each including a first portion (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) and a second portion (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) extending between the frame assembly (202) and the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) being angled relative to the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229), such that the top sides (203) at the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) form oblique angles (246) with the top sides (203) at the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) as the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) extend from the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) toward distal ends (203, end) of the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the battery modules (243) being mounted to at least majorities of the inward sides (203) of the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) being flexible (Fig. 7B) to allow the temple bodies (203) to deform according to a size and shape ([0003]) of a head (H) of a wearer, and the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) each having a metal ([0068]: a material (e.g., a metal)) construction; and the flexible printed circuit boards (241) extending along the inward sides of the temple bodies (203); and wherein at least portions of the outward sides (203, out) of the temple bodies (203) at the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) and at the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) are exposed metal surfaces ([0068]); wherein the battery modules (243) extend along the elongate dimensions of the temple bodies (203) and beyond the distal ends (203, end) of the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203); wherein the battery modules extend above the top sides (203, top) and below the bottom sides (203, bottom) of the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203); and wherein no electronic components other than the flexible printed circuit boards (241) are disposed along the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose an injection molded material and the injection molded material being softer than the temple bodies; and being covered by the injection molded material.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Fig 1; and [0025]); comprising an injection molded material ([0025]; injection molding or compression molding) and the injection molded material ([0025]) being softer than the temple bodies ([0025]; plastic, composites or metals); and being covered by the injection molded material ([0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with an injection molded material and the injection molded material being softer than the temple bodies; and being covered by the injection molded material as taught by D2, for the purpose of providing better form and shock absorbency of the optical apparatus.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20230185098) herein after referred to as D1, further in view of Yang (US 20230194891) herein after referred to as D2, and still further in view of Komaki (US 20170060252) herein after referred to as D3.
With regard to claim 30, D1 teaches a pair of smart glasses, in at least (Figs. 2 and 3) comprising: an optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and a waveguide assembly ([0058]), the waveguide assembly ([0058]) configured to receive display light ([0058]: light output device) emitted by the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and form outgoing light ([0058]: light output device); a frame assembly (202) and two temple assemblies (203) connected to the frame assembly (202) and configured to be pivotally movable (229) relative to the frame assembly (202) to a worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A), the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) and the waveguide assembly ([0058]) both mounted to the frame assembly (202), the temple assemblies (203) each including a temple body (203), a flexible printed circuit board (241), an earpiece (245); a battery (243) module mounted to each of the temple assemblies (203), the batter modules (243) being electrically connected ([0102]: the element may be coupled with the other element directly (e.g., wiredly)) with the optical engine assembly ([0040]: display, hologram device, and projector) by the flexible printed circuit boards (241); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) including inward sides that face toward each other when the temple assemblies (203) are in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A) and outward sides that face away from each other when the temple assemblies (203) are in the worn position (figs. 2, 3 and 7A); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) each including a first portion (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) and a second portion (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) extending between the frame assembly (202) and the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229), the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) being angled relative to the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229), the battery modules (243) being mounted to at least majorities of the inward sides (243, inward or internal side) of the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203); the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) being flexible (Fig. 7B) to allow the temple bodies (203) to deform according to a size and shape ([0003]) of a head (H) of a wearer, and the temple bodies (203) of the temple assemblies (203) each having a metal ([0068]: a material (e.g., a metal)) construction; and the flexible printed circuit boards (241) extending along the inward sides of the temple bodies (203); and wherein at least portions of the outward sides of the temple bodies (203) at the first portions (part of temple arm 203, including 241 but stopping at hinge 229) and at the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) are exposed metal surfaces ([0068]: a material (e.g., a metal)); wherein the battery modules (243) extend along elongate dimensions of the temple bodies (203) beyond distal ends of the second portions (part of temple arm 203, including 243 and 245 after hinge 229) of the temple bodies (203);
However, D1 does not expressly disclose an injection molded material and the injection molded material being softer than the temple bodies; and being covered by the injection molded material; and wherein the battery modules extend above top sides and below bottom sides of the second portions of the temple bodies.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches an optical apparatus, in at least (Fig 1; and [0025]); comprising an injection molded material ([0025]; injection molding or compression molding) and the injection molded material ([0025]) being softer than the temple bodies ([0025]; plastic, composites or metals); and being covered by the injection molded material ([0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with an injection molded material and the injection molded material being softer than the temple bodies; and being covered by the injection molded material as taught by D2, for the purpose of providing better form and shock absorbency of the optical apparatus.
However, D1 in view of D2 do not expressly disclose wherein the battery modules extend above top sides and below bottom sides of the second portions of the temple bodies.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches, an eyeglass device, in at least one of (figures 3 and 4); wherein the battery modules (BAT and BAT*) extend above top sides (Fig. 4) and below bottom sides (Fig. 3) of the second portions (108 and 109) of the temple bodies (107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 in view of D2 with the battery modules extend above top sides and below bottom sides of the second portions of the temple bodies as taught by D3, for the purpose of providing more efficient component placement due to the limited constraints of space in a temple arm.
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872