Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25 and 34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 25 and 34 recite the limitation "the active mode”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 21-27, and 29-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairchild (US 2004/0133978) in view of Ryder (US 4,807,313).
Regarding Claim 1, Fairchild discloses:
A mattress management system for facilitating various tasks associated with a bed, the system comprising:
an inflatable air volume (1) disposed between a mattress (14) and a foundation (12), wherein the inflatable air volume includes an air inlet nozzle (30);
an air pump (34) connectable to the air intake nozzle. Fairchild fails to disclose wherein the
inflatable air volume includes multiple air inlet nozzles and the air pump is alternately connectable to each one of the multiple air intake nozzles. Ryder teaches wherein an inflatable air volume includes multiple air inlet nozzles (14, see Fig. 5) and the air pump is alternately connectable to each one of the multiple air intake nozzles (see Fig. 6). Fairchild and Ryder are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. inflatable bed devices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fairchild as required by Claim 1 and taught by Ryder, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involve only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). The motivation to provide additional air intake nozzles would be to have the capability to inflate the air volume from different locations, thus providing a greater convenience.
Regarding Claim 29, Fairchild as modified teaches:
A mattress management system for facilitating various tasks associated with a bed, the system comprising:
an inflatable air volume (Fairchild: 11) disposed between a mattress (Fairchild:14) and a foundation (Fairchild:12), wherein the inflatable air volume includes multiple air inlet nozzles (Ryder: 14), and at least one of the multiple air intake nozzles includes a check valve (Ryder: 20) that allows air to flow in only one direction through the check valve; and
an air pump (Fairchild: 34) alternately connectable at one end to each one of the multiple air intake nozzles (Ryder: see Fig. 6).
Regarding Claims 2 and 30, Fairchild discloses wherein the inflatable volume is formed from two or more sheets of material attached together at a center point of the two or more sheets of material. The claim fails to provide a frame of reference for “center point”. As such, any point of the perimeter that is reasonably centered within the perimeter of the structure can be considered a “center point”.
Regarding Claims 21 and 31, Fairchild discloses wherein the air pump is external to the
mattress and the foundation (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 22 and 32, Fairchild discloses wherein the inflatable air volume is embedded into the mattress or the foundation (via 40).
Regarding Claims 23 and 33, Fairchild fails to disclose wherein the air pump is built in to the mattress or the foundation. Examiner takes Official Notice that is well-known within the art to provide a built-in pump for inflatable bedding devices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to make the air pump of Fairchild built in to the mattress or the foundation. It has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding Claim 24, Fairchild as modified wherein at least one of the multiple air intake nozzles includes a check valve (Ryder: 20) that allows air to flow in only one direction through the check valve.
Regarding Claims 25 and 34, Fairchild discloses one or more air vents (29/30) in the inflatable volume, wherein the inflatable volume is formed to enable air to be released from said inflatable air volume through the one or more air vents when the inflatable volume is in the active mode in which air is being pumped into the inflatable air volume to lift the mattress with respect to the foundation.
Regarding Claims 26 and 35, Fairchild discloses wherein the one or more air vents
include one or more air exit holes (29/30).
Regarding Claims 27 and 36, Fairchild discloses wherein the one or more air vents include an adjustable air exit valve for selectively controlling the release of air from said inflatable volume (see “needle valve” in para. [0017] for controlled release of air).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 28 and 37 require that the multiple air inlet nozzles include a first air inlet nozzle located on a first side of the inflatable volume and a second air inlet nozzle located on an opposite side of the inflatable volume. Modifying reference Ryder provides for air inlet nozzles 14 on the same side of an inflatable volume. Further modifying Ryder to provide for air inlet nozzles on opposite sides of the inflatable volume would require improper hindsight bias.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 21-27, and 29-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent 12,564,271 in view of Ryder (US 4,807,313).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because most of the subject matter of the pending claims can be found in their entirety within the subject matter of the claims of US Patent 12,564,271. Patent ‘271 fails to disclose wherein the air volume includes multiple air inlet nozzles (14, see Fig. 5) and the air pump is alternately connectable to each one of the multiple air intake nozzles (see Fig. 6). AS noted in the rejections above, Ryder teaches this aspect. For similar reasons as specified in the rejection of Claim 1 above, it would be obvious to modify Patent ‘271 with the multiple air inlet nozzles and alternately connected pump of Ryder.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619