Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheiky et al (US 2013/0192321) in view of Shearer et al (US 2015/0128672), further in view of WO 2011/047696 A1. Cheiky et al disclose a biomass pyrolysis system raw biomass particles are fed into a feeder of an augur reactor, conveyed through the augur reactor and heated as they are conveyed through the augur reactor. (See Paragraph [0011].), The system of Cheiky et al would include an exhaust transfer unit, since Cheiky et al disclose in Paragraph [0036] that such fuels as hydrogen and methane are produced. The differences between the system disclosed by Cheiky et al, and that recited in claims, are that Cheiky et al do not disclose that the reactor is thermally insulated, and that a plurality of sensor arrays are coupled to one or more components of the heated pyrolysis system along with a heating control unit. Shearer et al disclose a pyrolysis system and teach in Paragraphs [0054] that the pyrolysis unit can include one or more temperature sensors for monitoring and controlling the temperature of the biomass feedstock. WO 2011/047696 A1 discloses the use of a thermally insulated reactor to minimize heat loss. It would have been obvious from Shearer et al to modify the system of Cheiky et al by including a plurality of sensor arrays and a heating control unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Shearer et al disclose such features in Paragraph [0054], and the systems of Shearer et al and Cheiky et al are analogous in that both are directed to the pyrolysis of biomass. It would have been further obvious from WO 2011/047696 A1 to employ a thermally insulated reactor in the system of Cheiky et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since WO 2011/047696 A1 suggests that thermally insulated reactors will minimize heat loss, and one would have been motivated to minimize heat loss in the process of Cheiky et al for economic and technical reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Cheiky et al teach in Paragraph [0036] that such gaseous products as hydrogen and methane can be produced.
Regarding claims 4-6, 9, 10 and 21, it would have been obvious to use the heating unit of Shearer et al to optimize one or more operating parameters, since Shearer et al teach in Paragraph [0054[ that the pressure and/or oxygen sensors monitor the pressure and/or oxygen levels in the pyrolysis unit.
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to embed the sensors of Shearer et al into the walls of the reactor of Cheiky et al, since Shearer et al teach in Paragraph [0054] that the sensors can be spaced throughout the pyrolysis unit.
Regarding claim 13, Cheiky et al disclose in Paragraph [0011] that the process takes place in an augur reactor.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheiky et al in view of Shearer et al, further in view of WO 2011/047696 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, even further in view of Daugaard et al (US 2014/0183022). It wold have been further obvious from Daugaard et al to provide a plurality of gas injection ports in the chamber of Cheiky et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Daugaard et al disclose a biomass fractionator comprising an augur reactor wherein the temperature may be varied by introduction of an oxidizer at some point (see FIG. 10 and Paragraph [0118]), and the systems of Cheiky et al and Daugaard et al are analogous in that both are directed to pyrolysis in an augur reactor. It would have been further obvious to provide a plurality of such holes along the length of the shank, since Daugaard et al suggest in Paragraph [0109] that the temperature should be varied along the entire length of the shank.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheiky et al in view of Shearer et al, further in view of WO 2011/047696 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, even further in view of Archuleta, JR. et al (US 2018/0010043). It would have been even further obvious from Archuleta, JR. et al to provide a conveyance mechanism which is mechanically driven or a rotatable component as the conveyor in the system of Cheiky et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since ARCHULTA, JR. et al discloses chain and drag system 40 in Paragraph [0033], and the systems of Cheiky et al and Archuleta JR. et al are analogous in that both are directed to the pyrolysis of biochar.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheiky et al in view of Shearer et al, further in view of WO 2011/047696 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, even further in view of RAWLS et al (US 2013/0129573). It would have been even further obvious from RAWLS et al to include cut flights in the augur of Cheiky et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since RAWLS et al establish the conventionality of cut flights in screw conveyors in Paragraph [0053].
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheiky et al in view of Shearer et al, further in view of WO 2011/047696 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, even further in view of Ericsson et al (US 2016/0053182). It would have been even further obvious from Ericsson et al to cool the biochar in the process of Cheiky et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Ericsson et al disclose in Paragraph [0037] that the biochar may be cooled by any suitable cooling means, which would suggest such conventional means as blowers or refrigeration units., and the processes of Cheiky et al and Ericsson et al are analogous in that both are directed to the production of biochar.
Regarding claim 19, Cheiky et al disclose in Paragraph [0053] that the biomass feedstock can be moved through the pyrolysis unit in a continuous mode, which would suggest that the transfer unit would receive heated biomass from the pyrolytic unit.
Regarding claim 22, Shearer et al disclose in Paragraph [0076] that nutrients such as calcium and sulfur can be mixed with the biochar.
Claims 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheiky et al in view of Shearer et al, further in view of WO 2011/047696 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, even further in view of either Madsen et al ‘819 (US 2019/0124819) or Madsen et al ‘435 (US 2019/0129435). It would have been even further obvious from either Madsen et al ‘819 or Madesn et al ‘435 to include a remote server, a processor to determine an optimal path for a mobile generation system, and a navigation system for receiving satellite signals in the system of Cheiky et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Masen et al ‘819 and Madsen et al ‘435 both disclose three-dimensional terrain maps for vehicular control, wherein the control system includes data from optical sensors such as cameras to create a map of an area using simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) processes (see Paragraphs [0016] and [0032] through [0056] of Madsen et al ‘435, and Paragraphs [0016] through [0056] of Madsen et al ‘819), and both references suggest that the system can be used as an agricultural vehicle (see Paragraph [0099] of Madsen et al ‘819, and Paragraph [0099] of Madsen et al ‘435.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheiky et al in view of Shearer et al, further in view of WO 2011/047696 A1, even further in view of either Madsen et al ‘819 or Madsen et al ‘435, as applied to claim 26 above, still further in view of Archuleta, JR. et al. It would have been still further obvious from Archuleta, JR. et al to control a speed of drive wheels in the system of Cheiky et al One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since one would appreciate that the conveyor of of Archuleta, JR. et al would function to move the biomass in the system of Cheiky et al. Such movement would adjust the carbon content of the heated biomass.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 and 16-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,465,948. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the claims of US 11,465,948.
Claims 1-14 and 16-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No.12,583,802. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the claims of US 12,583,802.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 23, 24 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, the recitation of “inferred” is indefinite, since it is not clear what the basis for the inference would be.
In claim 23, it is indefinite as to whether the “remote server” recited in line 3 is required to be the same “remote server” recited in line 2.
In claim 24, there is no antecedent basis for “the mobile generation system”
In claim 26, there is no antecedent basis for “the mobile heated biomass generation system. Claims 27-30 are rejected on the same basis since they depend from claim 26, but fail to overcome the objection to claim 26.
In claim 30, the recitation of “the system moves forward” is indefinite since there is no requirement that the system be mobile
Allowable Subject Matter
This application apparently discloses allowable subject matter (i.e., regarding claim 26).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Cheiky et al disclose a biomass pyrolysis system raw biomass particles are fed into a feeder of an augur reactor, conveyed through the augur reactor and heated as they are conveyed through the augur reactor. (See Paragraph [0011].) The system of Cheiky et al would include an exhaust transfer unit, since Cheiky et al disclose in Paragraph [0036] that such fuels as hydrogen and methane are produced. Shearer et al disclose a pyrolysis system and teach in Paragraphs [0054] that the pyrolysis unit can include one or more temperature sensors for monitoring and controlling the temperature of the biomass feesdstock. WO 2011/047696 A1 discloses the use of a thermally insulated reactor to minimize heat loss. It would have been obvious from Shearer et al to modify the system of Cheiky et al by including a plurality of sensor arrays and a heating control unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Shearer et al disclose such features in Paragraph [0054], and the systems of Shearer et al and Cheiky et al are analogous in that both are directed to the pyrolysis of biomass. It would have been further obvious from WO 2011/047696 A1 to employ a thermally insulated reactor in the system of Cheiky et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since WO 2011/047696 A1 suggests that thermally insulated reactors will minimize heat loss, and one would have been motivated to minimize heat loss in the process of Cheiky et al for economic and technical reasons. It would have been even further obvious from either Madsen et al ‘819 or Madsen et al ‘435 to include a remote server, a processor to determine an optimal path for a mobile generation system, and a navigation system for receiving satellite signals in the system of Cheiky et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Masen et al ‘819 and Madsen et al ‘435 both disclose three-dimensional terrain maps for vehicular control, wherein the control system includes data from optical sensors such as cameras to create a map of an area using simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) processes (see Paragraphs [0016] and [0032] through [0056] of Madsen et al ‘435, and Paragraphs [0016] through [0056] of Madsen et al ‘819), and both references suggest that the system can be used as an agricultural vehicle (see Paragraph [0099] of Madsen et al ‘819, and Paragraph [0099] of Madsen et al ‘435. However there is no teaching, disclosure or suggestion in the prior art references to include a soil characterization system that measures carbon content of soil, wherein the system is configured that when a carbon content of the soil is at or below a set threshold, then the pyrolysis system is activated, and the system maneuvers forward. Accordingly claim 30 is not rejected over Cheiky et al in view of Shearer et al, further in view of WO2011/047696 A1, even further in view of either Madsen et al ‘435 or Madsen et al ‘819.
Force (US 9,155,247) is made of record for disclosing a mobile platform biomass powered harvester.
Hallowell et al (US 2015/0259603) is made of record for disclosing a biochar generating system with a ventilator.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736