Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 3/2/2026 and 7/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 9,668,454)
For claim 1, Johnson discloses a feeder comprising: a container (Figs. 1-5: 10) including a first surface (Figs. 1-5: 16), a second surface (Col. 3, lines 5-6 and Figs. 1 and 5: 20), and one or more sidewalls (Col. 2, lines 32-34 and Fig. 1: 14) extending therebetween, wherein the second surface is an open surface (as shown in Fig. 1); a feeding restrictor (Figs. 1, 4 and 5: 30) provided within the container between the first surface and second surface (as shown in Fig. 5); and one or more straps (Fig. 5: 42) that connect the feeding restrictor to the container (Col. 3, lines 8-20).
Johnson fails to show wherein each of the one or more straps is configured with a buckle mechanism. Cutler et al. teaches a feeder comprising: one or more straps (Fig. 1: B), wherein each of the one or more straps is configured with a buckle mechanism (Col. 1, lines 38-40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the feeder of Johnson to include a buckle mechanism as taught by Cutler et al. for the advantage of adjusting the length of the strap to accommodate the weight of the feed.
For claim 2, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 2, wherein the container (Johnson Figs. 1-5: 10) of the feeder includes modular components enabling adjustment of one or more dimensions of the container (Johnson Col. 5, lines 17-21 and 46-49).
For claim 3, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 2, wherein the container (Johnson Figs. 1-5: 10) is configured to hold forage between the first surface and the feeding restrictor (Johnson Col. 3, lines 52-66).
For claim 4, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 3, wherein the feeding restrictor a feeding restrictor (Johnson Figs. 1, 4 and 5: 30) including one or more apertures (Johnson Col. 3, lines 20-28 and Figs. 1 and 4: 32) configured to allow the forage to be extracted therethrough.
For claim 5, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 4, wherein the apertures of the feeding restrictor are modular (Johnson Col. 5, lines 17-21) in order to adjust a size or a number of apertures (Johnson Col. 5, lines 1-2: “rubbers”).
For claim 6, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 1, wherein the one or more straps (Johnson Fig. 5: 42) provide tension between the feeding restrictor and the container in a horizontal direction, a vertical direction or both (Johnson Col. 3, lines 10-20 and 40-44).
For claim 10, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 1, wherein the one or more straps prevent the feeding restrictor from being removed from the container (Johnson Col. 3, lines 41-43 and Col. 4, lines 8-18).
For claim 11, Johnson discloses a feeder comprising: a container (Figs. 1-5: 10) including a first surface (Figs. 1-5: 16), a second surface (Col. 3, lines 5-6 and Figs. 1 and 5: 20), and one or more sidewalls (Col. 2, lines 32-34 and Fig. 1: 14) extending therebetween, wherein the second surface is an open surface (as shown in Fig. 1); a feeding restrictor (Figs. 1, 4 and 5: 30) provided within the container between the first surface and second surface (as shown in Fig. 5); and one or more straps (Fig. 5: 42) that connect the feeding restrictor to the container (Col. 3, lines 8-20), the one or more straps configured to provide tension between the feeding restrictor and the container (Col. 3, lines 41-43 and Col. 4, lines 8-18).
Johnson fails to show wherein each of the one or more straps is configured with a buckle mechanism. Cutler et al. teaches a feeder comprising: one or more straps (Fi. 1: B), wherein each of the one or more straps is configured with a buckle mechanism (Col. 1, lines 38-40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the feeder of Johnson to include a buckle mechanism as taught by Cutler et al. for the advantage of adjusting the length of the strap to accommodate the weight of the feed.
For claim 12, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 11, wherein the container (Johnson Figs. 1-5: 10) of the feeder includes modular components enabling adjustment of one or more dimensions of the container (Johnson Col. 5, lines 17-21 and 46-49).
For claim 13, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 11, wherein the container (Johnson Figs. 1-5: 10) is configured to hold forage between the first surface and the feeding restrictor (Johnson Col. 3, lines 52-66).
For claim 14, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 13, wherein the feeding restrictor includes one or more apertures (Johnson Col. 3, line 63-66) configured to allow the forage to be extracted therethrough.
For claim 15, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 11, wherein the feeding restrictor includes one or more modular apertures (Johnson Col. 5, lines 17-21) configured to adjust a size or a number of apertures (Johnson Col. 5, lines 1-2: “rubbers”).
For claim 16, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 11, wherein the one or more straps (Johnson Fig. 5: 42) are further configured to translate the feeding restrictor vertically in relation to a volume of forage within the container (Johnson Col. 4, lines 1-4).
For claim 17, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 11, wherein the one or more straps are further configured such that the tension provided by the one or more straps in a horizontal direction maintains the feeding restrictor substantially planar with the first surface (Johnson Col. 3, lines 41-43 and Col. 4, lines 8-18).
For claim 18, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 11, wherein the one or more straps prevent the feeding restrictor from being removed from the container (Johnson Col. 3, lines 41-43 and Col. 4, lines 8-18).
For claim 19, Johnson as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 11, wherein the one or more straps (Johnson Fig. 5: 42) further configured to be modular so that the one or more straps may be adjusted or replaced (Johnson Col. 4, lines 12-14).
For claim 20, Johnson discloses a method for feeding forage to an equid, comprising: using a feeder to feed an equid (Col. 2, lines 45-46 and Col. 3, line 66-Col. 4, line 1), the feeder including: a container (Figs. 1-5: 10) including a first surface (Figs. 1-5: 16), a second surface (Col. 3, lines 5-6 and Figs. 1 and 5: 20), and one or more sidewalls (Col. 2, lines 32-34 and Fig. 1: 14) extending therebetween; a feeding restrictor (Figs. 1, 4 and 5: 30) through which the equid grazes, wherein the feeding restrictor is provided within the container between the first surface and second surface (as shown in Fig. 5); and one or more straps (Fig. 5: 42) that connect the feeding restrictor to the container (Col. 3, lines 8-20).
Johnson fails to show wherein each of the one or more straps is configured with a buckle mechanism. Cutler et al. teaches a feeder comprising: one or more straps (Fi. 1: B), wherein each of the one or more straps is configured with a buckle mechanism (Col. 1, lines 38-40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the feeder of Johnson to include a buckle mechanism as taught by Cutler et al. for the advantage of adjusting the length of the strap to accommodate the weight of the feed.
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erichsen (DE 202012004257 U1, as cited by Applicant) in view of Cutler et al. (U.S. Patent No. 710,670).
For claim 1, Erichsen discloses a feeder comprising: a container (Fig. 1: 12) including a first surface (Fig. 1: 10), a second surface (Fig. 1: at the upper lip of the container 12), and one or more sidewalls (Fig. 1: surrounding wall of container 12) extending therebetween, wherein the second surface is an open surface (as shown in Fig. 1); a feeding restrictor (Fig. 1: 14) provided within the container between the first surface and second surface (as shown in Fig. 1); and one or more straps (Fig. 2: 1) that connect the feeding restrictor to the container (as shown in Figs. 1-2).
Erichsen fails to show wherein each of the one or more straps is configured with a buckle mechanism. Cutler et al. teaches a feeder comprising: one or more straps (Fi. 1: B’), wherein each of the one or more straps is configured with a buckle mechanism (Col. 1, lines 38-40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the feeder of Erichsen to include a buckle mechanism as taught by Cutler et al. for the advantage of adjusting the length of the strap to accommodate the weight of the feed.
For claim 7, Erichsen as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 1, wherein the container (Erichsen Fig. 1: 12) includes one or more holes (Erichsen Fig. 1: adjacent the underside of the upper lip of the container 12), each of the one or more holes corresponding to a respective strap (Erichsen Fig. 1: 16) of the one or more straps and through which the strap passes (Erichsen as shown in Fig. 1).
For claim 8, Erichsen as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 7, wherein a corresponding strap (Cutler et al. Fig. 1: B) is fixed to each of the one or more straps (Cutler et al. B) configured with the buckle mechanism after passing across the feeding restrictor (Cutler et al. Fig. 1: above springs E).
For claim 9, Erichsen as modified by Cutler et al. discloses the feeder of claim 8, wherein the buckle mechanism is configured to adjust the corresponding strap based on one or more characteristics of a user of the feeder or a volume of forage held by the container (Cutler et al. Col. 1, lines 38-44: based on the volume of forage).
Conclusion
/DANIELLE A CLERKLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/PETER M POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3643