This office action is in response to amendment filed 06/23/2016 in which claims 1-10 are pending.
Specification
A corrected abstract is accepted, hence objection to the abstract is withdrawn
4. The newly amended title filed 06/23/2016 of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
5. Amendment to claim 10 filed 06/23/2016 overcomes the claim objection
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Examiner has rejected Claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by An. See OA at par. 8, pages 3-13. Among the rejected claims, Claims 1, 9, and 10 are independent.
In rejecting Claim 1, the Examiner stated that An discloses "partitioning the sub-coding unit into one or more transform units using a recursive tree-based partitioning, wherein recursive tree-based partitioning is performed differently depending on a color component" by referring to An's Abstract, pars. [0032], [0014], and [0040]. See OA at pages 4-5. Applicant respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
A careful review of An reveals that An requires separate partitioning processes be applied to luma and chroma components when partitioning a coding tree unit (CTU) into coding units (CUs). An, par. [0013], emphasis added. This is further evidenced by An's own disclosure:
[0040] When the partitioning process disclosed above (e.g. binary tree or QTBT partitioning process) is applied to color video, separate partitioning process can be applied to luma and chroma components for an I-slice. The same partitioning process can be applied to both luma and chroma components for a P and B slice except when certain minimum sizes are reached for the chroma components. In other words, in an I-slice, the luma CTB may use its QTBT partitioning process, and the two chroma CTBs may have a separate QTBT partitioning process. In another example, the two chroma CTBs may also have separate QTBT partitioning process.
An, par. [0040], emphasis added. In contrast, Claim 1 recites "partitioning the sub-coding unit into one or more transform units using a recursive tree-based partitioning..." Emphasis added. Although An discloses partitioning a coding tree unit (CTU) into coding units (CUs), An is entirely silent about this claimed feature of Claim 1.
Furthermore, An discloses that there is no further explicit partitioning from the coding unit (CU) to the prediction unit (PU) or from the CU to the transform unit (TU):
[0032] The binary tree structure disclosed above can be used for partitioning a block into multiple smaller blocks (i.e., sub-blocks) such as partitioning a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CTU into CUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into TUs, and so on. In one embodiment, the binary tree is used for partitioning a CTU into CUs, i.e., the root node of the binary tree being a CTU and the leaf nodes of the binary tree are CUs. The leaf nodes are further processed by prediction and transform coding. In one
embodiment, there is no further explicit partitioning from the CU to the PU or from the CU to the TU to simplify the coding process. Therefore, the CU is also used as the PU and the TU. In other words, the leaf nodes of the binary tree are the basic units for the prediction process and transform process. In another embodiment, the leaf nodes of the binary tree are the basic units for the prediction process (i.e., the CU is also used as the PU), however it requires another partitioning from the CU to the TU. In yet another embodiment, the leaf nodes of the binary tree are the basic units for the transform process (i.e., the CU is also used as the TU), but it requires another partitioning from the CU to the PU.
An, par. [0032], emphasis added. This requires that all generated CUs are used for prediction process, transform process, or both without any further explicit partitioning process. Id.
From the foregoing, Applicant respectfully submits that An fails to disclose, otherwise teach or suggest, one or more features of Claim 1.
Claim 9 and the amended Claim 10 recite substantially similar features of Claim 1.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner's rejection of Claims 1, 9,
and 10, and Claims 2-8 that depend from Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by
An is moot and requests withdrawal of the rejection.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and clarifies that An in [0010]-[0013] teaches the current HEVC block partitioning only uses the quadtree based partitioning to partition a CTU to CU and to partition a CU to TU in a recursive fashion until a limit is reached. A method of video coding using block partitioning process including a binary tree partitioning process is disclosed. The block partitioning process is applied to a block of video data to partition the block into final sub-blocks. Coding process including prediction process, transform process or both for the block will be applied at the final sub-block level. The binary tree partitioning process can be applied to a given block recursively to generate binary tree leaf nodes. The block partitioning process based on recursive binary tree partitioning process disclosed above can be used to partition a CTU (coding tree unit) into CUs (coding units). In one embodiment, all generated CUs are used for prediction process, transform process or both respectively without any further explicit partitioning process. The block partitioning process based on recursive binary tree partitioning process disclosed above can also be used to partition a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into TUs. Para[0017] teaches all generated CUs are used for prediction process, transform process or both respectively without any further explicit partitioning process. Also the above partitioning process can be used to partition a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into TUs. Fig. 1A illustrates partition a CU into TUs (transform units) as shown in dashed lines. FIG. 4A, illustrates an example of binary tree partitioning process according to an embodiment of the present invention to partition a block of video data into final sub-blocks for the coding process comprising prediction process, transform process or both. Fig. 5A quadtree partitioning process plus binary tree partitioning process according to an embodiment of the present invention to partition a block of video data into final sub-blocks for the coding process comprising prediction process, transform process or both.
[0026] FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary flowchart for a coding system using a block partitioning process based on a recursive binary tree partitioning process incorporating an embodiment of the present invention to partition a block of video data into final sub-blocks for the coding process comprising prediction process, transform process or both.
Para[0032] The binary tree structure disclosed above can be used for partitioning a block into multiple smaller blocks (i.e., sub-blocks) such as partitioning a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CTU into CUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into TUs, and so on. Para[0036] The QTBT structure as disclosed above can be used for partitioning a block into multiple smaller blocks (i.e., final sub-blocks) such as partitioning a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CTU into CUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into TUs, and so on. In one embodiment, the binary tree is used for partitioning a CTU into CUs, i.e., the root node of the binary tree being a CTU and the leaf nodes of the binary tree are CUs. The leaf nodes are further processed by prediction and transform coding. . In another embodiment, the leaf nodes of the binary tree are the basic units for the prediction process (i.e., the CU is also used as the PU), however it requires another partitioning from the CU to the TU. Para [0036] The QTBT structure as disclosed above can be used for partitioning a block into multiple smaller blocks (i.e., final sub-blocks) such as partitioning a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CTU into CUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into TUs, and so on. For example, the QTBT partitioning process can be applied to partition a CTU into CUs, i.e., the root node of the QTBT is a CTU and the leaf nodes of the QTBT are CUs. The CUs are further processed by prediction and transform coding. Further Para[0041] teaches the conventional HEVC uses quadtree partitioning process to split a CTU into one or more CUs and a CU into one or more TUs recursively until a termination condition is reached. The CUs are used for prediction process and transform process without further explicit partitioning.
Thus An clearly discloses “partitioning the sub-coding unit into one or more transform units using a recursive tree-based partitioning”.
Further An also discloses in [0008] The terms, coding tree block (CTB), coding block (CB), prediction block (PB), and transform block (TB) are defined to specify the 2-D sample array of one color component associated with CTU, CU, PU, and TU, respectively. Thus, a CTU consists of one luma CTB, two chroma CTBs, and associated syntax elements. A similar relationship is valid for CU, PU, and TU. para[0014] The block of video data for luma and non-luma components in an I-slice may use individual binary tree partitioning process or the block of video data for two chroma components in an I-slice uses individual binary tree partitioning process. The block of video data for each color component in an I-slice may also use its individual binary tree partitioning process. Para[0017] teaches the block of video data for luma and non-luma components in an I-slice may use individual quadtree plus binary tree partitioning process or the block of video data for two chroma components in an I-slice uses individual quadtree plus binary tree partitioning process. Para[0040] When the partitioning process disclosed above (e.g. binary tree or QTBT partitioning process) is applied to color video, separate partitioning process can be applied to luma and chroma components for an I-slice. The same partitioning process can be applied to both luma and chroma components for a P and B slice except when certain minimum sizes are reached for the chroma components. In other words, in an I-slice, the luma CTB may use its QTBT partitioning process, and the two chroma CTBs may have a separate QTBT partitioning process. In another example, the two chroma CTBs may also have separate QTBT partitioning process.
Thus An clearly discloses "partitioning the sub-coding unit into one or more transform units using a recursive tree-based partitioning, wherein recursive tree-based partitioning is performed differently depending on a color component.
Hence examiner respectfully submits that An discloses otherwise teach or suggest, all the features of Claim 1. Claim 9 and the amended Claim 10 recite substantially similar features of Claim 1. Accordingly, Examiner respectfully submits that the same response applies to Claims 9,
and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by An et al. (US 2017/0272750 A1).
Regarding claim 1, An discloses a method for processing an image (Abstract teaches a method of video coding using block partitioning process including a binary tree partitioning process is disclosed), the method comprising: partitioning a coding unit into one or more sub-coding units based on partitioning information obtained from a bitstream (Para[0042] & Fig. 6 teaches a partitioning structure corresponding to a block partitioning process including a binary tree partitioning process is derived for the block of video data from the video bitstream in step 620); partitioning a sub-coding unit into one or more prediction units (Para[0013] teaches the block partitioning process based on recursive binary tree partitioning process can be used to partition a CTU (coding tree unit) into CUs (coding units). All generated CUs are used for prediction process, transform process or both respectively without any further explicit partitioning process. The block partitioning process based on recursive binary tree partitioning process disclosed above can also be used to partition a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into Tus & FIG. 2 illustrates the available partition types for partitioning a PU (prediction unit) ); and partitioning the sub-coding unit into one or more transform units using a recursive tree-based partitioning (Abstract teaches binary tree partitioning process can be applied to a given block recursively to generate binary tree leaf nodes until a termination condition is met. Quadtree partitioning process is applied to a block first. The quadtree leaf nodes are further partitioned using the binary tree partitioning process. The quadtree partitioning process can be applied to a given block recursively to generate quadtree leaf nodes until a termination condition is met, para[0032] teaches the binary tree structure disclosed above can be used for partitioning a block into multiple smaller blocks (i.e., sub-blocks) such as partitioning a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CTU into CUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into TUs, and so on. In one embodiment, the binary tree is used for partitioning a CTU into CUs, i.e., the root node of the binary tree being a CTU and the leaf nodes of the binary tree are CUs. The leaf nodes are further processed by prediction and transform coding), wherein recursive tree-based partitioning is performed differently depending on a color component (Para[0014] teaches the block of video data for luma and non-luma components in an I-slice may use individual binary tree partitioning process or the block of video data for two chroma components in an I-slice uses individual binary tree partitioning process. The block of video data for each color component in an I-slice may also use its individual binary tree partitioning process. Para[0040] teaches when the partitioning process (e.g. binary tree or QTBT partitioning process) is applied to color video, separate partitioning process can be applied to luma and chroma components for an I-slice. The same partitioning process can be applied to both luma and chroma components for a P and B slice except when certain minimum sizes are reached for the chroma components. In other words, in an I-slice, the luma CTB may use its QTBT partitioning process, and the two chroma CTBs may have a separate QTBT partitioning process. In another example, the two chroma CTBs may also have separate QTBT partitioning process).
Regarding claim 2, An discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the partitioning of the sub-coding unit into the prediction units is a type-based partitioning (Para[0011] teaches various binary partition types for the binary tree partitioning process can be used. For example, the types may consist of symmetric horizontal and vertical partitions. The types may also consist of symmetric horizontal and vertical partitions and asymmetric partitions. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of available partition types for the binary tree partitioning process. Para[0028]-[0030] teaches Exemplary splitting types according to one embodiment are shown in FIG. 3, which includes two symmetric binary tree partitioning types and four asymmetric binary tree partitioning types. The symmetric horizontal and vertical splitting types are the simplest splitting types and often achieve the good coding efficiency. Therefore, in one embodiment, only these two symmetric binary tree partitioning types are used. For a given block of size M×N, a flag can be signaled to indicate whether the block is split into two smaller blocks. If yes, a second syntax element is signaled to indicate which splitting type is used . FIG. 4B illustrates its corresponding partitioning tree (which is a binary tree in this embodiment). In this example, the partition types consist of two types corresponding to symmetric horizontal partition and vertical partition).
Regarding claim 3, An discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the partitioning of the sub-coding unit into the prediction units is performed based on at least one of a size of the sub-coding unit or a prediction mode of the sub-coding unit (Para[0006] teaches for prediction process (e.g. inter prediction or intra prediction), each CU is further partitioned into one or more prediction units (PUs), Para[0015] teaches the quadtree partitioning of one node can be implicitly terminated when the node reaches a minimum allowed quadtree leaf node size or the quadtree depth associated with the node reaches a maximum allowed quadtree depth. For any quadtree leaf node with a block size not larger than a maximum allowed binary tree root node size, the binary tree partitioning process can be further applied to the quadtree leaf node recursively. The binary tree partitioning of one node can be implicitly terminated when the node reaches a minimum allowed binary tree leaf node size or the binary tree depth associated with node reaches a maximum allowed binary tree depth).
Regarding claim 4, An discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the partitioning information further comprises mode information used for the partitioning of the sub-coding unit into the prediction units, and wherein the mode information indicates a partitioning mode among a plurality of predetermined partitioning modes (Para[0028] teaches for a given block of size M×N, a flag can be signaled to indicate whether the block is split into two smaller blocks. If yes, a second syntax element is signaled to indicate which splitting type is used. If the horizontal splitting is used then it is split into two blocks of size M×N/2. If the vertical splitting is used, the block is split into two blocks of size M/2×N. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3, M is equal to N).
Regarding claim 5, An discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of predetermined partitioning modes comprises partitioning modes in which the prediction units have different heights or different widths from each other (Para[0011] teaches the types may consist of symmetric horizontal and vertical partitions. The types may also consist of symmetric horizontal and vertical partitions and asymmetric partitions, Para[0028] teaches FIG. 3, which includes two symmetric binary tree partitioning types and four asymmetric binary tree partitioning types).
Regarding claim 6, An discloses the method of claim 4, wherein whether to perform the partitioning of the sub-coding unit into the prediction units is determined based on the mode information when the information indicating whether the coding unit is partitioned is not obtained from the bitstream (Para[0028] teaches for a given block of size M×N, a flag can be signaled to indicate whether the block is split into two smaller blocks. If yes, a second syntax element is signaled to indicate which splitting type is used. If the horizontal splitting is used then it is split into two blocks of size M×N/2. If the vertical splitting is used, the block is split into two blocks of size M/2×N. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3, M is equal to N).
Regarding claim 7, An discloses the method of claim 1, wherein whether to perform the partitioning of the coding unit into the sub-coding units is determined based on encoding information obtained from the bitstream when the information indicating whether the coding unit is partitioned is not obtained from the bitstream (Para[0030] & FIG. 4A teaches block partitioning process using binary tree to partition a block into final sub-blocks and FIG. 4B illustrates its corresponding partitioning tree (which is a binary tree in this embodiment). In this example, the partition types consist of two types corresponding to symmetric horizontal partition and vertical partition. In each splitting (i.e., non-leaf node of the binary tree), one flag indicating the splitting type (i.e., horizontal or vertical) is signaled, where 0 indicates horizontal splitting and 1 indicates vertical splitting. Each final sub-block corresponds to one binary tree leaf node. In other words, the number of final sub-blocks in FIG. 4A is the same as the number of leaf nodes of the binary tree).
Regarding claim 8, An discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the prediction units are not further partitioned (Para[0031] teaches A “0” (410b) is assigned to the root node to indicate the corresponding partition process. The partition process decides not to further split the lower half (labelled as sub-block “A” in FIG. 4A) and the lower half is not subject to any further split. Since sub-blocks “B” and “C” are not subject to further split, sub-blocks “B” and “C” are final sub-blocks. A “1” (430b) is assigned to the corresponding binary tree node. The sub-blocks “B” and “C” correspond to two binary tree leaf nodes as indicated in FIG. 4B. FIG. 4A and 4B are intended to illustrate one example of binary tree partitioning process according to an embodiment of the present invention. )
Regarding claim 9, An discloses a method for processing an image, the method comprising: partitioning a coding unit into one or more sub-coding units (Para[0032] teaches the binary tree structure disclosed above can be used for partitioning a block into multiple smaller blocks (i.e., sub-blocks) such as partitioning a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CTU into CUs); partitioning a sub-coding unit into one or more prediction units (Para[0032] teaches the binary tree structure disclosed above can be used for partitioning a block into multiple smaller blocks (i.e., sub-blocks) such as partitioning a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CTU into CUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into TUs, and so on); partitioning the sub-coding unit into one or more transform units using a recursive tree-based partitioning (Para[0013] teaches the block partitioning process based on recursive binary tree partitioning process can be used to partition a CTU (coding tree unit) into CUs (coding units). All generated CUs are used for prediction process, transform process or both respectively without any further explicit partitioning process. The block partitioning process based on recursive binary tree partitioning process disclosed above can also be used to partition a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into Tus); and encoding partitioning information comprising information indicating whether the coding unit is partitioned is encoded (Para[0012] teaches a first indicator can be signaled for a given block to indicate whether the binary partition is applied to the given block. If the binary partition is applied to the given block, a second indicator may be signaled to indicate the binary partition type. In the case that the types consist of symmetric horizontal and vertical partitions, a 1-bit flag can be used to indicate the symmetric horizontal partition or the symmetric vertical partition. The second indicator can be inferred as the symmetric vertical partition when height of the given block reaches the minimum allowed height. Similarly, the second indicator can be inferred to be the symmetric horizontal partition when width of the given block reaches the minimum allowed width. The minimum allowed height and the minimum allowed width can be specified in high level syntax such as SPS (sequence parameter set), PPS (picture parameter set) or slice header), wherein recursive tree-based partitioning is performed differently depending on a color component (Para[0014] teaches the block of video data for luma and non-luma components in an I-slice may use individual binary tree partitioning process or the block of video data for two chroma components in an I-slice uses individual binary tree partitioning process. The block of video data for each color component in an I-slice may also use its individual binary tree partitioning process. Para[0040] teaches when the partitioning process (e.g. binary tree or QTBT partitioning process) is applied to color video, separate partitioning process can be applied to luma and chroma components for an I-slice. The same partitioning process can be applied to both luma and chroma components for a P and B slice except when certain minimum sizes are reached for the chroma components. In other words, in an I-slice, the luma CTB may use its QTBT partitioning process, and the two chroma CTBs may have a separate QTBT partitioning process. In another example, the two chroma CTBs may also have separate QTBT partitioning process).
Regarding claim 10, An discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising (Para[0042] & Fig. 6 teaches the system receives a video bitstream in step 610. The video bitstream may be retrieved from storage such as a computer memory of buffer (RAM or DRAM). The video bitstream may also be received from a processor such as a processing unit or a digital signal. A partitioning structure corresponding to a block partitioning process including a binary tree partitioning process is derived for the block of video data from the video bitstream in step 620): partitioning a coding unit into one or more sub-coding units (Para[0042] & Fig. 6 teaches the partitioning structure represents partitioning the block of video data into final sub-blocks, and when the binary tree partitioning process decides to apply binary tree partition to one given block, said one given block is always split into two sub-blocks. The final sub-blocks are decoded based on the video bitstream in step 630); partitioning a sub-coding unit into one or more prediction units (Para[0032] teaches the binary tree structure disclosed above can be used for partitioning a block into multiple smaller blocks (i.e., sub-blocks) such as partitioning a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CTU into CUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into TUs, and so on); partitioning the sub-coding unit into one or more transform units using a recursive tree-based partitioning (Para[0013] teaches the block partitioning process based on recursive binary tree partitioning process can be used to partition a CTU (coding tree unit) into CUs (coding units). All generated CUs are used for prediction process, transform process or both respectively without any further explicit partitioning process. The block partitioning process based on recursive binary tree partitioning process disclosed above can also be used to partition a picture into CTUs, a slice into CTUs, a CU into PUs, a CU into TUs, or a PU into Tus); encoding partitioning information comprising information indicating whether the coding unit is partitioned is encoded (Para[0012] teaches a first indicator can be signaled for a given block to indicate whether the binary partition is applied to the given block. If the binary partition is applied to the given block, a second indicator may be signaled to indicate the binary partition type. In the case that the types consist of symmetric horizontal and vertical partitions, a 1-bit flag can be used to indicate the symmetric horizontal partition or the symmetric vertical partition. The second indicator can be inferred as the symmetric vertical partition when height of the given block reaches the minimum allowed height. Similarly, the second indicator can be inferred to be the symmetric horizontal partition when width of the given block reaches the minimum allowed width. The minimum allowed height and the minimum allowed width can be specified in high level syntax such as SPS (sequence parameter set), PPS (picture parameter set) or slice header); and transmitting the bitstream, wherein recursive tree-based partitioning is performed differently depending on a color component (Para[0014] teaches the block of video data for luma and non-luma components in an I-slice may use individual binary tree partitioning process or the block of video data for two chroma components in an I-slice uses individual binary tree partitioning process. The block of video data for each color component in an I-slice may also use its individual binary tree partitioning process. Para[0040] teaches when the partitioning process (e.g. binary tree or QTBT partitioning process) is applied to color video, separate partitioning process can be applied to luma and chroma components for an I-slice. The same partitioning process can be applied to both luma and chroma components for a P and B slice except when certain minimum sizes are reached for the chroma components. In other words, in an I-slice, the luma CTB may use its QTBT partitioning process, and the two chroma CTBs may have a separate QTBT partitioning process. In another example, the two chroma CTBs may also have separate QTBT partitioning process).
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US 2018/0332295 A1). discloses one picture may be divided into two tiles by a vertical tile boundary in the picture. Each divided tile includes the integer number of coding tree units and may be a rectangular region.
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425