DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 06/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 10 has been amended to require the limitations of claim 1. This is not found persuasive because as amended, the inventions are still directed toward related processes that are patentably distinct. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have a materially different mode of operation and effect, wherein invention I produces . To accomplish this, the methods employ materially different reaction conditions (reagents, solvent, temperatures) and are mutually exclusive. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants. Examiner will consider rejoining claims upon indication that a generic or linking claim of the elected invention is allowable.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-23 and 28-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/29/2026.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that, according to the Filing receipt received 04/02/2026, that the instant application 19/556,476 filed 03/04/2026 is a continuation of PCT/EP2024/076410 filed 09/20/2024 which claims foreign priority of EPO application 23306579.6 filed 09/22/2023. Claims 1-9 have been awarded the effective filing date of 09/22/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 03/04/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is less than 50 words and does not concisely describe the entire disclosure, which also includes methods of making crystalline forms and methods of treatment. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 4, 5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 5, and 8 recite “the amount of starting N-(4-chloro-2-iodo-phenyl)-1,3-benzothiazole-6-sulfonamide” (emphasis added). This limitation lacks antecedent basis as the term “starting” is not supported, inherently or explicitly, by claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montalbetti et al. (US 2021/0300913 A1; IDS filed 03/04/2026) in view of Heidenreich et al. (Synlett; 2002) and Mao et al. (Catalysts; 2021).
Montalbetti et al. discloses a method of making deuterated lanifibranor, comprising reacting N-(4-chloro-2-iodophenyl)-2-deuterio-1,3-benzothiazole-6-sulfonamide with 1.1 eq. 5-hexynoic acid, 0.1 eq. copper iodide, 0.05 eq. Pd(PPh3)4, and 1.5 eq. triethylamine in anhydrous DMF (N,N-dimethylformamide) at 80oC for 2 hours (paragraph [0031]-[0032]). The structures of N-(4-chloro-2-iodophenyl)-2-deuterio-1,3-benzothiazole-6-sulfonamide, 5-hexynoic acid, and deuterated lanifibranor are as below, respectively (drawn by STN).
Examiner notes that the scope of the instant invention has been interpreted to encompass deuterated lanifibranor and a starting material of N-(4-chloro-2-iodophenyl)-2-deuterio-1,3-benzothiazole-6-sulfonamide (see specification, p. 3 lines 25-28 and p. 12 lines 21-24).
Montalbetti et al. does not disclose that the palladium catalyst is Pd/C. This limitation is obvious over Heidenreich et al. and Mao et al.
Heidenreich et al. discloses an optimized heterogeneous Pd/C catalyst for cross-coupling Heck, Suzuki, and Sonogashira reactions (Abstract). Heidenreich et al. discloses that coupling of aryl iodides with terminal alkynes results in high yields of up to 80% and conversions of up to 74% in 30 minutes using low Pd concentrations (p. 1120, col. 2, par. 2; Scheme 3). Heidenreich et al. additionally discloses that the Pd/C catalyst allows for complete Pd separation and recovery (Abstract).
Mao et al. discloses a Pd/C catalyst used in Sonogashira cross-coupling of a terminal alkyne with a quinolinyl iodide derivative, which resulted in the formation of a pyrrole fused to the ring structure of the starting material (p. 15, Scheme 5 as below).
As shown in Scheme 25 above, the reaction was carried out with CuI as a co-catalyst and in the presence of a triethylamine base. Mao et al. additionally discloses that the heterogeneous Pd/C catalyst system offers particular advantages, such as recycling and reuse of Pd/C and its high tolerance for moderate or harsh reaction conditions (p. 1, Abstract and paragraph 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the Pd(PPh3)4 of Montalbetti et al. with Pd/C. One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, as Pd/C has been demonstrated in the art to function as a catalyst in terminal alkyne cross-coupling reactions, including formation of indoles (pyrrole fused to benzene). Moreover, one would find the substitution of Pd/C to be advantageous for its improved reusability and stability under harsh conditions. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore expect Pd/C to yield similar, if not improved, results in synthesizing lanifibranor via the coupling reaction of N-(4-chloro-2-iodophenyl)-2-deuterio-1,3-benzothiazole-6-sulfonamide and 5-hexynoic acid.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MADELINE E BRAUN/Examiner, Art Unit 1624 07/14/2026