DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olson et al (US 6,283,035) [hereinafter Olson].
Regarding claim 1, Olson discloses a cartridge case 4 for a firearm having reduced internal volume (title; abstract; Fig. 1) comprising:
the cartridge case 4 including a case head, the case head including a primer pocket, a cartridge case wall integrally formed to the case head, the cartridge case wall being tubular in construction, the cartridge case wall extending between the case head and a shoulder portion which reduces the diameter of the cartridge case wall while still maintaining the tubular shape, the shoulder portion transitioning to a neck portion integrally formed to the shoulder, the neck portion maintaining the tubular construction and extending substantially parallel to the cartridge case wall, terminating in a cartridge case mouth for accepting and locating a bullet assembly, the cartridge case defining a propellant chamber including an inner surface defining a first volume (cleary seen in Fig. 1, 7, 8),
a propellant fill adapter 8 positioned within the propellant chamber for reducing the volume of propellant that will fit into the cartridge case defining a second volume (Fig. 1; Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Olson further disclose wherein the propellant fill adapter is constructed from a polymer (“in preferred embodiments of the reduced propellant ammunition cartridge 2, the tube 8 is made of aluminum, but it may be made of brass or other malleable metal. Alternatively, the tube 8 may be made of plastic. Also, the thickness of the tube 8 is predetermined to control the maximum quantity of powder charge 10 contained within the ammunition cartridge 2”).
Regarding claim 3, Olson further discloses wherein the propellant fill adapter is constructed as a tubular member having an inner surface, an outer surface, a base end surface, and a mouth end surface (clearly seen in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Olson further discloses wherein the outer surface of the propellant fill adapter is constructed and arranged to be spaced away from the inner surface of the propellant chamber along the full length of the propellant fill adapter. (Fig. 1, 7, 11)
Claims 1-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maljkovic et al (US 9,182,204) [hereinafter Maljkovic].
Regarding claim 1, Maljkovic discloses a cartridge case 2 for a firearm having reduced internal volume (Title; Abstract; Fig. 3) comprising:
the cartridge case including a case head, the case head including a primer pocket, a cartridge case wall integrally formed to the case head, the cartridge case wall being tubular in construction, the cartridge case wall extending between the case head and a shoulder portion which reduces the diameter of the cartridge case wall while still maintaining the tubular shape, the shoulder portion transitioning to a neck portion integrally formed to the shoulder, the neck portion maintaining the tubular construction and extending substantially parallel to the cartridge case wall, terminating in a cartridge case mouth for accepting and locating a bullet assembly, the cartridge case defining a propellant chamber including an inner surface defining a first volume (clearly seen in Fig. 3),
a propellant fill adapter 5 positioned within the propellant chamber for reducing the volume of propellant that will fit into the cartridge case defining a second volume (Abstract; Fig. 3; Col. 6 line 56 – Col. 7, line 8: “FIG. 3 itself shows one possible embodiment of the invention. In this embodiment, the subsonic casing is constructed from a hybrid two-piece casing design. A hybrid two-piece casing design, such as that shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, lends itself well to the incorporation of a separate polymeric restrictor 5 into the caselet 4 to partially form the engineered propellant volume or chamber 7. In such an embodiment, the restrictor is easily inserted from the primer end of caselet 4, prior to the attachment of cap 6. Following the attachment of the cap 6 to the caselet 4 the restrictor 5 is held tightly within the resulting shell and therefore the whole casing structure of FIG. 3 remains intact following the firing event without risk of expulsion from the casing or attendant movement of the restrictor or propellant in relation to other elements of the casing”).
Regarding claim 2, Maljkovic further discloses wherein the propellant fill adapter is constructed from a polymer (Col. 6, lines 64-67: “A hybrid two-piece casing design, such as that shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, lends itself well to the incorporation of a separate polymeric restrictor 5 into the caselet 4 to partially form the engineered propellant volume or chamber 7”).
Regarding claim 3, Maljkovic further discloses wherein the propellant fill adapter is constructed as a tubular member having an inner surface, an outer surface, a base end surface, and a mouth end surface (clearly shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Maljkovic further discloses wherein the outer surface is constructed and arranged to conform to the inner surface of the propellant chamber from the base end surface to the mouth end surface (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Maljkovic further discloses wherein the inner surface of the propellant fill adapter is constructed and arranged to include a first cylindrical portion extending from the base end surface to the mouth end surface (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Maljkovic further discloses wherein the cartridge case is constructed from polymer (Claim 1; Col. 1, lines 10-15: “The present invention generally relates to ammunition articles, and more particularly to subsonic ammunition casings formed from polymeric materials”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson.
Regarding claim 10, fails to disclose wherein the fill adapter is constructed and arranged to be positioned against the inner surface of the propellant chamber spaced away from the inner surface of the propellant chamber at the case head and spaced away from the inner surface of the propellant chamber at the case shoulder.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have made the fill adapter is constructed and arranged to be positioned against the inner surface of the propellant chamber spaced away from the inner surface of the propellant chamber at the case head and spaced away from the inner surface of the propellant chamber at the case shoulder, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Furthermore, Absent of any affidavit showing unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to made the fill adapter is constructed and arranged to be positioned against the inner surface of the propellant chamber spaced away from the inner surface of the propellant chamber at the case head and spaced away from the inner surface of the propellant chamber at the case shoulder. Applicant has not disclosed that claimed shape provide an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maljkovic in view of Burrow (US 2022/0349691).
Regarding claim 6, Maljkovic further discloses any suitable cross-sectional shape may be used within the subsonic casings of the instant invention, such as, for example, hexagonal, triangular, square, etc., as shown for example in FIG. 6. Likewise, the cross-section of the engineered propellant chamber need not be uniform along the longitudinal length of the casing. The dimensions of the engineered propellant volume could taper from proximal to distal ends, or from distal to proximal ends, or a series of interconnected chambers of propellant could be formed. In short, any size shape or number of engineered propellant chambers may be used providing these engineered propellant volumes or chamber satisfy the overall volume limitations described herein.
Maljkovic fails to expressly disclose wherein the inner surface of the propellant fill adapter is constructed and arranged to include a first cylindrical portion extending from the base end surface transitioning to a first frustoconical portion extending to the mouth end surface.
Burrow teaches that it is known in the art of subsonic ammunition to provide a propellant fill adapter constructed and arranged to include a first cylindrical portion extending from the base end surface transitioning to a first frustoconical portion extending to the mouth end surface (Fig. 2C; Par. 0042: “ FIG. 2c shows a propellant chamber insert 66 that is thicker in the bottom of the propellant chamber 14 extending about half of the middle body component 28 and thinner at the near the bullet-end component 18 with the propellant chamber insert 66 tapering from towards the bullet-end 18.” See also Par. 0046: “The propellant chamber insert 66 may be of any shape or profile to occupy the necessary volume in the powder (propellant) chamber 14. In addition having any profile, the present invention may have a varied profile throughout the casing which allows the shoulder region to have a greater volume than the base region or to have a multistage propellant load. In addition, the propellant chamber insert 66 may have separate profiles in separate regions to achieve a specific burn and specific ignition”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Maljkovic such that the fill adapter had an internal volume to include a first cylindrical portion extending from the base end surface transitioning to a first frustoconical portion extending to the mouth end surface, in view of Burrow, to obtain the desire result of achieving a specific burn and specific ignition.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Maljkovic fails to expressly disclose wherein the inner surface of the propellant fill adapter is constructed and arranged to include a first cylindrical portion extending from the base end surface transitioning to a first frustoconical portion, the first frustoconical portion transitioning to a second cylindrical portion extending to the mouth end surface or wherein the inner surface of the propellant fill adapter is constructed and arranged to include a first cylindrical portion extending from the base end surface transitioning to a first frustoconical portion, the first frustoconical portion transitioning to a second cylindrical portion, the second cylindrical portion transitioning to a second frustoconical portion, the second frustoconical portion transitioning to a third cylindrical portion and extending to the mouth end surface.
Burrow teaches that it is known in the art of subsonic ammunition to provide a propellant chamber insert 66 may be of any shape or profile to occupy the necessary volume in the powder (propellant) and a varied profile throughout the casing which allows the shoulder region to have a greater volume than the base region or to have a multistage propellant load. Burrow further teaches the propellant chamber insert 66 may have separate profiles in separate regions to achieve a specific burn and specific ignition (Par. 0046).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Maljkovic such that the fill adapter had internal volume was shaped and profiled as claimed, in view of Burrow, to obtain the desire result of achieving a specific burn and specific ignition.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maljkovic in view of Baxter et al (US 2017/0307343) [hereinafter Baxter].
Regarding claims 11-13, Maljkovic fails to disclose wherein the cartridge case is constructed from brass, steel or aluminum.
Baxter teaches that it is known in the art to make cartridge casings out of brass, steel or aluminum (Par. 0045).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize brass, steel or aluminum as the casing material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
Additional art representing the state of the art of cartridge cases for a firearm having reduced internal volume considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure is cited in the attached PTO-892 form.
/JOSHUA E FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641