DETAILED ACTION
It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
3. Filing date.
4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
5. Title of invention.
6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 7 and 16 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190
A pixel circuit, comprising a pixel driving circuit, a first light-emitting element, a second light-emitting element, a switching circuit and a reset circuit, wherein
the pixel driving circuit is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element to drive the first light-emitting element to emit light, the switching circuit comprises a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, the first terminal of the switching circuit is electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit, the second terminal of the switching circuit is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element, wherein
the reset circuit comprises a reference voltage connection terminal for receiving a first reference voltage and a reset control terminal for receiving a reset control signal, the reset circuit is electrically connected to either of the first terminal and the second terminal of the switching circuit, and at least one of the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element, and is configured to reset the first light-emitting element and/or the second light-emitting element using the first reference voltage under control of the reset control signal, wherein
the switching circuit comprises a first transistor, the first terminal of the switching circuit comprises a first electrode of the first transistor, the second terminal of the switching circuit comprises a second electrode of the first transistor, and the control terminal of the switching circuit comprises a control electrode of the first transistor, wherein
the first electrode of the first transistor is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element, the second electrode of the first transistor is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element, the control electrode of the first transistor is configured to receive a first level signal or a second level signal different from the first level signal.
A pixel circuit, comprising a pixel driving circuit, a first light-emitting element, a second light-emitting element, a switching circuit and a reset circuit, wherein
the pixel driving circuit is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element to drive the first light-emitting element to emit light, the switching circuit comprises a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, the first terminal of the switching circuit is electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit, the second terminal of the switching circuit is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element, and the switching circuit is configured to:
electrically connect the second light-emitting element to the pixel driving circuit in response to the control terminal receiving a first level signal, so that the pixel driving circuit drives the second light-emitting element to emit light, and disconnect an electrical connection between the second light-emitting element and the pixel driving circuit in response to the control terminal receiving a second level signal, so that the second light-emitting element is in a non-luminous state, wherein
the reset circuit comprises a reference voltage connection terminal for receiving a first reference voltage and a reset control terminal for receiving a reset control signal, the reset circuit is electrically connected to either of the first terminal and the second terminal of the switching circuit, and at least one of the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element, and is configured to reset the first light-emitting element and/or the second light-emitting element using the first reference voltage under control of the reset control signal, wherein
the switching circuit comprises a first transistor, the first terminal of the switching circuit comprises a first electrode of the first transistor, the second terminal of the switching circuit comprises a second electrode of the first transistor, and the control terminal of the switching circuit comprises a control electrode of the first transistor, wherein
the first electrode of the first transistor is directly connected to a first electrode of the first light-emitting element, the second electrode of the first transistor is electrically connected to a first electrode of the second light-emitting element, the control electrode of the first transistor is configured to receive the first level signal or the second level signal, and a second electrode of the first light-emitting element and a second electrode of the second light-emitting element are electrically connected to a second reference voltage terminal.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 differs from that of claim 1 of instant application in that it does not explicitly disclose that the second level signal different from the first level signal, however, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 does disclose that the first level signal provides for control that is different from the second level signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that teaching of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 to explicitly state that the second level signal was different from the first level signal, with motivation to alternatively state previously disclosed parameters, wherein such modification would have simply required a routine skill.
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 4 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 5 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 6 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 7 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 16 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 17 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 18 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 19 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 20 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claims 8 – 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 in view of Yao et al. (US 2023/0100284). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 8 of Instant Application
Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190
A pixel circuit, comprising a pixel driving circuit, a first light-emitting element, a second light-emitting element, a switching circuit and a reset circuit, wherein the pixel driving circuit is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element to drive the first light-emitting element to emit light, the switching circuit comprises a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, the first terminal of the switching circuit is electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit, the second terminal of the switching circuit is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element, wherein
the reset circuit comprises a reference voltage connection terminal for receiving a first reference voltage and a reset control terminal for receiving a reset control signal, the reset circuit is electrically connected to either of the first terminal and the second terminal of the switching circuit, and at least one of the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element, and is configured to reset the first light-emitting element and/or the second light-emitting element using the first reference voltage under control of the reset control signal, wherein
the switching circuit comprises a first transistor, the first terminal of the switching circuit comprises a first electrode of the first transistor, the second terminal of the switching circuit comprises a second electrode of the first transistor, and the control terminal of the switching circuit comprises a control electrode of the first transistor, wherein
the first electrode of the first transistor is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element, the second electrode of the first transistor is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element, the control electrode of the first transistor is configured to receive a first level signal or a second level signal different from the first level signal;
a display panel, comprising: a base substrate; and a plurality of pixel circuits, each pixel circuit being the pixel circuit, wherein the plurality of pixel circuits are arranged in an array on the base substrate to form a pixel circuit array;
A display panel, comprising: a base substrate; and a plurality of pixel circuits,
each pixel circuit comprising a pixel driving circuit, a first light-emitting element, a second light-emitting element, a switching circuit and a reset circuit, wherein the pixel driving circuit is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element to drive the first light-emitting element to emit light, the switching circuit comprises a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, the first terminal of the switching circuit is electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit, the second terminal of the switching circuit is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element, and
the switching circuit is configured to: electrically connect the second light-emitting element to the pixel driving circuit in response to the control terminal receiving a first level signal, so that the pixel driving circuit drives the second light-emitting element to emit light, and disconnect an electrical connection between the second light-emitting element and the pixel driving circuit in response to the control terminal receiving a second level signal, so that the second light-emitting element is in a non-luminous state, wherein
the reset circuit comprises a reference voltage connection terminal for receiving a first reference voltage and a reset control terminal for receiving a reset control signal, the reset circuit is electrically connected to either of the first terminal and the second terminal of the switching circuit, and at least one of the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element, and is configured to reset the first light-emitting element and/or the second light-emitting element using the first reference voltage under control of the reset control signal,
wherein the plurality of pixel circuits are arranged in an array on the base substrate to form a pixel circuit array, wherein
the display panel comprises a first reference voltage line on the base substrate, and the first reference voltage line is electrically connected to the reference voltage connection terminal to transmit the first reference voltage, wherein two adjacent pixel circuits in the pixel circuit array share the first reference voltage line, and the two adjacent pixel circuits are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the first reference voltage line.
Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 does not explicitly disclose that
the switching circuit comprises a first transistor, the first terminal of the switching circuit comprises a first electrode of the first transistor, the second terminal of the switching circuit comprises a second electrode of the first transistor, and the control terminal of the switching circuit comprises a control electrode of the first transistor, wherein
the first electrode of the first transistor is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element, the second electrode of the first transistor is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element, the control electrode of the first transistor is configured to receive a first level signal or a second level signal different from the first level signal.
In the same filed of endeavor, Yao discloses a pixel circuit, comprising a
switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) comprises a first transistor (M7 of fig. 12), the first terminal of the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) comprises a first electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12), the second terminal of the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) comprises a second electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12), and the control terminal of the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) comprises a control electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12), wherein the first electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12) is electrically connected (through M5 of fig. 12) to the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12), the second electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12), the control electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12) is configured to receive a first level signal (signal of Emit2 of fig. 12) or a second level signal (level of signal of Emit2 of fig. 12) different from the first level signal (signal of Emit2 of fig. 12) (Emit2 comprises multiple levels, fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 and the teachings of Yao, such that the switching circuit was provided as disclosed by Yao, with motivation to provide a display panel with improved viewing angle (Yao, [0004 – 0005]).
Claim 9 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 in view of Yao.
Claim 10 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 in view of Yao.
Claim 11 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 in view of Yao.
Claim 12 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 in view of Yao.
Claim 13 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190 in view of Yao.
Claim 14 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim 15 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,592,190.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (US 2023/0100284).
As to claim 1, Yao discloses a pixel circuit, comprising a pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuit 7 of fig. 12), a first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12), a second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12), a switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) and a reset circuit (reset controlling module 10 of fig. 12 and anode reset module 72 of fig. 12), wherein
the pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuit 7 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12) to drive the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12) to emit light, the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) comprises a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal (three terminals of 6 of fig, 12), the first terminal of the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuit 7 of fig. 12), the second terminal of the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12), wherein
the reset circuit (reset controlling module 10 of fig. 12 and anode reset module 72 of fig. 12) comprises a reference voltage connection terminal for receiving a first reference voltage (Vref of fig. 12) and a reset control terminal for receiving a reset control signal (Scan2 of fig. 12), the reset circuit (reset controlling module 10 of fig. 12 and anode reset module 72 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to either of the first terminal and the second terminal of the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12), and at least one of the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12) and the second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12), and is configured to reset the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12) and/or the second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12) using the first reference voltage (Vref of fig. 12) under control of the reset control signal (Scan2 of fig. 12), wherein
the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) comprises a first transistor (M7 of fig. 12), the first terminal of the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) comprises a first electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12), the second terminal of the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) comprises a second electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12), and the control terminal of the switching circuit (mode controlling module 6 of fig. 12) comprises a control electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12), wherein
the first electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12) is electrically connected (through M5 of fig. 12) to the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12), the second electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12), the control electrode of the first transistor (M7 of fig. 12) is configured to receive a first level signal or a second level signal different from the first level signal (Emit2 comprises multiple levels, fig. 11).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 1), Yao discloses the pixel circuit, wherein
the reset circuit (reset controlling module 10 of fig. 12 and anode reset module 72 of fig. 12) comprises a second transistor (M8 of fig. 12), a first electrode of the second transistor (M8 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the first electrode of the second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12), a second electrode of the second transistor (M8 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the reference voltage connection terminal (terminal connected to Vref of fig. 12), and a control electrode of the second transistor (M8 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the reset control terminal (terminal connected to Scan2 of fig. 12).
As to claim 4 (dependent on 1), Yao discloses the pixel circuit, wherein
the reset circuit (reset controlling module 10 of fig. 12 and anode reset module 72 of fig. 12) comprises a second transistor (M2 of fig. 12), a first electrode of the second transistor (M2 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the first electrode of the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12), a second electrode of the second transistor (M2 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the reference voltage connection terminal (terminal connected to Vref of fig. 12), and a control electrode of the second transistor (M2 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the reset control terminal (terminal connected to Scan2 of fig. 12).
As to claim 5 (dependent on 1), Yao discloses the pixel circuit, wherein
the reset circuit (reset controlling module 10 of fig. 12 and anode reset module 72 of fig. 12) comprises a third transistor (M2 of fig. 12) and a fourth transistor (M8 of fig. 12), the third transistor (M2 of fig. 12) and the fourth transistor (M8 of fig. 12) are connected in series between a first electrode of the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12) and a first electrode of the second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12), a second electrode of the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12) and a second electrode of the second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12) are electrically connected to a second reference voltage terminal, a first node between the third transistor (M2 of fig. 12) and the fourth transistor (M8 of fig. 12) is electrically connected to the reference voltage connection terminal (terminal connected to Vref of fig. 12), and a control electrode of the third transistor (M2 of fig. 12) and a control electrode of the fourth transistor (M8 of fig. 12) are electrically connected to the reset control terminal (terminal connected to Scan2 of fig. 12).
As to claim 8 (dependent on 1), Yao discloses a display panel, comprising:
a base substrate (substrate 1 of fig. 1);
and a plurality of pixel circuits, each pixel circuit being the pixel circuit according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of pixel circuits are arranged in an array on the base substrate to form a pixel circuit array (array of circuits of fig. 1).
As to claim 16 (dependent on 1), Yao discloses a display panel, comprising:
a base substrate (substrate 1 of fig. 1);
a pixel circuit according to claim 1 on the base substrate (fig. 1);
a pixel definition layer on a side of the pixel circuit facing away from the base substrate (light emitting element 2 of fig. 4), the pixel definition layer defining a first light-emitting region of the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12) and a second light-emitting region of the second light-emitting element (auxiliary light-emitting element 22 of fig. 12);
and an optical structure on a side of the pixel definition layer facing away from the base substrate (light shielding layer 3 of fig. 4), wherein
the optical structure (light shielding layer 3 of fig. 4) is optically coupled (using functional layer 5 of fig. 4) to the first light-emitting region to suppress propagation of light from the first light-emitting element (primary light-emitting element 21 of fig. 12) in a first emission direction that is not perpendicular to a light-emitting surface of the display panel (figs. 5 and 6).
Conclusion
/DMITRIY BOLOTIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623