DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-21, 31, 33-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 20250228588 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a system for removing clot from a blood vessel (paras. [0150]-[0153]), the system comprising: an aspiration catheter (i.e., as recited in para. [0150]) having a lumen extending therethrough (para. [0150]), an opening into the lumen (Figs. 17A-18B), and an annular guide assembly (80, 27, and the space between 80 and 27 as annotated below in Fig. 18A) within a distal end region of the lumen (para. [0154]); having an annular guide channel (i.e., between 80 and 27) formed on an inner wall of the distal end region of the lumen (Fig. 18B) and a clot disruptor assembly 30 configured to be positioned within the catheter (para. [0154]), the disruptor assembly comprising: a disruptor (i.e., spinner tip 40) at a distal end of the disruptor assembly having a distal face that is configured to partially occlude the opening into the lumen of the catheter (i.e., the distal end of the disruptor at least partially occludes the opening into the lumen of the catheter by way of extending through the catheter); a retention protrusion 82 proximal to the disruptor and configured to movably engage the annular guide assembly of the catheter, wherein the retention protrusion is received in the annular guide channel (i.e., Fig. 18B) to limit proximal and distal axial movement of the disruptor assembly in the lumen (i.e., para. [0154] discloses that the annular stop 80 cooperates with one or more stops on the spinner device 30 to limit distal movement of 30) while allowing for rotation of the retention protrusion (i.e., at least since base 84 is fixed to rotation shaft 32 such that it rotates (para. [0175]); and an elongated drive shaft 32 eccentrically coupled to the disruptor and configured to be rotated to drive revolution of the disruptor across the opening into the lumen of the catheter when the retention protrusion is engaged with the annular guide assembly of the catheter (paras. [0103]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao also discloses Zhao also discloses wherein the annular guide assembly comprises a three-part construction stop band assembly 80, 27 including a proximal stop band 27, a distal stop band 80, and a middle spacer band (Fig. 18A above) defining the annular guide channel therebetween (Fig. 18A).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao also discloses wherein the distal face of the disruptor is configured to occlude between 30%-95% of the opening into the lumen of the catheter when the retention protrusion is engaged with the annular guide assembly (Fig. 18B shows at least occluding between 30%-95% of the opening into the lumen of the catheter).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao also discloses wherein the disruptor comprises a disc-shaped disruptor (i.e., 40 includes pieces 43, 45, which when taking at a cross section is disc shaped) having a planar structure oriented in a plane normal to a central axis of the catheter lumen (Fig. 18A).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao also discloses wherein at least a portion of the distal face of the disruptor is radiopaque (para. [0106]) and a portion of the annular guide assembly is radiopaque (para. [0106]) so as to facilitate engagement of the retention protrusion with the annular guide assembly (para. [0106]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao also discloses wherein the disruptor is substantially flush with lumen opening (Fig. 18B).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao also discloses wherein the retention protrusion comprises one or more of: a retention ring (para. [0154]), one or more wings or arms 86, and a split ring.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao also discloses wherein the retention protrusion comprises a circular retention ring 82 received in the annular guide channel of the annular guide assembly (para. [0154] i.e., at least since it circumferential).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses the system of claim 12. Zhao also discloses wherein the circular retention ring is disposed between distal and proximal stop bands of the annular guide assembly (Fig. 18B).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao discloses the system of claim 12. Zhao also discloses wherein the circular retention ring has an outer diameter approximately equal to an inner diameter of the distal end region of the aspiration catheter lumen (Fig. 18B) and comprises a distal bearing surface which engages a distal bearing surface of the annular guide assembly (i.e., the distal bearing surface is on the proximal side of the distal ring of 80 which is interpreted under BRI as being a distal bearing surface since 27 would be the proximal surface).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao discloses the system of claim 14. Zhao also discloses wherein the circular retention ring further comprises a proximal bearing surface which engages a proximal bearing surface of the annular guide assembly (i.e., at least in the retracted position such that it contacts 27).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao discloses the system of claim 15. Zhao also discloses wherein the distal and proximal bearing surfaces on the annular guide assembly are axially spaced apart to form an annular slot for rotationally receiving the circular retention ring (Fig. 18B).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao discloses the system of claim 12. Zhao also discloses wherein the circular retention ring comprises a gap (i.e., at least between the edge and the inner surface of the catheter).
Zhao is fully capable of having the retention ring elastically contract as the circular retention ring is inserted into the annular guide assembly, if one desired to do so - note that the limitations of claim 17 are merely functional limitations and do not affect the structure of the claimed invention - a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) -see also MPEP 2114(11), which states that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao discloses the system of claim 12. Zhao also discloses wherein the disruptor and the circular retention ring are joined by an axial strut (Fig. 18B).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao discloses the system of claim 18. Zhao also discloses wherein a distal end of the axial strut is connected to a connection point on a periphery of the circular retention ring and has a dog leg configured to position the connection point immediately adjacent to an inner wall of the distal end region of the lumen as the disruptor is revolved or rotated (see Fig. 18B, the dog leg 86 is connected to a connection point on 80).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao discloses the system of claim 12. Zhao also discloses wherein the circular retention ring comprises a C-shaped retention element having two wings separated by a gap (i.e., the “C” shape is between each of the wings 86 and has a gap extending between the wings).
Regarding claim 21, Zhao discloses the system of claim 12. Zhao also discloses further comprising a non-rotating sleeve extending over at least a proximal length of the elongated drive shaft, wherein the elongated drive shaft is configured to rotate relative to the sleeve (para. [0100] discloses another sleeve to protect the inner surface of the catheter 20 while shaft 32 rotates at high speeds).
Regarding claim 31, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao also discloses wherein the distal face of the disrupter assembly is maintained at a distance in a range of 0 to 0.5mm from a distal end of the catheter (Fig. 18B shows the distal face is maintained at about 0mm from the distal end).
Regarding claim 33, Zhao discloses a system for removing clot from a blood vessel (paras. [0150]-[0153]), the system comprising: an aspiration catheter (i.e., as recited in para. [0150]) having a lumen extending therethrough (para. [0150]), an opening into the lumen (Figs. 17A-19B), and an annular guide assembly (80, 27, and the space between 80 and 27 as shown above) having an annular guide channel (i.e., the space as shown above) within a distal end region of the lumen (Fig. 18A); and a clot disruptor assembly 30 configured to be positioned within the catheter (para. [0154]), the disruptor assembly comprising: a disruptor (i.e., spinner tip 40) at a distal end of the disruptor assembly having a distal face that is configured to partially occlude the opening into the lumen of the catheter (i.e., as shown in Fig. 18B);a retention protrusion 82 proximal to the disruptor (Fig. 18B) and configured to movably engage the annular guide assembly of the catheter (Fig. 18A reproduced above), wherein the retention protrusion is received and locked within the annular guide channel to limit proximal and distal axial movement of the disruptor assembly in the lumen (i.e., para. [0154] discloses that the annular stop 80 cooperates with one or more stops on the spinner device 30 to limit distal movement of 30) while allowing for rotation of the retention protrusion (i.e., at least since base 84 is fixed to rotation shaft 32 such that it rotates (para. [0175]); and an elongated drive shaft 32 eccentrically coupled to the disruptor and configured to be rotated to drive revolution of the disruptor across the opening into the lumen of the catheter when the retention protrusion is engaged with the annular guide assembly of the catheter (paras. [0103]).
Regarding claim 34, Zhao discloses the system of claim 33. Zhao also discloses wherein disrupter and the retention protrusion are joined by an axial strut connected to the elongated drive shaft (Fig. 18B).
Regarding claim 35, Zhao discloses the system of claim 34. Zhao also discloses wherein a distal end of the axial strut is connected to a connection point on a periphery of the retention protrusion and has a dog leg that positions the connection point immediately adjacent to an inner wall of the distal end region of the lumen as the disruptor is rotated (see Fig. 18B, the dog leg 86 is connected to a connection point on 80).
Regarding claim 36, Zhao discloses the system of claim 33. Zhao also discloses wherein the retention protrusion comprises a circular retention ring (para. [0154] i.e., at least since it circumferential).
Regarding claim 37, Zhao discloses the system of claim 36. Zhao also discloses wherein the circular retention ring comprises a C- shaped retention element having two wings separated by a gap (i.e., the “C” shape is between each of the wings 86 and has a gap extending between the wings).
Regarding claim 38, Zhao discloses the system of claim 36. Zhao also discloses wherein the circular retention ring has at least one cutout (i.e., between the wings).
Regarding claim 39, Zhao discloses the system of claim 33. Zhao also discloses wherein the distal face of the disrupter assembly is maintained at a distance in a range of 0 to 0.5 mm from a distal end of the catheter (Fig. 18B shows the distal face is maintained at about 0mm from the distal end).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses the system of claim 2. Zhao doesn’t directly disclose: wherein the annular guide channel has an axial height in range from 0.254 mm to 1.27 mm.
Zhao does disclose dimension of the annular guide assembly needs to be optimized to be compatible with the spinner that fall within the claimed ranges (see paras. [0109], [0154], [0164]) such that Zhao at least discloses modifying the dimensions of the annular guide assembly). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Zhao device to have the annular guide channel has an axial height within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Zhao by making the annular guide channel has an axial height in range from 0.254 mm to 1.27 mm as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao doesn’t directly disclose: wherein the annular guide assembly is between 2mm and 5cm from a distal end of the catheter.
Zhao does disclose that the dimension of the annular guide assembly needs to be optimized relative to the tip of the device and each additional feature such that the annular guide assembly is limited in distal movement of the spinner device (see paras. [0154], [0164]). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Zhao device to have the annular guide assembly within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Zhao by making the annular guide assembly is between 2mm and 5cm from a distal end of the catheter as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao doesn’t directly disclose wherein the retention protrusion has an axial height in a range from 0.127 mm to 1.0 mm.
Zhao does disclose that the dimension of the retention protrusion needs to be optimized such that the annular guide assembly is limited in distal movement of the spinner device (see paras. [0154], [0164]). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Zhao device to have the retention protrusion has an axial height within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Zhao by making the retention protrusion has an axial height in a range from 0.127 mm to 1.0 mm as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao doesn’t directly disclose wherein the retention protrusion is positioned between 1 mm and 5 cm from the disruptor.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the distance of the disruption protrusion from the disruptor would result in a difference in function of the Zhao device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the retention protrusion of Zhao would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed distance. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the angle “may” be within the claimed range, (e.g., specification at para. [0180]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retention protrusion has an axial height in a range from 0.127 mm to 1.0 mm as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Zeng et al. (US 20250331874 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Zhao discloses the system of claim 1. Zhao doesn’t directly disclose wherein a center of disrupter rotation is offset from a central axis of the aspiration catheter lumen.
In the same field of endeavor, namely systems and methods for restoring blood vessel patency, Zeng discloses a similar device to Zhao and includes a clot disruptor 104 and further discloses a center of disrupter rotation is offset from a central axis of the aspiration catheter lumen (Fig. 1C shows at least a portion (i.e., at 126/136, 128/138, 124/134) being offset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhao such that a center of disrupter rotation is offset from a central axis of the aspiration catheter lumen as disclosed by Zeng for purposes of having varying outer diameter that applies significantly less radial force to the wall of the bodily lumen (para. [0038]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in light of the new interpretation as discussed further above and with regard to Figure 18A above which has been annotated to more clearly point out the interpretation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHAEL L GEIGER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771