DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.75(i) because elements of the claims are not separated by line indentation.
Claim 1 is further objected to because line 2 recites “comprising wherein the said pressure element…” which is incorrect.
Claim 5 is objected to because it recites “a stop” when it should recite --the stop--.
Claim 8 is objected to because it recites “whrein” when it should recite --wherein--.
Claim 8 is further objected to because it recites “a stop” when it should recite --the stop--.
Claim 8 is further objected to because it recites “a counter stop” when it should recite --the counter stop--.
Claim 9 is objected to because it recites “the top” when it should recite --a top--.
Claim 9 is further objected to because it recites “the base” when it should recite --a base--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. The following list may not be exhaustive.
Claim 1 recites “a pressure element” as well as “a series of correspondingly embodied pressure elements” each having “a first pressure element segment” and a second pressure element segment”. The claim later recites “the first pressure element segment” and “the second pressure element segment”. It is unclear which of the pressure elements is being referred to by these limitations. Further the claim recites “the same pressure element” and it is unclear which pressure element is being referred to
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the recess". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Further regarding claim 10, it is unclear what exactly the claim is reciting. It appears to be saying that the “counter stop” is an element of both the tongue and the recess, but the counter stop is an element of the first pressure element. Further it is unclear exactly what is running at the angle beta based on the wording of the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the gripper teeth". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the longitudinal axis surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the angle (alpha)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the gripper teeth surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benson (US 2013/0082463).
In regards to claim 1, as best understood by the examiner, Benson discloses a pressure element (1, 7) for use in a coupling device for exerting a clamping force on a pipe, comprising wherein the said pressure element is configured to be used as one of a series of correspondingly embodied pressure elements, wherein said pressure element as well as each pressure element of said series comprises a first pressure element segment (7) and a second pressure element segment (1) and wherein in use the first pressure element segment is arranged for being placed proximally and the second pressure element segment is arranged for being placed distally with respect the longitudinal axis (see fig. 5) of the pipe wherein in that the first pressure element segment of said pressure element as well as of each first pressure element segment is provided with at least on stop (surface of 9) and the second pressure element segment of said pressure element as well as of each second pressure element segment is provided with at least one cooperating counter stop (surface of 8) for limiting an extreme position of the first pressure element segment and second pressure element segment with respect to each other, wherein the stop and the counter stop of the first and second pressure segment of the same pressure element co-operate with each other (see fig. 7).
In regards to claim 2, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses the first pressure element segment and the second pressure element segment are arranged to be displaceable relative to one another parallel to the longitudinal axis between a normal position and an extreme position (see paragraph [0044]).
In regards to claim 3, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses the second pressure element segment has a cavity (see fig. 5) on the underside in which a tongue (8) extends, which serves as a guide parallel to the longitudinal axis for the mutual displacement of the first and the second pressure element segment.
In regards to claim 4, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses the first pressure element segment has a recess (9) on the upper side in which the tongue of the second pressure element segment can be moved.
In regards to claim 5, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses “a stop” and the counter stop are arranged at the front of the tongue and the recess and are in the extreme position against each other (see fig. 5).
In regards to claim 6, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses two parallel side elements (see fig. 5) are arranged on the side of the cavity on the underside of the second pressure element segment.
In regards to claim 7, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses a wedge (see dovetail shape) is arranged at the top of the first pressure element segment and is guided through the two side elements of the second pressure element segment.
In regards to claim 8, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses a stop is arranged on the two side elements and co-operates with a counter stop arranged on the top of the first pressure element segment (see fig. 5).
In regards to claim 9, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses the top of the wedge and the base of the recess are inclined at an angle relative to the longitudinal axis, that the top of the wedge and the base of the recess are parallel (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claim 10, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses the surface of the stop and counter-stop of the tongue and the recess run at an angle to the longitudinal axis (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claim 12, as best understood by the examiner, Benson further discloses the first and second pressure element segments are one-piece plastic parts (see paragraph [0038]. It is noted that “injection-molded” is a product-by-process limitation. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). It is the patentability of the product that is to be determined and not recited process steps irrespective of whether or not only process steps are set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson as applied to claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 11, Benson further discloses gripper teeth (see fig. 5). While Benson does not expressly disclose the angle beta being larger than the angle alpha; angles of the surfaces may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Benson to have the angle beta be larger than the angle alpha, as the surface angles may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar pressure element.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 10/14/2026