DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (hereinafter “Gao” US 2021 / 0304673).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) a method of controlling a display apparatus (see (80) in Fig. 5; and see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0048] and [0050]-[0051]), comprising:
receiving image data (see (230) in Fig. 15) from an external device (see (12) in Fig. 1, for example; and see Page 4, Para. [0042]);
detecting temperature information (see (342) in Fig. 15) through a temperature sensor (i.e., as a part of image capture operations; see Page 15, Para. [0123]) in the display apparatus (80);
detecting frame rate information (see (340) in Fig. 15; again, as a part of image capture operations; see Page 15, Para. [0123]) from a driver (i.e., a display driver) in the display apparatus (80);
calculating a first gain (i.e., a first scaling factor; see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) based on the detected temperature information (342) to be applied to a pixel value (i.e., a per-pixel value) of the received image data (230); and
calculating a second gain (i.e., a second scaling factor; again, see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) based on the detected frame rate information (340) to be applied to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230; see Page 9, Para. [0083]-[0084]; Page 10, Para. [0087]-[0088]; and Page 11, Para. [0095] and [0097]-[0098]).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) storing one or more first gains (i.e., a first scaling factor; see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) mapped for each of a plurality of temperature ranges (342) in a memory (334, 330), and
storing one or more second gains (i.e., a second scaling factor; see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) mapped for each of a plurality of frame rate ranges (340) in the memory (see (334, 330); and see Page 10, Para. [0087] and Page 11, Para. [0098]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) determining a brightness level (BV; see (332) in Fig. 15) using display brightness value (DBV) information of the image data (again, see Page 9, Para. [0083]-[0084]; and Page 10, Para. [0087]-[0088]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) that when a result of the determining (again, see (332)) corresponds to a first level (i.e., any arbitrary level):
decreasing a gain value (i.e., a scaling value; see (334) in Fig. 15) intended to be applied to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) as the DBV information (see (332)) increases (i.e., arbitrarily increases) in a red pixel (i.e., a red sub-pixel) and a green pixel (i.e., a green sub-pixel); and
increasing a gain value (i.e., a scaling value; again, see (334) in Fig. 15) intended to be applied to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) as the DBV information (see (332)) increases (i.e., arbitrarily increases) in a blue pixel (i.e., a blue sub-pixel; see Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0100]-[0101] and Para. [0103]-[0105]; and note that a contribution color emitted by each of red, green, and blue sub-pixels can be increased and/or decreased based on scaling values such that any relationship may be implemented using (334)).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) that when a result of the determining (again, see (332)) corresponds to a second level (i.e., any arbitrary level):
increasing a gain value (i.e., a scaling value; see (334) in Fig. 15) intended to be applied to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) as the DBV information (see (332)) increases (i.e., arbitrarily increases) in the red pixel (i.e., a red sub-pixel) and the green pixel (i.e., a green sub-pixel); and
decreasing a gain value (i.e., a scaling value; again, see (334) in Fig. 15) intended to be applied to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) as the DBV information (see (332)) increases (i.e., arbitrarily increases) in the blue pixel (i.e., a blue sub-pixel; see Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0100]-[0101] and Para. [0103]-[0105]; and note that a contribution color emitted by each of red, green, and blue sub-pixels can be increased and/or decreased based on scaling values such that any relationship may be implemented using (334)).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) that when a result of the determining (again, see (332)) corresponds to a third level (i.e., any arbitrary level) which includes both the first level (i.e., any arbitrary level) and the second level (i.e., any arbitrary level), applying another gain value (i.e., another scaling value; again, see (334) in Fig. 15) to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) using a look-up table (LUT) stored in the memory (again, see (334, 330); and see Page 10, Para. [0087] and Page 11, Para. [0098] in combination with Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0100]-[0101] and Para. [0103]-[0105]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) a display apparatus (see (80) in Fig. 5; and see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0048] and [0050]-[0051]), comprising:
a receiver module (see (230) in Fig. 15) which receives image data from an external device (see (12) in Fig. 1, for example; and see Page 4, Para. [0042]);
a temperature sensor (see (342) in Fig. 15; i.e., as a part of image capture operations; see Page 15, Para. [0123]) which detects temperature information in the display apparatus (80);
a driver (see (340) in Fig. 15; again, as a part of image capture operations; see Page 15, Para. [0123]) which detects frame rate information of the image data; and
a controller (see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) which calculates a first gain (i.e., a first scaling factor) based on the detected temperature information (342) to be applied to a pixel value (i.e., a per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) and calculates a second gain (i.e., a second scaling factor; again, see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) based on the detected frame rate information (340) to be applied to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230; see Page 9, Para. [0083]-[0084]; Page 10, Para. [0087]-[0088]; and Page 11, Para. [0095] and [0097]-[0098]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) a memory (see (334, 330)) which stores one or more first gains (i.e., a first scaling factor; see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) mapped for each of a plurality of temperature ranges (342) and stores one or more second gains (i.e., a second scaling factor; see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) mapped for each of a plurality of frame rate ranges (340; see Page 10, Para. [0087] and Page 11, Para. [0098]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) that the controller (see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) determines a brightness level (BV; see (332) in Fig. 15) using display brightness value (DBV) information of the image data (again, see Page 9, Para. [0083]-[0084]; and Page 10, Para. [0087]-[0088]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) that a result of the determining (again, see (332)) corresponds to a first level (i.e., any arbitrary level), the controller (see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) decreases a gain value (i.e., a scaling value; see (334) in Fig. 15) applied to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) as the DBV information (see (332)) increases (i.e., arbitrarily increases) in a red pixel (i.e., a red sub-pixel) and a green pixel (i.e., a green sub-pixel); and increases a gain value (i.e., a scaling value; again, see (334) in Fig. 15) intended to be applied to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) as the DBV information (see (332)) increases (i.e., arbitrarily increases) in a blue pixel (i.e., a blue sub-pixel; see Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0100]-[0101] and Para. [0103]-[0105]; and note that a contribution color emitted by each of red, green, and blue sub-pixels can be increased and/or decreased based on scaling values such that any relationship may be implemented using (334)).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) that when a result of the determining (again, see (332)) corresponds to a second level (i.e., any arbitrary level), the controller (see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) increases a gain value (i.e., a scaling value; see (334) in Fig. 15) intended to be applied to the pixel level (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) as the DBV information (see (332)) increases (i.e., arbitrarily increases) in the red pixel (i.e., a red sub-pixel) and the green pixel (i.e., a green sub-pixel), and decreases a gain value (i.e., a scaling value; again, see (334) in Fig. 15) applied to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) as the DBV information (see (332)) increases (i.e., arbitrarily increases) in the blue pixel (i.e., a blue sub-pixel; see Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0100]-[0101] and Para. [0103]-[0105]; and note that a contribution color emitted by each of red, green, and blue sub-pixels can be increased and/or decreased based on scaling values such that any relationship may be implemented using (334)).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Gao discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) that when a result of the determining (again, see (332)) corresponds to a third level (i.e., any arbitrary level) which includes both the first level (i.e., any arbitrary level) and the second level (i.e., any arbitrary level), the controller (see (330, 334, 336, 346) in Fig. 15) applies another gain value (i.e., another scaling value; again, see (334) in Fig. 15) to the pixel value (i.e., the per-pixel value) of the received image data (230) using a look-up table (LUT) stored in the memory (again, see (334, 330); and see Page 10, Para. [0087] and Page 11, Para. [0098] in combination with Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0100]-[0101] and Para. [0103]-[0105]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki et al. (US 2003 / 0156092), submitted by the applicant via Information Disclosure Statement received 06 July 2026), discloses that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a method of controlling a display apparatus that includes both detecting temperature information and detecting frame rate information, and subsequently calculating a first gain and a second gain, respectively, to be applied to a pixel value based on those detections.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623