DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/563,038 (reference application). The difference between the instant application and the co-pending application being the limitation “determining whether to apply the one or more additional transforms to the residual block based on the related information” in claims 1, 8, and 9 of the co-pending application. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “deriving the transform coefficient based on the quantization parameter prediction value and a quantization parameter difference value for the current block”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation. The examiner notes [0104]-[0111] of the applicant’s originally filed specification discloses the use of quantization parameter prediction value and a quantization parameter difference value for determining a quantization parameter, however neither of the cited sections teach the derivation of transform coefficients using a quantization parameter prediction value and a quantization parameter difference value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2019/0149822).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an image decoding method, comprising:
obtaining, from a bitstream, related information indicating whether one or more additional transforms applicable to a residual block of a current block are supported ([0038], [0054], secondary transforms are used to generate transform coefficients from residual data; [0044], secondary transform data may include a CU-level flag syntax element (e.g., a one-bit syntax element cu_nsst_flag) indicating whether a secondary transform may be applied to a block);
generating the residual block by inversely transforming a transform coefficient of the current block ([0052], an inverse quantization and transform coefficient processing unit may be configured to apply an inverse quantization and an inverse transformation to generate reconstructed residual data); and
transforming the residual block by applying the additional transform to the residual block based on the related information ([0038], secondary transforms are used to generate transform coefficients from residual data; [0044], secondary transform data may include a CU-level flag syntax element (e.g., a one-bit syntax element cu_nsst_flag) indicating whether a secondary transform may be applied to a block; [0044], [0048], a TU-level index syntax element (e.g., a two-bit syntax element tu_nsst_idx indicating a matrix for a secondary transform; [0045], a TU-level flag syntax element (e.g., a one-bit syntax element tu_nsst_flag) indicating whether a secondary transform is be applied for a TU; [0020], a transformation matrix indicates a transformation type) and information obtained in a block unit ([0044], [0048], a TU-level index syntax element (e.g., a two-bit syntax element tu_nsst_idx) indicating a matrix for a secondary transform; [0020], a transformation matrix indicates a transformation type; [0045], a TU-level flag syntax element (e.g., a one-bit syntax element tu_nsst_flag) indicating whether a secondary transform is be applied for a TU).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein a number of the one or more additional transforms is 2 or more ([0020], Transform matrices may correspond to one of the eight versions of DCT or one of the eight versions of DST, where the eight versions of DCT and the eight versions of DST form the family of discrete trigonometric transforms).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the related information are obtained from a sequence level or a picture level of the bitstream ([0048], syntax is signaled at slice or picture level).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein an additional transform, among the one or more additional transforms, applied to the residual block is determined based on a block partition mode of the current block ([0043], [0044], a TU-level index syntax element (e.g., a two-bit syntax element tu_nsst_idx) indicating a matrix (type) for a secondary transform and/or indicating whether a secondary transform is applied for the TU; [0046], it is determined to apply a secondary among the plurality of transforms based on a partition type of the block; tu_nsst_flag and tu_nsst_idx (i.e a signaling of a transform index which signals a transform type) may be conditionally signaled based on properties or parameter associated with a TU. For example, a partition type; [0060], in the case of where a CU corresponds to an intra prediction N×N partition mode, in one example, video decoder 800 may be configured to… Table 3A provides an example of unique TU_MAP values that may be generated by video decoder 800 based on a secondary transform being used to generate coefficients for one or more of TU0,0, TU1,0, TU0,1, and TU1,1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein an additional transform, among the one or more additional transforms, applied to the residual block is determined based on an encoding mode of the current block ([0020], particular transform sets may correspond to intra prediction modes; [0023], Table 1 illustrates how one of the 12 transform sets (i.e., Sets 0 to 11) are mapped to prediction modes in JEM; [0024], in JEM, the 2-bit CU-level index value is used to indicate a transform matrix for a transform set of a secondary transform, where the 2-bit CU-level index value has a value of 0, 1, or 2 for the DC and planar prediction modes and has a value of 0, 1, 2, or 3 for the directional prediction modes).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein an additional transform, among the one or more additional transforms, applied to the residual block is determined based on an intra prediction mode of the current block ([0020], particular transform sets may correspond to intra prediction modes).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses an image encoding method, comprising:
performing one or more additional transforms on a residual block of a current block ([0038], [0054], secondary transforms are used to generate transform coefficients from residual data; [0044], secondary transform data may include a CU-level flag syntax element (e.g., a one-bit syntax element cu_nsst_flag) indicating whether a secondary transform may be applied to a block);
generating a transform coefficient of the current block by transforming the residual block on which the one or more additional transforms is performed ([0038], [0054], secondary transforms are used to generate transform coefficients from residual data; [0044], secondary transform data may include a CU-level flag syntax element (e.g., a one-bit syntax element cu_nsst_flag) indicating whether a secondary transform may be applied to a block); and
encoding, into a bitstream, related information ([0044], [0046], if cu_nsst_flag) indicating whether the one or more additional transforms is supported and information used for the one or more additional transform ([0044], [0046], if cu_nsst_flag indicates that performance of secondary transforms is disabled for the CU, tu_nsst_idx are not signaled; secondary transform data may include a CU-level flag syntax element (e.g., a one-bit syntax element cu_nsst_flag) indicating whether a secondary transform may be applied to one or more TUs with the CU and for each TU within the CU a TU-level index syntax element (e.g., a two-bit syntax element tu_nsst_idx) indicating a matrix for a secondary transform; [0048], where secondary transform determination unit 304 uses cu_nsst_flag and tu_nsst_idx syntax elements, as described above, to indicate whether a secondary transform is applied),
wherein the information related to the one or more additional transform is encoded in a block unit ([0044], [0046], if cu_nsst_flag indicates that performance of secondary transforms is disabled for the CU, tu_nsst_idx are not signaled; secondary transform data may include a CU-level flag syntax element (e.g., a one-bit syntax element cu_nsst_flag) indicating whether a secondary transform may be applied to one or more TUs with the CU and for each TU within the CU a TU-level index syntax element (e.g., a two-bit syntax element tu_nsst_idx) indicating a matrix for a secondary transform; [0048], where secondary transform determination unit 304 uses cu_nsst_flag and tu_nsst_idx syntax elements, as described above, to indicate whether a secondary transform is applied).
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 8 (see claim 8 above). Kim further discloses transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 1, the bitstream encoded via encoder 106 is transmitted to decoder 124).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhao et al. (Zhao) (US 2019/0124366) teaches the following limitations of instant claim 7:
deriving a quantization parameter prediction value for the current block based on a quantization parameter set at a unit higher than the current block or a quantization parameter set at the same unit as the current block ([0027], a predictive quantization parameter (QP) is derived based on a QP signaled at a slice level or a block level); and
wherein the quantization parameter difference value is obtained from the bitstream based on first information included in the bitstream ([0030], Quantized transform coefficients and QP data (e.g., delta QP values) may be entropy coded according to an entropy encoding technique (e.g., content adaptive variable length coding (CAVLC), context adaptive binary arithmetic coding).
Karczewicz et al. (Karczewicz) (US 2014/0056361) ([0061] residual data is transformed; [0009], a primary or an alternative transform is applied to a block).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488