Priority
This application is a CON of 19/030,516 (01/17/2025 now US12577210)
19/030,516 is a CON of 17/522,680 (11/09/2021 now US12227483)
17/522,680 is a DIV of 14/621,738 (02/13/2015 now US11166979)
14/621,738 is a CON of 13/920,066 (06/17/2013 now US8957100)
13/920,066 is a CON of 13/038,615 (03/02/2011 now US8466187)
13/038,615 is a CIP of 12/336,938 1(2/17/2008 now US8034836)
12/336,938 is a CON of 11/950,273 (12/04/2007 now US7777074)
11/950,273 has PRO 60/973,229 (09/18/2007).
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, including Application No. 60/973,229, 11/950,273, 13/038,615, and 13/920,066, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. For example, at least the claim language “citrulline”; that “nitrate” and “amino acid” being a “separate compound”; and “nitrate ion (NO3-) that is at least about 0.05626 mg” do not have support in the prior-filed application and on of skill in the art would not recognize Applicant possessed such a scope. Similarly, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for “at least one non-ester nitrate compound” and “at least one isolated amino acid compound”, particularly in the italicized. Accordingly, claims 1-30 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application: For example, the prior filed applications do not provide support for the new matter of at least: “citrulline”; “nitrate” and “amino acid” being a “separate compound”; “at least one non-ester nitrate compound”; and “nitrate ion (NO3-) that is at least about 0.05626 mg”.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim language of “citrulline”; “nitrate” and “amino acid” being a “separate compound”; and “nitrate ion (NO3-) that is at least about 0.05626 mg” do not have support in the prior-filed application and on of skill in the art would not recognize Applicant possessed such a scope and is considered new claim language. Similarly, the prior-filed applications do not provide support for “at least one non-ester nitrate compound” and “at least one isolated amino acid compound”, particularly in the italicized. As per MPEP 2163.04, Applicant has not pointed out where the new (or amended) claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the new (or amended) claim limitations in the application as filed thus the claims prima facie do not comply with the written description requirement. See Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1370, 83 USPQ2d 1373, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (holding that “[MPEP] § 2163.04 [subsection] (I)(B) as written is a lawful formulation of the prima facie standard for a lack of written description rejection.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a),(b),(e) as being anticipated by Amato (US20110064720).
Amato teaches an example supplement composition comprising a nitrate (50mg thiamine mononitrate) and citrulline (Table 13) which anticipates the claims. Regarding claims 6-7’s language of the source of the nitrate compound, the claim language does not distinguish the structure of the product such that it is considered a product-by-process or alternatively is non-limiting as per MPEP 2111 – thus Amato’s teaching of the same structure anticipates the claims. Regarding claim 13’s language of “pharmaceutically effective amount”, in view of the instant specification the amount is interpreted as any amount present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amato (US20110064720).
Amato anticipates claims 1-3, 5-8, 13 as per the 35 USC 102 rejection above and also renders obvious the claims. "[A] disclosure that anticipates under § 102 also renders the claim invalid under § 103, for `anticipation is the epitome of obviousness.'" Connell v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 722 F.2d 1542, 1548, 220 USPQ 193, 198 (Fed.Cir.1983) (citing In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792, 215 USPQ 569 (CCPA 1982)).
Regarding claim 4, Amato does not teach 40 mg of nitrate ion.
However, Amato teaches exemplary dietary supplement compositions further comprising citrulline maleate in an amount up to 500 mg, L-norvaline, beta-alanine, L-valine, L-arginine, citric acid, L-proline, L-glycine, and resveratrol, a well-known antioxidant ( [0037], table 1; [0045]; [0096], table 2; [0098], table 3; [0100], table 4). Additional exemplary compositions further include up to 500 mg glutamine nitrate (corresponding to up to 250 mg of a nitrate ion), 50 mg L-leucine nitrate, 50 mg L-isoleucine nitrate, and 50 mg L-valine nitrate ([0100] table 4; [0102] table 5). Amato teaches the dietary supplement compositions in various types of dosage forms including powders, tablets, capsules ([0038], [0091]), as well as semi-solid forms such as in yogurt ([0091-0092]). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Amato to produce a dietary supplement as suggested and arrive at the claimed compositions comprising L-citrulline, and a separate non-ester nitrate compound selected from glutamine nitrate, L-leucine nitrate, L-isoleucine nitrate, and valine nitrate, wherein the amount of nitrate ion is up to 250 mg, and have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 14-19, Amato teaches semisolid compositions including yogurt ([0091-0092]) which one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered in a formulation including citrulline and a nitrate ion in the amounts as in the claimed invention.
Claim 1-9, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amato (US20110064720) as applied to claims 1-8, 13-19 above and further in view of Henderson et al. (WO95/06467).
Amato teaches as above in the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-8, 13-19 above and renders obvious these claims obvious in view of Henderson.
Regarding claim 9, although Amato teaches formulation as a transdermal cream and other various forms ([0092]), Amato does not explicitly teach a gel composition.
Henderson teaches therapeutic compositions comprising a nitric oxide precursor compound and a physiologically acceptable vehicle (title & abstract; p. 4, lines 16-22). Citrulline
is exemplified as a nitric oxide precursor compound (p. 6, lines 10-14; p. 13, lines 12-
25). Henderson teaches suitable dosage forms to include gels (p. 10, lines 9-12; p. 31, claim 17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art following the combined teaching of Amato and Henderson to have incorporated the dietary supplement composition comprising citrulline and glutamine nitrate, L-leucine nitrate, L-isoleucine nitrate, and/or valine nitrate into a gel. Although Amato doesn't explicitly teach or suggest gel compositions, as evidenced by Henderson in the same field of endeavor of pharmaceutical formulation, such gel formulations are routine and within what one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered in formulating Amato’s composition and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 1-11, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amato (US20110064720) as applied to claims 1-8, 13-19 above and further in view of Lundberg et al. (20100092441).
Amato teaches as above in the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-8, 13-19 above and renders obvious these claims obvious in view of Lundberg.
Regarding claims 10-11, although Amato teaches a variety of ingredients in the composition ([0037] Table 1), Amato does not specifically teach beetroot.
Lundberg teaches beneficial aspects of nitrate rich beetroot in formulating supplements ([0048]-[0053]). Amato and Lundberg are in the same field of endeavor of supplements such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered their combined teaching and formulate Amato’s composition including beetroot as taught by Lundberg and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amato (US20110064720) in view of Henderson et al. (WO95/06467) and Lundberg et al. (20100092441) as applied above.
Regarding claim 12, Amato does not teach the composition as a gel or that it comprises beetroot.
However, Henderson teaches gel formulation and Lundberg teaches use of beetroot in a manner that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered combining a formulation.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the relevant date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12612370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12473261. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12522568. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12448357. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11260039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11155524. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-55 of U.S. Patent No. 10485777. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 10736917. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-53 of U.S. Patent No. 10472322. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 8952045 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-101 of U.S. Patent No. 10555921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-58 of U.S. Patent No. 8952046 C2 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-46 of U.S. Patent No. 10736916. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 8957101. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent No. 10435356. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 25, 44 of U.S. Patent No. 8466187 B2 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 8455531 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 of U.S. Patent No. 8178572 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 7777074 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 of U.S. Patent No. 8183288 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of copending Application No. 19556374 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a supplement/composition and/or use of comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626