Priority
This application is a CON of 19/030,516 (01/17/2025 now US12577210)
19/030,516 is a CON of 17/522,680 (11/09/2021 now US12227483)
17/522,680 is a DIV of 14/621,738 (02/13/2015 now US11166979)
14/621,738 is a CON of 13/920,066 (06/17/2013 now US8957100)
13/920,066 is a CON of 13/038,615 (03/02/2011 now US8466187)
13/038,615 is a CIP of 12/336,938 1(2/17/2008 now US8034836)
12/336,938 is a CON of 11/950,273 (12/04/2007 now US7777074)
11/950,273 has PRO 60/973,229 (09/18/2007).
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, including Application No. 60/973,229, 11/950,273, 13/038,615, and 13/920,066, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. For example, at least the claim language “nitrate” and “amino acid” being a “separate compound”; and “nitrate ion (NO3-) that is at least about 0.05626 mg” do not have support in the prior-filed application and on of skill in the art would not recognize Applicant possessed such a scope. Accordingly, Claims 1-21 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application: For example, the prior filed applications do not provide support for the new matter of at least: “nitrate” and “amino acid” being a “separate compound”; “at least one non-ester nitrate compound”; and “nitrate ion (NO3-) that is at least about 0.05626 mg”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim language of “nitrate” and “amino acid” being a “separate compound”; and “nitrate ion (NO3-) that is at least about 0.05626 mg” do not have support in the prior-filed application and on of skill in the art would not recognize Applicant possessed such a scope and is considered new claim language. As per MPEP 2163.04, Applicant has not pointed out where the new (or amended) claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the new (or amended) claim limitations in the application as filed thus the claims prima facie do not comply with the written description requirement. See Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1370, 83 USPQ2d 1373, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (holding that “[MPEP] § 2163.04 [subsection] (I)(B) as written is a lawful formulation of the prima facie standard for a lack of written description rejection.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a),(b),(e) as being anticipated by Hill et al. (WO2008028951).
Hill teaches a nutritional supplement containing amino acid composition comprising thiamin mononitrate (1.2mg) and tyrosine (p. 14-16, Example 3) formulated as a solid, semi-solid (p. 6) which anticipates the claims.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 13-17, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Harrison et al. (“General techniques of cell culture”, Cambridge Press 1997, 162 pages).
Harrison teaches powdered cell culture media formulation including Ca(NO3)2 (100mg) and tyrosine (p. 31-35, RPMI) which anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashmead et al. (US20080194679).
Ashmead teaches a solid composition for administration to animals comprising amino acids specifically recited and a second compound including a nitrate to increase metabolic activity including the same amino acid as in the instant claims (Abstract, claims 1, 5, 27, 32). Ashmead teaches formulation as a powder, gel, and paste ([0047]). Ashmead teaches use of nitrogen-containing botanical extracts ([0030]). Ashmead teaches examples including citric acid as part of the composition ([0050]-[0057]).
Ashmead does not specifically teach the claimed amounts of nitrate.
One of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Ashmead would have known that the active ingredient components of amino acid and nitrate were results effective variables that would impact the utility of the composition. The level of skill in the art is high as evidenced by the teaching of Ashmead such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the optimization of the amount of active ingredients to maximize therapeutic effect. In view of the examples in the prior art (i.e., Ashmead [0008]-[0013]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in optimization of the amount of nitrate and arrive at the claimed invention. Thus, the claims are prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as applied to claims 1-9, 13-21 above and further in view of Lundberg et al. (20100092441).
Ashmead teaches as above in the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-9, 13-21 above and renders obvious these claims obvious in view of Lundberg.
Regarding claims 10-12, although Ashmead teaches a variety of ingredients in the composition of botanical source ([0037] Table 1), Ashmead does not specifically teach beetroot.
Lundberg teaches beneficial aspects of nitrate rich beetroot in formulating supplements ([0048]-[0053]). Amato and Lundberg are in the same field of endeavor of supplements such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered their combined teaching and formulate Amato’s composition including beetroot as taught by Lundberg and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12612370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12577210. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12540119. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 10736917. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-46 of U.S. Patent No. 10736916. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-48 of U.S. Patent No. 10646508. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-131 of U.S. Patent No. 10555921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-55 of U.S. Patent No. 10485777. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-53 of U.S. Patent No. 10472322. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 10435356. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-42 of U.S. Patent No. 10426350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 8957101. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 8952045 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-58 of U.S. Patent No. 8952046 C2 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 8569368 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 8569369 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-69 of U.S. Patent No. 8466187 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 8455531 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 8034836 C1 (Reexam). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of copending Application No. 19556374 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a supplement/composition and/or use comprising a nitrate and the same amino acid such that would anticipate and render obvious the instant claims in view of the teaching of Ashmead et al. (US20080194679) as detailed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626